Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Enjoy the recent advancements in portable entertainment with the Ematic 7" Touch Screen eBook Reader EBW204B. This 4GB eBook reader is preloaded with Kobo eReading software that provides access to a collection of more than 2.5 million eBooks, including one million free titles. The touchscreen Wi-Fi eBook reader is equipped with Android 2.1 to give you access to a large number of applications, functionality, and entertainment. With the 7-inch color TFT touchscreen display, you can quickly browse with the touch of a finger. The tablet incorporates 5GB of free cloud storage and has an expandable MicroSD card slot for increasing memory storage space. .
Average Customer Rating:
2.27 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation35%31 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Not Bad For Price

03/14/2012
By ,
Sanford, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was my first Ereader. Overall, I am pleased with what I paid for. It has a great screen quality. The internet is pretty good as long as you have a strong wi-fi connection. Books download easily to it but the organization of the books could be better.
There are a couple downfalls of the product though. It does have a habit of restarting itself in the middle of reading a book. Once it restarts, you have to find the page you left off on so I suggest keeping track of your pages.
Another downfall, it does tend to freeze up and the only option you have is to hit the reset button. Luckily this doesn't reset the whole system but rather just reloads the Ereader.
I don't recommend loading a lot of books at one time to it either because it takes a while for the media library to update. Again, it's all about if you have patience or not.
Other than that, I would recommend it if you have patience for the above mentioned downfalls and are looking at not spending a lot of money! It does it's job overall. Don't think I would buy another one though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Well worth the money

12/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been reading these reviews for some time & felt the urge to comment. First of all as far as being hard to get a response from this, you DO NOT have to press hard. I too was pressing hard on this for the first couple of days. It requires a very light touch & responds quickly. A stylus is a great accessory & makes this much easier.
As far as apps are concerned, no you can not do the Android Market (your device has to be pre-approved by Google) but there are several Android websites out there. Mobile24 is one that is good for both FREE ebooks & games.
I had ordered the pink where there was only 2 color choices and when I saw more color choices I chose the green to replace the pink. I am glad I did.
I gave this a 4 star instead of a 5 because I feel they could have explained the in & outs of this a lot clearer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Great eReader!!! Not such a great tablet!!

12/06/2011
By ,
Seattle WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this as an early christmas present, I have been wanting an eReader for a while. I saw this one and after using it I love it. The tablet part isn't a big deal to me since I have a laptop and an iPhone. It goes online without a problem. The one thing I didn't like was it doesn't have the android market as I thought it would since it uses the Android operating system. It is preloaded with a market that seems a little low scale, (it doesn't have the kindle or b&n app) So kobo is pretty much your only choice. Kobo seems to be great plus they offer lots of Free classics. Also the touch screen doesn't seem to be heat sensitive so you have to use a stylus or your fingernail works just fine too. I Love this eReader just what I was wanting!! Plus its listed for a great price so you cant beat the value!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

If you like to read ebooks . . . .

04/26/2012
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Then this is the product for you. You can download off of the slideme android market the free Kindle and B&N Nook apps for free. This has the sharpness of any color ebook reader on the market, and if you do get it, it does have a shiny screen protector on it (it is the clear plastic sheet on the screen with a red dot in the upper right corner. Do not take the clear plastic sheet off of the touch screen, you will regret it). And if you are a Harry Potter fan like I am, this will display the Harry Potter Ebooks in Adobe DRM epub just fine with the built-in Adobe Digital Editions software.
I would also recommend that you get a hard leatherette case for it, so that you do not harm it in your purse ladies. Or for you guys, lugging it around the house or a private spot you know of to read at. This ebook reader does have a home charger (car charger is not included) and a USB 2.0 cable to transfer (copy) the books from your Free Adobe Digital Editions app on your Windows 7 desktop or laptop pc. But there is one drawback. The external microSD card that you can add must be only 16 GB, but hey, with the built-in 4 GB flash memory, that would be more than enough for your ebook collection via Amazon Kindle App or Barnes and Noble Nook app. The Kobo ebook reader app is included, so no need to download it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 5 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Great Little Tablet!!

