Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Touchless Oval Trash Can is perfect for any kitchen. The lid of this touchless 13.2-gal oval trash can opens automatically and stays open when your hands are detected, preventing cross-contamination from germs. The Nine Stars Touchless Trash Can will make disposing of trash much easier and a little less disgusting too. Its hands-free operation helps keep your home safe and clean. The sleek 13.2-gal oval trash can features an infrared motion sensor that detects when your hand is within 10 inches near the black lid. The Nine Stars automatic trash can with stainless steel lid opens to let you to throw out your trash and then it closes automatically when you remove your hand. Durable stainless-steel construction provides a classic look, easy cleanup, and protection from rust and water damage. The Nine Stars stainless steel trash can operates on four D batteries (not included) and can be opened and closed a minimum of 10,000 times before needing battery replacement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(473 Reviews) 358
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
323
4 stars
110
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation94%444 out of 473reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 316 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
323
4 stars
110
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nice

12/22/2012
By ,
Carson, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trash can is very nice in appearance and seems to be holding up well. It seems like the opening and closing of the lid wont last long. The price was good and I guess you can say it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Sensored trash can is the best.

04/01/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a sensored trash can but it broke. The lid no longer opened on its own even after I changed the battery. So, I bought a new one & it's much nicer looking and better than the last. The mouth of this trash can is wide which makes big to-go boxes easy to fit inside the can. Once you go with a sensored trash can you won't want to ever get any other kind. It's perfect for when you're cooking & your hands are full or dirty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can

03/06/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can! Fits more trash than I expected and keeps smell in!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Love this and it looks great

04/12/2014
By ,
North of Boston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really wanted a clean and neat looking trash container this works perfect
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Every household should have this! Great buy!

12/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the value it was one of our great buy this year! I think every household should have this. My kids call it the magic trash can!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good after we fixed a battery glitch ourselves

03/14/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: streamlined appearance that can fit into small places.
Quiet as far as I can tell, I have never owned a sensor lid before.
The lid function works wonderful and is not too sensitive ( which I've read is an issue with other brands) it has a manual function open/close button for leaving the lid open for a longer period of time. Easy bag access that is hidden by the lid. Easy clean with simple wiping off.
Cons: Husband had to fix the space where the batteries are inserted because they didn't connect all the way across to get power. That was a pain because we tried everything and had no power until he "rigged" it so the batteries would fit snug. No paperwork arrived from Walmart with it so we didn't want to deal with the company # as it would've been expensive to return. I haven't read any other issues with that so it was probably a fluke lid. It works fine and looks great other than that issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Looks and works great

03/17/2014
By ,
Flushing MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this product. It looks great in the kitchen and it works very well. It is just the right size for tall kitchen garbage bags. It looks as nice as the ones at double the price at Bed Bath and Beyond that didn't have the automatic open and close feature. I would recommended purchasing this trash can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Worked awesome for 7 years so far

03/19/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I've had to do with this is change the batteries 2-3 times in 7 years. Best trash can I've ever had. Visitors love it but I love it better!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good value

12/16/2013
By ,
southernoak, Southeastern USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace our five year old touchless can because it finally quit (plastic hinges broke again). We really like the larger opening, quieter mechanism, sturdier hinges and modern appearance of this Nine Star brand. I'm hoping the lighter lid will prevent the hinges from breaking as quickly. We all LOVE not having to touch a trash can lid to throw stuff away - especially when our Granddaughter spends the night. It's so much healthier than a regular trash can that we purchased one for our daughter as well. As far as the durability it's way too soon to tell right now since it's only been in use for four days. So far we are impressed and are keeping our fingers crossed that we'll get the same usage as we did with the other brand. We would recommend it to a friend at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Perfect trash can!

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally! The perfect trash can! I can't say enough how awesome this trash can is. The sensor lid is great when you are hands are full or maybe dirty. Lid pops right up. Only downside if you have small kiddos beware they love to pay with the lid! There is an off button so you can stop that from happening. The description said it takes D batteries but it take C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This Nine Star Sensored Trash Can Worth Ten Stars!

08/28/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a nice reliable sensor trash can for our kitchen. I relied on many of the consumer ratings to assess which one to select and decided to go for the Nine Star 3.2 gallon stainless steel oval trash can. I shopped around on the internet and found the best price with shipping was with Walmart. It arrived quickly and nicely packaged. It was easy to assemble but the battery insertion required a bit of extra pressue to snap it in. Not only does it work like a charm but it looks great too. The lid opens as it's suppose to and closes tightly. It never shuts prematurely or opens erroneously. It's so much fun to use you will almost look forward to making garbage just so you can use it. I would highly recommend it without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Classy as classy can be for a trash receptacle

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the trash can. Can't believe I paid that much for something to hold trash but it has a nice look to it. It was tightly packed in the box and upon pulling it out I broke the liner ring. I couldn't believe it. My expensive receptacle was broken before I had it out of the box! Ugh. I called the customer service for Nine Stars and with a little pushing got them to send out a new ring at their expense. So far it's been great. I like all the features of opening/closing on it's own, keep it open when needed and turning off when my 2yr old nephew comes over!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Awesome Size

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trash can is pretty cool. I like that I don't have to touch it to discard trash. In addition, it's so spacious, which I love! The material isn't think or heavy like I would like but it can last if I can get my boys to handle it properly. There was a very small indentation when I received it via delivery but I kind of expected that. The lid rises immediately and closes right after but I have a feeling that it may not last long in terms of the battery operated lid, again...I have a feeling my boys would be to blame. Great value and good investment; I'm pleased with the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Happy with it

06/23/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My concern before I bought this was that it might open every time someone walked by it due to where I planned to locate it, but that has not been the case. They have done a good job with the sensor. The fee to ship this was only about $3... surprising low for something this big. My only complaint is that the Nine Stars warranty registration process needs improvement. The paper form does not list the address to which you should send it, and the web site would not accept the date of purchase when I entered it. Note--you'll need the product's UPC (bar code) number for the registration, so copy it down if you're going to throw out the box right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Technology is great

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought one of these years ago at Costco and loved it. That was the one that did use 4 'D' batteries. The lid was really heavy. I love the newer one. It is quieter and doesn't weight as much. I'm not sure yet about the durability because I just started using this. But I hope it lasts as long or longer then the old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Excellent sensor garbage can

04/11/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this garbage can because I really didn't want to spend a lot of money for a trash can. Well to my surprise, this garbage can is way more than I expected. I really love the fact that if I have a hand full of trash, I don't have to worry about getting the lid messed up especially when cooking meats. I would recommand this product to anyone. You will be happy with your purchase!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Awesome trash can for great price!

04/07/2014
By ,
Northeast PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had a nine star trash can before and we loved it, but just recently it died on us. We went to the nine star website and they had the lid for around 40 bucks! We were going to buy it but thought to check around for a better price. I saw that Walmart had the whole trash can for 45! So we ordered it and we are so pleased. It is sleek looking and great for messy hands who need the trash opened. So worth the purchase....love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

I love it

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. Works great and looks perfect in my kitchen. So handy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Great Item!!!

04/09/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's very durable, keeps the 13 gallon bag in place, quiet and looks very nice! Has a power button in the back to deactivate the automatic feature. Uses 3 "C" batteries. Only had item for a week, so far so good. Reasonably priced, has the best price in comparison to other similiar items. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 359 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next