Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

The Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table is a beautifully-designed piece that will work with a variety of home decors. The traditional style of this black and oak Better Homes and Gardens Farmhouse Dining Table is made of durable solid hardwood with classic turned legs, making it a long-lasting piece that you can have for years to come. The gorgeous stained oak and painted black finish set off the look, adding sophistication and charm to your dining room. The Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table can comfortably seat six people and is easy to assemble. To complete the overall look, the Autumn Lane Dining Table coordinates with the Autumn Lane Farmhouse Bench and Windsor Chairs. This Autumn Lane Dining Table is perfect for small family gatherings and holiday meals.
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(261 Reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
175
4 stars
38
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation87%226 out of 261reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 87 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
175
4 stars
38
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Perfect, Picture Included.

12/06/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took me 1 & 1/2 hours to assemble by myself, see attached picture.
"Some of the reviews have claims of scratches, broken pieces so I was hesitant on this purchase but when my packages arrived today there was no scratches, broken pieces or any other damage. I ordered the bundle, Table, 4 chairs and bench. I placed my order Wednesday evening, the day before Thanksgiving & all 4 packages arrived the following Monday morning. I was pleased as well how all parts was packaged, shows they took great care in making sure my table, 4 chairs along with the bench would all arrive unharmed! The colors are great too, can not go wrong! Nice heavy duty materials, nothing cheap about this item! I am so tickled pink & could not be happier, just in time for my little family to all sit together at Christmas!"
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Looks great but poor quality control

08/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the 6 piece set and actually put the whole thing together before turning the table over, taking it out of the box and realizing there was a large crack on one end. It's too bad because it is a nice set otherwise. I can't believe that the crack occurred after it was boxed up, but I guess anything is possible. I decided to return it and I will just refinish the table we have to match the rest of this set.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From Whalen Product Expert09/23/2014
Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture and please accept an apology for any inconvenience we may have caused you.We have recently implemented new processes to quickly read and respond to online comments – our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the feedback and if this is still an issue we would like to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our customer service dept. at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PSTWhalenProductExpert
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak
01/02/2013
By ,
Lexington,SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This set is beautiful, and my kids love the bench. However, weeks into owning it we started seeing multiple imperfections in the finish of both the table and bench. Regular cleaning after eating has made the finish disappear. I use warm water and dish soap to clean the table, no harsh chemicals, so I'm very disappointed that the finish would start wiping away so easily.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Great for the price

10/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first one I got was damaged so I had to go through the song snd dance if re-ordering and returning. But they both came quite quickly and shipping was free so not really a big deal. Overall I'm quite happy with it. It's very solid and easy to assemble. Can't ask for much more for about $100!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Love it!

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family desperately needed a larger dining set for our larger family. We are so happy to have it!! It worked out great and matches the rest of our furniture!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Perfect

05/10/2013
By ,
Gardendale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leary since it was shop inexpensive compared to "furniture" stores. However the name brand got me and I love it. I won't say it was easy to put together but it by no means hard. I gave up on the hand wrench and pulled out the electric drill with attachments.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

CAN'T BEAT IT FOR THE PRICE!

03/05/2014
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Perfect for what I needed. Time will tell as to how it holds up, but it is really pretty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

A big crack on the table surface. Please help.

01/23/2014
By ,
Rensselaer, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A big crack is found on the table surface after I assembled it. I have taken several photos of this crack, which I can email to you if you require them. It is difficult for us to mail back this table to Walmart.com. Please help us replace the table.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From Whalen Product Expert09/23/2014
Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture and please accept an apology for any inconvenience we may have caused you.We have recently implemented new processes to quickly read and respond to online comments – our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the feedback and if this is still an issue we would like to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our customer service dept. at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PSTWhalenProductExpert
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Great product, great build

06/12/2013
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a carpenter and frequently build furniture. This table blew me away as far as being something you can buy at Walmart! Incredibly well manufactured and extremely simple to assemble! Sturdy, REAL WOOD, and priced affordably for anyone's budget.
My main dislike was the fact that the top is finger jointed wood and is clearly visible through the finish, but that is common when the manufacturer is trying to create a cost efficient product. Also there were very minor imperfections created most likely during the process of being shipped to its holding center.
Overall the price is what gains your attention, my wife and I literally visited a half dozen big time furniture stores across the state and anything that is legitimate wood is at least 100 dollars more. The table deffintely seems bigger online, but its size is just right.
I as a professional craftsman, highly recommend this table to anyone who has a modern yet traditional taste and wants reliability!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Sturdy & Stylish & wonderful Customer Service

10/27/2012
By ,
Dublin, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprized at how stylish this sturdy, functional dining set is. I have cherry hardwood floors & the cherry in the set match perfectly. I am so pleased with it & can't wait to see my Grand Babies fight over who sits on the bench.
My local store was out of stock, hesitating ordering online because I had no way to pick up at the store & bring to my home. The option of home delivery was perfect for me. FedEx brought the chairs & bench. Worked with my difficult schedule. The table came a frieght shipping company, Ceva, they too worked with my schedule & even brought it into my home & opened it to make sure all was fine. As there was a tear in the carton.
Being a widow this all meant so much to me. I can't tell you hw elated it all came together like this for me. On top of that I have a lovely dining set in my dining room. Thank You Walmart, FedEx & Ceva for such wonderful Customer Service & product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Quite surprised actually!