03/21/2012
By ,
Thornton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these readers I have purchased. After getting the first for my wife I had to also have one. No problems getting it set-up. Has worked great for over a month with no glitches at all!! Highly recommend this eReader/Tablet !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Frustrating

12/08/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't claim to be a technology genius but I am usually pretty good with this kind of stuff. After 2 days of trying to figure all of this out I am returning it. (All 3 of them.) I bought them for my Mom and two of my children and if I am frustrated with it, there is no way I will give it to someone else. I was trying to get it ready for Christmas by putting some books and games on it. I finally deleted all of the foreign stuff and some sound clips. It was almost as if it was pre-owned because it didn't seem like something that would have came from the factory. I could not get it to display the weather in a city anywhere near me, not even Atlanta. I got the Adobe up and running, signed into the apps, email and Kobo. Email seemed to work fine, apps were listed in a foreign currency. I downloaded one game that seemed to work well. Then I went to Kobo, the main reason for buying this, and downloaded some books. When I went to read them it would give me a message that it could not display the material and they were working on fixing the problem. I did everything that the manual said and everything that I could think to make it work. The instruction manual is very vague. Overall I became very frustrated and put it back in the box. So diappointed because I wanted this to be a big hit Christmas morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saint Louis, Mo
Frustrated with Ematic
Posted 12/22/2011
I received the Ematic 7 touch screen and was so excited. I ordered 3 and was trying to get them ready for Christmas. Following the manual was vague (small print for those with vision difficulties) and there assistance happens only by email. The internet works but unable to download anything. I was able to add music to see how it works but the stop putting i continuously had to press to make it stop. I am crushed because I wanted to give them as gifts. Back to the drawing board and I can't say I can recommend this product to others. I am pretty savy enough to get things going but this product gave me the blues. Returning to Walmart today.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

love my ematic e-reader

12/19/2011
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had wanted one of the more expensive e-readers but just couldn't see spending that much,so I looked to see if walmart had anything priced lower and I found the ematic e-reader. I have used it for about 3 days now and absolutely love it. It's perfect for what I need. I didn't need to be able to surf the internet or do anything fancy,I just wanted something to read on-although the one I purchased does have those capabilities. It does the job-it's easy to read,lightweight,very handy. I haven't tried videos yet but will soon. It's a great product at a great price. I might even get my son and husband one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Ematic ereader

02/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great 4 months later, for the money very hard to beat lots of features battery doesnt last as long as sum of the other but sum of them also dont run in HD color screen or have as many features either, battery gets about 4-5 5hrs of life but hey who reads longer then 4-5 hrs at a time anyway. does hvae a "plastic type feel to them" but everything else including the screen is top notch. i give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 9 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/28/2011
By ,
Winter Springs, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 16 year old daughter for Christmas she loves it. Great value picks up wifi anywhere!!! Has all her pictures, music, books, etc... Great gift!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Ok for inexpensive reader three stars at most

12/11/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am not a tech geek by any means. Have been able to load books & music, browse the web. Takes me a while as it seems some things have to be done twice to complete the action. The price was excellent but I am disappointed that I am not able to read in sunlight. With the brightness set at the highest level you can hardly tell there is anything on the page, let alone read it. Don't expect a lot of additional android apps to load--always says no device detected. I think this is a Google problem from searching for a fix. This is an OK reader to read indoors or while traveling, just don't expect to read on the beach. I did not want to spend $200 so this will suffice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Not worth the money, buy a Kindle or Nook

06/18/2012
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband has a Nook Tablet and my 9 year old son uses it quite a bit. So, for his birthday, I purchased this one because it got pretty good reviews and was half the price of the Nook.
We have had the device for almost 3 months now and I am very disappointed with the device. The touch screen doesn't respond about 90% of the time. We have recalibrated it several times but it makes no difference. When you try to type on the keyboard, it can't sense which letter you are touching so it types incorrect letters. Many android applications are not compatable (Angry Birds is not compatable#. It is very slow to respond and the only way I can get books he likes is to sync it with the computer through Barnes and Noble and download items I purchased for the NOOK. The Kobo ereader site is horrible. It is very limited on sorting and searching and it hardly has any good kids books. In addition, when you go into the applications app and search for free content, many adult applications come up. I have to go searching for apps myself because there is no way to set a filter.
I am extremely disappointed with this tablet and tried to return it to walmart but I was past the 15 day return period. I purchased a month early so I would have it in time for his birthday and didn't realize there was only a 15 day return period on electronics #I thought it was 90 days). Anyway, don't spend your money on this. It would be better to invest a bit more and get something more dependable and usable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hollis, NY
Pressure Sensistive
Posted 06/21/2012
It's important to know that the touch screen on this device is pressure sensitive, which means you actually have to press the icons to get them to work. I use the tip of my fingernail and it works just fine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)
12/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchaced this product for the touch screen and ability to surf the web as well as read books. I can't say how it does for books because I never got that far. The product should be called the ereader push hard. Had alot of difficulty getting the screen to respond. Typing in a web page was almost impossible. I can't wait to return this product and would not recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 13 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Waste of money

