Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Touchless Oval Trash Can is perfect for any kitchen. The lid of this touchless 13.2-gal oval trash can opens automatically and stays open when your hands are detected, preventing cross-contamination from germs. The Nine Stars Touchless Trash Can will make disposing of trash much easier and a little less disgusting too. Its hands-free operation helps keep your home safe and clean. The sleek 13.2-gal oval trash can features an infrared motion sensor that detects when your hand is within 10 inches near the black lid. The Nine Stars automatic trash can with stainless steel lid opens to let you to throw out your trash and then it closes automatically when you remove your hand. Durable stainless-steel construction provides a classic look, easy cleanup, and protection from rust and water damage. The Nine Stars stainless steel trash can operates on 3D batteries (not included) and can be opened and closed a minimum of 10,000 times before needing battery replacement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.458 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(711 Reviews) 596
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
488
4 stars
151
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 star
39
Customer Recommendation92%655 out of 711reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 429 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
488
4 stars
151
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 star
39
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nice

12/22/2012
By ,
Carson, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trash can is very nice in appearance and seems to be holding up well. It seems like the opening and closing of the lid wont last long. The price was good and I guess you can say it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

I like it

05/13/2014
By ,
Huntington Beach,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this trash can for over a week now and so far it's been working like a charm. It's nice to have the trash lid open automatically when disposing the trash. It is wide enough to put large size objects such as a milk carton or similar size. The lid stays open till you move away from it which is cool or you can touch the open button to make it remain open then you touch the close button and it will go back to its auto open settings. I bought this when it was on sale for $49.99 now it's back to it original price of $69.99. I was surprise also how fast I got this 3 days and for a shipping price of $6 to $7. All in all very happy with this Trash Can and you will to if you buy it,but wait till it's on sale again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Sensored trash can is the best.

04/01/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a sensored trash can but it broke. The lid no longer opened on its own even after I changed the battery. So, I bought a new one & it's much nicer looking and better than the last. The mouth of this trash can is wide which makes big to-go boxes easy to fit inside the can. Once you go with a sensored trash can you won't want to ever get any other kind. It's perfect for when you're cooking & your hands are full or dirty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can

03/06/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can! Fits more trash than I expected and keeps smell in!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Love this and it looks great

04/12/2014
By ,
North of Boston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really wanted a clean and neat looking trash container this works perfect
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Every household should have this! Great buy!

12/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the value it was one of our great buy this year! I think every household should have this. My kids call it the magic trash can!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This is a decent product, but I am only 2 weeks in

08/14/2014
By ,
Upstate, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the appearance and easy of use. The sensor is very sensitive as it pops open when one of my children walk by it, but otherwise I am a big fan and would recommend this product to a fan. When I am cooking, I don't want to touch a can or try to kick the bottom to open the lid as I have 2 cans back to back for recycling. This product is perfect for just that reason.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

We recommend this trash can!

08/24/2014
By ,
Franklin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a low cost trash can with a battery powered open/close lid, look no further. We could not be happier with this purchase. The can itself is good to begin with and features a plastic ring that goes between the can and the lid, concealing the liner if you tuck it inside the can under the ring. Although it does not have a removable bucket inside, it really doesn't need one because the liner goes all the way to the top and is easy to remove when the lid is taken off. Regardless of what the description says, this uses 3 C size batteries. It is packaged well and has a mail in registration that replaces the lid mechanism for one year if it fails, you pay shipping to return it to the manufacturer and they pay to send you a new one. Be careful when you are ordering not to get the similar looking model, almost identical but having a split inside with one side for trash and the other for recycling (unless that is what you really want). This product works well, the sensitivity is just right and we would definitely buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Generally good; not perfect.

11/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this trash can for about a month now. Works fine about 85% of the time, but temperamental. For some reason it does not open at times when "waving" near the sensor. Has shut down completely a couple of times; not only sensor, but "open" and "close" buttons as well. In either case, turning the unit off for awhile and then back on worked, sort of like doing a reset. Also opens if I'm too close walking by it. No big deal, but funny how it opens when you don't need it, but, at times, not open when you want it. It is easy enough to open the lid manually, but if your hands are full? One more thing. The unit came shipped in overall good shape, except for the inner plastic ring. A piece of this plastic part had broken off. Turned out to be no big deal as the unit worked anyway in this condition. Still have the piece and hope to glue it back on just for added strength to the ring. Now let's see how long this whole unit will last.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good after we fixed a battery glitch ourselves

03/14/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: streamlined appearance that can fit into small places.
Quiet as far as I can tell, I have never owned a sensor lid before.
The lid function works wonderful and is not too sensitive ( which I've read is an issue with other brands) it has a manual function open/close button for leaving the lid open for a longer period of time. Easy bag access that is hidden by the lid. Easy clean with simple wiping off.
Cons: Husband had to fix the space where the batteries are inserted because they didn't connect all the way across to get power. That was a pain because we tried everything and had no power until he "rigged" it so the batteries would fit snug. No paperwork arrived from Walmart with it so we didn't want to deal with the company # as it would've been expensive to return. I haven't read any other issues with that so it was probably a fluke lid. It works fine and looks great other than that issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This Nine Star Sensored Trash Can Worth Ten Stars!

