Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Virgin Mobile Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Live life on the fast lane with the Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Phone. It features the Android 2.2 OS that lets you perform day-to-day tasks with relative ease right from the convenience of your palm. So be it checking mail or sharing a picture over any social network, it has what it takes to do them. This LG Optimus V Prepaid Android phone is 3G and Wi-Fi compatible so you can browse the internet at amazing speeds and perform even video calls for face-to-face communication over the internet. The Wi-Fi cell phone has a 3.2inch touchscreen display that is highly responsive and displays various user-friendly menus and one-touch launch applications. Plus, this 3G cell phone also has a 3.2 megapixel camera to capture and share all your favorite moments with friends and family.
Average Customer Rating:
3.853 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation77%89 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

AWESOME!!!

12/30/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE! I switched from Straight Talk (E71) to V-mobile because of the better phones...I couldn't be happier! Its fast, keyboard is responsive and fast. When I run on just one signal bar I still get 3G network and my internet is still pretty quick. Waaayy faster than the E71. The only things I've found I dont like are ....there is not speed dial & no flash for the camera & you cant print directly from your phone like the E71 but hey....I'll take all that for the speed :# PS...when I first got it, it would restart quite a few times #very annoying, i almost took it back) but then I did the factory reset and now it is perfectly fine...and my battery lasts a long time without downloading a battery saver app. Runs angry birds just fine and when I am on wifi it runs faster than my computer....buy it...try it...and hey if you don't like it... take it back. Good luck and God bless!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+211points
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

A Big Bang For The Buck!

03/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for our teenager. It's an android smart phone that does just about everything that our expensive models do. You get access to the Android Market to download apps/games/music/movies, plus the internet. Smooth interface. A little slow when connecting to internet and sites but the monthly service plan makes up for that. The sound is not very loud even when it's on the highest level which can be annoying since you can't hear the notifications coming through very well unless the phone is quite near you. Comes with some storage on the phone and an additonal mini SD card with adapter to download your files directly to your laptop. Our child has no complaints about the phone and enjoys using it. We have played around with it too, and are impressed since it's a month-to-month phone. It's not easy to find this type of technology for a monthly phone and it's price, it's worth the money.
But the best part is that the monthly service fee is $35 for 300 minutes of talk, UNLIMITED Data/Messaging/Text. Our household does more texting than talking so it works out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Best entry-level Android!

12/20/2011
By ,
Murray, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone is great, lots of features, can run with the big name android phones. Battery life is kind of an issue but my research indicates that all Androids suffer from this problem to some degree. Get a free battery saver app and a task manager app and it will help. Virgin Mobile is superior to the other prepaid cell companies (and the contract carriers), I have the $35 a month plan and get unlimited text and web as well as 200 minutes talk time! In my area the coverage is pretty good, it falls off rapidly when I go into rural areas, but this is not a fault of Virgin Mobile (I live in a small town LOL) Walmart's price is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
PNY 4GB microSD Memory Card
4.2 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
+118points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Small Town USA
Is good as they get...and more
Posted 12/22/2011
This is one of the best Android phones out there. Not the best prepaid...but just one of the best period. I have never failed to have service regardless of where I am, and I live in a small town too. At home, on the road, it's great. The GPS is awesome. When we went to New Orleans, we used my phones GPS and a friends "I phone", by apple ( AT&T). His phone was so far off we would have ended up who knows where...not to mention it completely quit even trying to give the directions about 3/4s of the way there. Oh yea....my phones GPS took us right to the front door of the hotel and told us where the closest restaurants, gas stations and landmarks - tourist stuff were located and how to get there.. The trip started with Optimus V getting laughed at and ended with me watching a netflix movie (on my O V) while I waited for everyone else to get ready to go out sightseeing...using my phone for directions. I have read in different reviews comments about it being a good"entry" or "starter" phone for someone who wants to get into Android. These were clearly not written by someone who owned one. This is not an entry level Android. It has all the bells and whistles of a much more expensive phone. The price on it now is hot. I paid more and would buy it all over again. It is the best phone, by far, I have ever owned. Virgin Mobile offers the best bang for your buck on rates and services. They are awesome. As long as there are rocking phones like this one out there and providers like Virgin Mobile...I will never go back to a contract phone. Oh yea... no one is laughing anymore........
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Great Phone, Great value!!

