Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nine Stars Touchless Oval Trash Can is perfect for any kitchen. The lid of this touchless 13.2-gal oval trash can opens automatically and stays open when your hands are detected, preventing cross-contamination from germs. The Nine Stars Touchless Trash Can will make disposing of trash much easier and a little less disgusting too. Its hands-free operation helps keep your home safe and clean. The sleek 13.2-gal oval trash can features an infrared motion sensor that detects when your hand is within 10 inches near the black lid. The Nine Stars automatic trash can with stainless steel lid opens to let you to throw out your trash and then it closes automatically when you remove your hand. Durable stainless-steel construction provides a classic look, easy cleanup, and protection from rust and water damage. The Nine Stars stainless steel trash can operates on four D batteries (not included) and can be opened and closed a minimum of 10,000 times before needing battery replacement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.48 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(613 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
423
4 stars
132
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation92%566 out of 613reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 412 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
423
4 stars
132
3 stars
17
2 stars
11
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Nice

12/22/2012
By ,
Carson, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trash can is very nice in appearance and seems to be holding up well. It seems like the opening and closing of the lid wont last long. The price was good and I guess you can say it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

I like it

05/13/2014
By ,
Huntington Beach,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this trash can for over a week now and so far it's been working like a charm. It's nice to have the trash lid open automatically when disposing the trash. It is wide enough to put large size objects such as a milk carton or similar size. The lid stays open till you move away from it which is cool or you can touch the open button to make it remain open then you touch the close button and it will go back to its auto open settings. I bought this when it was on sale for $49.99 now it's back to it original price of $69.99. I was surprise also how fast I got this 3 days and for a shipping price of $6 to $7. All in all very happy with this Trash Can and you will to if you buy it,but wait till it's on sale again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Sensored trash can is the best.

04/01/2014
By ,
Augusta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a sensored trash can but it broke. The lid no longer opened on its own even after I changed the battery. So, I bought a new one & it's much nicer looking and better than the last. The mouth of this trash can is wide which makes big to-go boxes easy to fit inside the can. Once you go with a sensored trash can you won't want to ever get any other kind. It's perfect for when you're cooking & your hands are full or dirty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can

03/06/2014
By ,
Covington, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can! Fits more trash than I expected and keeps smell in!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Love this and it looks great

04/12/2014
By ,
North of Boston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really wanted a clean and neat looking trash container this works perfect
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Every household should have this! Great buy!

12/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the value it was one of our great buy this year! I think every household should have this. My kids call it the magic trash can!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This is a decent product, but I am only 2 weeks in

08/14/2014
By ,
Upstate, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the appearance and easy of use. The sensor is very sensitive as it pops open when one of my children walk by it, but otherwise I am a big fan and would recommend this product to a fan. When I am cooking, I don't want to touch a can or try to kick the bottom to open the lid as I have 2 cans back to back for recycling. This product is perfect for just that reason.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

We recommend this trash can!

08/24/2014
By ,
Franklin, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a low cost trash can with a battery powered open/close lid, look no further. We could not be happier with this purchase. The can itself is good to begin with and features a plastic ring that goes between the can and the lid, concealing the liner if you tuck it inside the can under the ring. Although it does not have a removable bucket inside, it really doesn't need one because the liner goes all the way to the top and is easy to remove when the lid is taken off. Regardless of what the description says, this uses 3 C size batteries. It is packaged well and has a mail in registration that replaces the lid mechanism for one year if it fails, you pay shipping to return it to the manufacturer and they pay to send you a new one. Be careful when you are ordering not to get the similar looking model, almost identical but having a split inside with one side for trash and the other for recycling (unless that is what you really want). This product works well, the sensitivity is just right and we would definitely buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good after we fixed a battery glitch ourselves

03/14/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: streamlined appearance that can fit into small places.
Quiet as far as I can tell, I have never owned a sensor lid before.
The lid function works wonderful and is not too sensitive ( which I've read is an issue with other brands) it has a manual function open/close button for leaving the lid open for a longer period of time. Easy bag access that is hidden by the lid. Easy clean with simple wiping off.
Cons: Husband had to fix the space where the batteries are inserted because they didn't connect all the way across to get power. That was a pain because we tried everything and had no power until he "rigged" it so the batteries would fit snug. No paperwork arrived from Walmart with it so we didn't want to deal with the company # as it would've been expensive to return. I haven't read any other issues with that so it was probably a fluke lid. It works fine and looks great other than that issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

AWESOME trash can!!!!

