Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FileMate Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

FileMate Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

The FileMate tablet PC offers a superior media experience with a capacitive 7" touch screen, web surf, e-Reader, personal planner, and much more. You can use your Wi-Fi tablet anytime, anywhere with supporting wireless and Bluetooth technology. The Identity 7" tablet went through Google's rigorous requirements (hardware, software and many other) and passed the test. This Google Android 2.2 tablet allows you to download applications (over 150k via Google Marketplace) at super-fast speeds. With an internal memory of 8GB that can be upgraded to 32GB via a SD card slot. Yhis Wi-Fi tablet lets you store tons of tunes, videos, and other files.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(258 Reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
57
3 stars
6
2 stars
17
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation74%190 out of 258reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
130 Questions | 337 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
57
3 stars
6
2 stars
17
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

Lags, Freezes, *horrible* customer service

01/04/2013
By ,
Mohnton, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this tablet for approx. 10 months and have had nothing but grief with this thing. What a waste of money! Freezes all the time, lags when playing games or surfing the internet. Now won't charge…so I sent it to the company to fix the problem, 8 weeks later, I receive the tablet back from the company UNFIXED, stated that the inside of the usb charging port have been stripped. Obviously this is a defect in the way it is made since the only thing that gets plugged into it is the cable that is sent with the tablet. Well, they said that because this port is considered 'damaged' they won't cover it…even though there is NO damage to this whatsoever. Moral of the story: spend your money on something that will last more than a year and have good customer service to back up the product. Filemate Identity is NOT the answer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

Beware of Password Lock!

11/28/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought two of these for my 8 and 10 year old kids last year for Christmas. The tablets will freeze up when playing certain games that tax the processor, but for the most part they functioned well. Until last week, my 10 year old entered a password and could not remember it. Wintec can not help recover the tablet for a forgotten password. Now she is using it as a paper weight. The tablet is ok for the price, but make sure you don't forget your password.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

great tablet

11/21/2012
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother bought this for me last year for my birthday. I love it. Camera could be a little better, but I really don't use it for that anyway. Faster connection than I thought it would be. Would highly recommend this tablet for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

Not reliable

10/22/2012
By ,
Columbus., OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this product for about 2 months, then it completly went out on me. Wouldn't turn on, would go in and out, etc. I only used for surfing and email so minimal capacity. Would NOT recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

do not buy

10/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
loved the tablet initially. Went to install an ota update, the tablet locked up and now wont respond. It is bricked and is about as useful as a $200 paper weight. One that wintec makes near impossible to get repaired. All in 6 months of owning it. Merry Christmas to me
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
07/01/2012
By ,
guam
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price is great for something like this it's affordable love that i was able to download game and lots of other app's but i had to reset it like 2 to 3 times a day because of it freezing or noting appearing on the screen.i tried taking out some app's because i know that it's only a 8gb but still it does the same thing i hate having to reset it and then having to redo the date and time over again it was just annoying this all started the same day i got the item.love that Walmart was able to return the money back to my account the same day i called them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

Best of the inexpensive tablets

06/17/2012
By ,
Edison
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I rate this as the best of the "cheap" tablets here at Walmart. I give it an overall 4 only because it's not easily hackable ( easily rooted but no custom roms).
I tried a Pandigital Novel first. It will surf the web, read email and has a ebook app (I didn't try it) and access to some market apps by using a work around, there's not installed app to get to google apps market. So for the money, if that's all you want it to do. It's a bargain But the down sides are substantial; you don't mind a lightweight, plasticky feel; even if you can get to more apps market, many are not compatible. It will only play low resolution video.
The Cruz is a better version of the Pandigital. It has a better physical feel, the is screen smoother and more responsive. There's better access to apps markets, but because of the CPU many apps are not compatible. It will play 720 video but barely and not really watchable. (the problem is, if the bitrate is too high the video won't render and you get audio only)
The Filemate will play HD video, has google apps store with many compatible apps. If you do a websearch for it, it is suppose to be a clone of the Samsung Galaxy. There's a firmware update at the manufacturer's homepage that will enable the GPS. But the main problem getting a lock on the satellites. It will only work outdoors. A side by side comparison on a bus with my old G1 phone; my phone got a lock in 2 minutes and the Filemate never did. The only way I got it to lock was to stand outside in the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
05/24/2012
By ,
Berea, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered 2 Tablets. One is seldom used, the other one was for me and I used it almost daily. As of Sunday, May 20, 2012, it quit working. It won't turn on. Is there a warranty on this product. I was loving it until it quit working.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
02/17/2012
By ,
roanoke rapids, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wife got it for christmas and enjoys it, use it everyday
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

This tablet is terrible...returned after 2 weeks

01/20/2012
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Filemate Identity tablet as a Christmas present for my son. The thing locked up on Christmas day. By locked up, I mean it would shut down in the middle of an application and would not power back on. As it turns out, I needed to "reset" the tablet of which there is a tiny button for. Unfortuantely, my son had to do this once or twice per day. After, 2 weeks of this, the tablet just stopped working altogether. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
01/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this product! We use it more for us, than my son. He loves it as well. He can watch Netflix on it and play games. I am looking for more educational stuff on Android. I recommend it for adults and kids.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

great value

01/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Exceeded my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

Would not recommend

01/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Functionality was ok but stopped working after 5 days. Returned and bought an iPad!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
01/10/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does occasionally freeze but it has not been a chronic problem and it resets easily enough. My 10 year old son absolutely loves it! Netflix works wonderful, we were able to download his Rhapsody library onto it, and the amount of free games and apps available is outstanding. My 15 year old got the Ipod Touch he asked for and I think he is a little jealous of his brother's tablet. I gave it four stars because of the occasional freeze of the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
01/10/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for daughter for Christmas it stopped working a week later will not even turn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

Great color tablet/ reader

01/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this, got it for Christmas and love it, it's a reader, send messages, emails, shop android market, browse internet, hAS A CARMERA, LOTS OF STORAGE!!.... great gift
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
01/09/2012
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tablet PC as a Christmas gift and was really impressed with how easy it is to use! The camera takes quality photos and the video streaming is great! No buffering! I would highly recommend it.
Great product at an affordable price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System
01/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son for Christmas and it never worked correctly. It constantly froze and had to be reset. Finally, after having it less than a week it froze completely and had to be returned. Thankfully, the customer service at Walmart was excellent and allowed me to exchange it for an Acer Iconia Tablet. I had to pay a little more, but it is worth it! The Acer is an excellent product for the money and I have had absolutley no problems with it whatsoever! Thank you, Walmart! Since we purchased the Filemate I believe Walmart has quit selling it. Probably because of the problems everyone has reported having with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

I loved it at first

01/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved this tablet at first and after a few weeks it wouldn't turn on. After a little while I did get it to come back on and it was fine for a while. Then after a few more weeks it turned off and did not turn off again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Filemate Identity with Wi-Fi, 8GB Memory & 7" Capacitive Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 2.2 (Froyo) Operating System

for the price this is awesome

01/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Android reader. Full market access. Good screen. Gps does not work but customer service was very prompt and helpful with trying to resolve. Some problem with gps being set for China, but didn't buy it for gps. The fact that it had full market access made this number 1. Bought for my wife and did not want to mess with rooting her reader. Battery lasts most of the day with reading and plays Netflix very well. Now i want one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 243 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next