02/18/2012
By ,
Richmond, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my daughter's 19th birthday. She wanted an android but the IPhone is just too expensive for a college student. I found this on the Walmart.com site as I was comparing prices with big name electronic and phone stores. I caught this with a Rollback opportunity and the phone was just what she wanted with the Virgin Mobile affordable network!! So far so good, she has reported no problems with the phone. She loves the "voice texting" feature and the navigation and swipe texting. The pictures are great and she just LOVES it!!! So as always I am pleased with my Walmart purchase. I hope this feedback is helpful.
Cynthia T.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
maryland
Walmart products
Posted 06/25/2012
I think that walmart offers lot of good product or goods, and they have good prices as well. Walmart is one of the best that I have ever seen.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

OMG This is an AWESOME Phone!!!

01/21/2012
By ,
Tacoma, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, I went from spending over $300 a month to $70 for 3 of us by switching to Virgin and am VERY HAPPY I did. Although on the road it is not Comcast Cable Internet fast ( which I usually dont surf the web while driving ), it is fast enough if I need to Google something or check my email. For the $$$ this phone rocks!!! The camera is 3.2 mp, which is good. It makes clear videos and the sound playback is great. Unlimited ammount of free downloads and the ads do not interfere or are annoying. I never knew what I was missing until I got this from my wife. I did upgrade the 2gb card that comes with it to a 16gb memory card for all the pics, games, and contacts. I dont think I will ever come close to filling it up but for only $10 for 16gigs how could I not :) Customer service is great. I called the toll free # and within 5 minutes the phone was working... I would do it all over again... Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Lightweight and easy to use

02/04/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Optimus V by Virgin is light, easy to use and worth the price. To find an unlimited android phone that you actually like is hard to find. Usually you are stuck with the outdated phones that the companies give to their unlimited plans, but Virgin actually has some pretty decent and new android phones available. The Optimus V is a great price at less than $100, and cutting my phone bill in half is an even better feeling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone
01/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm so happy Walmart is selling this phone. And the price is great! I have had this phone for about 5 months now and I absolutely love it. Take the time to explore the features of this phone and you'll love it too ( I dare predict!) Really cool phone. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+67points
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Excellent phone, Upgrade from my Dumbphone

01/16/2012
By ,
Willamette Valley, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be perfectly honest, I am employed full time as a computer specialist. However, the last thing I want to do is try to figure out another operating system or have 'computer like' issues on my phone. I have been sporting a dumphone for about 3 years while everyone else had iphones and androids. Seriously, my co-workers are on their 2nd or 3rd smartphones already. I had let all the snide remarks about a geek with a dumbphone go long enough. My wife was getting jealous of all the people at work with bigger and cooler phones. Grudgingly, I ordered 2 android phones with Virgin Mobile to replace our Straight Talk 401G's. We moved to the $35/beyond talk virgin mobile plan from the $30/all you need straigt talk plan. We had previously been Verizon customers paying around $50/mo each with limits on text and pay per mb data. We now receive data in the deal and that is really substantial considering verizon charges you $30/mo for data. Transitioning to an Android phone wasn't too hard. I'm now seeing what I'm missing with having weather/web search/games/more -- everywhere I go. This phone uses the Sprint network. In my home area, Sprint is really strong, it's a little worse where I work, either location though I can make and receive calls.
The phones work very well. In about a months time I've had two lockups, that isn't horrible for any phone. I think I'll get less now that I've gotten all the apps I care for and am managing what is installed. The 401g had poor microphone respone and the new phone Optimus V #there are several of these called Optimus S, Optimus U, LG LS670# has excellent mic pickup. Battery life isn't super bad, I'd say even a little better than I've been told about most android phones. I actively manage wifi, gps and applications though. Even with active use where cell phone signal isn't very strong and using 1x, you will get a whole day. Here at home where the signal is strong and 3g I can get 2-3 days. Also, the factory ring tones and vibrate do not seem to be as loud or as strong as other phones. I had to download app for ringtones. This phone is a great value at $130ish retail considering the cost of the beyond talk monthly service cost with 300 anytime minutes. I got it on sale at the National Chain for Geeks based out of Minnesota for 50% off. 300 minutes is probably just under what we each use so I'm putting a voip phone #$40 up front phone adapter, $30/yr service# back in my house so I can make calls at home without burning up my anytime minutes.
There is a learning curve for this phone. My wife is not techy and expected me to know all the answers to various stuff on an system I wasn't familiar with. #sadly, everyone assumes you know the how to work on and troubleshoot everything that beeps when you are a geek. The sad part is that they think you are somehow holding out on them if you say I don't know. You get a distrusting, nearly evil eye look from them when you use say 'I don't know' #. I had to go online and ask friends about somethings during the first few weeks. Things that weren't apparent: 1. You can move custom/downloaded apps to the memory card to save active memory space. And you NEED your available memory. 2. Programs launch themselves on reboot and more. You need to periodically shut off applications using a 'task killer' program. 3. You need to manage your wifi and gps to conserve battery.
Android stuff is cool. Specifically, I was concerned about not having a keyboard as my last several phones had one. However, this phone/android includes Swype. It takes a little getting used to but is really effective. My 17 year old daughter who has always had better phones than me until now got all giggly and excited when she saw me using swype. Phone $65/bestbuy sale, Service $35/month, Seeing your teenage daughter giggling and squealing about your phone, priceless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+156points
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Great product, great service for my money!

