Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Touchless Oval Trash Can is perfect for any kitchen. The lid of this touchless 13.2-gal oval trash can opens automatically and stays open when your hands are detected, preventing cross-contamination from germs. The Nine Stars Touchless Trash Can will make disposing of trash much easier and a little less disgusting too. Its hands-free operation helps keep your home safe and clean. The sleek 13.2-gal oval trash can features an infrared motion sensor that detects when your hand is within 10 inches near the black lid. The Nine Stars automatic trash can with stainless steel lid opens to let you to throw out your trash and then it closes automatically when you remove your hand. Durable stainless-steel construction provides a classic look, easy cleanup, and protection from rust and water damage. The Nine Stars stainless steel trash can operates on 3D batteries (not included) and can be opened and closed a minimum of 10,000 times before needing battery replacement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(729 Reviews) 614
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
499
4 stars
153
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
43
Customer Recommendation92%669 out of 729reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 429 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
499
4 stars
153
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
43
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nice

12/22/2012
By ,
Carson, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trash can is very nice in appearance and seems to be holding up well. It seems like the opening and closing of the lid wont last long. The price was good and I guess you can say it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

I like it

05/13/2014
By ,
Huntington Beach,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this trash can for over a week now and so far it's been working like a charm. It's nice to have the trash lid open automatically when disposing the trash. It is wide enough to put large size objects such as a milk carton or similar size. The lid stays open till you move away from it which is cool or you can touch the open button to make it remain open then you touch the close button and it will go back to its auto open settings. I bought this when it was on sale for $49.99 now it's back to it original price of $69.99. I was surprise also how fast I got this 3 days and for a shipping price of $6 to $7. All in all very happy with this Trash Can and you will to if you buy it,but wait till it's on sale again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Sensored trash can is the best.

04/01/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a sensored trash can but it broke. The lid no longer opened on its own even after I changed the battery. So, I bought a new one & it's much nicer looking and better than the last. The mouth of this trash can is wide which makes big to-go boxes easy to fit inside the can. Once you go with a sensored trash can you won't want to ever get any other kind. It's perfect for when you're cooking & your hands are full or dirty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can

03/06/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can! Fits more trash than I expected and keeps smell in!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Love this and it looks great

04/12/2014
By ,
North of Boston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really wanted a clean and neat looking trash container this works perfect
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Every household should have this! Great buy!

12/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the value it was one of our great buy this year! I think every household should have this. My kids call it the magic trash can!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This is a decent product, but I am only 2 weeks in

08/14/2014
By ,
Upstate, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the appearance and easy of use. The sensor is very sensitive as it pops open when one of my children walk by it, but otherwise I am a big fan and would recommend this product to a fan. When I am cooking, I don't want to touch a can or try to kick the bottom to open the lid as I have 2 cans back to back for recycling. This product is perfect for just that reason.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

We recommend this trash can!

08/24/2014
By ,
Franklin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a low cost trash can with a battery powered open/close lid, look no further. We could not be happier with this purchase. The can itself is good to begin with and features a plastic ring that goes between the can and the lid, concealing the liner if you tuck it inside the can under the ring. Although it does not have a removable bucket inside, it really doesn't need one because the liner goes all the way to the top and is easy to remove when the lid is taken off. Regardless of what the description says, this uses 3 C size batteries. It is packaged well and has a mail in registration that replaces the lid mechanism for one year if it fails, you pay shipping to return it to the manufacturer and they pay to send you a new one. Be careful when you are ordering not to get the similar looking model, almost identical but having a split inside with one side for trash and the other for recycling (unless that is what you really want). This product works well, the sensitivity is just right and we would definitely buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good after we fixed a battery glitch ourselves

03/14/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: streamlined appearance that can fit into small places.
Quiet as far as I can tell, I have never owned a sensor lid before.
The lid function works wonderful and is not too sensitive ( which I've read is an issue with other brands) it has a manual function open/close button for leaving the lid open for a longer period of time. Easy bag access that is hidden by the lid. Easy clean with simple wiping off.
Cons: Husband had to fix the space where the batteries are inserted because they didn't connect all the way across to get power. That was a pain because we tried everything and had no power until he "rigged" it so the batteries would fit snug. No paperwork arrived from Walmart with it so we didn't want to deal with the company # as it would've been expensive to return. I haven't read any other issues with that so it was probably a fluke lid. It works fine and looks great other than that issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Generally good; not perfect.

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this trash can for about a month now. Works fine about 85% of the time, but temperamental. For some reason it does not open at times when "waving" near the sensor. Has shut down completely a couple of times; not only sensor, but "open" and "close" buttons as well. In either case, turning the unit off for awhile and then back on worked, sort of like doing a reset. Also opens if I'm too close walking by it. No big deal, but funny how it opens when you don't need it, but, at times, not open when you want it. It is easy enough to open the lid manually, but if your hands are full? One more thing. The unit came shipped in overall good shape, except for the inner plastic ring. A piece of this plastic part had broken off. Turned out to be no big deal as the unit worked anyway in this condition. Still have the piece and hope to glue it back on just for added strength to the ring. Now let's see how long this whole unit will last.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This Nine Star Sensored Trash Can Worth Ten Stars!

