Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Spalding Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

The Spalding 52" Portable Basketball System is a great hoop to practice your jump shot on and play pick-up games with your friends and family. This Spalding basketball system is constructed of a polycarbonate material making it tough against harsh weather conditions and comes with a one-year warranty. The hoop has a classic black and white design with the trademarked NBA logo on the backboard. This 52" Spalding basketball angled-pole is adjustable up to 10 feet, has a 34-gallon base and steel pole construction making it incredibly durable, strong and steady for serious players. Perfect for beginner or competitive basketball players, the Spalding 52" Portable Basketball System is a wonderful addition to any home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.162 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation90%60 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Product was very good. Delivery terrible.

12/21/2012
By ,
Dover, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Spalding 52" pole Backboard system is really good and they threw in a basketball. I was upset with the delivery. It was free home delivery, however, I had to sit at home for 6 hours waiting on delivery. I was called at 2:00 PM and told it would be a couple of hours. The delivery company had called 2 days earlier and told me I would get a 30 minute window for delivery on day of delivery. At 7:00 PM the truck showed up. I was not a happy camper, but could not ask for my money back on the delivery, because it was free. If you do not count the 4 hours I had to take off work and wait on them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Best Bball hoop out there

04/16/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hoop was not a pain to put up as long as you know what you are doing you should be fine, and once its up looks great, I would recommend to anyone looking for a well developed hoop. Plus it has the Slam rim feature, doesnt say it in the description
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Can't Complain

03/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched for a portable basketball hoop between $200-$300, and found this one, priced right at $250. I'm 25 years old and have been playing basketball most my life, I wanted a hoop for my new house, so I could practice in the driveway. From my searches, I've found that a 52" backboard is pretty large for this price, so I scooped it up. I did ship to store for free, and it was there in like 3-4 days, and I drove it home. I spent about 4 hours piecing this thing together by myself. Tools used: socket wrench and hammer. Some light tapping on the bolts got them in the holes they needed to go in. Put some water in the base and was good to go. Lay-ups, dunks, long shots, all seemed to bounce good for me, I have no issues with the material, or the mechanics in raising/lowering the backboard. The only negative comment I can say, is that the backboard was a little scuffed up when I took the plastic wrapping off at the end. This is something I should have checked when I pulled it out of the box, so i'm not sure if i caused them, or if it came that way. But I'm not gonna take it apart at this point, it works fine. All in all, getting this basketball hoop for the price, I can't complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Not a slam dunk

02/19/2012
By ,
Tampa, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thought, "wow! 52 inch polycarbonate backboard, what a bargain!" jokes on me.. Picture looks like backboard is an inch thick minimum.. truth is.. the frame is an inch, the backboard is 3mm. Kinda like a thin plexiglass you would cover a poster for your wall... can you say horrible bounce mechanics? because this thing is weaker than the force of the ball doing a layup. Im thinking great, i got to buy, brand new, a backboard, with the same flexibility that it takes months of sitting out in the rain and sun to accomplish otherwise. surprised they didnt just warp it at the factory and be done with it. None of this matters of course if you cant get it built without considerable effort, as supplied bolts inevitable will not fit the pre-drilled holes they were made for, and you will have to be creative on how you will expand these holes (they say scrub excess paint away.. I'm telling you don't bother").. Oh how I wish ida just bought the $89 system
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
np
where can i get a new base?
Posted 04/20/2012
the plastic seemed brittle. the basketball rebound on the base broke on first day. the first wind storm we had the base broke where the pole bolts into it. Now im looking for a new base for it with no luck so far.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tracy, CA
Not Bad
Posted 03/05/2012
All Polycarbonate backboards are the same, no matter who the manufacturer is. If you go into a Sporting Goods store where they have many on display, you will see this. To assume the backboard is an inch thick on a $250 setup is ridiculous. If your looking for that, then you should be looking at the $1,500 & up systems. I mean, really, c'mon... Stick with the $89 system.
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Good Hoop

12/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hoop was a Christmas gift for the kids (12 & 14 year old). It is a good hoop for the money. It took some time to put together. I was in no rush and it took 5 hours. I took a few breaks in between the build. Spaulding has a great app for the build that had step by step instructions. The app was on my iphone and just played the app as it guided me through assembly. My kids assisted me at times, which helped. Good hoop, we are happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Very good system for the money!

