Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Remington Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

This gun from Remington will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%13 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga
12/06/2012
By ,
Parrish, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome ! Same shotgun I trained with in the academy. No FTF or FTE after 400 shells of anything from #8 to slugs. I wouldn't expect any less of an 870. Walmart price is $20 to $100 less than anyone else. Lots of avialable accessories if your into the full tactical look. Great all around home defense weapon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Highly reliable

12/17/2012
By ,
Riverside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first shotgun purchase I made when I turned 18. Its very easy to clean, easy to take apart and like all shotguns its very low maintenance. I didn't buy mines from Walmart, I bought mines from Turners Outdoorsman and I paid a sale price of about $329.99, that was back in 2006 so the prices might have went up slightly. It doesn't matter where you get it from, you can NEVER go wrong with a Remington 870. My only issues with this is that there is no swivel on buttstock to put a sling (shoulder strap). I would have to buy an aftermarket buttstock to be able to install a sling because the stock it comes with doesn't give you the ability to install a swivel mount. This shotgun has a wide variety of customizable parts you can install too. Since 2006 I have never had a failure to feed, failure to fire or failure to eject. This is not a shotgun is not something I would recommend to use for skeet shooting, but rather for home defense because the barrel is shorter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

This is a Tack Driving Machine!

07/28/2012
By ,
77571
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shotgun is not a true tactcal but for some reason walmart sells it as one, but none the less its a great shotgun, it never quits and there are a ton of accessories for in on the market. THE ONLY THING I DONT LIKE ABOUT IT IS: if the ejector breaks on a rem 870 it has to be sent back to the manufacture to be drilled out and replaced whereas the mossberg 500 and 590 can be replaced by simply taking out a screw, dropping in a new ejector and retighten the screw. but hey its a Rem 870, they dont know how to fail, they just rock and roll.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Express Synthetic = Great Shotgun

05/21/2013
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart does have the title wrong.....this shotgun (25077) is a Model 870 Express Synthetic. You can look at Remington's website and see the difference between the Tactical and the Express Synthetic. The receiver on this shotgun does have the word "Tactical", but you will not see any rails, etc. This is a great home defense shotgun holding 6 + 1 and with an overall length of 38.5 small enough to maneuver. Overall, this is a great shotgun and you will not be disappointed. If you want all that other stuff buy a different model or you can add rails and put a different grip on this one. The only thing I do not care for is the push button safety behind the trigger, but I have gotten over it. Walmart had/has the best prices around, last time I saw one in Walmart cost was $349.00 + tax.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

HOME DEFENSE STANDARD

02/08/2013
By ,
WINCHESTER, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS TRULY THE BEST VALUE YOU CAN GET FOR A FIREARM DESIGNED FOR HOME DEFENSE OR LAW ENFORCEMENT APPLICATIONS. CAPABLE OF DELIVERING THE 3' MAGNUM ROUND LOADED WITH "00" BUCKSHOT, THIS SHOTGUN CAN HANDLE ANY DEFENSE SITUATION YOU CAN THROW AT IT! HOWEVER, NEW DESIGN CHANGES TO THE SHOTGUN NOW DIFFER THAN THAT PICTURED ABOVE. THE NEWER MODELS NOW FEATURE A ONE PIECE MAGAZINE TUBE WITHOUT THE TWO ROUND EXTENSION AND A TRADITIONAL 870 MAGAZINE CAP. IT STILL OFFERS YOU THE SEVEN ROUND CAPACITY FOR DEFENSIVE SCENARIOS, SO YOU CAN BE CONFIDENT IN A SITUATION WHEN IT COUNTS. ACCESSORIES FOR THIS FIREARM INCLUDING LASERS, LIGHTS, SIGHTS, STOCKS, AND AMMUNITION VARY FAR AND WIDE SO DO YOUR RESEARCH TO FIND OUT WHAT YOU DO WITH IT! MOREOVER, WITH ITS COMPACT DESIGN AND LIGHTWEIGHT PORTABILITY, IT MAKES MANUEVERING IN TIGHT QUARTERS SIMPLE ALLOWING THE USER TO BRING IT TO BEAR ON ITS INTENDED TARGET. TRULY A GREAT CAPABLE WEAPON!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Awesome Deterant - Remington 870 Express Magnum

