Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wahl WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Wahl WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Home haircutting can save you money, and now it's easier thanks to the Wahl Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301. Each kit includes step-by-step instructions from the professionals at Wahl, so you'll be confident in every clip, snip and buzz. A host of useful accessories, including a storage case and nine combs so you can cut hair a great variety of lengths, all come together for a good find in home haircutting. The Wahl haircutting kit feature precision-honed steel blades, which are self-sharpening, accurate and durable. The clippers feature an ergonomic shape which makes it comfortable to hold in a variety of positions. The Wahl Home Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301 is a smart home haircutting option.
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
78
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation91%243 out of 266reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 152 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
78
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Good alue

12/05/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a complete hair cutting kit. Seems to work well and is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

poor vibration.

12/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The machine is poorly made I guess you always get what you pay for. The vibration is very poor,it can't even cut my hair, I will not recommend it,go for the high end ones.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Worked great

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to cut my son's hair. Used it once and it's great so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

emergency!

10/31/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the middle of cutting my husband's hair, our old clippers died! I wish I had a picture, because I thought it was pretty darn comical. He? Not so much. We of course did not have buying new clippers in the budget, so we were drawn to the low price of this product. Our rational was that if we only got 2 uses out of them, they would be still cheaper than one salon haircut.
Pleasant surprise! These clippers are quiet and cut very well. The set includes many guards and scissors etc. The cord is a nice long length. We were expecting cheap quality to fix a hair horror.
With routine clipper care, I can see these clippers lasting many, many haircuts.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Great bang for the buck

03/12/2014
By ,
Gaffney,South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just purchased this so can't vouch for it's longevity; however, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. You can't beat the cost of it compared to rechargeable ones. This motor is 3-4 times more powerful than those also and it plowed right through my hair,beard, and mustache without a problem. I don't have to worry about it quitting part of the way through and leaving me looking messed up like the rechargeable ones do. It came with plenty of attachments and is contained in a hard plastic case to keep everything together. The clippers are heavy duty and appear to be well made. Overall, this is a super bargain.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

You need a set

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set of clippers is so easy to use, it is a breeze to cut my own hair. These clippers has already paid for themselves within the first hair cut. I can cut my own hair without leaving the house which saves me money on gas and time. No more waiting in line at the barbershop or trying to find a place that is not busy to cut my hair. I had kind a long hair and these clippers had no problems. They are also very quite and have so nice attachments.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Great for beginners decent enough for the advanced

12/04/2014
By ,
Commerce City, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This haircutting kit is a great beginner's haircutting kit, both in quality and price. So, just in case you decide that cutting your own (or others) hair won't be something that you will continue to do, at least you will get your money's worth with at least ONE haircut paying for the kit itself.
I say this because I used to pay anywhere between $15-25 for a professional haircut; I didn't mind paying in the $15 range, but I wanted to learn to cut my own hair for two reasons: (1) I am African American, and the area/city where I reside does not have a barbershop or salon where the barbers/hairstylists are experienced with cutting my type and grade of hair, so, when others cannot do for you, you might have to learn to do for your own self, and (2) I wanted to save money on haircuts (sometimes, I still receive a professional haircut, approximately every few months or so, and I do the 'touch ups' myself).
Let me state that I am also a woman, who went from wearing long hair, to a dramatic low cut hairstyle, with no previous experience with wearing such short hair; not to say that women cannot or are not good at doing things that men typically do, but I state this specifically for any women and mothers who may be considering learning how to offer basic haircuts for themselves, or for the boys/men in their lives. To you women who feel that this might not be something that you could do because you consider it to be "men's work", I say, you could not be any more incorrect, haha! Haircutting is a very easy thing to do, especially with guided combs that are numbered. You will not become a master haircutter after just one or several haircuts; that takes LOTS of practice and skill (tutorials help, including youtube and your basic internet search engines). I learned by remembering the 'number' of the particular cut that my previous barbers would cut my hair down to (example: a number '#2 [6mm or 1/4'], or ,a '#1 and 1/2 [4.5mm or 3/16]') and just used the numbered guide combs to cut my hair...easy peasy! Trust me on how easy this is, as I remember my brothers and other young boys of my youth learning to cut hair. You get better the more and more times you do it. It is not rocket science, a basic haircut can be learned/accomplished in one sitting!
I purchased this kit on 12/09/2013. Almost one year later, I still use it. I use it approximately four times a month, which consists of a full haircut (every two weeks) and 'touch ups' (every week). I should also state that since purchasing and using this kit, I have purchased another haircutting kit (I purchased it from Walmart as well, and it is available online), the Andis Beard Trimmer. The reason why is because it is designed primarily as a beard trimmer and edge shaper (for your head), giving nice and clean line ups or shape ups. Your basic clippers will not offer as clean and sharp of a shape up as a beard trimmer will do, I don't care what brand of clippers you use. If you are African American particularly, this is almost a necessity to have on board, IF you decide to cut your own hair AND if you want to emulate the clean lines of what ALL African American barbers offer.
The only thing that I dislike about this particular haircutting kit is that it does not come with a #1 and 1/2 (4.5mm or 3/16) guide, nor does it come with an ear trim guide, both of which I like to use. I purchased them separately, since I had already purchased this one, but there are kits (including the Wahl brand) that DO include these and other guides. But, this kit is the absolute cheapest name brand kit that you will find online (I purchased it for $11.00!).
So, if you are looking to save a lot of money on haircuts, learning to cut your own hair is the way to go. There are more advanced (and expensive) haircutting kits on the market, but this kit is great beginner's kit, especially at the price, as if you should decide to throw in the towel with experimenting on yourself (or others), you won't lose anything; the kit pays for itself, with at LEAST one basic haircut.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Just for the "Short of It's" in your life.

