Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Enjoy the recent advancements in portable entertainment with the Ematic 7" Touch Screen eBook Reader EBW204B. This 4GB eBook reader is preloaded with Kobo eReading software that provides access to a collection of more than 2.5 million eBooks, including one million free titles. The touchscreen Wi-Fi eBook reader is equipped with Android 2.1 to give you access to a large number of applications, functionality, and entertainment. With the 7-inch color TFT touchscreen display, you can quickly browse with the touch of a finger. The tablet incorporates 5GB of free cloud storage and has an expandable MicroSD card slot for increasing memory storage space. .
Average Customer Rating:
2.27 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation35%31 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Great eReader!!! Not such a great tablet!!

12/06/2011
By ,
Seattle WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as an early christmas present, I have been wanting an eReader for a while. I saw this one and after using it I love it. The tablet part isn't a big deal to me since I have a laptop and an iPhone. It goes online without a problem. The one thing I didn't like was it doesn't have the android market as I thought it would since it uses the Android operating system. It is preloaded with a market that seems a little low scale, (it doesn't have the kindle or b&n app) So kobo is pretty much your only choice. Kobo seems to be great plus they offer lots of Free classics. Also the touch screen doesn't seem to be heat sensitive so you have to use a stylus or your fingernail works just fine too. I Love this eReader just what I was wanting!! Plus its listed for a great price so you cant beat the value!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 2 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/25/2011
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
X-mas gift for my 10 yo. Could'nt afford the pricey one, but this one is perfect. More than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Great ebook reader

04/20/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this reader. It makes reading books so much easier. I can read faster and at night when the light in the room is not real bright, it is lite up and much easier to read. I like the fact that you can sign onto your website and read your emails. I liked the price because I wasn't really sure if I would like reading books on one of these, I didn't want to put too much money into it. This is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
06/21/2012
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one I have bought. First one the screen broke from a drop. This time the screen was broken when we opened the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/28/2011
By ,
Winter Springs, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 16 year old daughter for Christmas she loves it. Great value picks up wifi anywhere!!! Has all her pictures, music, books, etc... Great gift!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Ematic ereader

02/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great 4 months later, for the money very hard to beat lots of features battery doesnt last as long as sum of the other but sum of them also dont run in HD color screen or have as many features either, battery gets about 4-5 5hrs of life but hey who reads longer then 4-5 hrs at a time anyway. does hvae a "plastic type feel to them" but everything else including the screen is top notch. i give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 7 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

If you like to read ebooks . . . .

04/26/2012
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Then this is the product for you. You can download off of the slideme android market the free Kindle and B&N Nook apps for free. This has the sharpness of any color ebook reader on the market, and if you do get it, it does have a shiny screen protector on it (it is the clear plastic sheet on the screen with a red dot in the upper right corner. Do not take the clear plastic sheet off of the touch screen, you will regret it). And if you are a Harry Potter fan like I am, this will display the Harry Potter Ebooks in Adobe DRM epub just fine with the built-in Adobe Digital Editions software.
I would also recommend that you get a hard leatherette case for it, so that you do not harm it in your purse ladies. Or for you guys, lugging it around the house or a private spot you know of to read at. This ebook reader does have a home charger (car charger is not included) and a USB 2.0 cable to transfer (copy) the books from your Free Adobe Digital Editions app on your Windows 7 desktop or laptop pc. But there is one drawback. The external microSD card that you can add must be only 16 GB, but hey, with the built-in 4 GB flash memory, that would be more than enough for your ebook collection via Amazon Kindle App or Barnes and Noble Nook app. The Kobo ebook reader app is included, so no need to download it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 8 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Great Little Tablet!!