08/28/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a nice reliable sensor trash can for our kitchen. I relied on many of the consumer ratings to assess which one to select and decided to go for the Nine Star 3.2 gallon stainless steel oval trash can. I shopped around on the internet and found the best price with shipping was with Walmart. It arrived quickly and nicely packaged. It was easy to assemble but the battery insertion required a bit of extra pressue to snap it in. Not only does it work like a charm but it looks great too. The lid opens as it's suppose to and closes tightly. It never shuts prematurely or opens erroneously. It's so much fun to use you will almost look forward to making garbage just so you can use it. I would highly recommend it without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Great kitchen trash can!

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents bought a similar trash can at Costco. I liked it so started looking for one and bought this one. This is far superior. This trashcan opens when your hand is above the sensor and STAYS OPEN as long as your hand hovers over it. This enables you to "scrape pot remains" or fiddle with the trash and not worry about the lid closing on you. 13 gallon kitchen bags are held in place by the lid.
This can also has a slight flare to the sides which helps pulling the full bag out of the can. Much better than straight sides.
This is a well designed and executed trash can with censored lid. Highly recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Not under my counter.

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sorry I had to return my trash can because it would not open while under our counter top consistently. Something about the infra red light.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Happy with it

06/23/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My concern before I bought this was that it might open every time someone walked by it due to where I planned to locate it, but that has not been the case. They have done a good job with the sensor. The fee to ship this was only about $3... surprising low for something this big. My only complaint is that the Nine Stars warranty registration process needs improvement. The paper form does not list the address to which you should send it, and the web site would not accept the date of purchase when I entered it. Note--you'll need the product's UPC (bar code) number for the registration, so copy it down if you're going to throw out the box right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Sensor is a little too sensitive

01/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The quality of the unit is very high, good looking stainless steel body and lid. The electronics work very well - do remember to buy 3 "C" size batteries as they don't come with the unit. In our kitchen, we don't have a space available that prevents us from getting too close (about 6 inches) from the can when walking by it, so it always activates the lid to greet us as we walk by. It's kind of cute, but it startles our two Golden Doodles, causing them to back up and change their route to avoid the trash can. Never-the-less, we like it a lot, is a good value and comes carefully packaged to protect the unit from shipping damage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good value

12/16/2013
By ,
southernoak, Southeastern USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace our five year old touchless can because it finally quit (plastic hinges broke again). We really like the larger opening, quieter mechanism, sturdier hinges and modern appearance of this Nine Star brand. I'm hoping the lighter lid will prevent the hinges from breaking as quickly. We all LOVE not having to touch a trash can lid to throw stuff away - especially when our Granddaughter spends the night. It's so much healthier than a regular trash can that we purchased one for our daughter as well. As far as the durability it's way too soon to tell right now since it's only been in use for four days. So far we are impressed and are keeping our fingers crossed that we'll get the same usage as we did with the other brand. We would recommend it to a friend at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Easy of Use - Sensor Opens and Closes with a wave

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a wave of your hand this wonderfully sized trash can open and closes to dispose of your trash.
This is my second one, my first sensor trash can lasted over 6 years and I was extremely pleased with its ease of use. It has a holder to keep your plastic trash bag in place and I have never had a problem with the plastic bag slipping down. When the batteries are low the open and close mechanism gets a little out of wack. Great Value and Good Quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Looks great and works well.

01/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had a different brand at first and could not get the bag out when it was full, So we bought this one base on recommendations. We have had it for a month now and like it. This trash can looks great, and works very well. Much better then the previous one we had. The full trash bags come out easily. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because the sensor every once in a while gets picky and you have to wave your hand over it several times. Other times it works with one pass. I would buy it again, because overall it is a good trash can.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

trash can with a brain

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nine Stars 13.2 gallon stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid is a wonderful trash can. well suited for the kitchen in any home. You never need touch the lid. wave anything near the sensor and wahlah it opens for you and closes for you. I would recommend this puppy to you and everyone else.
FMS
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

R2D2

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS KITCHEN PRODUCT PREFORMS AS ADVERTISED. LOOKS GOOD AND WORKS GOOD. WE HAVE CATS AND HAD A PROBLEM WITH THEM AFTER A CHICKEN DINNER GETTING ITO THE GARBAGE THIS IS FUN TO WATCH AS THE RAISING LID SCARES THEM. R2D2 SHADES OF STAR WARS.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 597 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next