Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

The Sauder Shoal Creek Desk features a distinctive yet warm style that blends easily with your home office or living room decor. Featuring Jamocha wood finish, this home office desk looks truly attractive. Crafted using high-quality engineered wood, the Jamocha wood desk ensures long life. Other utility-based features of this desk with drawer include safety stops, metal runners, grommet hole for managing cords, and organizer hutch with ample storage space. Use the three drawers to store items of various sizes. The lower drawer is designed specifically to hold letter-size hanging files.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
51
3 stars
20
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation76%109 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
51
3 stars
20
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

HORRIBLE!!!

12/13/2012
By ,
New Milford, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This desk was an absolute nightmare to put together. I have bought many pieces of "cheap" furniture from Walmart and I have been very happy with all of them. After putting it together, tightening all the screws, my husband and I lifted it up to move it and it just completely fell apart. Then we put it back together, tightened everything again, and once again it fell apart. We finally bought some reinforcements for it and now it seems to be OK, but not very sturdy. I am so disappointed in this desk. It looks OK, but it's worth about $15, not $180.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great desk but...

01/09/2012
By ,
Franklin, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me preface this review by saying I LOVE this desk. It's for my new home office, it's the beautiful chocolate brown color I'd expected, it was easy to assemble. My disappointment with this product is that while from the 'front', it's beautiful and professional, from the 'back' it's non painted pressboard. So while they show the desk in the middle of the room in the advertisement picture, you really CAN'T have that side of the desk exposed. It's clearly intended to be positioned up against a wall, which is not what I'd hoped for, which is why I only rated the appearance a 3 out of 5. I purchased the media center from this collection as well, and ironically the back of that is appropriately colored. Very sturdy and pretty product, just make sure you have a spot against a wall for the unattractive back side!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+231points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Love it!

06/29/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my desk! Great desk for the price, and looks much more expensive. It's just what I was looking for! Color matches all the other dark wood furniture in my house.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Good desk for the price

04/15/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed about two things when this arrived; 1. I received broken pieces & 2. the top "two" draws are actually one. When I found this desk, I searched for it specifically to find it available through other vendors, some had better descriptions than others, or better pictures, but none could beat the price. Upon opening the box, the first thing I pulled out were two completely crushed draw sides. I called Sauder & getting the replacement parts was super simple & painless. Luckily the parts that were broken did not affect my ability to put together the rest of the desk. I may have read that it said somewhere that this unit had 3 draws, I guess that didn't register since the picture clearly shows 4, but I can assure you the picture is deceiving; it is a total of 3 draws, including the pencil draw. Overall, the unit feels sturdy, looks expensive, & does what I wanted it to do.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very poor instructions

09/17/2013
By ,
Woodstock, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me first start out by saying that the image for this is desk is great and that’s what sold me on the item but after that there isn’t much to get exciting about. Upon arrival from Wal-Mart the desk was damaged with a couple of tears in the box but I pressed on thinking it was only a slight nick. Well the instructions were not very clear and most of the pieces didn’t have the correct or no labels to mark which pieces they were; now I have put together quite a few of these type desk together over the years so following the instructions wasn't the problem. Now after about 2+ hours I was able to get the desk together completely and was somewhat pleased with the look and feel of the desk but I after all the labor I wouldn't recommend this desk not because of the quality because you can’t expect too much for $149 but because of the poor instructions it made the experience labor intensive and took the fun out of getting something new but I would say if you enjoy putting together jigsaw puzzles you will certainly enjoy this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Designed for failure even before use

10/17/2012
By ,
Edisto Island, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What a shame this beautiful desk wasn't designed for actual use....the lack of support for the side drawers means the top caves in (no kidding) and the drawers won't close (no kidding), even before I'd put a single thing in it or on it. Only by having my carpenter - who happened to be here - build two additional legs were we able to close the drawers properly. What would have happened if we'd put any weight into those "file" drawers without the extra support? I think the desk would have broken apart in the middle.
Since this wasn't a junk piece, and I needed it for real use, this lack of engineering is preposterous. And given that it took me most of a day to assemble -- with skimpy directions and half the parts unidentified -- I'm backpedaling a lot on this purchase.
You might want to think twice about this one....which is otherwise quite lovely. It's just silly that such an obvious lack of structural engineering resulted in an inoperative item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

For the love of all things holy do not buy this.