01/28/2012
By ,
Hilo, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone and I'm not disappointed with the phone plan either. Although the item is listed here, I ordered my Optimus direct from VM, since this particular item states it won't work for my zip code.
Although the Optimus V can't perform as perfect as other Androids from contract providers, it's definitely a step up from my previous carrier. And... coupled with VM's (very) affordable phone plan, it's definitely worth every penny.
The battery: Battery life is pretty marginal. There are apps that the user can download to help curb battery consumption, and help it to last longer. The standard battery that's supplied with this phone is 1500mAh, and with my normal usage, last about a day and a half. I opted to purchase a higher capacity battery on-line, which is 3900mAh, and lasts me 3 days, with my average usage. It's faster to charge the higher capacity battery thru the phone, then with an external charger.
Receiving Calls: I've had no problems listening to my incoming calls. Reception is really good, and... using the speaker phone option allows me to do other things with my free hand.
Making Calls: I'm fortunate that VM's service (via Sprint), works really well in my area. However, from my home location, service is spotty, and I have to find a 'hot' spot if I need to make calls or receive them. Data service works really good from my home location. I guess this minor inconvenience is due to the fact that I live 7 miles away from the city, and am just at the fringes of the cell site (I had the same issues with AT&T). Making calls with the on-screen keypad works well, even for guys with large fingers such as myself.
This product also has the "voice to text" option. I tried it once, but it seems that the phone either couldn't understand the words I'm saying, or just doesn't understand me at all. So I hardly use this option. When composing messages with voice-to-text, the user has to say "Question Mark", "Period" (.) or "Paragraph", otherwise you'll be typing one long, complete sentence.
Under my current VM plan, I'm allotted 300 AT minutes, but I'm not much of a talker with cell phones, am mostly a data user.
Keyboard: Although the Optimus V has the Swype keyboard, for me, I find it easier to create messages and texts with the standard Android keyboard. In fact, for me... I find it faster to type with the Android keyboard than with Swype. One thing I wish either keyboard had was a cursor key that would allow me to place the cursor at a particular point in the message, or to better select a clickable link while surfing.
Texting: Sending texts with the Optimus V is much faster as compared to my old phone. It did take me awhile to get acclimated with the on-screen keyboard, and have adapted to the "one-finger" typing method (sometimes 2, if I use it horizontally).
Surfing the web: Surfing the internet with this phone is definitely an improvement, as compared to my old phone. Although this product doesn't support Flash, it does play YouTube videos flawlessly. There is a downloadable app that allows the user to view some Flash videos, but not all. With 3G speed, the phone loaded up the pages in no time. On Wi-Fi, it's seems faster to me. FYI... using Wi-Fi for surfing whenever possible saves you from reaching your allotted GB allowance each month. Although my VM plan allows me 2GB of data, I find that I don't even reach 1GB each month (I use my laptop for the majority of internet usage). My data usage is basically for checking emails, and text messages.
Now... you may have heard horror stories from other owners, about the Optimus freezing up, or is slow at loading up web pages. The user must remember, that the Optimus is a mini computer, and like a computer, it's best to clean up the phone after surfing the net. Meaning, you should make it a habit to delete out your history, cache and cookies, to free up memory space in the phone, for your next jaunt on the internet.
The Optimus doesn't have a large internal memory capacity (100MB?), so you have to be conservative and empty your waste, so to speak. It's best to move any downloaded apps onto the SD card, so that you'd free up space in the internal memory.
Emails: The Optimus is great for checking emails on Yahoo or Hotmail. Although this product is Google based, you can download the apps for Yahoo or Hotmail. You can also program this phone to link up with your corporate email account. I like the notification alert when I receive new emails on my Yahoo account.
Camera: The 3.2 megapixel camera takes good pictures. It would have been nice if the Optimus had a flash for the camera. But the camera does have auto-focus, which is good to take really, sharp pictures.
Video Recorder: The video camera is okay. Playback is somewhat pixellated, but it does the job good enough.
All in all... this is a great product for the money... my money, at least! I am not disappointed with the Optimus or VM's phone plan. This is not a 'high-end' Android like those offered by contract providers, but for a pre-paid service... it's a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hilo, HI
Extended Battery....
Posted 02/13/2012
I also forgot to mention, that if you intend to purchase a higher capacity battery for the Optimus V, expect it to weigh a little more than with the standard battery. And... you might find it difficult to obtain a case that will fit an Optimus with the extended battery. The reason is that the extended battery is almost double the size of the standard battery. Despite being a little heavier, I find it easier to hold the phone and text.
There is another retailer that has a case that will fit this phone with the extended battery. I like the case I purchased because the clip doesn't swivel (I hate swivels). The case that Walmart sells here is good, but the swivel breaks after 2 months (I purchased two cases before switching to VM).
I highly recommend that users of this phone, opt for the higher capacity battery.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Hilo, HI
Backing Up Contacts...
Posted 02/03/2012
I should've mentioned one good point about the Optimus... the fact that you can back up your contact listing to your Google account.
This is a Google based product, which means that you must have, or will have to create, a Google account in order to download apps or to back up your contact list. You'll have to sync the phone with your Google account.
I enjoy the capability of editing my contacts either thru the phone or directly from my Google account. Any information entered will automatically updated.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Very durrable, not much storage

