Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Remington Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

This gun from Remington will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation77%10 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Remington 770 308

11/01/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gun $297, expectations to accurately shoot at 100 yds or more with tight grouping with the bolt working smothly.
At first I was initially disipointed in the bolt actioin. It would often get blocked by the rim of the next magazine fed cartridge while trying to eject the currently spent cartridge. The botom bolt prong of the three pronged bolt would catch on the top of the next cartridge in the magazine where the bullet seats into the casing. The fix was to take a file or a drumel tool and ever so slightly round of the back bottom rear edge. I repeated this step a couple of times until it cycled through a full magazines without being blocked. Other then that the weapon fired very nicely and from what I could tell was very accurate at 100 yds. Am so looking forward to taking out into the field to harvest some deer. At the price I was able to purchase this weapon at I don't see how I can lose as long as it keeps firing. Next rifle will be the R700 ADL 308 or 30-06.
After the gun's bolt was fixed it exceded my expectations keeping in mind that it is an entry level gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Good, low budget, starter package w/ quality issue

01/25/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My prior experience with Reminton arms has always been good. Remington makes some of the best shooting rifles. The Remington 770 was there venture to provide a low cost hunting rifle to a demographic of new hunters or shooters. They hit the mark as far as providing a low cost, accurate rifle. However, Remington seems to have sacrificed on the quality standard to make this mark. The scope is a modest beginner and was very close to dialed in out of the box. With a little tweaking, it was dead on at 100 yards. Shot after shot grouped in at about 2 and a half inches. (It could be tighter with a little work, probably on my part.)
The dissappointing part...the bolt. There is an incredible ammount of friction in this bolt assembly. The bolt doesn't seat very securely and has a tendency to ratchet when ejecting and seating. This can be reduced with liberal ammounts of oil and a steady hand, but don't get in a hurry to get off a second shot. The feed from the magwell is pretty rough and takes a little force to seat in the next round. I'm not sure what is causing this problem...the mag or the bolt dragging.
In short, if you're looking for a cheap hunting rifle package...you should be happy with this. If you love to shoot fine firearms...well, you get what you pay for, duh.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
jemsj4
@ jlglex Provo, UT
Posted 09/25/2012
Yes, the bolt is removable. There is a lever on the left side.
0points
Customer Avatar
Provo, UT
Question For Anyone:
Posted 09/13/2012
Is it possible to remove the bolt from this rifle, for child safety purposes during storage?
0points
Customer Avatar
lawrenceburg ky
might want to contact remington about that
Posted 03/20/2012
You might want to contact remington about that issue. I own one of these rifles as well and havent had any trouble loading the chamber at all. The one I have loads pretty smooth and don't have to over oil it either. I loads better actually then any other bolt actioned rifle I have owned. Might want to be careful over oiling it though, the oil could ignite.
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
agree but disagree
Posted 03/18/2012
agree yet disagree. idk if you got a rough breached gun or not but this platform i have used in combat(the ultimate hunt) and the rem 700 770 is a good platform gun but you just need to make a few minor mods an filing to it to turn it into what military, swat, an spec ops still use as a very accurate time tested sniper rifle. this is the purpose im picking 1 up just havent decided from here or rem itself but i have inspected in store models without problems(besides beginner inspects with rough handling, low oil, an factory grit from fed regulated fired shot record.) other than that its a fine weapon overall. as is, is a just ok hunting type of rifle.
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Awesome Rifle

10/02/2012
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned and operated a number of rifles, shotguns, and exotic firearms and this is a very good quality rifle...The bolt was a little rough and stiff at first but using and breaking in and few lubes later very smooth and reliable, I've claimed 20 coyotes, 5 bears, 5 whitetail, and 3 moose with this rifle. while not completely zero'd it was pretty close right out of the box 1 hour at the range and it was sighted in optics very reliable I love bushnell. This package I recomend to all ranges of hunters from those starting out to the most seasoned and experienced....HAPPY HUNTING YALL!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Great .308 rifle for youth

10/28/2012
By ,
West Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this gun in .308 for my 11 yr old son. Takes a little fine tuning out of box to zero in the scope. Recoil is comparable to .410 shotgun when using 150 gr. ammo in the rifle. Youth in the 10 yr old and up range should be able to handle this rifle fine when shooting from a blind with a rail or other type prop. The bolt is not smooth but working it and applying oil will definitely help this out and improve the action on the rifle. My son got his first deer with this gun and made a beautiful shot from about 65 yards. Well worth the money and will last them for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Great Rifle for a great price