10/11/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one of these in 2001 shortly after 9-11 for a Federal contract. Luckily have never had to use it but lot's of training & practice shooting with it. Never a feed problem misfire or any issues what so ever with one exception. Using 3" 00 buck magnum it is very powerful which is good but it does kick hard, so be ready. Awesome product. Got mine for $149.99 in 2001.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga
09/25/2013
By ,
Bowling Green, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Remington M870 tactical is an excellent gun. I like how Remington made the magazine tube one piece, full length and moved the tube ring forward on the barrel. Mine is like new but I expect that the reliability and durability will be typical 870
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Great Platform to Build what you want!!

10/28/2012
By ,
Central, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My local gunshop had these same 870's for 450 dollars plus tax and background check you can add your own accessories to these and build a CQB 870 or a Frankenstein 870 these guns are Solid and get the job done!! I see other review of ppl saying these are not Tactical Shotguns, they can be whatever you want them the aftermarkets is flooded with accessories for the 870 thanks!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

"Tactical Schmatical"

06/10/2012
By ,
Sweet Home, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This EXACT shotgun is probably used by more LE agencies than any other. It is cheap and reliable. I have shot Thousands of rounds through an 870.
I agree with Rangemaster. I've been a Fed LEO for 15 years and we use this EXACT weapon. No rails and all that nonsense. If you need a scope on a shotgun...you shouldn't be carrying. And the definition of tactical does not include...rails and sights and scopes and attachable flashlights.
I realize people watch a lot of TV shows where the cops are using flashlights inside people's houses in the middle of the day. But, in real life...WE TURN ON THE LIGHTS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+501points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga
05/17/2012
By ,
flint, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the firearms range master/armorer for my police department and these are EXACTLY the same shotguns we carry in our cruisers. These guns are straight up utility. The whole "tactical" thing is overused and over-rated. All the extra junk that "tactical" guns have mounted on them is cool but the bottom line is that if you want a dependable bullet launcher that works every time, get this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+890points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
memphis, tennessee
Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun
Posted 07/22/2012
I have carried the Remington 870 Shotgun for over 35 years while working in law enforcement. I have never found a more durable or better designed shotgun. You will not find a better shotgun at any price. Keep it simple and don't try to add a bunch of toys on it.
+21points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Solid and simple.

03/15/2012
By ,
N.W. Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 870 is a great home/camp defense option. It is not tactical my any means. There are no rear sights, only a front bead. The receiver is not drilled for optics. But these things aside, this 870 is solid choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
+224points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
THE 870 IN NAM
Posted 05/14/2012
Grunts walking point in Nam Used the 870 (OLD RELIABLE) the gun exposed to monsoons, 120 degree days at times being submersed and the extreme conditions of combat, preformed flawlesly, the gun never misfired jammed or failed to operate
0
+20points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga
02/20/2012
By ,
braselton, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is sold and labeled as "tactical" but it's not. It's just an 870 with 7 shot tube. The tactical models from Remington are much different than the Walmart "tactical". I bought one of these and am pleased with the shotgun. Hey it's a Remington 870 and for the price it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+188points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
outside
this is wrong
Posted 09/21/2012
The same information for this exact model is on the remington website. "express tactical"
http://remington.com/products/firearms/tactical/shotguns/model-870-express-tactical.aspx
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Remington 870 Express Tactical Shotgun, 12ga

Titled wrong............

01/19/2013
By ,
Mid-Atlantic region
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This photo, description and model number are all correct, but it's title is that of the 870 Express Synthetic.
The 870 Express Tactical, according to the Remington website, is the model 81198.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.