Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Generic Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Introduce style and functionality to your living space with the Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase. It harmonizes well with most decor styles, from traditional to contemporary. This particleboard wooden furniture is useful for holding large books, magazines, office files, photo albums, collectibles and much more. Alternatively, you can place it inside a walk-in closet to create shelves for sweaters, handbags and shoes, as well as towels and linens. The sturdy construction is complete with a beautifully polished surface. Available in multiple finishes, including rodeo oak, black oak, white stipple and black forest espresso, this adjustable-shelf bookcase will easily accommodate your specific needs. It makes efficient use of vertical space. Set it up in a hallway, bedroom, home office or any area of your home or apartment. Pair this decorative bookcase with other items in the Ameriwood collection (sold separately) for a refined look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.072 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1967 Reviews) 1699
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
938
4 stars
608
3 stars
186
2 stars
94
1 star
141
Customer Recommendation87%1,708 out of 1,965reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
94 Questions | 851 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
938
4 stars
608
3 stars
186
2 stars
94
1 star
141
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Damaged & Missing Pieces

04/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this and was expecting an easy assembly as I've put together a lot of furniture in the past.
The 5 shelf bookcase came in with a cracked panel all the way through. Walmart informed me I had to contact the manufacturer for a replacement piece. OK, might be easier. We shall see.
The 3 shelf bookcase came in with every edge on one of the center shelves unfinished.
Edges are peeling and overall, I guess you get what you pay for. However, I have other bookcases similar to this that are over 12 years old and went together quite easily and still look great today.
This is just cheap. There are no starter holes, so be prepared to make your own. Do not take their advice and work on a carpet. Make sure you have a flat surface so that your back edges are flush.
Overall, this whole set is nothing but a disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Cheap But does the job

04/16/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered the ruby red bookcase as it matches my bedroom. Assembly was definitely the task luckily I had a power drill due to the fact you have to make the holes pretty much for the screws. While doing so its hard to keep it all aligned so I managed to over screw one and it angled out of the side. I didn't even realize that mine never came with the back pieces. Personally I think it looks better screwed into the wall with the wall being open in the back. I found the fact I could screw it into the wall very handy as I have a two year old who has tried to climb it and its sturdy as ever. It is very cheaply made doesn't look like its worth much but like I said it does the job and it was the cheapest red bookcase I could find. I wouldn't buy it again but I don't hate it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

The Poor Man's Bookcase

04/13/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just finished assembling the AmeriWood Espresso 5-shelf from Walmart. Putting it together was more difficult than I expected. For one thing, I had to call AmeriWood's customer service line before I could even start. I was on hold for 25 minutes. I had thought there was a mistake because the top of the unit was only finished on one side, but no, "that is correct", the person told me ... the unfinished side is what faces the ceiling. I have never, in my 62 years of life, owned or even seen a bookcase with an unfinished exterior facing component! Granted, you would have to be tall, or looking down from a staircase, for example, to notice, but still, that's the height of cheapness when a company can't put the "veneer" paper on top of a bookcase!
Putting it together was a chore! I used a manual screwdriver, with which I had to screw in the long screws into every hole and then unscrew them in order to make the holes large enough to accommodate the screws before actually attaching the corresponding shelves. I learned early on that if I didn't do that, the screw would go into the side panel okay, but not very far into the shelf, leaving a big gap between the side of the shelf and the side panel of the bookcase. Power tools would probably have made a big difference.
As someone else already pointed out, the cardboard does not align on the back very well at all, so be very careful to adjust it to the best position possible, and then carefully drive a couple of nails in, at key positions, so that the cardboard doesn't move and then end up sticking out beyond the bookcase sides. Tip: lay the cardboard face down on the floor in another room while you are assembling the wood parts, and set something fairly heavy (not heavy enough to break it though) on top of it to flatten it out somewhat and make it easier to lay flush on the back of the unit when you are ready to nail it on.
I used a dark brown fine point marker to cover up any particle board where the paper veneer had been chipped or scraped away. There really was very little of that, and the areas that did need to be touched up were small, such as where the kick plate didn't precisely align against the wood on one side. You can't even tell where it was touched up.
All in all, considering that this was significantly cheaper than any other bookcase I could find (and I spent weeks searching), I really shouldn't complain. It looks perfectly fine assembled, all of the parts were included, and even though I struggled with the screws on the fixed parts, at least I got them in without splitting any wood or stripping a screw. Was it worth it? Yes!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

good quality shelf for the price

04/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the shelf is tall and was fairly easy to assemble
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Nice, tall bookcase, great buy on a budget!

