Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Enjoy the recent advancements in portable entertainment with the Ematic 7" Touch Screen eBook Reader EBW204B. This 4GB eBook reader is preloaded with Kobo eReading software that provides access to a collection of more than 2.5 million eBooks, including one million free titles. The touchscreen Wi-Fi eBook reader is equipped with Android 2.1 to give you access to a large number of applications, functionality, and entertainment. With the 7-inch color TFT touchscreen display, you can quickly browse with the touch of a finger. The tablet incorporates 5GB of free cloud storage and has an expandable MicroSD card slot for increasing memory storage space. .
Average Customer Rating:
2.27 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation35%31 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
03/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ematic I received came without a working Kobo app. Books purchased would not download and gave an error message the internet was not working. It worked fine to purchase ebooks though and to run email... Kobo support service suggested I uninstall kobo and download a new version of the app. Good suggestion, but the Android store app didn’t work either which is the only place you can download the kobo app. I called ematic 5 days straight, got the recording each time that they were busy, left my name, number and problem description. That was 2 weeks ago and no call backs. And of course now the 15 day return period has expired. If you get a working ematic it might be worth the price, I wouldn’t count on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 22 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/06/2011
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Inexpensive and easy to get up and running. I had problems with the touchscreen. I had to tap (and sometimes push hard) off to the side or below what I was actually trying to tap. Multiple attempts at synchronizing the touchscreen proved fruitless. It may have been an individual device issue but, I returned it nonetheless.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 23 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Not suitable for a gift.

06/13/2012
By ,
Bronx, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ended up returning my Ematic 7" Touch Screen eBook Reader. I found myself pressing relatively hard on the icons in order to make pre-loaded applications function correctly. The color was nice (purchased the red).
I rather spend the money to get a Nook or Kindle, since this Ematic was purchase as a gift. This eBook Reader is good for starters. The price is awesome, and hey it claims to be able to do many of the things a Nook and/or Kindle can. Perhaps future purchasers will have better luck with getting it to function properly in terms of responding to a 'touch' prompt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 24 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/18/2011
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one for my kids, loved it so much, going back to buy myself one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 25 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
04/19/2012
By ,
Pottsville, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 4 of these ereaders almost a month ago for my kids. The kids have been having a blast! They were pretty simple to set up, I love that they come in different colors because each kid gets their own and there is no arguing! My only complaint is if you drop it down the stairs or off a counter onto a hardwood floor, the screen breaks... we thankfully bought the insurance for all 4 which I do recommend. So far we have had no problems with having them repaired :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

HORRIBLE PRODUCT!!

06/10/2012
By ,
Navasota, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my son's 11th birthday. We've had it for less than 24 hours and I am ready to return it. The touch screen is pretty much unresponsive even after calibrations. Typing on the keyboard is nearly impossible bc it inserts letters that have not even been touched. I was so excited about getting this for my son, but it was just a huge disappointment. I would not recommend this product to anyone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hollis, NY
The screen is pressure sensistive not Touch
Posted 06/14/2012
It's important to know that the touch screen on this device is pressure sensitive, not tough sensitive, which means in order to get apps running you actually have to press down on the icons. It took me a while to figure this out too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/25/2011
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
X-mas gift for my 10 yo. Could'nt afford the pricey one, but this one is perfect. More than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

sexual explicit apps

01/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY UNHAPPY with the apps available for this. There is so much XRATED content. Not very good for young children.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 29 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

love it

06/18/2012
By ,
chula vista ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this wanted a kindle but to expensive. I wanted something JUST for books nothing elae this is as close as i could get. It does have internet and u can download apps but to find a specific app takes FOREVER. But its easy to read on. The app to read the books is called KOBO i also downloaded it on my phone and it is current to the page i am on in my book.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 30 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Do not buy!!

07/06/2012
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this e-reader after reading several mixed reviews. I wish I hadn't! I took it out of the box, turned it on, tried to calibrate it and after several failed attempts to make the screen half way work, I put it back in the box. I have now sent it back for a refund! The touchscreen is terrible! Otherwise, I have nothing else to say about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 31 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Does what its supposed

06/14/2012
By ,
Hollis, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price I absolutely cannot complain about this device, nice, light weight ereader, people complain about the charge time, it takes about 2 hours to charge fully and the charge lasts at least on mine, for about 4 hrs of read time.
You can use it to jump on the internet, download games etc. I love it1
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 32 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Good if this is all you can afford

02/20/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for my birthday.(im 14) and i know money is tight so i thought this would be good! i wanted a kindle fire but like i said money is tight.. anyways If you can afford kindle,nook, ect. i would get that,,but if this is all you can afford its a pretty good product over all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 33 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
03/16/2012
By ,
DALLAS, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really love the size and color display but after having it a few days it over heats and the screen frozen alot and when pressing keys it usually brings the wrong letter up on the screen. And when using the car adapter it over heats and does not come on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Save your money and burn it instead.

