Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

The Sauder Shoal Creek Desk Jamocha Wood creates a distinctive yet warm style that will blend easily with your home, office or living-room decor. The surface has a smooth Jamocha wood finish, making it an attractive addition to any area. The Sauder office desk is crafted using high-quality, engineered wood, ensuring a long life. This item contains drawers which will hold your accessories nicely. The wooden home office desk has a lower drawer that will hold your letter-sized hanging files. With an organizer hutch that contains a full shelf and cubby hold storage, there is no limit to how you can organize your office needs. Furthermore, it is quick and easy to assemble.
Average Customer Rating:
3.71 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
57
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation77%129 out of 168reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 154 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
57
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

HORRIBLE!!!

12/13/2012
By ,
New Milford, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This desk was an absolute nightmare to put together. I have bought many pieces of "cheap" furniture from Walmart and I have been very happy with all of them. After putting it together, tightening all the screws, my husband and I lifted it up to move it and it just completely fell apart. Then we put it back together, tightened everything again, and once again it fell apart. We finally bought some reinforcements for it and now it seems to be OK, but not very sturdy. I am so disappointed in this desk. It looks OK, but it's worth about $15, not $180.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great desk but...

01/09/2012
By ,
Franklin, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me preface this review by saying I LOVE this desk. It's for my new home office, it's the beautiful chocolate brown color I'd expected, it was easy to assemble. My disappointment with this product is that while from the 'front', it's beautiful and professional, from the 'back' it's non painted pressboard. So while they show the desk in the middle of the room in the advertisement picture, you really CAN'T have that side of the desk exposed. It's clearly intended to be positioned up against a wall, which is not what I'd hoped for, which is why I only rated the appearance a 3 out of 5. I purchased the media center from this collection as well, and ironically the back of that is appropriately colored. Very sturdy and pretty product, just make sure you have a spot against a wall for the unattractive back side!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+251points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Love it!

06/29/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my desk! Great desk for the price, and looks much more expensive. It's just what I was looking for! Color matches all the other dark wood furniture in my house.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Designed for failure even before use

10/17/2012
By ,
Edisto Island, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What a shame this beautiful desk wasn't designed for actual use....the lack of support for the side drawers means the top caves in (no kidding) and the drawers won't close (no kidding), even before I'd put a single thing in it or on it. Only by having my carpenter - who happened to be here - build two additional legs were we able to close the drawers properly. What would have happened if we'd put any weight into those "file" drawers without the extra support? I think the desk would have broken apart in the middle.
Since this wasn't a junk piece, and I needed it for real use, this lack of engineering is preposterous. And given that it took me most of a day to assemble -- with skimpy directions and half the parts unidentified -- I'm backpedaling a lot on this purchase.
You might want to think twice about this one....which is otherwise quite lovely. It's just silly that such an obvious lack of structural engineering resulted in an inoperative item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very poor instructions

09/17/2013
By ,
Woodstock, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me first start out by saying that the image for this is desk is great and that’s what sold me on the item but after that there isn’t much to get exciting about. Upon arrival from Wal-Mart the desk was damaged with a couple of tears in the box but I pressed on thinking it was only a slight nick. Well the instructions were not very clear and most of the pieces didn’t have the correct or no labels to mark which pieces they were; now I have put together quite a few of these type desk together over the years so following the instructions wasn't the problem. Now after about 2+ hours I was able to get the desk together completely and was somewhat pleased with the look and feel of the desk but I after all the labor I wouldn't recommend this desk not because of the quality because you can’t expect too much for $149 but because of the poor instructions it made the experience labor intensive and took the fun out of getting something new but I would say if you enjoy putting together jigsaw puzzles you will certainly enjoy this desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

For the love of all things holy do not buy this.

08/07/2013
By ,
kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am the first one to expect very little when buying furniture like this but in this case, its way worse than expected.
We bought this for my wife. I was going to convert it into a makeup vanity since she just had to have massive drawers. It wasn't too bad to assemble. The instructions were, surprisingly, very comprehensive although some of the parts did not have labels.
The hardware which was included also was not too bad. The problem is the material. It's like the thing is made out of match sticks. Any wrong move and you will break a lot of important pieces. We scratched the finish during assembly. We just covered that with a place mat. Now the major problem was when we had to move the desk into its permanent home. A little resistance from the carpet and the whole right side of the desk started crumbling like a cookie in a fat kids mouth.
If you can manage to assemble this thing in the most delicate fashion. Move it into place without destroying the base structure, and never ever set anything on it, it actually looks like it is well built and has a nice finish. Yet, all of that would be a lie.
This desk is worth maybe 30 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Shorted on hardware, hard to replace

06/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although the desk wasn't that difficult to assemble, especially with two people, the project ended on a sour note when they shorted us on 6 small screws to attach the rails for the desk drawer. I first tried screws I had on hand but they were either too long (broke through to the inside of the drawer and ruined the inside) or they did not countersink and the rail didn't work. Went to the hardware store and they didn't have anything that was wide enough and short enough. So I ended up finding a small screw that would fit, but not tight, and then taped it so it would work. Very frustrating experience.
This is the first time I've ordered from Walmart online. The order initially didn't go through and I had to call the credit card company to authorize as I guess Walmart gets a lot of fraud. I've never had this experience with any other online purchase. Quite a lot of effort for rather mediocre results.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Good value for the price.

