Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Federal Ammunition Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Federal Ammunition Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Practice your shot with the high quality Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%45 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Beretta 92F 9mm firing Federal Champion 9mm Ammo

07/27/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Son's and I own a couple pistols. We wanted to do some target shooting and were having trouble finding USA manufactured ammo. Most of the local gun shops would only sell one box per day and then at a high price. Luckily, we came across the Federal Champion at Walmart and each of us bought a couple boxes and some targets. The W/M clerk told me that they have been swamped, and we were lucky to find the ammo available. Initially the Beretta 92F jammed on every round. I found that the pistol was totally dry. My Son had cleaned it very well and left it completely dry when it was put back in the safe. A couple drops of motor oil on the action and the pistol functioned flawless. The 9mm Federal Champion ammo ran very clean. After a couple hundred rounds the pistol actions were only slightly carboned. Not anywhere near the fouling that you would see with the Wolf and Bear ammo. I suppose its time for me to get back into reloading. I had been spoiled by years of army surplus ammo that has apparently evaporated...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jacksonville florida
where is the ammo
Posted 11/16/2013
are your accociates buying them at half price and then selling them!!!! is why we can,t find them--fix it !!!!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
jacksonville florida
where have all ther flowers gone
Posted 11/16/2013
no ammo--is it that the employees are buying it and then selling it on trader magazines for a profit or are we just stupid and could you fix this problem--
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds
11/25/2011
By ,
Santee, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fired 200 rounds of Federal Champion FMJ through a Glock 19 in an open range. The ammunition is clean, leaving minimal powder and residue in the barrel and makes gun cleaning easier than with lower quality rounds (Federal is the best). I paid $19.97 at Walmart for 100 rounds, which is cheaper per round than buying 600 rounds of Federal Champion online in bulk. Highly recommended and I will be buying more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+298points
Review 3 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great ammo, Great Price!

11/25/2011
By ,
Ypsilanti,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have run over 2000 rounds of Federal 9mm through my M&P 9c without a single problem. The quality and price is unbeatable! The only way to get cheaper 9mm from another store is to catch it on sale. This is great ammo at a really good price. You really can't go wrong with the Federal rounds at Walmart! (the prices on the other brands are very good too! 22lr is dirt cheap!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Review 4 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great For the price

09/30/2011
By ,
SO CAL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ammo Is great for the price is is at. I found that I actually out performed the Winchester White box in my Ruger P95. Ive had no issues with it at all, shot about 1000 rounds so far with it. Will continue to buy and recommend over Winchester white box that sits at a higher price and is dirtier in comparison.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+251points
Review 5 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great 9mm range ammo from a trusted retailer.

01/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me save beginning shooters some of the hassle I had to go through figuring this out. The classic 9mm round uses a 115 grain bullet, 1200 fps velocity at the muzzle, and 19mm length shell ... also known as "luger" or "parabellum." The shell of the "Makarov" 9mm is a bit shorter at 18mm, and should NOT be used in most typical American 9mm handguns.
This ammo is the classic "luger/parabellum" variety, with a 19mm length shell, and it's great range ammo for, e.g., 9mm Ruger, Glock and Smith & Wesson semi-auto pistols. FMJ, or full metal jacket, means the bullet has a smooth, rounded, metal-coated tip, designed for target practice and "plinking" ... to pass cleanly through whatever it hits. It is not "self defense" ammo, which is usually hollow point and designed to go "splat" and spread out when it hits something. The bullet is 115 grain, but the velocity at the barrel is a bit on the low side ... the carton specs indicate 1125 fps at muzzle. However, this is fine for beginning/intermediate shooters ... still a powerful round, but less recoil than the more intimidating .40 and .45 calibers, better accuracy, less fatigue, etc. It will cause no reload cycling issues in any pistol that's properly maintained. If you want something with a bit more muzzle velocity, try Federal's American Eagle 9mm luger ammo.
I ran 200 rounds of this Federal "Champion" ammo through a brand new Smith & Wesson full size M&P 9mm, both rapid fire and slower shots, and it worked flawlessly. No misfeeds, jams or duds, and no fragmenting of the shells at all. I was very pleased with the performance of the ammo, and especially pleased that ammo of this quality cost only around 20 cents a round. Ammo can get pretty expensive, and it's a lot more fun being at the range when you're not worrying about how much money you're popping away with each shot.
Thanks to Federal for manufacturing quality range ammo like the "Champion" label, and thanks to Wal-Mart for making it available to us "regular-guy" shooters for such a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+836points
Review 6 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Walmart, Please keep the 100 round boxes in stock!