08/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money, spend it on anything but this useless waste of the planets resources. Never worked well, broke in 1 month of light useage. Light useage because it's useless.
Nuff said...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
+1point
Review 35 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Avoid at all cost!

01/02/2012
By ,
Pine Grove, Pa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this for my 11 year old daughter in lieu of the more expensive Kindle Fire. The description sounded good and it had everything we wanted and needed. However, things went south quickly. Had difficulty downloading with USB cable. Wi-Fi worked fine though for downloading. The sound stopped working after only a few days and the thing would freeze up completely. Once we reset it worked fine for a short time but again froze up. The last time we couldn't get it unfroze. It wouldn't charge or even turn on. The setting for our time zone was an issue as well. Once we set it it displayed our time and weather but once we used the Wi-Fi it displayed in Chineese or Japaneese. We returned without any issues and will spend the extra money for a Kindle Fire.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 36 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Ematic "7" Touch Screen eBook Reader

06/29/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a piece of junk received it as a gift for Christmas. Had it for 6 months it won't charge or power on. Don't waste your money
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
07/10/2012
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
having a problem with this product. it will not turn on!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 38 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

DO NOT BUY THIS THING!!!

12/26/2011
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is very cheaply made, more than I figured it would be. Even after calibrating touch screen, it was soooo off. Couldn't get much to work, because always says network connection error or just doesn't do anything. Not much option on books from Kobo, especially for my 10 year old I actually bought it for. Wasn't expecting a Nook or Fire, or ipad, etc, but was expecting alittle more than what we got. I will say we did get the wifi/web up and running a couple times and viewed a predownloaded book, but that was about all we could do. It's going back today. Big Christmas disappointment for my son :o(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
 
My Product Recommendations
Kindle Fire
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
Review 39 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Walmart rocks, but not the Ematic tablet

01/23/2012
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all kudos to my local Walmart for letting me return this tablet which proved to be a big hassel for them & I really appreciate getting my money back.
I was familiar with tablets & I assumed the regular Android market would work since it's advertised as a 2.1 tablet.
I only wanted a tablet so I could install a Kindle, Nook & Sony reader app plus check email.
The Kindle & Nook apps download but then you cannot open any of your books. The Sony app would not download;however, since they sell books in the epub edition I was able to load my Sony ebooks through the ematic reader.
I bought two books through the Kobo app and it does not have a search feature like the other ebook apps do so I was dissapointed in that. The one book that I tried to read on it was extremely choppy and the books would appear & dissapear in my library for a few days.
The electric charger quit working after a month so I had to rely on my son's charger from another tablet. The screen went dead when I had had it for about 6 weeks. I bought the ematic ebook accessory kit which had an electric charger & a car charger. The electric charger & the battery charger ends that you plug into the tablet were not even the same size so the only that worked was the car charger. I tried the car charger in hopes that it would charge the tablet but the screen never did turn on.
As some of the other reviewers stated, my weather options could not be changed either. I could not set mine in Farenheight either. The Appoke app market prices were not listed in U.S. Currency either!
I use a Samsung Galaxy tablet at work so I did know how tablets were supposed to function. I wasn't expecting this tablet to outdo a Galaxy but I did think it would last longer than 6 weeks. I would have been content to keep it because I was able to check email on it.
I usually do a lot of research on an electronic purchase but I didn't do my homework on this one.
Lesson learned. Walmart rocks for taking it back though!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 40 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Don't waste your money!

12/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What a piece of junk! In order to read the kobo books, you have to download the Adobe Digital Editions program. In order to get that, you have to download Adobe Flash player. Tried to download that, but it takes me to an error page, because I don't have Android 2.2! Ugh!!! Tried to download a different program last night from the reader, and it downloaded on my cell phone instead of the reader. I am pretty computer savvy, but extremely aggravated with this!!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
21-40 of 82 total reviews