10/17/2014
By ,
Providence, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The instructions were easy to follow, and I was able to assemble the desk without help in about 3 hours.
Taking a cue from other reviews, when I assembled the drawers, I used wood glue on the factory-produced slots and tabs in addition to the provided screws. I also replaced the somewhat garish nickel-plated drawer hardware with hardware having an antique bronze finish that cost me about $8 at H*** D****. Additionally, I added glides to the bottom of the legs (cost about $1.50) which make moving the desk across the floor easier.
When the assembly was completed and I had my laptop, files, and other material on the new
desk, I was quite pleased with the result. The appearance is excellent, and the desktop is more
useful than the larger desk that it replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Good desk for the price

04/15/2014
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed about two things when this arrived; 1. I received broken pieces & 2. the top "two" draws are actually one. When I found this desk, I searched for it specifically to find it available through other vendors, some had better descriptions than others, or better pictures, but none could beat the price. Upon opening the box, the first thing I pulled out were two completely crushed draw sides. I called Sauder & getting the replacement parts was super simple & painless. Luckily the parts that were broken did not affect my ability to put together the rest of the desk. I may have read that it said somewhere that this unit had 3 draws, I guess that didn't register since the picture clearly shows 4, but I can assure you the picture is deceiving; it is a total of 3 draws, including the pencil draw. Overall, the unit feels sturdy, looks expensive, & does what I wanted it to do.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Excellent prize and quality

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the entire set for our children bedroom. It looks elegant,very spacious and durable. Very happy with the entire purchase! We just needed to hire someone to put it together . it can be complicated if you have never done it before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great home office in Kitchen

01/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, I needed a desk that was going in our kitchen and this one is just perfect. It matches the black chairs in our Kitchen set. It is very good looking desk and has just about everything needed to run a house. I do wish it had a little tray for the pens, but thats so minor, it doesnt really count. My husband and I put it together in 2 hours and I love it. I can have my laptop, bills, school papers and I love the cubbies for those little extras.
Overall, great desk for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Do not buy this desk!

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have just come home from returning this desk to the store. After spending all afternoon putting it together, when I got to the drawers I discovered they were stained on the wrong side! This desk is a hunk of junk! After all my work I had to take it back to the store. Don't be fooled by the pictures as I was!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Nice Desk Once Together

10/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice desk! Get someone who is handy to put it together for you, however. So many pieces!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Soooo Disappointed!

01/22/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love love love the look of this desk, but it's really poorly made. There are four legs holding up the desk, but there really should be six legs. The drawers are buckling in the center because they don't have legs to support them. If they were going to design the desk this way than the drawers should be screwed into the desktop for support, but they aren't. I had to stack books between the floor and the bottom drawer to keep the drawer up! And mind you there's nothing in the drawers! they're empty! So you can't argue that they're being weighed down by to much stuff in them. I'm so disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Great Desk for Price

02/23/2012
By ,
Grand Prairie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this desk at the beginning of February and it arrived on the date that Walmart indicated. I read the instructions, put it together, which took about 3-4 hours, not bad and then I was up and running. It is a great looking desk, however, the way it is instructed and after you finish building it, there is no back or finished back to the product. It is supposed to and looks like the image, however there is no back or what you see is the unfinished parts of the wood/board. Other than that, it is a great desk and I have received a lot of compliments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
auburn,ny
Posted 09/27/2012
I so agree. no backing so it has to go against a wall. Not what I was expecting and needed.
I will be returning as I need a backing
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very Pleased!!!

11/13/2012
By ,
Travelers Rest, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews online, I decided to take a chance on this desk and I am SO glad I did. It's exactly what we were looking for! Although it took a bit of patience and re-reading the directions to get it put together, it was well worth it. This desk is very sturdy and solid! There is no finished backing in case you wanted to place it in the center of a room or facing outward, however, ours is against a wall so it wasn't an issue for us. I would have given it 5 stars except on the website it stated it had 4 drawers, but only has 3. Not an issue here because it still has great storage space. Overall, I am convinced that you could not find a better desk for this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very happy with our desk!

09/28/2014
By ,
Twinsburg, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We saw this desk at a furniture store for $60 more. I ordered it on line and had it shipped to store and assembled at the store. I picked it up and they loaded it into my car. I like the color and the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Very good desk

12/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a huge fan of the small hutch - it's not a huge piece but makes for nice extra storage and hideaway space. Setup was pretty average - nothing hard, it can just take some time if you do it by yourself. It looks great. The only complaint is that what looks like 3 drawers on the side is actually 2- the front makes it look like 2 smaller drawers are on top, but it's one deeper drawer. Nothing major though. Also on the topic of drawers, a plus is that the drawer above the open area for your legs is actually a drawer, not one of those slide out keyboard shelves that just looks like a regular drawer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

Easy set up

07/30/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desk is exactly what I expected. All the pieces were there and setup was a breeze. The directions were very detailed and easy to follow - detailed pictures each step.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood

I love this desk

09/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only complaint I have with this desk is set up instructions. They should label at least 80% of the parts because there are a lot of pieces.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 157 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next