03/21/2012
By ,
Thornton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these readers I have purchased. After getting the first for my wife I had to also have one. No problems getting it set-up. Has worked great for over a month with no glitches at all!! Highly recommend this eReader/Tablet !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Nice compact eReader/Tablet

06/29/2012
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to replace a Pandigital that died after 6 months use. So far, so good. It has a decent battery life and is very thin. Great for reading eBooks and is Wi Fi connecive. I just hope it will last longer than 6 months!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

love my ematic e-reader

12/19/2011
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had wanted one of the more expensive e-readers but just couldn't see spending that much,so I looked to see if walmart had anything priced lower and I found the ematic e-reader. I have used it for about 3 days now and absolutely love it. It's perfect for what I need. I didn't need to be able to surf the internet or do anything fancy,I just wanted something to read on-although the one I purchased does have those capabilities. It does the job-it's easy to read,lightweight,very handy. I haven't tried videos yet but will soon. It's a great product at a great price. I might even get my son and husband one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/18/2011
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one for my kids, loved it so much, going back to buy myself one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

good color & excellent reader

04/22/2012
By ,
North Fort Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the Ematic alot. It does what it says it will do, My pics I've downloaded are sharp & bright. Excellent, My music sounds great. Battery life could be better, I have to plug it in every night. And the internal memory could be larger. But then thats why I bought an extra MSD card. Holds tons of books. Easy to read, even with bad eyesight. Great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
06/08/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tabletLoveThat i have ascess to my emails anytime anywhere.Touch screen works great light touch does the trick.Books load very quickly.Was very skeptical when i first read the reviews but i am very pleased that i went ahead and brought it as a Birthday gift for myself.love reading so iam glad that i don,t have to got to the library any more.tThe only problem i have is that the battery life is very short charging has to be done every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Good value for the price.

08/29/2012
By ,
Port St John, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Ereader was purchased as a gift for a non-electronic friendly spouse. She has been able to master it for reading ebooks and is very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Well worth the money

12/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been reading these reviews for some time & felt the urge to comment. First of all as far as being hard to get a response from this, you DO NOT have to press hard. I too was pressing hard on this for the first couple of days. It requires a very light touch & responds quickly. A stylus is a great accessory & makes this much easier.
As far as apps are concerned, no you can not do the Android Market (your device has to be pre-approved by Google) but there are several Android websites out there. Mobile24 is one that is good for both FREE ebooks & games.
I had ordered the pink where there was only 2 color choices and when I saw more color choices I chose the green to replace the pink. I am glad I did.
I gave this a 4 star instead of a 5 because I feel they could have explained the in & outs of this a lot clearer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 16 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Does what its supposed

06/14/2012
By ,
Hollis, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I absolutely cannot complain about this device, nice, light weight ereader, people complain about the charge time, it takes about 2 hours to charge fully and the charge lasts at least on mine, for about 4 hrs of read time.
You can use it to jump on the internet, download games etc. I love it1
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
07/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is good reader for what it is. I have enjoyed using it since buying it. The internet is not the best but it is far from the worse. As far as the touch screen it takes a little to get used to but once you do it is really simple. I only had to calibrate it once and it was good. The only thing that I would say it needs is a stylus to be included w/it. It would make it a lot easier to use but even w/o that it is ok. It is a good reader and I am definetly enjoying the kobo app as well as access to anything else I would like to have. Overall it is a great buy for a first time ereader/general tablet user
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
05/09/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it, brought this product to replace a kobo ebook reader. and for the same price got alot more. I can surf the web, read my books, record, watch video and it comes in great colors. the only draw back I found was that it needs to be recharged often. I guess this is common with this type of reader/tablet when in color. still I would buy another in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

love it

06/18/2012
By ,
chula vista ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this wanted a kindle but to expensive. I wanted something JUST for books nothing elae this is as close as i could get. It does have internet and u can download apps but to find a specific app takes FOREVER. But its easy to read on. The app to read the books is called KOBO i also downloaded it on my phone and it is current to the page i am on in my book.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Good product, but faulty unit

04/03/2012
By ,
Newton.NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This eBook Reader and Android Internet Tablet has all the correct options to be a fantastic device at a very reasonable price. However the unit I received was faulty and would not connect to the internet. I am not waiting on the manufacturer to issue a return ticket so that I can get a replacement from Walmart. So overall I can not give this product a good review since I have only limited use of all its options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next