06/15/2012
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a tablet for my 3 girls who are homeschooled. We got excited about these because of the price. I should have known better! The touch screen is not accurate; it does not perform the function at the spot that you touch, but over to the side... It is hard to press, so much so that I thought that I would hurt the screen. It was SLOW for basic functions, and extremely difficult - if not impossible to type on. It is not compatible with my library checkout eBook system either. Very upset about my decision to purchase these! I would take these back, if it were not for the special 15 day return policy just for electronics and Ematics... These are substandard products and should not be sold at WALMART!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Stopped Working

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this ereader because it appeared to meet all my expectations. It allowed me to read books from the Kobo site as well as take out books from the library. The app market they use is terrible and the Android OS on this ereader is not capable of for utilizing popular apps. I could not stream video or listen to internet radio and that was a huge disappointment. The internet browser was terribly slow and frustrating. The Kobo reading library had long downloading times and I was unable to open up books from that site half the time. The free promotional ebooks ematic includes in the box does not work either. The touch screen is unresponsive and the overall design feels cheap. To top all that off, it stopped working after a month. It is completely unresponsive and the Ematic customer service team has yet to respond to my emails. I will be returning this and I am glad I kept all of my receipts. I purchased a Kindle Fire and I am in love with it. It is a great product that does everything I want it to! Amazon all provides wonderful customer support. I would recommend avoiding any Ematic product, they headache and frustrations is not worth the cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 15 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Horrible!!

12/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this and it would not turn on for the first 20 minutes. Then once it did, I could not access the Android Apps. I called the company Ematic directly ALL day and they did not pick up their phone once! Finally I got them the second day and they were very rude and said " Ya, I guess there is some software issue and the Android App does not work and you have to download the market yourself and hope it works". After asking to speak with a manager, he sent me a You Tube video on how to install the android market to my phone and it was very lengthily. I will just get a real one where I do not have to install this myself. I must add I am very computer savvy as well. Returning first thing in the morning. Now I have three days to get a new one with a different company before Christmas and had to pay $40 in shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 16 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Don't waste your money

08/14/2012
By ,
Okanogan, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these for my daughter for her birthday, she literally used it for 2 days before we had to return it. The battery died and it wouldn't turn back on. We returned it and ordered another one. It lasted a couple of weeks so my youngest daughter took the money she had been saving and bought one. It wasn't long before we were returning her birthday gift for a second time for the same reason. Now my youngest daughter, who spent her very own money, needs to return hers, for the same reason only I am not sure if we CAN return it because there is no way to contact the manufacturer. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone. While it worked, they had a blast with them, but it didn't last long at all. It is the first part of August and I am returning my third one since June!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

disappointed

11/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The touch screen was so bad I thought it would break before I could get it to do anything. I tried to recalibrate the device but it only made it worse. I took it back to my local store, with no problem.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 18 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Good if you want an e reader

01/02/2012
By ,
Tooele, UT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My mom got a brand of tablet that starts with an n found at a b&n store, I thought this would be similar, but not even close. If you want something for reading only, then this would be ok. It has a clear picture and is not too slow, but the one thing I don't like that if you want to zoom, you have to keep clicking the zoom button. I would NOT recommend it though if you want a tablet. Although it has an Android OS, it DOES NOT have Android market. It has Appoke market, where you get third party apps. Does that mean it may be more susseptable to viruses since apps are third party apps? I also find it a little difficult to figure out how to change settings like the weather, time, date, etc. Overall I would say spend the extra $100 for something with more features, that is lighter, faster, has a nice polished look, and has the real Android Market!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 19 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Never again

12/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not work at all , very big disappointment for my daughter birthday and for her sister and brother I bought 3 units not just one, they were so exited to get them but once they got them i was obligated to go to an other store and get something else that works, i will never recommend this product to any one period.
i don't know what those 5* ratings were thinking? lol. This product does not work at all ,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Ematic EBW204 7" 4GB eBook Reader and Tablet W/HD Video Playback, Kobo eReading App, & Android 2.1 OS (Assorted Colors)

Does NOT work period!

11/25/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not the smartest when it comes to electronics, however, this does not work period. The screen is flickering and the item says 4 GB and it's only 2GB.... This was my 24th birthday gift and I waited a week for it to get here... My hearts broken b/c it doesn't even work! Never will I get an Ematic item again! :(
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next