Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

The Samsung Series 3 NP305V5A-A04US 15.6" Laptop is a portable PC that is equipped with Samsung Fast Startup Technology. This laptop features the Windows 7 Home Premium OS to work with your favorite applications. Built with the VISION A8 Technology, the Samsung Series 3 laptop provides excellent video and graphics performance so you can enjoy the entertainment experience. The AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor helps you n shoot, edit, and share your own HD movies effortlessly. The LED HD screen is bright and ideal for playing video games. This AMD Quad-Core A8 laptop produces sharp and colorful reproduction of your files, pictures, and movies. You can watch movies, video chat, surf the Web, and listen to music at the same time, or escape into the lifelike arena of HD 3D games. This LED HD laptop uses PowerPlus battery technology that helps your battery retain up to 80 percent of its charging capacity, even after 1,000 charges.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation83%15 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

After Cleaning & Updates, This Thing Screams!

03/25/2012
By ,
Jackson, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having just purchased a similiar laptop with the same exact specs and processor from another manufacturer, I was literally blown away by this laptop's performance. After uninstalling all the bloatware, downloading the latest bios and drivers from both Samsung and AMD this laptop posts the following WEI...
Processor: 6.9 (Just shy of a typical quad-core desktop cpu)
RAM: 6.9 (probably due to latency and cpu speed)
2D Graphics: 5.9 (far above most on-board graphics)
3D Graphics: 6.5 (amazing since it costs $100 or more for a GPU equal to this rating)
Hard Drive: 5.9 (standard for any 7200 RPM drive)
With all this said, I had to install more RAM and add an SSD on my other laptop to meet this level of performance. So, I'm very impressed to say the least.
Note: To truly see performance gains with this laptop be certain to 1)uninstall all bloatware, 2) update the BIOS and all drivers from samsung.com, 3) use the grpahics card auto-detect from AMD.com and install the latest Catalyst driver, and finally 4) clean the registry. The laptop will run 20-30% faster than out of the box if you do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 2 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great Machine, Great Price, Great Value!

04/06/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally write reviews, but I spent quite a bit of time trying to pick the perfect laptop for my needs/price range so I am hoping this helps someone else that is in the market.
I've owned this laptop for about 2 weeks now, so I can't speak for reliability, but so far, overall it seems like a well-built laptop with all the essentials at a great price. I am an IT professional and know what's important (to me) in a laptop. I had never purchased a samsung system before, but I took a chance with this (especially since ordering online I was unable to see/touch it). I looked at other similar (price and specs) systems in the same price range (HP, Lenovo, Acer) and most of them felt cheaply made. Some had a few other bells and whistles, but I took a chance with this and so far have no regrets. I use the system for some development work, along with some typical home usage and a bit of graphics work.
The system seems very solid and durable. One aspect that seems somewhat cheap are the touchpad buttons, although the touchpad itself works great with some really cool features (two-finger scroll, zoom, and page-swipe), thanks to some packaged software/drivers that come with it. The display is super bright (compared to my thinkpad w500, this one is WAAY bright) which is great for working in sunlight, etc. Keyboard takes a little getting used to since it is kinda stretched out, but nice for typing altogether. Numeric keypad also a plus. . I am not a gamer, so super-fancy graphics cards are not a requirement for me. Plenty of processing power, and plenty of memory (6GB expandable to 8GB).
The 640GB HDD is nice, 7200rpm would have been nice (has 5400). USB 3.0 would have been nice to have also. I haven't used the video cam yet, but plan to. I Can do without the bells and whistles like fingerprint readers and such. HDMI out is really nice for watching your online movies/tv shows on your tv with great picture quality.
This is really a great deal and I would highly recommend it for anyone in the market for a quality system in the $500 price range. For that price, its a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 3 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great, but hot.

05/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well like most AMD products, they tend to get a bit hot. Not that much that it would send the overheating signal to restart the computer, but it does get hot if you're doing something that stresses the laptop. I have made it go up to 90 Celcius in the Motherboard which is the part of the laptop that gets hotter overall. Normal temperatures aren't that much of a problem (around 40-50 Celsius).
Great for gaming for this low price(don't expect to run everything on high, but most will run on medium, definitely not low settings). You won't find a better laptop at this price ~500. It has a full keyboard which includes the numpad. The only thing i guess the laptop is missing, are the media buttons, like the play, pause and those. Overall it's very nice and for this price you can't go wrong.
PS: If you're planning on streaming games, this will not work very nice since the cpu isn't that great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