02/03/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone because my last phone got dropped in lemonade... long story.. so I went out and got it because it seemed to have good reviews and it wasn't too expensive. I've had it for over a year and it has been dropped on concrete, thrown on stone, it has basically hit the grown more times than a phone should, but it kept working. It had scratches on the screen and dents on the sides, but the screen never cracked and it kept on going.
However, I have had problems with the size. I like alot of pictures and games, and I have about 1100 pictures in my gallery, but because of that, I only have 1 game loaded. Having about 5 apps all together that I use. Anytime that I try to download another, it tells me my storage is too low, then I have to go back and delete it.
But for being a cheap and durable phone, it was good. I am searching for a new one today because my charging port finally died. So if you don't use many apps and you're clumsy, I recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Bought this about 2 years ago.

11/09/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item 2 years ago when my old sprint contract ended. At that time, this phone was selling for $199.99 [it was one of the best Virgin phones at the time]. I figured I would wait awhile to post a review towards the end of its life, when I was going to place it. At the beginning when I got this phone, it was great. 300 min + unlimited internet & texting was only $25 a month [down from my $140 plan with sprint], so BIG yay there! I love taking pictures with my phone, and I find the camera on this phone to be sub-par. The pictures are very grainy.. and there is no flash. How I want a flash! But it does take pictures none the less, and you can text and facebook them, so that's nice. It does hold many contacts, and you can sync in contacts from facebook, yahoo, or whichever apps you might be using [those are the apps I used]. In the beginning, the battery would last a week or so, if I didn't use it all the time [occasional texting, or just checking to see if anyone called]. After a year or so, I noticed the phone was slowing down, it doesn't have alot of memory [and even though I added a memory stick to it.. it still fills up just from surfing the internet]. I find myself clearing the phone content and cookies daily, just from getting on facebook. It was going dead in a day, down from a week before. Now, I write this review when I'm getting ready to replace the phone. While I feel it was worth the $199 i paid, and even more so at the current $99 price, this phone won't last forever, and there is certainly better quality to be had, especially now, years later. The phone did do the job, however, it is a phone. It calls, it texts, and it takes pictures. Maybe not the best pictures, but pictures all the same. So if you're not a tech savvy looking for the best type of phone for your money, this is a good phone. Otherwise, i'd say splurge a little more and get something that's really going to last. Oh, one last thing. I have dropped this phone many times, on hard flooring, on concrete, in the sink, and ever though the battery cover and battery did fall out, it has already kept on chuggin along. So that's a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone
02/17/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my husband has had this phone for almost a year, he has dropped it, wet it, and left it in front of the heater. the accidents are showing but he still uses the phone daily. the only reason i did not rate the phone 5 stars is because of price. most people who go to prepaid are on a budget and cannot afford to replace the phones that they come to like. im thinking about purchasing one for my daughter as well. i have a contract android phone and his phone almost keeps up with mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