08/28/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a nice reliable sensor trash can for our kitchen. I relied on many of the consumer ratings to assess which one to select and decided to go for the Nine Star 3.2 gallon stainless steel oval trash can. I shopped around on the internet and found the best price with shipping was with Walmart. It arrived quickly and nicely packaged. It was easy to assemble but the battery insertion required a bit of extra pressue to snap it in. Not only does it work like a charm but it looks great too. The lid opens as it's suppose to and closes tightly. It never shuts prematurely or opens erroneously. It's so much fun to use you will almost look forward to making garbage just so you can use it. I would highly recommend it without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Happy with it

06/23/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My concern before I bought this was that it might open every time someone walked by it due to where I planned to locate it, but that has not been the case. They have done a good job with the sensor. The fee to ship this was only about $3... surprising low for something this big. My only complaint is that the Nine Stars warranty registration process needs improvement. The paper form does not list the address to which you should send it, and the web site would not accept the date of purchase when I entered it. Note--you'll need the product's UPC (bar code) number for the registration, so copy it down if you're going to throw out the box right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Works great so far!

03/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took us a while before we finally made the purchase. Just wasn't sure how well it would perform or what issues we might have with it, but so far...so good! Overall, it's pretty quiet even when the lid closes, although they could have made a tweak to the gears inside to slow the closing operation just a hair more. Not a show stopper, though. We have only had it for a couple months (purchased in late January), so it's early to say how long it'll last.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good value

12/16/2013
By ,
southernoak, Southeastern USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace our five year old touchless can because it finally quit (plastic hinges broke again). We really like the larger opening, quieter mechanism, sturdier hinges and modern appearance of this Nine Star brand. I'm hoping the lighter lid will prevent the hinges from breaking as quickly. We all LOVE not having to touch a trash can lid to throw stuff away - especially when our Granddaughter spends the night. It's so much healthier than a regular trash can that we purchased one for our daughter as well. As far as the durability it's way too soon to tell right now since it's only been in use for four days. So far we are impressed and are keeping our fingers crossed that we'll get the same usage as we did with the other brand. We would recommend it to a friend at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Overall a very good product

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this after my previous SS kitchen trash can broke - the foot pedal on the bottom had cracked. My concern with this model was how well the sensor worked, if it took standard size large kitchen bags, and ease of bag replacement. Initially there was some frustration among family members with the sensor closing too fast, but after a few weeks and learning how to keep it open (either through keeping something over the sensor or using the stay-open button) that does not seem to be much of an issue. What I found that I like about it compared to my previous trash can are a) the closed lid does a great job of sealing off odors as it closes more tightly than my old can did; b) the bag does not collapse so I am using a LOT less bags than I was before as they can be filled higher; c) the bags no longer hang over the top and are now not seen at all for a much cleaner look. I was concerned about the time to change the bag out but it is a non-issue as it is very easy. I am very pleased that I got this and that I stuck with it despite the preliminary learning curve with the sensor. It is a major improvement in my opinion over my previous kitchen trash can.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

nothing but trouble

03/21/2014
By ,
clarinda IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I waited almost a year to write this review figuring I would give it some time to see how it holds up and it has been horrible. First one I got the lid stop working about 2 /12 months into it, lucky Walmart sent me a replacement trashcan since it was before 90 days. The second worked fine for about 5 months then the lid stop working again it would just open half way and close and it just kept doing that( no it wasn't the batteries changed them) finally it just gave out. I figured if I paid $60 for a trashcan that it would work for quit awhile, had no problems with the can itself just the darn lid. So I decided to get another lid I called nine star customer service and the representative ( horrible customer service he was so confused about his own product) I ordered a replacement lid, thinking I would give it one more try it cost $40 for the lid, which was still cheaper than buying a whole new trash can. They told me a week and half it would be delivered a month later I was still waiting so I called them back and they said they package were hung up in customs and they would refund me my money which took almost another two weeks to get refunded, I was starting to think they were not going to refund me. SO now I have a trashcan with a broken lid that is a pain in the rear to open when you need to throw something away. I would not recommend this trash can it has been one big huge headache!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
Lid Issue
Posted 07/31/2014
I also purchased this type of trash can back in March 2013 - Model #DTZ-50-13. The lid has not been working, replaced the batteries, no luck. Called Nine Star and was told to remove the batteries for 24 hours, clean it. No luck. Told me I could get a new cover, forgot the cost but it was about $39 plus shipping! but they were on backorder.
I wrote to company and was told my model has been discontinued and newer covers do not fit the one I have (not that I pay that amount for a cover). Since it's over an year - too bad.
If you don't paying $50-$60 for trash can that will last a year, you're all set - it is nice looking
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Unit does not hold up

02/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had the trash can for about 6 months, and the lid will no longer stay attached to the can. It is held in place by very flimsy plastic rings which deteriorate with usage and will no longer operate. I contacted the warranty company, and this defect is not covered by them. Their response was "if the lid comes off the unit, it is not covered." We were quite pleased with the way the unit initially performed and in its appearance; however, it will not hold up to usage, and the warranty is useless. I plan to check with WalMart to see if they will stand behind the item.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

DISSATISFIED

02/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After receiving this product as a Christmas gift, my fiance and I could not wait to open it up and use our new garbage can. Unfortunately it was a total disappointment. WE kept it for over a month, and tried all options in finding a solution for the "4.7 volt C batteries" it required we had no such luck. WE even went as far as reaching out to the manufacturer in hopes we could get some insight, but again no such luck. We ended up returning the product this past weekend at our local Walmart store and purchasing an identical product through Sam's Club. SO FAR a SUCCESS and we are very pleased with our trash can.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Looks and works great

03/17/2014
By ,
Flushing MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this product. It looks great in the kitchen and it works very well. It is just the right size for tall kitchen garbage bags. It looks as nice as the ones at double the price at Bed Bath and Beyond that didn't have the automatic open and close feature. I would recommended purchasing this trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This stainless steel trash can is just great!

10/09/2012
By ,
vermont northeast kingdom
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only concerns I have are that we went through C batteries needed pretty quick. Also it takes a bit of motion for the sensor to read and open the lid. I got the stainless lid because I wanted the look however it is very thin. It does however look good. I would buy another one and certainly recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 615 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next