Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rayovac Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Rayovac Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Get more power for your money with the Rayovac Platinum Power Pack Charger. Charge your mobile devices anywhere, anytime without the hassle of an outlet with this USB cable charger. The PowerPack lithium ion charger charges most devices in three hours or less and quickly charges your smartphone, giving you up to an additional six hours of talk time. It comes with three adapters that are compatible with all major cell phones, smartphones and MP3 players for maximum portability. With the option to use your own USB cables, the Rayovac Platinum Power Pack Charger works with nearly all cell phones, smartphones, digital cameras, portable gaming devices and MP3 players that have the ability to charge via a USB cable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.16 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation56%14 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Micro USB breaks

11/28/2012
By ,
O'Fallon, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these. I bought the first one and used it once. Then I THOUGHT I lost the micro usb adapter because none of the adapters fit in the micro slot. I went on a trip and it was such a hassle with my phone because I kept trying to find places to charge it up at Walt Disney World.
So when I got back home, I bought a second one of these since I thought it was my issue. Well, I just used it for the first time. As others wrote, it didn't give me a full charge. I could deal with that but when I went to recharge the Rayovac charger, the micro usb was broken. So $40 later and 2 units...all, I got out of them was one charge each. Save your money and buy extra batteries instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Lifesaver on a trip!

10/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack at my local Walmart store, charged it through the USB on my laptop and threw it in my travel bag for a business trip. I traveled to Las Vegas for a convention and used my iPhone all day for driving directions and recommendations for seeing the city. Later that afternoon while at the convention center, I realized I was a few minutes late for a conference call and noticed my iPhone battery was at 5%! So I plugged in the Power Pack and the iPhone instantly began charging. I was able to join my call and make it all the way through the 45 minute meeting without powering down. This charger was a life (job) saver for me. Can't wait to use it again. Definitely recommend it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Power for a family on the go!

10/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With kids, appointments and errands I dont have time to wait for my phone to charge in the wall. Using the camera on my phone drains the power fast. I'm super excited to have rayovac's power pack keep me charged up so I wont miss a moment with the family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Good gadget for the price.

10/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was impressed how inexpensive this charging unit was, for $15 it was worth trying. I use it for my iPhone and it works great! When I use my phone a lot traveling for work, it is nice to have a back up power source in my briefcase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Misleading on the Package...

03/04/2012
By ,
Atlanta
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This device is available as a single pack at Walmart, or a double pack through Sam's Club.
On the package it says you can get "up to 6 hours" of additional talk time on your cell phone using this device. What it DOESN'T tell you, is what type of phone you'll have to charge with one of these to get that kind of extra time. The power pack comes with three of the more popular tips for phones - Apple, mini-USB, and micro-USB. You have to charge the device via a USB cable connected to your computer, or if you have an A/C plug with a microUSB tip on it, you can directly plug it into the wall to charge it up.
I tested these on four phones via coworkers at work: An iPhone 4s, two Android phones (HTC Rezound, and Samsung Galaxy S), and a "dumb" phone (basic feature non-smart, prepaid phone from Net10). Using a fully charged Power Pack, it increased the iPhone's battery by 21%, the Android phones by only 10% to 11%, each, and the basic prepaid phone about 40%+, full from near 0 power. In other words, the amount of power these packs hold is FAR less than the package seems to suggest. In an absolute emergency if your phone is power-dead, then yes, it will give you enough juice to make an emergency call (in the case of the Android phones), or just a bit more with the others. But just note you won't get charge after charge out of one use with one of these. Shop around - there are similar devices that perform in similar (but better) ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Lots of power, little price!

10/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product! I have a habit of leaving the house with a dead cell phone. It took 3 hours to charge the power pack up and then about an hour to charge my BlackBerry Curve from 40% to 95%. I did make a phone call durring the charging (which was great that I could walk around and charge my phone at the same time) as well but regardless it charged my battery 55% which lasts me a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Eh...