overall amzaming

03/15/2012
By ,
huntington wv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok well yesturday i had my phone on truck of my car. I forgot about it cause i was getting my niece, nephew and my son in the car. we were going home from the park. I was about a mile and half away from the main road. We were stopped at a red light. When it turned green we took off and my husband started to speed up. About 60 mph my phone flew off and hit the road. My husband seen it break up into 3 pieces well he didnt wanna get it cause he thought it was broke. I made him go back and park in triffic and get it. The battery, back, and the screen were lessthen 20 feet apart. Well the screen IS NOT crack or broke it is still visabile and working. I can use the touch screen stuff and it has few scratchs. Around the egde of front and back and a few dents in the battery it still charges. It hard to believe that how great the lesson turned out. like it works perfect like it did before it fell and the outside rim of the screen its got dents and small small scratches . the back and some of the same stuff and the top of the battery does too. but the sd card still in ti it wasnt harmed in any way. i cant express how perfect this phone is to you in the lesson i told u but i cant express this either but if u are looking for a phone and have the money GET THIS PHONE TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i am not joking this phone more the prefect for people like me i forgot where it is and drop it all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

A Great Phone When It Came Out

12/15/2012
By ,
Fort Stewart, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this phone in July 2011. Even at that time it was an older model, but a decent entry level 3G phone for its price.
Sadly, it has two fatal flaws: low internal memory and lots of bloatware. The phone won't let you delete the bloatware or move it to a memory card. As more and more updates come out for the bloatware, the phone's internal memory becomes badly overburdened. Just the bloatware and updates cause the 'low internal memory' symbol on the phone to come up, even if you don't have any other Apps on the internal memory. The phone sometimes spazzes out or freezes up due to low memory. Its annoying, having to pull the battery, wait a few minutes and then reboot the phone. You can negate some of the problem by disabling auto-updates for programs you don't use or consider Rooting your phone and erasing all the bloatware....but for the hassle, you're probably better off buying a different phone.
I don't regret paying $150 for it a year and a half ago; but there's no way I'd pay $99 for it today.
*If you do buy this phone, consider downloading Opera. Its a LOT better than the web-browser that comes with the phone. Also I'd suggest getting a memory card of at least 4Gigs and putting all your pictures and APPs on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Great for games!

07/04/2012
By ,
In, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Personally LOVE this phone. The Internet was a little bit slow, but it got done what I needed it to. You can get LOTS of games. Angry Birds, Fruit Ninja, Etc. But I couldn't figure out how to get Temple Run on it.
If your looking for a great quality phone, Here It Is. Now I only had this phone for about 4 weeks because I guess someone thought it was so amazing, so they stole it. So be sure to hide your phone well if you do get it. This phone does take good pictures, videos and I Love the message keyboard. You can do almost anything with this phone. I believe it is good for people of any age.
Now my favorite thing to do with my phones, is to not get contracts, so this phone meets up to that. I get the 35$ card because I don't call people too often. But when I do, there is 500 or so minutes I can do so with. With the 35$ card, you can get unlimited web, and text. 500 Calling minutes. Overall, This Phone Works Wonders!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Ghastly piece of junk

07/10/2012
By ,
columbia sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like a lot of the features of the phone but it is driving me crazy. I just want to hurl the thing at the ground and stamp on it. I think I'm going to return it to Walmart. It has a virtual keyboard and the keys are so tiny I hit 4 or more at a time trying to touch them. It has voice recognition but the voice recognition is not that great. It can't differentiate between semi homonyms such as "No", "Know" and "Now". My text messaging by keyboard is pretty unintelligible. It's definitely not a phone that can be used to send a quick message to anybody. Similarly, when I want to end a call, I find the onscreen end-call button has vanished until I press the power button to wake the screen up. That's quite annoying. I found it prattling away in my pocket, playing my voicemails to me yesterday. The only way I managed to get it to stop wasting my phone minutes on that nonsense, quickly, was simply to yank the back off and pull the battery out. There are a lot of features I love about the phone such as being able to call directly via Skype or Google Voice without needing to be near my computer. I just find it to be almost totally unusable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

