Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

The Sauder Shoal Creek Desk features a distinctive yet warm style that blends easily with your home office or living room decor. Featuring Jamocha wood finish, this home office desk looks truly attractive. Crafted using high-quality engineered wood, the Jamocha wood desk ensures long life. Other utility-based features of this desk with drawer include safety stops, metal runners, grommet hole for managing cords, and organizer hutch with ample storage space. Use the three drawers to store items of various sizes. The lower drawer is designed specifically to hold letter-size hanging files.
Average Customer Rating:
3.697 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
54
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation76%123 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
54
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

HORRIBLE!!!

12/13/2012
By ,
New Milford, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This desk was an absolute nightmare to put together. I have bought many pieces of "cheap" furniture from Walmart and I have been very happy with all of them. After putting it together, tightening all the screws, my husband and I lifted it up to move it and it just completely fell apart. Then we put it back together, tightened everything again, and once again it fell apart. We finally bought some reinforcements for it and now it seems to be OK, but not very sturdy. I am so disappointed in this desk. It looks OK, but it's worth about $15, not $180.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great desk but...

01/09/2012
By ,
Franklin, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me preface this review by saying I LOVE this desk. It's for my new home office, it's the beautiful chocolate brown color I'd expected, it was easy to assemble. My disappointment with this product is that while from the 'front', it's beautiful and professional, from the 'back' it's non painted pressboard. So while they show the desk in the middle of the room in the advertisement picture, you really CAN'T have that side of the desk exposed. It's clearly intended to be positioned up against a wall, which is not what I'd hoped for, which is why I only rated the appearance a 3 out of 5. I purchased the media center from this collection as well, and ironically the back of that is appropriately colored. Very sturdy and pretty product, just make sure you have a spot against a wall for the unattractive back side!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+242points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Love it!

06/29/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my desk! Great desk for the price, and looks much more expensive. It's just what I was looking for! Color matches all the other dark wood furniture in my house.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Designed for failure even before use

10/17/2012
By ,
Edisto Island, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What a shame this beautiful desk wasn't designed for actual use....the lack of support for the side drawers means the top caves in (no kidding) and the drawers won't close (no kidding), even before I'd put a single thing in it or on it. Only by having my carpenter - who happened to be here - build two additional legs were we able to close the drawers properly. What would have happened if we'd put any weight into those "file" drawers without the extra support? I think the desk would have broken apart in the middle.
Since this wasn't a junk piece, and I needed it for real use, this lack of engineering is preposterous. And given that it took me most of a day to assemble -- with skimpy directions and half the parts unidentified -- I'm backpedaling a lot on this purchase.
You might want to think twice about this one....which is otherwise quite lovely. It's just silly that such an obvious lack of structural engineering resulted in an inoperative item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very poor instructions

09/17/2013
By ,
Woodstock, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me first start out by saying that the image for this is desk is great and that’s what sold me on the item but after that there isn’t much to get exciting about. Upon arrival from Wal-Mart the desk was damaged with a couple of tears in the box but I pressed on thinking it was only a slight nick. Well the instructions were not very clear and most of the pieces didn’t have the correct or no labels to mark which pieces they were; now I have put together quite a few of these type desk together over the years so following the instructions wasn't the problem. Now after about 2+ hours I was able to get the desk together completely and was somewhat pleased with the look and feel of the desk but I after all the labor I wouldn't recommend this desk not because of the quality because you can’t expect too much for $149 but because of the poor instructions it made the experience labor intensive and took the fun out of getting something new but I would say if you enjoy putting together jigsaw puzzles you will certainly enjoy this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Shorted on hardware, hard to replace

06/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the desk wasn't that difficult to assemble, especially with two people, the project ended on a sour note when they shorted us on 6 small screws to attach the rails for the desk drawer. I first tried screws I had on hand but they were either too long (broke through to the inside of the drawer and ruined the inside) or they did not countersink and the rail didn't work. Went to the hardware store and they didn't have anything that was wide enough and short enough. So I ended up finding a small screw that would fit, but not tight, and then taped it so it would work. Very frustrating experience.
This is the first time I've ordered from Walmart online. The order initially didn't go through and I had to call the credit card company to authorize as I guess Walmart gets a lot of fraud. I've never had this experience with any other online purchase. Quite a lot of effort for rather mediocre results.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

For the love of all things holy do not buy this.

