Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Generic Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Average Customer Rating:
2.596 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
60
Customer Recommendation42%48 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
60
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Not even worth the $12

09/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are looking to shred anything more than just a few pages a day I would avoid purchasing this. It says it will shred up to 6 pages at a time, but when you put 6 in it barely gets them through. As some other reviews mentioned it will seize up after about 5-10 minutes of continuous use. The shredder does this to prevent overheating, which is stated in the directions. You have to let it cool down for about 20 minutes before you can continue shredding (Very inconvenient). The biggest problem I had was that once it jams up and gets paper stuck in the gears, forget about cleaning it out. This model was designed to never be opened. Even if you try removing the screws on the back and taking it apart to clean out some paper shreddings, you will find that it does not open. I ended up breaking it trying to remove some paper chunks that formed in the gears from normal use. I believe the only way this model would work well is if you were very careful putting the sheets of paper in and only did a few a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

I liked it but it burned up!

07/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This shredder worked good. Unfortunately it burned up when I shredded documents for about 15 minutes straight. Other shredders have a thermal device that will reset when it cools down. This one doesn't seem to have a thermal switch - it got hot and stopped working - permanently.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Torrance, CA
WM680S has a Thermal Control
Posted 12/07/2011
In the event that the shredder has shred continuously beyond the maximum running time and overheating, the unit will automatically shut off. If this happens, switch the shredder Off for 30 minutes or longer before resuming normal operation.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Worthless

02/02/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for some light shredding at home and it stopped working after 2 passes. I had not even put the max amount of paper in it. Now it won't accept paper and it constantly runs in reverse.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

decent shredder; good value

07/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got it mainly just to shred junk mail credit card applications. Southwest trashed my last shredder with a hidden fake card and heavy weight paper. Normally I would just tear the whole envelope in half and feed 1/2 through my old shredder at a time. I tried that with this shredder and it did not jam but it did not shred. The blades just flexed out and scored the envelope but didn't cut it. however, if you take the sales stuff out of the envelope and feed it through then it cuts fine. So far it is a decent shredder. I have not had a jamb yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head
03/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this paper shredder because I just needed something light weight for personal use. I took it home and tried to use it the first time. I was only shredding one piece of paper at a time, and the machine kept jamming on me. Completely useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Gone in 30 seconds

02/10/2012
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this shredder cause I only have about 10 sheets of paper to shred a week so I thought it would be perfect for the job. After the 4th sheet of paper it stopped working. 2 hours later it still doesn't work. Spend the additional money for a more powerful and reliable paper shredder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

It works!

07/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When our old shredder gave out, the bottom part, the bucket, was still perfectly usable, so I thought I would try just getting the head, rather than throwing out the bucket and getting a new one. This one is perfectly satisfactory for the home use we give it, using it only two or three times a week. The cut is a little broader than the last one we had -- about 1/4 inch -- which is the only reason I didn't give it five stars, but so far it seems well made and an amazing bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Garbage

04/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had for 3 days, now is in the trash can. If running two half sheets (won't run a full size sheet) it always jammed and overheats - don't get this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Very sharp, dependable shredder. It works great!!

07/17/2011
By ,
Nashua
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with the way this shreds. It is very sharp, and shreds perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Worked for 2 days, then broke.

08/16/2011
By ,
Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I need to return this, but it worked for a few days, got jammed. I unjammed it and then it worked again, until an hour later it just stopped working. Be very careful how you feed it and don't put anything in remotely out of alignment or with wrinkles.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Bought two ...returned does not work well at all

06/08/2012
By ,
Arnold, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never buy just because it's cheaper, because a good deal is not always a good deal. You could use this if you have just a few documents daily. I'm a senior and I get lots of junk with personal info on it. Someone tried to steal my identy and now I must shred everything!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

paper shredder head

07/18/2012
By ,
Converse, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This xxxxxx shredder head is just plain evil ! I bought just the head part to save a little money and used my old bin. What a joke, from the start it bogged down, with one piece of typing paper grade paper, hard to clean, nearly impossible to do so, have to find just the right thing to try and clean with, each and every time used it. The only two good things I can say about this piece of junk is ..... you will learn some patience or in my case the other good thing it is very sturdy, I know from when I slammed in down on the floor, the evil thing did'nt crack the plastic housing or hurt the motor....still works, sounds like new with the exception of the paper sticking all the time. Save some frustration, buy a brand new complete one and use the old bin for something else.....maybe to bury the evil shredder head in.!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

