Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bissell Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

You can stop worrying about years of accumulated dust and grime in your carpet. The Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner 8920 is powerful enough to clean even the toughest caked-on dirt out of carpet, yet it is gentle enough to use on your floors frequently. This cleaner consists of two brush rolls with a total of ten cleaning rows to ease out dirt from rugs and carpeting. This Bissell ProHeat 2X deep cleaner can be used not just on carpets, but on upholstery, bare floors, stairs and automotive carpet. The included edge sweep brushes and stain tool provide even more cleaning options. The machine is powered with 12 amperes and contains a built-in heater. The Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner 8920 has a gallon tank capacity to store hot water, which can be channeled out of its hose. It has a 12-inch cleaning path width, Surround Suction, and a power cord of 27 feet for extensive reach and flexibility.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation73%45 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Very Effecient

05/06/2012
By ,
Northern VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was easy to assemble and required little instructions for operation. Compared to previous carpet cleaners this one works the best by far. It removed tough stains and was easy to clean after use. I have three levels and the handle for transporting the carpet cleaner was a plus. It allowed me to safely move the carpet cleaner from floor to floor. I haven't used the attachments but have confidence they will work effeciently as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 2 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Great Carpet Cleaner

01/16/2012
By ,
Venice, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initially bought an equivalent hoover model which arrived DOA- the trigger did not work and no solution was dispensed.-- returned that one real fast and decided to pass on another hoover. Hoover is now chinese owned-- that should tell you something. Bought this Bissell model and it cleaned and removed stains on my carpet that I didnt think could ever be removed. I was really impressed and surprised at the same time. Suction and water extraction was wnat I would expect and my carpet was just barely damp. The on board water heater does make a difference. Hotter water will always do a better job of cleaning.
As to reliability- THAT I dont know about at this point- BUT if you dont take the time to thoroughly clean the machine after each use, then you leave yourself vulnerable to machine failure. Every thing needs to be maintained to ensure some kind of long term reliability. Took me only 15 minutes to clean out the machine. Over all, I recommend this Bissel over any similar Hoover model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 3 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Easy assembly, easy to use, excellent results.

01/06/2012
By ,
NW Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third deep carpet cleaner. This is, by far, the best one I have owned. I have had a Hoover SteamVacI for about twelve (12) years, and it leaked right from the start. So, today I got this Bissel, and immediately cleaned our every day dining area's eleven year old carpet. The carpet looks almost brand-new.
The unit was easy to assemble; it has new quick-start directions that are easy to read and follow. The bladder within the tank doesn't bother me, as the assembly doesn't leak, and is easy to fill or drain.
Best of all, it cleans really well, and extracts a great percentage of the water. I followed their recommendations, and rinsed the carpet with clean hot water, and got out even more dirt.
The durability remains to be seen, but it looks like a well-made unit.
One note: It is heavy, and may be too much for some individuals to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+34points
Review 4 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W
01/10/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product with decent cleaning capability. I like to shampoo my carpets once every couple months and have been using this items for last 5 years. Did do a great job in cleaning capability but did have a couple annoying qualities. Thing that bugged me the most was water tank...it was very small and had to constantly change it. Doing a small 10ft by 3ft hallway I would have to change water 2/3 times...most small rooms about 5 times and larger ones at least 7+ times and no indicator when water ran out. The tank is a "bladder" nestled in the dirty water reservoir which made changing kind of a hassle. I also noticed after a few uses that the nozzles would cease up and not spray anything and you'd either have to clean them or wait till they break free as well as seeing streaks in the carpet from cleaning where it was not evenly distributed. Unit came in real handy over years but finally no longer will spray any solution at all. I think this time I will go with the Hoover All-Terrain as seems to be better constructed. All in all was good product but the little annoyances were really annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Review 5 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

2 years old and still great performance

12/27/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine nearly 2 years ago. I've cleaned my carpets, my mothers' carpets and neighbors carpets, accumulating #conservatively# 100 hours on this machine. It still works very well and has likely saved at least $1000 in professional fees.
Using a little TLC while operating this machine, it will last a long time. Since it is mostly plastic, be aware of banging into furniture legs and don't ram it into the baseboard. Also, I always finish the cleaning job by filling both tanks with fresh HOT water and running the machine until the tanks are empty. By flushing the detergent lines with the hot water, it has eliminated the clogged nozzles issue that I see so many people have complained about.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+64points
Review 6 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Does a GREAT Job!