08/07/2013
By ,
kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am the first one to expect very little when buying furniture like this but in this case, its way worse than expected.
We bought this for my wife. I was going to convert it into a makeup vanity since she just had to have massive drawers. It wasn't too bad to assemble. The instructions were, surprisingly, very comprehensive although some of the parts did not have labels.
The hardware which was included also was not too bad. The problem is the material. It's like the thing is made out of match sticks. Any wrong move and you will break a lot of important pieces. We scratched the finish during assembly. We just covered that with a place mat. Now the major problem was when we had to move the desk into its permanent home. A little resistance from the carpet and the whole right side of the desk started crumbling like a cookie in a fat kids mouth.
If you can manage to assemble this thing in the most delicate fashion. Move it into place without destroying the base structure, and never ever set anything on it, it actually looks like it is well built and has a nice finish. Yet, all of that would be a lie.
This desk is worth maybe 30 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Do not buy this desk!

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have just come home from returning this desk to the store. After spending all afternoon putting it together, when I got to the drawers I discovered they were stained on the wrong side! This desk is a hunk of junk! After all my work I had to take it back to the store. Don't be fooled by the pictures as I was!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Good desk for the price

04/15/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed about two things when this arrived; 1. I received broken pieces & 2. the top "two" draws are actually one. When I found this desk, I searched for it specifically to find it available through other vendors, some had better descriptions than others, or better pictures, but none could beat the price. Upon opening the box, the first thing I pulled out were two completely crushed draw sides. I called Sauder & getting the replacement parts was super simple & painless. Luckily the parts that were broken did not affect my ability to put together the rest of the desk. I may have read that it said somewhere that this unit had 3 draws, I guess that didn't register since the picture clearly shows 4, but I can assure you the picture is deceiving; it is a total of 3 draws, including the pencil draw. Overall, the unit feels sturdy, looks expensive, & does what I wanted it to do.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Easy set up

07/30/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desk is exactly what I expected. All the pieces were there and setup was a breeze. The directions were very detailed and easy to follow - detailed pictures each step.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Good value

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product met all expectations and assembly was well written and easy to follow. The only suggestion that I could make would be to add guide pins to desk and hutch to assist in assembling the units together. When inserting wood screws into hutch from desk top, it must be done blind and two people are required for this step which could be solved by adding guide pins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great price, looks perfect

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great desk for the money. Solid and fashionable. Not bad to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great desk for a student or home office

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to put together. Good quality. Only worry is the thin drawer bottoms. Won't put any books or heavy items in the drawers. Was a birthday gift to granddaughter who just loves the look and size of this desk. Will buy another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great desk!

08/14/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our son's room, which has deep, rich woods. This desk fits in perfectly! It is a very nice desk, looks terrific and of decent quality. The desk looks to be more expensive than what it's sold for. We had no problem setting it up, either.
Highly recommend!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Soooo Disappointed!

01/22/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love love love the look of this desk, but it's really poorly made. There are four legs holding up the desk, but there really should be six legs. The drawers are buckling in the center because they don't have legs to support them. If they were going to design the desk this way than the drawers should be screwed into the desktop for support, but they aren't. I had to stack books between the floor and the bottom drawer to keep the drawer up! And mind you there's nothing in the drawers! they're empty! So you can't argue that they're being weighed down by to much stuff in them. I'm so disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

bedroom desk

08/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moved into an apartment and was looking for a nice desk for my bedroom. Had already purchased bedroom furniture from Shoal Creek and this was one of the matching desks I could choose from. Fits perfect, looks great and provides me all the space and drawers I needed. Very easy to put together, functions well and I like that my "office space" looks attractive in my bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

desk

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and a great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great home office in Kitchen

01/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I needed a desk that was going in our kitchen and this one is just perfect. It matches the black chairs in our Kitchen set. It is very good looking desk and has just about everything needed to run a house. I do wish it had a little tray for the pens, but thats so minor, it doesnt really count. My husband and I put it together in 2 hours and I love it. I can have my laptop, bills, school papers and I love the cubbies for those little extras.
Overall, great desk for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great Desk for Price

02/23/2012
By ,
Grand Prairie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this desk at the beginning of February and it arrived on the date that Walmart indicated. I read the instructions, put it together, which took about 3-4 hours, not bad and then I was up and running. It is a great looking desk, however, the way it is instructed and after you finish building it, there is no back or finished back to the product. It is supposed to and looks like the image, however there is no back or what you see is the unfinished parts of the wood/board. Other than that, it is a great desk and I have received a lot of compliments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn,ny
Posted 09/27/2012
I so agree. no backing so it has to go against a wall. Not what I was expecting and needed.
I will be returning as I need a backing
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Weary of the shipping

07/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While my desk arrived earlier than anticipated, it also arrived with a cut in the box and a gash missing from the counter top section. Not sure what happened; maybe it was dropped or something fell on it. It was on the side where I was planning to face it toward the wall so it is not extraordinarily noticeable. I would suggest inquiring on different shipping or packaging methods to secure the desk pieces better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 150 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next