Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Haier Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

The Haier Commercial Cool portable air conditioner and heater is ideal for cooling or warming smaller contained areas. This single-hose 12,000-BTU portable air conditioner is equipped to meet all of your interior climate needs with cool, heat, fan, and dehumidify modes. An easy-to-install window kit is included for exhausting the air conditioner/heater through any window that opens horizontally or vertically. Fully-directional casters provide mobility for moving the CPF12XHL-LP from room to room. Maintenance is minimal on this Haier Commercial Cool portable air conditioner and heater thanks to a slide-out washable mesh filter and auto evaporation technology that makes manual draining unnecessary.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation75%15 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Purchased for emergency heating and cooling.

09/23/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The day that it arrived I unpackaged it and set it up in my room to ensure everything worked. A lot of people complain about the noise, but keep in mind that this is an Air Conditioner and if you stand outside next to your AC unit it is not quite. Really not noisy in my opinion as it compares to many blowers so completely met my expectations. Cooled off the Master Bedroom and Bath (Approx. 380 Sq Ft) by 4 degrees within 30 minutes. I then stoped it for a couple minutes to let it cycle down before starting the Heater. That one nearly had me calling the help line as it took approximately 10 minutes before it started. Maybe because it heated the coils before blowing, but once it was going it started to heat the room. In an emergency, this will really keep my little ladies cool or warm so this unit meets my expectation and once on whatever floor you will need it the wheels on it moves about fairly easy (even on carpet). The unit is a little heavy about 60 to 70 pounds so if not able to lift this much it may be hard for you to get around without assistance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 2 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Operates as Promised

07/13/2012
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this model of unit in mid-May. After assembly and letting it sit for 24 hours, we turned it on. It has been on since then, about eight weeks, running almost 24 hours each day, seven days each week. Other than cleaning out the dust, which would have to be done with any air-conditioner, we have done no major maintenance to it. I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 3 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

awesome

08/23/2012
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We only have 1 window in our bedroom and hated running an AC every night when the weather outside was nice, so we bought this portable AC so we could open the window and get fresh air. We watched the video first, so it explains alot and we knew how to set it up. When we first turned it on it was 89 in the bedroom, within 45 min the temp dropped to about 78, when we get up in the morning it gets down to 70 and very comfortable, on hot days I bring it into the dining room as we only have 1 window in there also. I love this AC. It is easy to roll from room to room, we are thinking of getting a second one next year for the living room to free up that window when the weather is nice. If you need an AC, this is the one to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Suits our needs

09/01/2012
By ,
Pomona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter and granddaughter live in a somewhat historical 100 year-old apartment (it has a functional ice-box). Understandably, the landlord does not care for the idea if A/C units hanging out the windows. This unit is very inobtrusive. These portable units don't seem to be as efficient as a window unit, though. By closing the doors to the kitchen and bedroom during the day it has been possible to keep the small living room very comfortable even during the recent days of 105 degrees in Southern California and it does a decent job for the whole apartment at night. The point is, try to get as many BTUs as you can afford. Also, keep the vent hose as short as possible (or think about wrapping it with insulation?) because it gets very warm and you don't want that heat returning to your room. it took 10-20 minutes to unpack it and set it up. It isn't very noisy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Meets realistic expectations

09/06/2012
By ,
Clearlake, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second Haier portable air conditioner I have purchased; the other one has worked fine in a 400 sq ft bedroom for two years. This one I have put in a vacation house. In the earlier installation I was able to vent the unit through an unused ceiling pipe intended for a wood stove. I used double-walled pipe intended for gas to connect to the unit, and insulated it heavily. The point is, the unit obviously kicks cold air out the front and hot air out the back. Those who complain the unit doesn't cool their room may not have taken sufficient care to vent the hot air to the outside.
I was able to attach the new unit to an existing wall vent using the supplied tubing, again wrapping it heavily with insulation secured with duct tape, and keeping the run to a minimum length. The result seems satisfactory in pushing the hot air to the outside, and provides welcome relief in 106 degree heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Works geat!!