04/15/2012
By ,
Central Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this machine yesterday and had to check it out immediately. My old one went to the grave about 6 months ago. I had not cleaned my carpets since it died and I have 3 fury children that have run of our home. My carpets were just filthy. I was amazed at what a GREAT job this did. It did a better job than my old one did which was a Hoover. I had bad spots that the old one would not take out and this did. My carpert looks like new and has NO spots anywhere. I did follow the directions and move slow as it said to do and I went over the spots several times and they did disappear. I also did the clear water rinse which even gave a cleaner and perfect finish to my carpet cleaning. The only negative things I find with this is I have to fill it more often than I did with my last one and I don't care for the clean/dirty water set-up. They are both in the same section/area. I definitely do not like that. As far as performance goes though, it does do a great job and I would definitely recommend it. It also was very easy to put together. It took less than 10 minutes and there were only 3 screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Review 7 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Awesome carpet cleaner

11/21/2011
By ,
King George, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My carpet was filthy. Hasnt been cleaned in years. I recently got ferretts that leave deposits all over the place. I cleaned the carpet with this and it looks brand new. I love this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+95points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
west babylon
Bissell pro 2x
Posted 06/08/2012
I have this machine over a year but only used this machine 3 times (1 carpet in house) and it was in the shop for no water spraying ! Once again-SAME PROBLEM!! it is as clean as a whistle inside and out. The service dept, told me to take it to the repair shop again!!!! REALLY? I will never buy from Bissell again. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W
11/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just bought this carpet cleaner 3 weeks ago. It gets our carpets clean! The only thing that bothers me is that the dust/hair gets trapped and we always have to unscrew it to clean it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Review 9 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

this thing is junk

12/13/2011
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This carpet cleaner is for the birds, well, they might not even like it. First time I got it out and used it, it worked like a dream. Beautiful carpeting, years of foot traffic stains removed. If you wanna spend 250.00 on one carpet cleaner, hire a professional, because that is all you are gonna get with this machine. I have replaced 150.00 worth of parts on this machine over the last 3 years and it has never worked the same. With the second use it stopped sucking up all the water, by the third use stains kept reappearing like they were pushed down to the padding, I have continually replaced parts per bissell instruction and its always the same piece of you know what it was since the second time I used it. I DO NOT recommend you wasting your $$ on this! I am off to buy a Hoover since I just replaced my bissell vacuum with a hoover as well!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Review 10 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

DISAPPOINTED WITH PAYING FOR NOTHING

02/03/2012
By ,
LIVINGSTON,MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS CARPET CLEANER APPROX. 1 YEAR AGO & HAVE USED IT A HALF DOZEN TIMES. THE PRODUCT WORKS GREAT WHEN IT ACTUALLY WORKS BUT HAS NOW RECENTLY QUIT ME. STOPPED SPRAYING CLEANER. VERY DISAPOINTED WITH DURABILITY OF THE PRODUCT FOR THE AMOUNT OF TIMES USED & WAS DEFINATELY NOT USED HARD. I CAN USUALLY FIX THINGS MYSELF AS I HAD NO LUCK WITH FINDING A REPAIR PERSON IN THIS AREA - THIS WAS A MESS. THERE DID NOT SEEM TO BE ANY REASON FOR THIS NOT TO WORK ONCE I HAD IT APART. IT HAS NOW FOUND IT'S FINAL RESTING PLACE AT THE GREEN BOXES. IF IT DOESN'T WORK IT DOES NOT BELONG IN THIS HOUSE.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Review 11 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Can't Live Without!

12/20/2011
By ,
Palmdale, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST! I had the carpet professionally done before the purchase of this machine and there is no comparision. This carpet cleaner surpassed every expectation. I recommend this machine to everyone who is in need. Quick spills to deep cleaning you will not be disappointed. The machine will pay for itself over and over. I LOVE this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 12 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Stops spraying solution and water after six months

09/02/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Bissell Proheat 2x about a year ago. It worked well until recently. The jets that dispurse fluid got clogged. I cleaned them and it worked well for about a month. Then it stopped spraying again, and cleaning the jets didn't work. I looked into taking it in for repair, but that would have cost as much as buying a new machine. So I pulled the whole thing apart, cleaned all the hoses, reprimed the pump, tested the solenoids, recleaned everything, and put it back together. NOTHING. So after wasting an entire day calling around to get repair prices, then pulling it apart to clean and test, I have a $200 door stop. After paying that much for a machine I would hope to get more than one year of use out of it. Thanks Bissel >:(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 13 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Garbage carpet cleaner

