Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

The Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up To 42" is an elegant yet functional addition to your living room. This beautifully-designed flat panel TV stand features storage space to accommodate TV and other accessories. With simple yet sleek design, this modern TV stand is sure to complement any decor and background. Easy to assemble, you can do it in a short time using the household tools. The space-saving design makes this Mainstays TV stand popular and preferable for tight spaces. Made from durable materials, this flat panel TV stand lasts for a long time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(242 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
58
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation88%212 out of 242reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
58
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

WOW!!! AMAZING!!

03/24/2010
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so i moved into my new place and decided i really need a stand for my 42" RCA LCD so i went to walmart expecting to get a little cardboard box size stand bought this with little expectations. came home assembled it and WOW and simply blown away at how great it looked it can def hold its weight if placed properly in center. one good tip for people after assembling is hit the stand with some pledge and the fake black wood will actually shine like its pure real wood. i will post pics of my set up to prove.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Great TV Stand for the $$$

12/02/2010
By ,
Medford, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this stand in July '09, and it's still stongly holding our 46" Sony Bravia XBR, Wii, PS3, satelite box, speakers, and decorative candle lanterns, and doesn't look over crowded. Pics don't do justice. I push it back and forth sometimes when vacuuming, and haven't had any problems. We needed something inexpensive and nice looking. My husband and I had it put together fairly quick. We did it without the instructions, (it helps when he's good at this kind of stuff). When a friend was in need of a new stand, we suggested this one to him. This is a great tv stand for the $$$!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 3 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Amazing product for the money!

04/27/2010
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great and fits our 40" flat screen great! Also a lot of room for wii and other consoles! GREAT deal for the price!!!! Would recommend it to anyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

AMAZING!!!

05/13/2010
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched for a while to find a TV Stand for my 42" RCA HDTV for the right price. This TV Stand met all of my standards. I was expecting some cheaply made piece of garbage. But this thing is AMAZING! It looks great in my room! The price was just right and this thing is so amazingly sturdy and strong! I bet you could put a bigger TV on it! I Love it! Stop reading this and go buy one!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 5 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Good quality, easy to assemble

06/03/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Wonderful item

04/22/2011
By ,
Brooklyn, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very simple to put together by myself . I did it late at night after my kids went to sleep and I was extremely tired from the days work but I still had no problem putting it together . I ordered it on Friday April 1st and received it the very next day and I only paid for regular shipping so I am very pleased with this item and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Better than expected!!!

04/23/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I just moved into my first apartment and was looking for a TV stand that was inexpensive, sturdy, and easy to assemble. This product fits that criteria and I highly recommend it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

It's beautiful.

12/14/2009
By ,
millville nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 42 inch philips lcd and it's all black so it looks so much better than the one they have on the picture. It holds 90 pounds on top, 15 pounds on the sides and 25 pounds on the middle. It looks so much better than in the picture, i really cant say that enough. On top left side we keep the wii and it fits perfect. On the bottom left side we keed the xbox 360 it fits perfect too. It is really easy to put together no more than 15 minutes. We were so happy with it we bought a second one for our 47 sharp lcd. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Review 9 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Pretty good

07/05/2010
By ,
new rochelle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is very good for a its price, even though the owner was basically not needed to build this since i assembled a dresser a few hours before. but all in all this is a must buy if you want to have a perfectly good stand without having to spend hundreds, but i just ordered a 42" plasma from walmart so i haven't been able to see if it can hold up against its weight. It holds up my 50" tube pretty good, and since its sturdy i am not worried about it. Also very important the delivery was very fast, i ordered on the 26th and got it on the 29th
WARNING look carfuly at what you going it is easy to assembly parts in the wrong direction but since it is easy is disassemble it can bee redone but save yourself the heartache and do it right the first time
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 10 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Best TV Stand Ever!

01/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 32' tv and I needed a tv stand so I was walking in walmart and found this one. I put it together and it was so simple. It holds my Wii, Dvd player, Dvr, Tv, Wii Games, My Internet router and modem. Its perfect for anyone with a TV up to 42'. I will recommend this to anyone and everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 11 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Way better than expected!!!

01/13/2010
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For under $40 i thought this would of looked and preformed poorly, but once i got it all put together this thing was amazing!!! It is very stable due to the silver legs being metal (not plastic like other stands in this price range). there is no play back and fourth or front to back so i am very confident on putting my $700 42" tv on it. it has plenty of shelves for my dvd player, stereo, speakers and the wife's happy to have more places for pictures. There really isn't a single thing wrong with this tv stand and i'm very happy i got quality for a cheap price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 12 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Awesome TV Stand!