10/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The quality of this set was definitely beyond my expectations... the table and benches were well packed... easy to assemble... and the fit and finish... well... beautiful actually... this set was put in a small home we have in the country... and fills the small dining area just right... it's all wood... all the hardware was included as well as the tools needed to assemble... again... very surprised at the fit, the finish and the quality... great for a first time home buyer or anyone dealing with limited space and budget but still wanting a quality look... two thumbs up!
D.H.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

The top will break if stand on it.

12/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When assembling the product, make sure you don't stand on the top surface as it will break even while laying down flat on the floor. Thin Construction of the table top. The legs and frame under the table is made of real wood and heavy.
The top color is a kind of warm autumn, not cool color.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Solid wood, well made!

08/21/2014
By ,
Franklin, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant when I read other reviews about broken parts, etc., but I decided to try this anyway because of the wood and the price. It is wonderfully solid and easy to assemble. There was a small crack in the top on one end, but I decided not to mess with it as I did not want to wait for another to arrive and it was fairly unobtrusive. Do check the pieces well. The finish is a rich walnut with reddish undertones on top and a deep rich black on the apron and legs. Quite lovely. It holds six chairs very well and the end chairs are out about 6-8" - certainly acceptable. What is interesting is that even though it holds six chairs, the footprint of the table is not too large. It fits beautifully in my dining area, which is at the end of my long living room. Overall, I am very well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

You could dance on this table!

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th table! I am an avid craftsperson and this table is so SOLID,
super well made, large and attractive. 1 for pottery, 2 for sewing and one for everything else! Your sewing machine won't move no matter how fast you go.
And delivered to my door for free!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Excellent Table for the Price

10/10/2014
By ,
Winter Texans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered this table to replace a bar height one we had previously in our kitchen. It took us less than half an hour to put together. We have only had it a couple of weeks and are really pleased with it. We have had several compliments on it from friends and guests. It can easily seat 6 people. We were very pleased that it is made of solid wood. The table top is finger- jointed, but much nicer than particleboard covered in veneer. We opened it at the store to make sure there were no cracks in the tabletop as some others have indicated. We are Canadian and were having to declare it at Customs, so wanted to make sure we wouldn't have to return it. We would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Table started to split after only a week

12/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A crack appeared on the table top after only a week. We had been very careful with the table. It's now about almost 12 inches long and we suspect it will run the entire length of the table. This was our first furniture-buying experience with Walmart. Right before th holidays too when we really need the table. Will not do business with Walmart again when it comes to furniture.
Recommends this product? No
From Whalen Product Expert12/08/2014
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we will pass this information to our quality engineering team immediately. We try to cover everyone’s needs and expectation. Customer’s feed back is very important for the company. We appreciate your time to write to us and at the same time thank you for purchasing Whalen furniture. If you are need of anything else please call our Customer Care team at 1-866-942-5362 (Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30pm PST) or e-mail your request to parts@whalenfurniture.comWhalenProductExpert
From Whalen Product Expert12/08/2014
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we will pass this information to our quality engineering team immediately. We try to cover everyone’s needs and expectation. Customer’s feed back is very important for the company. We appreciate your time to write to us and at the same time thank you for purchasing Whalen furniture. If you are need of anything else please call our Customer Care team at 1-866-942-5362 (Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30pm PST) or e-mail your request to parts@whalenfurniture.comWhalenProductExpert
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Love this table

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This table is good quality and looks great. When we received it we were very pleased and the matching benches are great also. Good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Table.

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice table.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Nice looking table at an excellent price

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This went together quite easily, and looks great. The black apron and legs, and the maple-colored top go well with our mid-century chairs. All the parts and a little wrench were included--there was even an extra set of the bolt/washer/lock washers. The only "off" thing was that the corner protectors that came with it were actually screwed into the underside of the table top. It doesn't show, and it did a great job of protecting the tabletop corners, but still....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Better Homes and Gardens Autumn Lane Farmhouse Dining Table, Black and Oak

Best Money I Ever Spent!

05/13/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm currently shopping for some other things for a new home we're moving into. I came across the BH&G Autumn Lane dining furniture and decided to leave a review despite the fact that we bought this set three years ago.
This has got to some of the best money I've ever spent on a piece of furniture. We were pretty cash poor when we first moved into our apartment so I was scouring the internet for a good deal. We ended up getting the Autumn Lane dining table, one bench and two chairs since our table is pushed up lengthwise against a wall.
The table was SO easy to put together and it looks absolutely fantastic. This is not a wood veneer set... it's ACTUAL WOOD. After THREE YEARS of very heavy use, it hasn't developed the slightest amount of wobble, hasn't required any tightening of the screws, and still looks stunning!
When we had Thanksgiving Dinner at our apartment with some friends, one of those friends brought a hot dish and put it on my table without a hot pad underneath. It left an ugly white scorch circle on the table and I flipped. Because this set is REAL WOOD and not a wood veneer, all you have to do is put a towel directly on the surface over the white mark and iron the towel with the steaming function directly on the table. It sounds counter intuitive but it really does work! This also works for any white rings left by cups with condensation on them or any white marks from water.
Now that we're moving and have the funds to buy actual decent furniture, I'm excited to replace all of our hand me down things with new things that match my style. This Autumn Lane set is one thing we WONT be replacing!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 234 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next