Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Help (Widescreen)

The Help (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation97%93 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for The Help (Widescreen)

Help (Much Hooply)

05/13/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The script would lead the viewers to believe that the characters' conduct served as examples of ninteen sixties behavior. It was unfair to paint everyone that lived in the sixties with the same Hollywood brush. In other words, the movie felt like the deliberate spreading of ideas to support a cause, group, or movement. As a result, I was not happy with this propaganda film.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Help (Widescreen)
11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this movie, I saw it twice in the theater and could watch it over and over. Teaches such a great lesson about exceptance and dealing with change. Highly recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Azle, Texas
Wide Screen
Posted 12/06/2011
I absolutely LOVE this movie and would love to purchase it, but I dont have a widescreen tv and would love to buy the standard version. I think its unfair of the makers of these dvds to only sell widescreen versions. Not everyone can afford widescreen tvs. Why cant they make standard versions too?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Help (Widescreen)

THE HELP

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT MOVIE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Help (Widescreen)

This is a Must-See!

12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm no Siskel, Ebert, or Roeper, but I know a good movie when I see one. I took my mother and sister on a girls' night out to see this movie and it was phenomenal! This movie ingeniously combines drama, comedy, and romance allowing for the audience to cry, laugh, and "awww"at the right time. Although this movie is based heavily on racial tensions the movie's plot doesn't really give you a chance to be angry, as the comic relief moves you past the resentment and into a place of laughter. I believe this movie should be shown in our schools (perhaps the high school level considering Ms. Minnie's pie fiasco).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Help (Widescreen)
12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! I don't go to the movies very often--nothing worth watching. But I couldn't wait to see this one! I saw it twice at the theater! It is terriffic! Really well acted--loved Abileen! couldn't stand Hilly LOL Am so glad this is finally available to buy!
Best movie to come out in a long time!!! So poignant, so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Help (Widescreen)

Great 2011 Movie!

12/14/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie will stick with you for a long while. I have also read the book and for me the movie travels easier through the story - -the book was awesome as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Help (Widescreen)
01/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They did a great job of delivering the truth about how life was for whites and blacks at that time. Loved it, great movie and I hope there will be a weekley show of this error, our young children know nothing of this time in life and I think a lot of them need to know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Help (Widescreen)

Great film for understanding the 1960's

01/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this film because not only is it funny, interesting and fast-moving, it is very entertaining. The 1960's culture of the South in the United States is the main focus, as it relates to racial attitudes and stereotypes. Great film
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Help (Widescreen)

A GREAT BUY

01/26/2012
By ,
AUGUSTA,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY FIANCE BOUGHT THIS MOVIE FOR ME AND I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT.IT DEALT WITH SUCH A CRUCIAL MATTER IN SUCH A GREAT WAY.TURNED A TIME OF HATRED AND MISUNDERSTANDING INTO AN INTRESTING LEARNING EXPERIENCE FOR US ALL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Help (Widescreen)

Great Movie

01/11/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had me sitting on the edge of my seat. Loved the ending. Have already watched it three times with differant friends. Would watch it again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Help (Widescreen)

Great movie night movie

02/08/2012
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this movie for my sister's birthday. Along with another sister and my daughters, we had a great Girls' Night in at the Movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Help (Widescreen)

Good acting

01/11/2012
By ,
Lauderhill, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because of all the hoopla about the movie I sort of expected more in the story line. It was good anyway and very enlightening.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Help (Widescreen)

A Must See

01/24/2012
By ,
Warrior, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great movie, it's worth seeing and it's a movie you watch over and over. Makes you laugh and cry.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Help (Widescreen)

Teh Help

01/11/2012
By ,
Panama City Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was a very good informative and historical movie that was extremely entertaining.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Help (Widescreen)
02/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great acting, enlightening and story. Really enjoyed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Help (Widescreen)
01/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this movie. It's very funny and a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Help (Widescreen)

Great Movie

02/14/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i enjoyed watching this movie!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Help (Widescreen)

Movie - great

01/15/2012
By ,
Troy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Help is a great movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Help (Widescreen)

Txstateofmind

12/26/2011
By ,
Cleburne, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a gift exchange and got it with the DVD and book. The person who got it was thrilled. I had seen the movie three times and read the book 4 times. This was the best story of 2011, hands down. It's not a chick flick, per se, even though the story revolves around women. It's just a story of life in 1960's Jackson, MS and even men can enjoy the story. Of course, the book is so much better than the movie. It's hard to cram 500 pages of material into a 2+ hour movie! I bought the regular DVD because not everyone has a Blu Ray player. But rest assured, you can barely tell the difference between the regular DVD and the Blu Ray version when playing it in your Blu Ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Help (Widescreen)
01/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great movie... Not as good as the book, but still great. Ordered and received within 4 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next