If you want to try something different

01/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop really looks like a Mac Book, with the island-style keyboard and subdued design. I guess that makes Samsung seem less creative with body structure design. I chose this because I wanted to try a different brand, staying away from brands that gave us a bad experience... HP tablet pc (which broke in less than 2 years) and Toshiba (broke in a year). I hope this lasts longer. I live in a warmer climate, so I got a cooler for this and use it for short periods of time. I was attracted to its 6GB RAM and fast AMD A8 Quad Core CPU. The graphics is intergrated Radeon. I need speed and RAM for my graphics hobby. The numeric keypad is a plus. It does turn on and off quickly from cold starts or standby. Be careful on first setup because windows 7 will do 40 updates at a time (make sure to choose a few at a time).
My negative issue with this machine is certain features are not defined in the website--Walmart, no link to manufacturer specs... like it doesn't say how much RAM, hard drive capacity it has, or what kind of media can I use for the dvd drive. It's kind of frustrating that Samsung tech support wasn't familiar either if this supports dual layer disks. The warranty that Walmart provides is great value... haven't seen any site that can beat its "drop, spill, crack" warranty, but, of course that is available choice for any computer here.
So to wrap up, if you are keen on Mac design with less to spend and if you are in an adventure to try a different brand and be surprised with the features... this laptop is a good choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Updates
Posted 02/16/2012
Experience first blue screen error in less than 2 months... We'll see how long it will last and hoping for the best.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Nice Laptop!

02/27/2012
By ,
Gloversville,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this laptop for my very first laptop. I simply Love it! I got this product on sale for $365. I got a great deal considering the price right now. It was a great buy. I can make phone calls right from this computer and get work done at the same time. It has a built in microphone. Only thing is I cant figure out how to use the Camera in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
02/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two computer one my husband and one for myself since they only had one Acer with Quad Core I spent the extra money and bought my husband this Samsung Laptop with a Quad Core proccessor. My computer was very fast and only took 15 minutes to set everything up including virus protection his computer on the other hand took an hour and we had trouble with getting the interent to work. We had our wireless connection but the interent wasn't working once we got that all figured out we realized just how slow this computer was compared to mine. It came with very little extra trial programs so I knew that wasn't slowing it down but like I said the computer was straight out of the box and with a Quad Core proccessor it should not have been slow. So we are taking his computer back and trading it for another Acer and saving since its $498. Save yourself money and don't buy this computer!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wabash County
Prbably operator error.
Posted 03/24/2012
This computer should be super fast with easy hook up to internet. I am willing to bet the problem with the computer was the operator. I myself have had trouble with great computers at first, but it was something I was doing. Some people are probably better off sticking with single core chips.
+4points
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/05/2012
After the setup, it actually became faster. It's too bad you had a terrible experience. Now my laptop has a junkier rating. Machines depend on how each user perceive and use it.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great laptop computer

04/03/2012
By ,
Kirksville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the product description does not contain much information my unit came with the AMD Quad-core A8-3610MX APU, 6GB memory and a 640GB hard drive. I am not a gamer and I use my unit for simple tasks such as presentations and to surf the web. So far it has done everything that I have asked of it. The picture quality on the screen is very good and I like that it is a non-glare matte type screen. I had the unit delivered to my house and received the unit in about 8 days from the date of my order. Walmart's packaging was not very good but Samsung's was and the unit arrived in safe condition. I am very pleased with this purchase. I can use the HDMI port to show my presentations as well as the screen and the screen quality compares favorably with the picture on my 63 inch DLP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Pretty good.

01/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's pretty good for light gaming. It can handle a good amount of applications going at one time. The battery probably lasts 3-4 hours with normal use (haven't run the battery down yet).
The only not good part of this computer is the hard drive. Some times it just seems like it's dead. It takes a while to spin back up and makes everything hang for several seconds. It might be my power settings though.
Anyways, for the price, it's about the best value I could find.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 9 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not for me!

01/31/2012
By ,
Central USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 5 year old toshiba is giving up so I thought I would try the Samsung. Wow the picture quality is terrible ( maybe I got a bad one),and the spot where I rest my hand is shaped like a brick. Walmart will be getting it back tonight. Toshiba please forgive me for straying...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 10 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

very pleased

05/17/2012
By ,
Mt. Pleasant, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, this is exactly what I was looking for: a relatively small footprint, a fast processor, good features, multiple I/O methods. A great machine for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
06/06/2012
By ,
Hazel Green, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer in April 2012. Price was $499.00 at that time. I love this computer. I use it at least a couple of hours a day. No problems whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Series 3 15.6" Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8 Series Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5