03/12/2012
By ,
Huron, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical since this was a "new" product that Walmart was offering and so there were no reviews to read and consider. We did a fair amount of online and store shopping and decided on this system due to the Spalding name, the price, overall features and the angled pole. It seemed very professional looking at a price that fit our range. It arrived at our local store via the FREE Ship-to-Store option, which saved us about $120 in freight over other stores. The box was virtually undamaged and came with all of the parts and accessories in tact. Assembly took a bit longer than I anticipated, even after reading many basketball system assembly reviews. If you take your time and really try and do it right, you'd better plan on about 6-8 hours to assemble. We made it a family project with my 7 and 9 year old sons helping as well as my 81 year old Father-in-Law. It was a great family activity that was mostly done on a wonderful 65 degree early Spring day. We used sand to fill the base and that could of been made a lot easier by placing the fill plug on the end of the base instead of the top. Since you really only have to do it once, it was okay. My only complaint is that the height adjustment system is not as easy as other more costly units, but I guess you can't have everything for $250. Well, so far-so good. We'll see how it hold up over the coming years. I would recommend this system over any other one we considered in the $190-$300 range. Happy playing!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oswego, NY
Great system for the money.
Posted 03/18/2012
Actually was going to get a cheaper system but the one we were going to get wasnt in stock so we went with this system. As the first review stated it does take a little bit to assemble. I assembled all myself except placing the pole into the base which my wife helped me. Working the bolts through the holes to take some excess paint off does work regardless of what the first review said. The only holes that were an issue lining up was on the rebound assist on the base. To remedy this loosen the support brackets at the pole end and then you can line the holes up on the rebound assist. Then just tighten the brackets down on the pole. Make sure you have saw horses they are a huge help. It took me about 4 hours to assemble. Pretty easy assembly just need some time, beer and patience. Being mechanically inclined will help. My son loves the system. I recommend water in the base so its easier to store in the winter. Plenty of weight with the water as I was able to hang off the rim without the base moving and I weigh 220. Hope this review helps, it's well worth it.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

BEST BBALL HOOP IN THE WORLD

04/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT HAS GONE THROUGH A FLOOD! its so good and reliable get this product today no problems with it and ive had it for 3 years
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Great quality exceptional value

12/28/2012
By ,
Asheboro NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a family gift for Christmas and the kids and I are loving it. My 6yo can play at the 7.5' and the older ones can play all the way to 10'.
Not sure why it would take anyone as long as some of these reviews. I had it assembled and was playing in under 2 hours. That included a trip to Lowes for 300lbs of sand and filling it. #The sand takes a while but will be worth the effort in the long run#
The height adjustment works great, just be sure to follow all directions exactly and don't over tighten anything. Make sure you have an extra set of hands for assembly. Two people are needed at some points.
The backboard is a little thin, but I didn't expect it to be a pro grade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

nice system

04/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a morning after review. So the experience is fresh in my mind. When we opened the box, I wasn't overwhelmed by what was there. I didn't think I would spend as much time as others but i did.
Before I get to assembly, I will review the final product. My wife and kids wanted a hoop for around $100, but I wanted something that would hold up well for a few years and played as close a possible to a regular court as we could get. Walmart online has the best prices I could find, but I wanted to see one of the lifetime hoops in person. At Walmart I couldn't see much so I went to another store that had a really nice one on sale for $319 down from six hundred. The only problem is my kids and wife were too impatient wait, so I went to Walmart to see the best one they had in stock. It was this court, and for $250 and available a was coaxed into buying it.
Fully put together, I have to say I think it is a decent court. The rim is really a nice quality and the backboard, while thin, handles bank shots well. It does move a little, but not enough to affect a shot. Also, balls will not fly off of it, so you can get the benefit of the doubt at times. This is especially good in a driveway as well. The metal poll is thick, sturdy, and looks nice. We filled it up with water, and you can tell it is a few steps above the ones for a hundred -although in all honesty, my kids like those courts as well, and my neighbors court gets plenty of use as well.
In a nutshell, it is worth the money. I looked at the lifetime hoops and they seem nice as well, but cost more. I do think it is easier to adjust the lifetime ones, but my youngest can shoot ten feet, so i don't see it being adjusted a lot. I kind of think i did something wrong while putting it together, because i can't get the pin out. The one thing I can't report on is how it handles dunking. This is not an above the rim house!!!
On to the fun part, assembly. I started at ten in the morning. I couldn't see where it would take more than a couple hours. The instructions were decent enough, and the amount of parts didn't look overwhelming. Six hours later I was done, and wondering what took so long. However, it is easy to use a wrong part here or there and had to roe something.
I think the most important advice anyone good give about this assembly is that once you pound the poles together, you are stuck with it, so if you didn't align them properly, it will mess everything else up later, and back to the store you go. So take your time, and make sure you put the top, middle, and bottom pools together in the proper order to spec. Use a cheap piece of wood to pound them together. Used a crayon to mark the pole to the level you need to pound them together. ONce aligned, this process is easy.
I am not a handy man, but with the help of one of my kids, we got it together. It was actually nice spending the day together working on something. My kids are very happy and so am I.
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Solid buy for the money