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My stepson was always borrowing his Dad's WAHL haircutter so we thought it was time to buy him his own. Makes a nice Christmas gift. and the price was great. Saves him money on haircuts and saves us the wear and tear of our old one. and
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

You can't go wrong

10/27/2014
By ,
Central NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got done using my Wahl Haircutting Kit Model 9243-2301. Basically purchased it to use to trim my sideburns and mustache. Works well. I have been using another brand for many years but dropped it on its edge and broke a metal tooth on the very end on one side. Still works as I have been still using it but to replace the part if I could find one would of cost me more then for my New Wahl Haircutter I was looking at on Walmarts website so I decided why not order a new one. This one looks like it should last me a very long time. For the money you really can't go wrong. There are times when you need a tool like this in between the barber shop. Just like you need a razor to shave this tool will clean your head up fine. If there is someone you can trust in your family maybe even use it for a complete haircut something I don't believe the user can do by themselves.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

If Only I Had This Sooner!

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this kit yesterday and used it today after studying the instructional booklet. My hair was kind of long so I used the biggest guide comb first all through out the the scalp. Then, I came down two sizes on the guide combs and did the mid section. I came down one more size to do he lower section with the help of my wife.
Not a bad machine. It did a great job! It was nice and smooth with no hair pulling. I'm a very satisfied customer. Great price too!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301
11/06/2012
By ,
Fairfax,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so I could cut my own hair and save money. It's quiet and u can only hear the vibration. It gets hot after about 45 minutes. But I don't take that long. It's so sharp. I accidently shaved off a part of my eyebrow. This thing is great, defiantly recommend it to any one. It's really cheap too! It's great for fading hair. It comes with combs, scissors, a cape, oil, guards, and a thick plastic storage case. It even comes with a booklet showing you how to cut hair for beginners. It's everything I could possibly ask for. Good job Wahl.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Haircuts for years for the price of a haircut

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like any other Wahl clipper would work, but at a fraction of the price. Can't tell where the shortcuts come about, but I certainly recommend it be a must buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Low cost hair cutting product

02/01/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can you beat ot for $11.00. I had another Wahl product bought many years aago, and the combs broke. So I needed anew one. It has worked fine so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Good trimmer. I will not have to go to the barber.

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No more trips to the barber and having to wait my turn then pay and tip. This trimmer costs just as much as one trip to a barber might cost.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Above The Cut

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price of the item, it's a bargain. Very close cut. No pinching or biting. Blades are awesome!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Excellent product

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Wahl HomePro. The first one lasted 18 years of great service and saved me over $18,000 in hear cut costs as I cut my own hair at least once a week! The guide combs are accurate, the shaver is easy to hold and use, love the new carry case, and in summary I highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Useless right out of the box

07/29/2014
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased these clippers a few months ago and used them about 3 times. Each time I cut my 4 year old's hair, he complained that it hurt-to the point he no longer wanted me to do it. I thought it was just me trying to get used to using them. I read through the manual to see what might be causing this and saw that sometimes the inner blade can get pushed out of alignment. So the next time I got the clippers out I took a look at this part to see if I could adjust anything. The blade was in fact out of alignment. I started to try to fix it only to determine that the lever that aligns the blade was what was out of alignment. It was stuck far to the right. No amount of pushing would put in back in place. Since I had used a handful of times and had not dropped the clippers, I can only assume it came this way or had been dropped during shipment. Either way, they were pretty useless. Although it was too late to return to Walmart, there is a warranty with Wahl. However you pay to ship there. Since I paid $11 total anyway, it seemed pointless to pay at least half that to ship back for repair/replacement. I will say that I got 3 haircuts out of it, so I guess I saved a bit over the price of a regular haircut, but the discomfort to my son wasn't worth it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sterling, IL
Posted 08/18/2014
Sorry you experienced an issue with our product.  We want to earn your business. 
Please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-767-9245 (USA only) or 1-815-625-6525 (Outside USA) and let them know what product you have and what the issues are and they will be able to help you. We are available by phone between the hours of 8am – 4:30pm (CST) Monday - Friday. You can also email us at Satisfaction@Wahlclipper.com.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

paid for its self after one use

01/13/2013
By ,
Columbus, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little clippers, not professional by any means but for in home use its great. I've cut my own hair with it twice now and have used it as a beard trimmer every other day for about 4 months. So long as you read the manual on how to maintain it, it should last a long time, but honesty it cost as much as a guys hair cut so if it broke tomorrow I'd still be satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

What a deal for a sturdy clipper

02/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing to worry about here. The clipper is a full size one like in barber shops. Feels strong. Nothing to complain about with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for WAHL Home Products Home Pro Complete Haircutting Kit, Model 9243-2301

Good and easy to use

11/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good and easy to use
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next