Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Mainstays Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Turn your TV room, den or living room into a real media room with this Mainstays Black TV Stand. Designed for TVs up to 42", this black TV stand has a sleek, contemporary style that looks great with any decor in the home. Game day, movie night or any time you get together with the family to watch your favorite shows will be that much more fun with all of your components and equipment stored neatly together. You can easily keep media components, remote controls, games, DVDs and more safe and dust-free in this gorgeous TV stand. It provides integrated wire management to keep cords organized.
Average Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(317 Reviews) 281
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
77
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation92%292 out of 317reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
77
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Beautiful and Sturdy

12/21/2012
By ,
Corona,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I having been searching around for weeks for a modern-looking TV stand in the $100-$150 range. This one certainly lives up to my expectation. It is beautiful and sturdy for something at this price, and shipping was free! Assembly instructions are clear also. Thank you Walmart.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Great value product!

12/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to all the other helpful reviews, this product was as expected. It took us a while to put together, but the instructions were extremely clear. The product is particle board with wood veneer (and vinyl veneer for the edgebanding). Yes, it is totally cheap but it feels sturdy, and looks good considering the price! I don't expect it to last forever... however I'm happy with my purchase because I saved money but still got a perfectly good stand which fits all our components AND allows for hidden storage behind the doors. Yay! See pics for view of how it looks with our new Samsung 46" TV. We still have to put our DVD player on the bottom shelf - but you can see there's plenty of room for everything we have (amp/receiver, cable box, dvd player, Wii). The Wii will have to lay flat rather than stand up, though. I will hide the drumsticks, remotes, DJ Hero turntable and other stuff behind a door. We'll tidy up the wires once everything is in. By the way, packaging says this stand allows up to a 50" TV or 95 lbs. I think our 46" TV looks good because it is slightly less width than the stand itself.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

For the price, you can't beat it!

01/17/2011
By ,
Gloucester City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm buying a new TV soon but unfortunately my old entertainment center was too small to fit my new TV. I was on the look out for a new TV stand for a good month (I'm very picky). I had my mind set on another TV stand until I happen to come across this one at the last minute. I couldn't be more happier with my decision to go with this stand.
Setup was a breeze. The directions were very easy to follow and all the parts come organized out of the box. The screws and such were all organized as well and labeled so you don't have to guess if you have the right size screw or not.
Once everything is setup, this is one piece of furniture that can make any room look good. The stand itself is sturdy and solid. Plenty of horizontal space on the top and deep cabinet space to hide your junk.
Currently I have my 26" Sony LCD sitting atop which will soon be replaced by a 42" Samsung plasma. I have no fears setting my new TV on this wonderful stand!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

very useful

04/10/2010
By ,
Levelland, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't buy this for it's intended purpose. I needed a place for put my printers and scanner. This is just what I needed. It's a good height, the DVD/VCR shelves are are perfect for laptop bags and paper storage, and the door compartments are good for extra stuff that normally was piled on my desk. Wasn't the easiest thing to put together since some parts missed getting labled, which was the reason for the 4 stars overall, but for what I needed it for - It's perfect and I couldn't be happier
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Great TV Stand

11/12/2010
By ,
Benicia, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching for ahwile to find a tv stand that would work for my tv i have an older model tv that is extremly heavy so i was scared to purchase a cheaper tv stand but didnt want to buy one that was 300 dollars so i settled on this one and im very glad that i did my tv is way over the weight compacity for the tv stand its working perfectly fine! The only set back is that its a little wobbly but its just cause its on carpet. I love this tv stand!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Great product Cheap price!!

02/14/2010
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this entertainment center and 2 Mainstays bookshelves for $130. It was a great deal. It holds my flatscreen just fine and is nice and sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Using with a Mitsubishi 73" DLP 3D TV

06/20/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this stand for 1 1/2 years now and works perfect for my 73" Mitsubishi 3d DLP.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Perfect TV Stand

02/18/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stand is absolutely perfect without costing too much money. It was easy to put together with the cam locks. I am a single Mom and I put it together by myself with a screwdriver and a hammer in about an hour - thats all you need. The height is perfect and I love love love the cabinets with the doors to keep dvd's and other things hidden - it looks very clean and I would definitely recommend this tv stand to others. You will be happy with your purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Perfect Price And Size

10/19/2010
By ,
berwyn,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well i was looking for a stand that was simple and not expensive and that could hold a 42 inch plasma and this was just perfect it did however take a while to build but for the price id order it again the stand looks nice too has 2 deep drawers which fit some stuff i had no place for overall i loved this product and the price and it was delivered quick to my house if i am right i got it 2 days after ordering and there was no damage to the box or unit great product
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Good TV Stand

10/16/2010
By ,
Marion, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This took a few hours to put together and needs 2 people, as it is heavy and needs to be turned and flipped. I have a 50" LG Plasma and it fits just fine.
The box states 42" but inside says any TV up to 95 pounds.
Price was right on this and was $10.00 cheaper online then in store.
Pics below to show what it looks like.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Great Value