12/15/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking around online and was going to order a much more expensive tv stand, but we went to our local Walmart and got this one since the price is good. It's a great purchase and I'm glad we went with this, looks more expensive than it is and was pretty easy to assemble. My boyfriend did it in about a half hour! Don't waste money getting an expensive stand, this one is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 13 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Ultimately had to return item

01/03/2014
By ,
Houston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this stand for my parents. I anticipated the design would allow for a desktop computer to be located on one of the side wings, which would then be used for online and hard drive TV/movie viewing. The design definitely fit that need (don't install the half shelf), but my parents had to return the item due to poor materials of construction. The press board "shredded" when the various panels were attached to each other which caused the final product to be unstable and whobbly. After a few days, my parents determined that it was not suitable, especially for being brand new, and returned it.
My ratings are based on the design, not on the actual service or function the product provided. I read other (almost all) reviews of the product before purchasing, which motivated me to purchase it. The specific unit shipped to me may have been defective or it may be representative of a change in materials or manufacturing; I simply don't know.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Great TV Stand

10/03/2011
By ,
North Conway, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a bit time consuming to put together, mostly because the instruction illustrations were sometimes hard to see which unfinished side was where (not as much indication of that as with other instructions I have encountered with other products I have built). I had some issues with the (excuse the non-technical terms rofl) round turning things that you use to secure the metal prongs rofl. I'm not sure if maybe the hole pre-drilled for them was not lined up quite right, but some were actually popping forward when I was securing them and they ended up bending a bit. It went together anyway and nothing seems to be wrong. It's holding a 32" TV on top and multiple electronics (a bluray player, 2 xbox 360's, a PS3, cable box and a wii) on the other shelves and despite the temporary securing problem, everything is fine otherwise and I would buy another one. I think it looks much better size-wise than most others out there and it cost a lot less. It's great for any room that is smaller but has electronics that need to be organized.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Cheap is Cheap

04/16/2011
By ,
Lancaster, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My brother in law coined a term in my family, "Cheap is Cheap."
If you find an item at a cheap price, it's probably cheap quality.
This stand was horrific.
The instructions to build it were terrible. No text, just images, this made it very difficult.
But even when I finally understood it, it became increasingly clear that it was very unstable.
I built the entire thing in about 2 and a half hours.
But when I was finished, the product shook back and forth when I tried to test it's stability.
On top of that, the metal pole on the side broke off.
The only thing that holds it together is to VERY small welding jobs. It's VERY obvious that it can fall off and break easily.
Plus, one of the screws where completely filled in, making it impossible to use a screw driver. The only thing I could do was use Vice Grips.
Terrible product at a low price.
I'm gonna go find a HDTV stand for $150+...
I don't want to spend so much more RIGHT after I bought my HDTV in the first place, but cheap it cheap, I'll never find a good deal unless I buy something worth the high price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 16 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

NECESSITY FOR BEDROOM FLATSCREEN TV

02/06/2011
By ,
UPSTATE, S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE TALLEST STAND I COULD FIND SINCE I HAVE A TALLER BED AND THE TV AT THE FOOT OF THE BED. PRODUCT IS WELL BUILT, VERY STRONG TO HOLD A LARGER FLATSCREEN, PLENTY OF SHELVING FOR DVD PLAYER, GAME PLAYER, DVDS, ETC. VERY PLEASED WITH THIS ONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Cheap price, cheap TV stand

08/19/2011
By ,
Palatka, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I broke the head off one of the locking screws and the attachment from the metal tube, which screws to the shelf, putting this together. This is cheap, junky furniture that won't take being moved around much and I suspect will start to bow where the TV sits. I'm also scared how much humidity it will be able to take before it swells up. It reminds me of why people buy trailer homes, they want something that is new and looks good and can't afford the real thing. If people had any construction talent at all you would be better off building a simple stand out of real wood that would last you forever like real furniture use to. I should have sent it back and taken my own advice. I would have had to try to take it apart which would have been an even bigger pain. If you are looking for something that looks good, doesn't cost much and don't mind if you have to throw it away in a couple of years I guess this is OK. I wouldn't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

LCD Stand

01/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pleasantly surprised, took only a few minutes to put together, Sturdy, and looks good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 19 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

This was a good purchase!

07/10/2012
By ,
Lexington, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's exactly what I wanted and looks sooooo much better in person. Once you put it togther and really look at it with your tv, XBox, and Wii etc. on it, it looks like it cost around $300, REALLY! My store had it for $39.88. GOD is good and thanks Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Mainstays TV Stand for TVs up to 42", Black

Awesome TV Stand

08/29/2012
By ,
Ellensburg, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this TV stand for our new 42" television and we couldn't be happier with it! It provides great support, looks good, and also has ample storage capacity. It easily fits our cable receiver, Xbox, and over 100 DVDs with some room to spare. The stand was easy to put together and didn't take long, especially compared to other assemblies we've experience with Mainstays products. Definitely an awesome purchase for the price (although we actually got it for about 10 bucks cheaper in-store)!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 200 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next