01/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a Rem 770 the other day at Walmart. I was not real sure about the scope but it works great its a Bushnell product. I bore sighted it and went to the range yesterday. at 100 yrds 4 shots touching each other in the bullseye. I have fired alot of weapons but this 308 is great. If you are looking for a great all around Rifle this is it. I shot through a tree and still hit a target.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Great Starter Gun

05/26/2014
By ,
Middlesboro, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The model 770 is a great gun with a great price. It was not meant to take over the market but an entry level shooting experience. The only problem I found with the gun is what most others have found and that is the bolt action. This was remedied on my gun simply by a good cleaning and using a good gun oil. Many like to down the gun but this is most likely due to their inexperience with weapons. If you want to start out with the top of the line go with the model 700 but expect to pay much more for the gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Out-the box satisfaction

11/11/2012
By ,
Greensboro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased one 11//9/12. License 11/9/12. First time hunter. Clean wiped bolt and bolt slide area. Tested slide action repeatedly for 5 minutes.
Got up the next morning to go with friends for opening day of deer season here in NC. Test fired my new, out the box rifle against small 2-cycle oil container (4.5" tall) at 60 yards. Out-the-box... aimed for screw top... hit screw top on first shot. Sights factory bored-in.
I am not an advid hunter, gun enthusiast or end-of-the-world guy. No kill on day, but after 10 rounds and 8/10 on-point hits between me and 2 other true marksmen in our group, all of us were impressed. G Mack
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

good first big bore rifle

01/03/2013
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was looking for a .308 rifle due to military experience. I knew of Remington's reputation.couldn't quite afford a model 700. Purchased the model 770 in .308. I am not sorry that I did. The rifle does everything that I ask of it. As with all new rifles, make sure you break the barrel in properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Almost perfect

12/24/2013
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like others I also had sticky/stiff bolt issues. What I did was used some 1500 grit wet/dry sandpaper available at any auto parts store and used it with Remington gun oil to polish up the bolt. Took about 30 min or so and now it cycles as smooth as a hot knife thru butter. Why Remington never added that polishing step in their machining process I dont know, would have only added a few min per batch of bolts in a tumbler. If not for that I'd have rated it a solid 5 as the rifle shoots super accurate if you miss your shot with it it's all on you not the rifle. I plan on getting another one in a 30.06
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Disregard the negativity

01/19/2013
By ,
Milford,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Remington 770, I bought my son, right out the box, 9 rounds to zero. gave the rifle to him, he shot 3 rounds touching each other at 100 Yards. Today is the first time that he has ever "seriously" shot. usually just plinks with the .22. If you are looking for an affordable rifle, that is reliable, or first timers hunting rifle, I would recommend it. the "sticky" in the bolt can be gotten rid of by simply removing the bolt, and applying some elbow grease, and Hoppes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win
09/17/2012
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are looking for an economicaly priced gun buy a Savage or Marlin, I recently bought this gun just because it had the Remington name and was expecting to get a quality product, boy was I wrong. The bolt works very rough and the magazine is hard to insert. After deciding to trade the 770, several dealers would not even talk about trading this gun. I did manage to trade up but took a big loss.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Don't waste your money!!!!

04/28/2013
By ,
Southwest Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this rifle for my son last month in 30-06. Took the rifle out to the range for sighting today and discovered how badly built this Remington 770 is! I am a former competetion shooter and have owned a Remington 700 (Fine rifle) for over two decades. Very disappointed that Remington would sell a rifle with the low quality bolt and milling as I currently find in the 770. I will be returning this junk to Remington and will pay the difference to get a model 700. I recommend that you skip the 770 and pony up a few more dollars and get a 700, you will be pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Remington 770 Rifle with Scope, .308 Win

Do not buy.

05/15/2013
By ,
Springfield, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Out of the box you can shoot .308 with a very inexpensive rifle. If you are going hunting this is a very good first gun
Cons: The scope is garbage. The front sling mount will break if you attempt to affix a bipod. The bolt is not smooth at all. The stock can basically never be replaced (without contacting Remington and they will likely want almost half what you paid for the gun as payment).
In short, do not buy this gun. Save your pennies and buy the much more reliable Remington 700.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.