If I could give this 0 stars, I would

04/19/2012
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This ran for less than 2 passes, with less than full capacity per pass. I bought it for light usage... it's more appropriate to be inside the garbage can that it sat on top of. Bought it yesterday- back to the store tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Meets my expectation

11/30/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price. I like not having to pay for the bin. I used an old tall plastic bin instead. Performs well as long as you feed the paper in correctly, and let the cut sheets fall well down (not curl up below the cutter). I bought it to shread old financial documents accumulted to 2 feet high. I did a portion each day and in a week's time, all is gone. If any paper should remain in the cutter (like when you feed it in askew) be sure to remove it first before proceeding further. This eliminates the problem of serious jams. Just read the instructions of the manufacturer.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Sounds Powerful - shreds as described

10/02/2011
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my last shredder broke I decided to quit spending so much money on shredders and purchased this one. When I received it a few days ago I put it to use right away and it stood up to the challenge. I put junk mail through it - envelope and all and it worked great.
Like someone said before if the junk mail is too large it scores it but does not shred it. At least it didn't jam. I shredded paper for over thirty minutes and it never stopped or jammed. Very impressive for this price. I don't know how long it will last but so far it is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head
07/17/2011
By ,
rochester ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
didnt realize it shredded in long strips. i wanted something more secure so i ended up returning it. Walmatt always makes it so easy for returns... love that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Do not buy

08/30/2012
By ,
Fort Worth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned my shredder tonight, after purchasing it yesterday. It jamed nearly every time I used it. I have a lot of stuff that needs to be shredded, but the value of the shredder was enough to make me take a chance. I didn't shreded but about 12 things all together before I became disgusted and returned the shredder. After about the third envelope, paper, etc. was shredded, some of the shreds would compact at the bottom of the shredder, causing the cutting wheels to bind and stop working. The only way to get the shredder back into action again was to dig out the compressed paper. Digging the paper out took about 20 minutes each time. The final straw was when my tool slipped and I stabbed myself in the hand with the tool. About 1/8" of the tool went into my hand. I returned the shredder immediately. The Walmart associate at the returns counter asked what was wrong with the shredder, saying that he has seen a lot of them returned. I told him that it jams a lot. If it would shred without jaming I'm sure it would be a good, reliable shredder. The 2 minute run time is a problem, but if you are just shredding your daily mail it won't be a problem at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

A piece of "junk"

05/19/2012
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this yesterday and the same day we bought it was the same day it got messed up after a few papers shredded, I didn't even shredded 10 pages when it stopped responding. This might be ideal for a small kid who doesn't have a lot of papers to shred but for college students, office, or personal use this thing is really bad and junky!! Save your money until you have more than double and get an expensive one that might last you longer than this piece of junk.
You get what you paid for!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Nice schredder for the price

11/23/2011
By ,
Baltimore, Md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why replace the entire old schredder when you can purchase only the cutting unit? This was my question and I am very pleased that I decided to purchase this replacement head. It works great. My only "con" would be the size of the schredded sheets. I wish they were thinner strips. Other than that I would still buy this unit again because of the price and the fast job it does on multiple sheets of paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Strip Cut 6-Sheet Value Shredder Head

Shredder cannot be unjammed due to poor design

06/12/2012
By ,
Fullerton, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This shredder does not work properly because it was poorly designed. Specifically, it cannot be unjammed.
After shredding about 10 3-sheet-thick loads, the shredder jammed. When I reversed the shredder to loosen the jam, the jammed paper clogged midway between the top and bottom of the shredder throat, making the clog virtually inaccessible. After carefully digging out most of the clog, the remaining clogged areas prevented any new sheets from feeding. The shredder quickly overheated and shut off.
During the past 15 years, I have owned several types of shredders, including another brand ("The Office") of shredder head, which I purchased from Walmart 1-1/2 years ago. Although all of these shredders were poorly designed in some respect, this one quit working the fastest. I think 1/2 hour is the record!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next