08/07/2013
By ,
kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am the first one to expect very little when buying furniture like this but in this case, its way worse than expected.
We bought this for my wife. I was going to convert it into a makeup vanity since she just had to have massive drawers. It wasn't too bad to assemble. The instructions were, surprisingly, very comprehensive although some of the parts did not have labels.
The hardware which was included also was not too bad. The problem is the material. It's like the thing is made out of match sticks. Any wrong move and you will break a lot of important pieces. We scratched the finish during assembly. We just covered that with a place mat. Now the major problem was when we had to move the desk into its permanent home. A little resistance from the carpet and the whole right side of the desk started crumbling like a cookie in a fat kids mouth.
If you can manage to assemble this thing in the most delicate fashion. Move it into place without destroying the base structure, and never ever set anything on it, it actually looks like it is well built and has a nice finish. Yet, all of that would be a lie.
This desk is worth maybe 30 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Look Elsewhere

03/26/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this and didnt listen, I just wanted it cause it looked nice. I had this thing for not even 48 hours and it completely fell apart. The support unit on the back of the desk totally broke off. Now I'm left with a wobbly desk with pieces of particle board cracking and falling on the floor daily. I'm so disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Acceptable

03/26/2014
By ,
georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Item delivered to wrong address. Original package and replacement parts were damaged. It took 3 shipments to get damage free parts. recommend sending a touch-up pen to cover minor marks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Gorgeous Desk!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Witherbee, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Way to go Walmart. This desk is super mint and so beautiful. The price is great and I fully recomment this desk to ANYONE. Very sharp and classy looking. Well made and alot of room. The only thing is it took my son inlaw hours to put together .Not that it was hard just detailed.
The color is gorgeous too. This is a rather large desk perfect for all your needs. It does not have a pull out draw for a keyboard. It is a regular draw which I find better. It does however have more than enough top desk space to place place a keyboard, mouse pad and mouse. Top shelf is great for speakers or to put a Lap Top. Hope this review helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Soooo Disappointed!

01/22/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love love love the look of this desk, but it's really poorly made. There are four legs holding up the desk, but there really should be six legs. The drawers are buckling in the center because they don't have legs to support them. If they were going to design the desk this way than the drawers should be screwed into the desktop for support, but they aren't. I had to stack books between the floor and the bottom drawer to keep the drawer up! And mind you there's nothing in the drawers! they're empty! So you can't argue that they're being weighed down by to much stuff in them. I'm so disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great desk

01/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The desk arrived a week earlier than estimated which was a big plus. Free shipping too. It took about 3-4 hours to set up. It wasn't hard but not everything is labeled so sometimes it took some time to figure out what pieces the instructions were asking for. But with some common sense and playing around with it, it wasn't hard to figure out. I like that the desk is very heavy which I did expect. It makes it feel more durable and sturdy. Everything works smoothly on the desk. .. drawers open and close easy, nothing wiggles or gets stuck. The only downside was that the desk came a little nicked up. Some edges were scraped. Nothing too bad but when you buy something new you want it to look new too. Nevertheless, I would recommend this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very good desk

12/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a huge fan of the small hutch - it's not a huge piece but makes for nice extra storage and hideaway space. Setup was pretty average - nothing hard, it can just take some time if you do it by yourself. It looks great. The only complaint is that what looks like 3 drawers on the side is actually 2- the front makes it look like 2 smaller drawers are on top, but it's one deeper drawer. Nothing major though. Also on the topic of drawers, a plus is that the drawer above the open area for your legs is actually a drawer, not one of those slide out keyboard shelves that just looks like a regular drawer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Nice desk for the price

12/28/2013
By ,
Dalmatia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am please with the desk. I had actually found the same identical desk on another website for more money. I feel I did get the best price available for it. It arrived earlier than expected, which was a nice surprise. My son was able to put the desk together fairly quickly using the directions provided. The only bad thing was when the desk arrived, it appeared one of the front corners was chipped. We were able to conceal it with wood touch-up stain. Overall, however, the desk is very nice and I'm pleasantly happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

big desk

03/17/2014
By ,
union,mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it look great and love the storage. there a few thing I don't like the doors on it don't fit right and get stick out. also there no place to put the tower. I still like it and its a good price for what you get.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

excellent

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price,beautifull
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great home office in Kitchen

01/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I needed a desk that was going in our kitchen and this one is just perfect. It matches the black chairs in our Kitchen set. It is very good looking desk and has just about everything needed to run a house. I do wish it had a little tray for the pens, but thats so minor, it doesnt really count. My husband and I put it together in 2 hours and I love it. I can have my laptop, bills, school papers and I love the cubbies for those little extras.
Overall, great desk for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Caution

02/25/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The look of this desk is nice but it is made of very low quality materials. It is very susceptible to breakage, scratches, etc. I would not recommend this desk if you have small children or intend it for heavy use. The drawers are very sensitive to movement and weight. The back of the desk is unfinished which may or may not be an issue depending on the perso
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Disappointed with quality

02/27/2014
By ,
Munster In
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very disappointed with the back of the desk. Can only use it against the wall. Should of had the back finished. Way to expensive for the way it was built
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great Desk for Price

02/23/2012
By ,
Grand Prairie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this desk at the beginning of February and it arrived on the date that Walmart indicated. I read the instructions, put it together, which took about 3-4 hours, not bad and then I was up and running. It is a great looking desk, however, the way it is instructed and after you finish building it, there is no back or finished back to the product. It is supposed to and looks like the image, however there is no back or what you see is the unfinished parts of the wood/board. Other than that, it is a great desk and I have received a lot of compliments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn,ny
Posted 09/27/2012
I so agree. no backing so it has to go against a wall. Not what I was expecting and needed.
I will be returning as I need a backing
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next