12/03/2009
By ,
Bensalem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing a TV stand to hold my Samsung 52' LCD TV. At first I was very skeptical about this main stays stand because I was unsure of the stability, after I put it together (which took about 2 hours) I was very surprised to learn it could hold upto 95lbs my TV which is 64lbs sits perfectly on this stand. There is plenty of room for storage and all of my devices. I think if your worried about how much weight it can hold as long as it's under 90lbs I would not be concerned. Also it's much better than the high end stand best buy had for well over 200. It's a great value and also lools great. I've uploaded a pic in case anyone was wondering what a 52' LCD TV would look like on it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+186points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Quality TV Stand

01/02/2010
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an affordable TV stand/entertainment center for my new 46" HDTV, and the price and look caught my eye. After reading the customer reviews and people noting how sturdy it was, I decided to get it, and I'm glad I did. It fits my TV perfectly, and the shelves hold my DIRECTV HD/DVR box, and my DVD player just fine. The side compartments (especially the two doored compartments) are also nice for media storage. I definitely recommend, purchase with confidence.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Beautiful, Sturdy Furniture

01/11/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful item. It matches my black and white livingroom perfectly. It looks like on of those expensice pieces from a furniture store that would cost you $200-$400. Well worth it! I love this stand.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

GREAT ITEM!

01/29/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a 65" Mitsubishi DLP tv and this stand compliments it beautifully! Stong and sturdy & very pretty & you can't beat the price! Doesn't look like an $80 stand! Very pleased.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Great TV Stand

01/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks amazing! Did take 2+ hours to set up, though. Would definitely recommend. Great for such a low price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

So Far So Good

10/29/2009
By ,
S. Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just put the product together this afternoon. I did it by myself and even though I had some snags, it looks really good. I'll have to write another review after I've had it for a bit longer, but it looks good. I accentuated it by placing two black bookcases on either side. I'm attaching a photo so you can see how I set up. Also, holds a tube TV.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Sleek and Sturdy!

03/03/2010
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched many different stores before deciding to go with this stand. I was a little worried because it says on the box that it only holds up to a 42" TV, and I purchased a 46" TV. My TV looks great on the stand, but I wouldn't recommend going any bigger. The stand holds up to 95 lbs for the TV alone, so it's great for the flat screens. It's a very sturdy stand, and has just the right amount of space to store things underneath. Adjustable shelves allow you to place your cable box, DVD/Blu Ray player, and any games systems perfectly! Other stores charge $100-$250 for something similar, and for $79.00, this stand was a steal! I would recommend this to ANYONE who wants to save money on a stand while still getting a great product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

great buy

03/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked for a while for a new entertainment center. This one had overall positive reviews so we thought we'd try it. I love all the small shelves, they're great for our game systems! The only problem was where to store the movies? So we spent an extra $30 to buy two short black bookshelves. It all looks great together and we have plenty of room, plus everything fits! I was a little dissapointed that the door clips are only plastic. I'm wondering how long it will take for them to break.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Nice stand

10/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this stand for my new 47" LG TV.
It fits just perfectly so I am not sure if a 50" TV would fit as the online description said...though on the actual box it says it can fit up to 42" TVs.
It is a heavy box ~90 lbs but not overly big. Walmart associates loaded it into my backseat of my camry for me.
I really like the look of it and the practicality of the doors. It took about 2 hrs for me to assemble alone.
It is very sturdy and good quality. I've assembled several pieces of furniture over the past few years and I found this one to be one of the better pieces in terms of build quality. When you consider it is half the price of similar TV stands - I think it's definitely worth it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays TV Stand for Flat Screen TVs up to 42", Black

Super item! Awesome deal!

02/22/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a nice (black), but inexpensive tv stand for a while now and came across this one. I read the reviews and everyone seemed pleased with it, so I decided to give it a try. It wasn't available online, so I had to make the trip to the store (I wanted it delivered since it looked like it weighed a lot). Once I located it in-store (which was still $79 at the one I went to), I was disappointed to see the box stated it would fit up to a 42" flat screen since I have a 47" and the description online said it could accommodate up to 50". I decided to get it anyway. Once I opened it and read the instructions, I was happy to see it stated it could fit up to 50" flat screen (or 27" CRT) or 95 lbs. on top and 25 lbs for each shelf. It didn't take too long to put together (I can't give an estimate since I was multi-tasking while putting it together, but no longer than an hour). Once completed, I moved everything and it looks great! It is able to hold my dvd/vcr, blu ray player, Wii, PS3, and XBOX 360. The cabinets hold and conceal all the accessories for the gaming consoles. I have lots of DVDs so I nested 2 towers (also bought at Walmart) on each side of the TV stand and it all goes together nicely. The whole set-up fits my decor perfectly. I'm extremely happy with this great find!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 282 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next