09/26/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There were a lot of reviews knocking the difficulty of the assembly, but I found it very straightforward. It is definitely a 2-person job. The basket is pretty solid and does not move much for a typical jump shot. I wish the backboard was a little stiffer, however. For the money, I pretty much got what I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Great Product

05/06/2012
By ,
vINELAND NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product and a little tricky putting together but well worth it for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

6 hour set up

07/21/2012
By ,
Long Island NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its definitely a quality product. Assembly took all day. As with most of these type of products not everything fits perfect. Had to use the hammer a few times to persuade some bolts. I also had to bend a bracket to fit the spacers in. It takes longer to figure out where things go than to actually set it up. I did it myself so with help it would have taken less time . I would have the store assemble it if possible if you dont have a few hours to kill. Its worth the $$.
You will need antifreeze if u use water in the base.
The things u do for the kids...Its worth it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Very pleased - good quality dollar for dollar

07/27/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went over budget. More than I intended to spend - but this is built solid. Backboard isnt all that bad either, as i was concerned about other comments on the cheaper models. My son is 10 yrs. and he loves it.
Be very careful while assembling the main shaft that comes in three pieces. Not only is the order of the parts important, but also the directional alignment. The kids were having fun, i was distracted and put two of the pieces together incorrectly. It is impossible to pull it apart, after you have slammed it together. Fortunately i was able to drill in new half inch holes, and all is fine. This is the most important part of the assembly - so go very slow. Discounting for the snafu i made, this can be put together by one "handy" adult in 3-4 hours, much less if you have assembled one before and know what you are doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

GREAT HOOP

06/14/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Installed correctly it is GREAT. I did buy bigger washers (4) for the rim other than that this thing is the hit of the cul de sac. Great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Parts do not fit properly

07/17/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were excited to see the other reviews and the price for this backboard system. Little did we know the difficulty it would take putting this together. We previously had a 54 inch Lifetime and we were very happy with this unit for ten years. General wear required the need to replace. This unit was easy to put together, however, the Spalding was not. This Spalding unit is junk. The parts did not fit together properly and in fact at full assembly we still could not get certain screws to line up properly. Trust me when I tell you, I generally have no difficulty putting together things. The pieces just did not fit properly and I had to drill extra holes, etc. The lever to raise and lower the pole is extremely difficult and cannot be done by our young teenage son. First it is extremely tight and moves with difficulty. The pin system locks it into position, however getting the pin in and out is also difficult. After full assembly the top poles are not completely straight. Want to return it, but took too long to assemble and do not want to disassemble. Would not recommend this backboard system and would recommend spending another $100 and get the Lifetime 54 inch portable. Worth the extra money. Think this one may last only a couple of years, at best.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System
08/06/2012
By ,
North Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am glad I read the reviews about how assembly. It took several hours to assemble. After assembly we are very happy with the goal. It takes an adult to adjust the height of the goal. We did opt for water over sand because it was easier to fill and because we could empty it and stow the goal if a hurricane every comes this way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

DISAPPOINTED!!

12/30/2012
By ,
CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chose Spalding for the name thinking we would get good quality. Within a month, the wheels were extremely worn after a handful of times moving it up and down a normal cement driveway. Then cold weather set in...one bounce of the ball on the base guard plate and it went right threw it, smashing it to pieces! Very disappointed!!! Additionally, as others have commented, adjusting the height is very difficult even for adults. We will be replacing this with a different product completely!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Great Hoop

07/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After searching and searching for a sturdy, durable, and affordable basketball hoop i was left with two to choose from. The Lifetime 1534 and this Spalding, of course the Lifetime was cheaper but it was also smaller but i decided to go with the Spalding, it was bigger and had a more professional look to it. The instructions are very descriptive and the diagrams are excellent. The backboard gives a good bounce to bank shots and the hoop is very sturdy it does not wobble. The rim is perfect for dunking and overall this basketball system is excellent. The only reason I'm giving it four stars is because of the height adjustment, I don't like it at all and to me the height adjustment mechanism is very important in a basketball hoop. Other than that it was a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Nice system

08/28/2012
By ,
McMurray, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, a really nice buy but takes longer to put together than stated.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spalding 52" Angled Pole Portable Basketball System

Good hoop, very time consuming assembly.

07/11/2012
By ,
Mackinaw, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my husband and kids and it seems to be a nice hoop. However, the assembly was pretty bad. Absolutely nothing was pre-assembled, even down to the wheel assembly that attaches to the base. It took my husband (with some help from me) over 7 hours to put it together. The backboard is also scratched up, but other than that, we are happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next