03/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a nice affordable bookcase for my
Room, instead of picking one up from ikea
This bookcase is similar to ikea billy bookcase
If you don't wanna spend too much on a
Bookcase this one is great to buy! It's nice and
Really slim.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Good buy

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a birthday gift for husband and he likes them very much
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Perfect

02/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is perfect at a great price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Good value but decription vague

02/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the bookshelves. They went together easily and are performing well. The only criticism I have is that the dimension were not clearly stated in the description on line. I Though I was buying 30" wide bookshelves and they were actually only 24". But they still were a great value for the money and I am glad to have them. One suggestion would be the availability of extra shelves as an additional items.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

If it sounds t oo good to be good quality...

02/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not recommend:
One carton lacked the packet of hardware needed for assembly.
Flimsy, poor quality materials
Back was a skimpy piece of cardboard
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Can't fit anything on it

02/22/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm a college student who needed a cheap way to store books and for storage. These bookshelves are decently sturdy, if you don't count the fact that the backing is just a folded piece of cardboard. My biggest problem with them however, is that the shelves aren't long enough to store most books! I guess it's my own fault for not paying close enough attention to the exact measurements, but I'm honestly curious as to why the shelves are just barely over 9" when you need at least 12" for most items. I tried looking for some small storage bins to put on the shelves instead, but it's impossible to find anything like that under 12". Almost everything I could think of to make use of these shelves is too big. Now I'm stuck with a desk piled with books and an empty shelf.
I can see how these shelves would do nicely for people who collect dolls or figures, or for smaller books, but the fact that there are very noticeable creases in the flimsy backing where it was folded might be too distracting.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Fabric hoarders dream!

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love, love, love these bookcases! In fact I love them so much I bought 2! Walmart shipped them promptly free of charge to my home and I had them both assembled quickly and easily. I bought them for fabric storage in my sewing room and they are perfect! Holds all of my fabric neatly and looks so professional. I am in seamstress heaven. Thank you Walmart for a perfect buying experience.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Just what I've been looking for!

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The height and width was exactly what I've been looking for. Very study and stable and easy to put together. And is very heavy.
My first order came damaged, which I had to return and reorder but was no longer available in the color I wanted. Though disappointed...overall, material and product is good in quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Perfect for my needs.

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the espresso color. The unit is sturdy, fits wonderfully in a corner of my small apt.
Only thing I wish I knew before buying is that Walmart was going to lower the price by $4.50 immediately afterward! All is well. I'm looking forward to getting the 3-shelf in red. Thank you!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

It was a very good buy for the money spent

02/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

great bookcase

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great little bookcase. its good for putting not just books, but dvds, cds, etc. whatever you want on it. its a great value for the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Practical wall shelf

02/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One part at the bottom wasn't that precise, but otherwise easy to build. Dimensions are perfect for my wall. I'll put 2 shelves together for more space.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

great shelf

02/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
didn't take long to put together. looks great. I am glad I purchased
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Best NOT to buy online

02/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered 2, both came with broken parts. Too difficult to return. Waste of money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

Everything Anything Shelf

02/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These shelves worked great for our book collection. The bright colors added a fantastic burst of color. I wish I'd know that they weren't very wide, which limits the space but it gives me the reason to buy two more later.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ameriwood 5-Shelf Bookcase, Multiple Colors

pretty and inexpensive!

02/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like that I could find a book case this size for a price like this. It is made of compressed board, but I can fill it up with books! Finally, I don't have to have them scattered everywhere! The only thing I didn't like was that the instructions were all pictures, instead of pictures with words. So my sister and I took about an hour to put it together with each other. It comes with a mount that I don't currently need, but when children come along and bump it while it's on carpet, that might not turn out well. On wood it should be sturdy though.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,700 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  85 Next