04/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent ammo at an excellent price. I consistently use for practice and IDPA matches. All local stores are kept Grossly understocked on the 100 round boxes, which are the best value.
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Review 7 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

The only one I buy for practice!

11/29/2011
By ,
33322
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried Winchester and RWS in my Beretta PX4 9mm and they leaves it very dirty. I can shoot 300 rounds in one session and this Champion leaves it less dirty than 50 shots from the ones I said above. They are very accurate, value for the money and less powder mess in your gun. quality is present.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+42points
Review 8 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Wouldn't Use Anything Else

05/18/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased two (2) boxes of 50 rounds each of the Federal Champion 9mm FMJ from my local Nashville Walmart and I couldn't be happier!!
Ran one box of 50 through my Taurus PT709 as practice one week before I had to go and qualify for my Tennessee CCW. Not a single problem with the whole box.
The following week I ran the second box through the Glock they had us use to qualify. Again, not a single problem. Plus, I think I really shot the best, tight groups I seem to have ever gotten. To qualify we had to shoot and hit a defined area on the target from 9, 21 and 45 feet.
As I said, I wouldn't use anything else for practicing. I will choose something a little more potent for the Concealed Carry I use for self-defense, but I'll save that one for another review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 9 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great Ammo

05/17/2012
By ,
Laguna Niguel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have gone through about 1000+ rounds of this ammo
on my Ruger SR9 and I am very pleased with it.
Clean, no jams and a great value at $20 per 100
rounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per month
+16points
Review 10 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds
11/24/2011
By ,
Beavercreek, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ammo for the price! I just wish my local stores carried the 100 round value box all the time. I have only seen them in stock once and have been calling for weeks with no luck. All 3 stores in my area have the tag on the shelf but NEVER have any in stock... EVER! Its a waste of space on the shelf its always empty! Come on people fill that space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+24points
Review 11 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great Price, Great Product

04/04/2012
By ,
Lincoln, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have looked all over the internet for 9mm ammo. You can't beat it for the price and shootability. I have put at least 1500 rounds through my XDM with no problems at all. Doesn't leave excess residue to make cleaning a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 12 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great ammo, price beats most bulk orders!

03/22/2012
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Federal ammo is American Made, cheap, and high quality. It has an all brass shell and shoots clean. Wal-Mart does sell a cheaper ammo (Tulammo). The Russian made Tulammo has a metal Shell and leaves your gun filthy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 13 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

9MM Federal pistol ammo

11/22/2011
By ,
Sunshine NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 9mm Federal Ammunation here In my View for target Practice is Beyond my Dreams IT is the best for Target Practice and the Price is always better at Walmarts than anywhere in the United States
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Review 14 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great Range Ammo

02/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price. Great for the range. Had no problems in my Glock 26.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 15 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Best deal on range ammo

01/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price you really cant beat this Federal 9mm ammo. When you're lucky, you'll see them in 100 round value packs for $19.99. This is cheaper than the Winchester white box value packs and from my experience, it's a lot cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 16 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great ammo for the price.

05/17/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Federal ammunition has never failed me. I shoot it in my Glock 9mm for target practice because it is cheaper and is good quality ammunition. I also shoot Federal in my shotgun. It doesn't jam like Winchester does in my shotgun. I highly recommend it to others especially to those on a tight budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Review 17 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Awesome

01/25/2012
By ,
Nashville, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is all I buy for range use anymore. Now that Federal has the 100 round value pack in 9 mm and .40 S&W, in my opinion Federal is the absolute best deal. Flawless operation makes this the perfect round.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Review 18 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds
03/25/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These rounds are very clean. Have run about 300 rounds thru my Glock 17 Gen 4 and left very little residue. Would highly recomend. Just wish walmart would keep the 100 round boxes in stock more. Very hard to find. The 50 round boxes always seem to be there, but rarely the 100 rounders. But well worth the money for these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Review 19 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

For the price, it can't be beat on the range.

03/10/2013
By ,
Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a Glock 17 9 mm, and if you own a 9 mm you know how hard it is to find ammo. I call the Walmarts in my area on a daily basis to find this ammo. First, not much dirt, always a plus. Second no miss fires or jams. The only, and I repeat only thing I notice, on a box of 50 I'll get one round that has a mind of it's own on where it goes. I can seriously live with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 20 for Federal Champion 9mm Full Metal Jacket Rounds

Great Price

05/29/2012
By ,
Delray Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$11.97 a box here in South Florida..l.will buy all my ammo at Walmart from now on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next