08/26/2012
By ,
carrollton virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a porch that I enclosed with windows. The air conditioner/heater works greats. I now have a four seasons room. This unit is better than a window unit; it does not hang out the window and it is quiet. 12000 BTU it the best bang for your buck.the comparable window unit is 8000 BTU.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
09/09/2012
By ,
Cleveland, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works very well and cools most of our house down. The only thing I would complain about it the fan does not turn off. It has a thermostat you can set and the air kicks on and off but the fan runs constantly. It evaporates well, I have not had to dump it. The heater works but we have not had to use the heater yet. All in all I am pleased with it and my electric bill has actually lowered since we changed from a window unit to the 4 in one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
09/02/2012
By ,
Leesburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Haier portable air conditioner as a replacement for a Haier portable air conditioner that I purchased from walmart.com several years ago. The new one was easier to install, and works better than the first one. Technology has come a long way!
The price was better than any store or web site that I researched. I would highly reccomend this product to anyone needing a portable air conditioner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Does the job.

08/15/2012
By ,
Manhattan, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product cools the area it was purchased to cool. This same area needs extra heat in the cold weather but I have not been able to try the heating capabilities as this summer has been too darned hot...but if it works as well heating as it does cooling it will be worth every penny spent and more!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Cools 400 sq. ft. in an hour

09/27/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had 2 previous portable AC units. They didn't get the job dome and they didn't last. This 12,000 BTU/hr unit cools our 400+ sq. ft. master bedroom suite in less than an hour in the daytime in Houston summer weather. We turn off the central AC at night and just use the Haier portable. It brings the temperature down to 74F in an hour or two and 73F by morning. We set the Haier at 66F so that it runs all night. Now that it is late September and the daytime highs are only 90F, we are setting the Haier at 71F and it runs only half the time, keeping the room at 74F. If we set the temperature any lower, the room gets too cold for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
04/26/2012
By ,
Medford, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does a good job of keeping my room cool, the only problem is I haven't had time to figure out how to keep the display lights on.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-13points
Review 12 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
07/12/2012
By ,
Clarksville, Tn.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brough this unit on 11 July 2012. The instruction are incomplete on all operation of my unit. I have a knob on the back of my unit and the instruction book dose not address the operation of this knob. That make my instruction incomplete. The knob is next to the duct connection on the back of the unit. I would like to know its operation before i can put the unit in operation. Thanks Aaron
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
19606
no manual
Posted 08/29/2012
download manual from website.
http://www.haieramerica.com/cool-heat-air-quality/portable-ac/cpf12xhl-lp
+1point
Customer Avatar
Wichita, KS
Water Drain for Cooling Coils
Posted 07/13/2012
The knob is the water drain for the cooling coils. Normally, this unit is auto-evaporative, evaporating the water back into the air (good in dry Arizona, bad in the humid mid-west and south). However, you may attach a hose and run the condensation outside or to a drain. You must do this if you are operating it as a dehumidifier.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
09/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This portable ac unit did not cool a 350 square foot room. I will be returning it as soon as I can get help to put it back in the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 14 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Air Conditioning too Noisy

07/17/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this unit with the intention to use it at night. This unit is too loud for me to go to sleep; therefore, it does not meet my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Review 15 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Do Not Buy

08/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have a 10,000 btu unit by the same manufacturer that worked out so well, we wanted to get another one. We opted for a slightly bigger air conditioner/heater with the 12,000 btu unit. This was a huge mistake! This unit vibrates horribly, (even on a flat level surface), and makes so much noise I'm going to try to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 16 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP

Very nice AC and Heating unit.

05/18/2013
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bout this unit after mine busted in the middle of a heat wave last year. I was not sure about getting a heater/ac but I needed an ac and the price was right. Boy was I pleased. The ac worked amazing and get my room nice and cool for sure. This winter was a cold one and I was so glad to have the heater option too. I live in a house with central heat (no air) but the thermostat is downstairs and upstairs gets like an oven. So this unit was perfect! It is easy to use and set up and really does the job. Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
11/30/2012
By ,
NEW YORK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OVERPRICED. IT DIDN'T COOL MY 10 X 10 ROOM. IT WAS PROFESSIONALLY VENTILLATED.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 18 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
09/14/2012
By ,
Gladstone OR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this machine for about a 3 weeks now and it works just fine. I have been utilizing the d-humidifier mode at night when I go to sleep and I wake up clear, not congested. The A/C is good and cold, I haven't used the heater yet, when I do I will update this review. For the price I paid with shipping it is a great bargain (shipping was only .$99) and it arrived way ahead of schedule.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
10/03/2012
By ,
Sacramento
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it for 280 sq feet room it cold the area very slow it is good product over all the look and everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Haier 12,000-BTU Commercial Cool Portable Air Conditioner and Heater CPF12XHL-LP
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5