11/23/2011
By ,
havelock, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used approx. 3-4 times and is has stopped working. Vacuum went out first, I managed to take it apart and find the fan had ripped a rubber seal apart and was logged in the fan blades. After removing the rubber seal, the fan began to work again. After assembling I turn it on and what do you know, it doesn't want to spray! Ripped it apart again to find the nothing had been assembled incorrectly and began to further trouble shoot. After some time I found the solenoid that pushes the water though to the nozzles is out of commission, probably due to the water that had leaked from the reservoir. Thanks for nothing. Keep looking, if you still buy you got your fair warning. I wish my wife did before buying this piece of you know what!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Delco PA
Posted 03/07/2012
That's why I always get the replacement plan, you never know if you'll get a dud.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Bissell carpet cleaning

01/08/2012
By ,
humble tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good luck with keeping this machine working.
I have 2 - both a proheat 2x and a turbo2x, and both are a pain to keep working. if you have pets hair clogs them up and then they cough up a fur balls, and the brushes have both quit spinning. The y work okay when something is not broke, and the hair doesnt clog them up, but be prepared to take them apart to remove any hair, and keep your receipt for when the burshes quit working
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Review 15 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Works better than professionals

06/15/2012
By ,
Denver, Co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the carpet professionally cleaned about 6 months ago. Then I adopted a dog who wasn't housebroken. So I bought a spot bot. The spot bot left me with very clean, round circles. And btw, the circles were the original color of my carpet. The Bissel cleaner did away with the circles and made my carpet all one color! It's almost the same color it was when I purchased it! It's easy to use with simple instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 16 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

Gets the job done.

03/13/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My ex-girlfriend owned this exact carpet steam cleaner and I was so impressed that I bought it for myself.
The unit is easy to set up, easy to use and easy to put away. It is quite durable however, should a part wear out, Bissel sells individual parts on their website.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 17 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W
07/29/2012
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had mine for approx. 4 years. When I first got it, it worked great. I have a very small apartment, so you know it hasn't been 'overworked'. I've used it at most 7 times. It has always been some sort of a problem with it. The beater bars didn't turn, it wasn't sucking, etc., etc. Now When I just went to use it, it will not dispense any liquid. This has happened every time I've used it, but I always got it to work by following the instructions in the book. It is dead now. I've taken it apart myself, tried everything worldly possible, but apparently the pump has gone out in it.
.
Also - it is quite a pain to work with. If you don't mind many, many trips to add water/cleaner, then dump the old dirty water, you may like it. It's just too much trouble, period. Needs bigger holding tanks. Actually, my next purchase will probably be a professional model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+1point
Review 18 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W
06/21/2012
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have used this cleaner three times. It worked great. However, now will not dispense solution. I have tried cleaning it out to see if something is plugged?? Nothing. Looks like a brand new carpet cleaner heading to the dump.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 19 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W
01/18/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had the cleaner for 1 1/2 years and probably used it 3-4 times and now will not work, no suction at all. Had to replace the belts once.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MURRIETA CA
AMAZING
Posted 02/25/2012
I PURCHASED THIS PRODUCT ABOUT 3MOS AGO, I HAVE TRIED EVEN VERY EXPENSIVE ONES.... THIS IS THE BEST THAT I HAVE USED, I HAVE 2 OUTSIDE DOGS THAT COME IN ONCE IN A WHILE. IT LEAVES MY CARPET LIKE IT WAS PROFESSIONALLY DONE. AWESOME JOB I RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT FOR EVEN THE DIRTIEST CARPETS. THIS IS THE BEST INVESTMENT THAT I HAVE MADE.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Bissell ProHeat 2X Upright Deep Cleaner, 8920W

If you have hard water, be careful

09/25/2012
By ,
Capital District of New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved my machine. I used it about 5 or 6 times in a couple of years. Then it stopped spraying water. I clean it meticulously after use right down to unscrewing the parts and cleaning them. I did not know, however, that the heating coils get gunked up with minerals that are in the water. Once that happens you either have an expensive repair bill or, if you're handy, you can spend a great deal of time and effort taking the whole thing apart to attempt to clean out the build-up. (Check out the YouTube video.) Info online says that I should have put vinegar through it after each use to prevent this from happening.
Is it worth replacing, though? I can rent one from Home Depot for $29 for 24 hours. I don't have to take the Hope Depot one apart to clean it or run vinegar through it. The rental is more powerful--no doubt about that. It will clean and suck up the water better. I don't have to store the rental. Owning, however, is convenient for use. The Bissell is lighter weight. If you have trouble lifting, it may be a better choice. I, however, be going with the rental.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next