The Phone is a great beginner smartphone but lacks

11/12/2012
By ,
Brockton, Ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone lacks internal memory and can't run too many applications becuase of the memory. I have found that in the area of Brockton,ma that it drops a lot of calls and it also is slow on the 3g.
On average it drops service or I am actually without service about 2 days a month with Virgin.
Customer service is the worst. The phone itself feels good to hold and the camera is a 6 on a scale of 10. The apps like facebook and twitter are great but when I tried to acquire netflix it just didn't have enough memory. I also found that every time I shut the phone down and turned it back on that it woulld update all the apps again.
Overall I ould give this phone a 5/6 on a scale of one to ten. Battery life is about 3 hours of continuos talk and about 6 hours standby. Its a great first phone for the money but the internal memory is a big problem and I do not like the Sprint network that virgin uses.
I just upgraded to the Samsung Proclaim on the verizon network and hope it really beats the internal memory.
I would pay fifty dollars more and buy the Samsung proclaim and also its 10 dollars cheaper for the straight talk plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Good price for a good phone

09/13/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the phone. Haven't had any problems w/ it. Went from ios 5.1.1 to android froyo 2.2.2 (kind of seems like a downgrade, right?.. WRONG!!!) and let me tell you, google play has wayyyyy more apps than the app store and better ones too! Im very pleased w/ the lg optimus v. Also virgin mobile has great signal =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Was great at first....

06/09/2012
By ,
CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
but now that I've had it for almost a year, it's not so great anymore.
But here's why I would recommend it: 1. Inexpensive for all the features you get & it's pre-paid so no early termination fees! 2. Good quality pictures taken for a phone esp in this price range. 3. Battery life is really good (in the beginning) for a smart phone- especially w/a battery saver app. 4. Android is great! Swype is great! 5. Inexpensive monthly plans.
Now for the not-so-good stuff: 1. Doesn't seem like it'll last long. I have hardly any apps on it, and most of the ones that are on it are on the SD card but it's breaking down/slow. 2. Unfortunately, I'm located in an area that doesn't get really strong Sprint signal so I had a lot of dropped calls, but it was okay because for the most part, I was able to make/take calls. 3. After having it for about 9 months, the phone started to constantly freeze up. With this phone, you have to slide the "answer" on the screen to pick up calls & I've missed calls because it takes so long to register that I'm trying to answer. At times when I'm trying to make calls, it'll take over a minute before the telephone pad/contacts screen comes up or the screen saver will just come on because it won't register that I'm pressing something. When I actually make the call, it takes a long time to show that it's dialing. I've missed calls because the phone won't register that I'm trying to answer the call. 5. It's also shutting down & starting up on its own @ random times- sometimes, even in the middle of a call. 6. It has died a few times for several days at a time. The first time it happened, I kept trying every hour to start the phone up again after taking out & putting the battery back in. I tried it a few times each day while phone hunting but then it started up again. It didn't work for about 3 days, which was annoying. This still happens occasionally, making it unreliable.
I had bought the phone when it was $180 & yes, it's inexpensive for a smartphone but I had expected it would last more than a year so I'm really disappointed about that.
Overall, it is a good phone if you're looking for an inexpensive smart phone w/reasonable monthly plans. However, if you're planning to keep the phone for more than a year, I wouldn't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone

Great Little Smartphone....

04/11/2012
By ,
Nashville,TN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this phone for a couple of weeks but have been amazed by it all ready! I have upgraded the memory card that came with it from a 2gb to a 32gb card and loaded around 50 different apps. off google plays web site. The only thing I'd change is the internal memory, this is only around 175mb and it really needs to be more inorder to hold all the apps. that need to stay on the phone. You can root the phone and that solves that problem though. GREAT LITTLE phone for the price! Virgin Mobile has been great as well at solving the few problems I'd had and couldn't be happier with their service. $35.00 month gets you 300 Top Up min. Unlimited Data/Text and Messaging you can't go wrong with that. If you needed more min. you can get 1200 a month for only $10.00 more a month
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next