04/06/2012
By ,
Brandon, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Last year I purchased something similar to this from this site, which I loved. This Rayovac version did not impress me. The last charger had 2 USB ports and actually plugged into the wall to obtain power. You plugged your devices into the unit & received considerable battery life. If your device was dead, the unit doubled as a wall charger. The Rayovac unit cannot charge your device AND itself simultaneously, which is inconvenient & gets extremely hot for the little bit of juice it provides. I will search for the Musicpower item I purchased in the past. After this product, I'd pay double for the original one I had. It just proved how much better it was.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/23/2012
Yeah the Music Power Encore, which by the way I agree is an amazing item and I am very unhappy to see it listed on walmarts site as "unavailable"
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Don't waste your money.

01/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchase two of these items at different times. The first lasted about one week before the mini USB connector broke. I thought it was my fault because I left the cord plugged in while traveling so I purchased another. The second broke the very first time I plugged the cord into the mini USB port.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Buy 2!

01/11/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off I actually recommended this to my friends and one of my friends told me she bought a couple to give as Christmas gifts to her sisters because they are always on there iPod so it was a really good gift for them, I have one and I'd consider buying a second one, or even owning a few extras, then you always have one while the other is charging AND you could charge them all and leave them in each of your bags, I work out and I sometimes forget to keep this in my gym bag and I forget to charge my iPod, or I accidentally leave my iPod on killing the battery so its great when I have this with me, but sometimes I don't and I wish I had bought another, and there cheap enough compared to other products that I could probably invest in a second one, maybe even get a third one eventually. It would be nice to keep one in my purse cuz you never know when your cell phone might need a charge, also I would like to keep one in my book bag because I often do not carry a purse when I have my book bag and I walk downtown and back listening to my iPod. All the other alternatives I saw were almost all only for your iPod and some of those cost way more than this and never together with a cell phone charger except one other one it was pretty much almost the same product but a different brand, and that one cost more than this one and I only found it online so I would have probably had to pay shipping too or possibly purchased something more to get free shipping but if you get it here you can get cheap shipping if you had to order it online. The other nice thing is I can charge this on my cell phone charger because my phone has the mini usb phone charger that most newer phones which is good if you don't have a computer around to charge it for example when your on vacation if you don't have/didn't bring the laptop, You could plug it into your phone charger before you leave and have a charge for the car trip home. I had something similar years ago I bought at an airport because I was flying to a different country, it was a pretty penny and a life saver for my trip because I took my iPod which held a charge about 4-6 hours and my longest flight was like 7 or 8 hours plus the 1 and a half hour car ride to the airport, the hour taxi to the other airport because of poor weather, and the layover flight, that was great but it didn't work long and it took disposable batteries and just went through packs and packs of them on top of spending $30 or more on the device I probably spent an extra $15 in packs of disposable batteries and I got to the point I only bought the really cheap generic brands, I would rather just buy a few of these and charge them at home before going on a long trip. And bring a cell phone charger and recharge it again for the trip home when your at your destination.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Platinum Power Pack charger????

10/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't even give this this the title of Bronze.....it claims to charge ur phone for additional 6 hrs? on a full charge (the battery pack) it'll charge your phone or ipod for MAYBE 15 minutes and that'll give it....what a few minutes extra of talk? I personally think it's junk and a total waste of money if it can't even do what it says on the package... can charge an mp3 player 3 times? didn't even half charge an ipod on 1 charge I will be returning this thing and getting my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia, PA
to Krow0013
Posted 01/05/2012
Was hoping you gave the charger another chance or maybe your battery is old and isn't holding any type of charge for a good period of time? Any update you'd like to share?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger
02/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TOTAL disappointment. Waste of $$!!!!! Takes FOREVER to charge the pack (3 hours!!!), and only charges my cell phone half way. Have had the pack maybe a month? And it already has a loose connection in the mini-usb port, to where I have to tie the cord down to it with a rubber band. WILL NOT recommend, nor will I buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Don't buy it's a waste of money

03/24/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It takes 3 hours to charge the pack and then charged my iphone4s only 4% and it died !!!!
It's a trash .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

very good charger

11/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it charged my phone from 12% to 62%
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger

Not what I needed -I returned it unopened

02/21/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't need this particular item so I returned it unopened.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Rayovac Platinum Lithium Ion Power Pack Charger
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5