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After coveting my neighbor's sensor trash can, I decided to bite the bullet and get this one when it went on sale. I could not be more happy that I did! Who would've ever thought a simple trash can would get so much attention? Not only does my family love it, but every visitor we have is fascinated by it! The sensor is a bit sensitive at first, but it rarely goes off when we don't want it to (only if we walk by way too close). The button to keep it open or closed manually is a great feature, so I can keep the lid open longer when I have to empty something out like a pot of food. Some reviewers complained of it not having an inner canister, but I actually don't mind that at all. I also haven't noticed any more of a smell to the trash than would be expected from a trash receptacle. I HIGHLY recommend this product! We've had it for three weeks still running on the same three batteries, which is much better than I expected :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Not bad

09/05/2014
By ,
ocala, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only owned this trashcan for about 2 weeks, and so far so good. It serves it's purpose. I like that it is motion sensored and I don't have to touch the can to open it. But, sometimes it does take a moment of waving your hand directly over the sensor to get it to open (slightly annoying) and sometimes it opens when I walk by it. Also, it is a little loud when it opens.....makes a mechanical whirring noise each time it opens (would be awesome if it was silent) and makes a bit of a thud noise when it closes. Other than those minor issues, it is a good can. I do like the stainless steel look combined with the black lid. My only other concern is how long it will last, if the lid will continue to work/open long term. ---FYI--It requires 3 C batteries and you must buy those separately and it takes standard tall kitchen bags (13 gallon).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

This Nine Star Sensored Trash Can Worth Ten Stars!

08/28/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a nice reliable sensor trash can for our kitchen. I relied on many of the consumer ratings to assess which one to select and decided to go for the Nine Star 3.2 gallon stainless steel oval trash can. I shopped around on the internet and found the best price with shipping was with Walmart. It arrived quickly and nicely packaged. It was easy to assemble but the battery insertion required a bit of extra pressue to snap it in. Not only does it work like a charm but it looks great too. The lid opens as it's suppose to and closes tightly. It never shuts prematurely or opens erroneously. It's so much fun to use you will almost look forward to making garbage just so you can use it. I would highly recommend it without hesitation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Worst product and a terrible company to deal with

08/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lid stopped working in less than 3 months after purchase and that's not even the worst part. Worst part is their customer service and warranty. They basically expect you to pay shipping to send the lid to California, and wait for this, turns out they're back logged on this model lids for 2 months. Nine stars is a joke. Spend your money on a better product/ company. I give them nine stars (negative).
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Even better than old version

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Ninestars given to us for an xmas gift and it worked great for over 2 years. Unfortunately after 2+ years the lid stopped working so we bought another one. Same great quality but now the lid is able to be opened for unlimited time once the open button is pressed until the close button is pressed. In the older model the lid would open when the button was pressed but would close like normal when the sensor closed the lid automatically.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Happy with it

06/23/2012
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My concern before I bought this was that it might open every time someone walked by it due to where I planned to locate it, but that has not been the case. They have done a good job with the sensor. The fee to ship this was only about $3... surprising low for something this big. My only complaint is that the Nine Stars warranty registration process needs improvement. The paper form does not list the address to which you should send it, and the web site would not accept the date of purchase when I entered it. Note--you'll need the product's UPC (bar code) number for the registration, so copy it down if you're going to throw out the box right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Good value

12/16/2013
By ,
southernoak, Southeastern USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item to replace our five year old touchless can because it finally quit (plastic hinges broke again). We really like the larger opening, quieter mechanism, sturdier hinges and modern appearance of this Nine Star brand. I'm hoping the lighter lid will prevent the hinges from breaking as quickly. We all LOVE not having to touch a trash can lid to throw stuff away - especially when our Granddaughter spends the night. It's so much healthier than a regular trash can that we purchased one for our daughter as well. As far as the durability it's way too soon to tell right now since it's only been in use for four days. So far we are impressed and are keeping our fingers crossed that we'll get the same usage as we did with the other brand. We would recommend it to a friend at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Meets our needs

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While slightly larger than we would have liked, the trash can meets our needs and serves us will. Nice to be able to open the top without having to step on a peddle or push a button.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Love this product.

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The trash can will allow you to fill the entire bag (no 6 inches of bag left at the top). Saving you money on bags. Keeps odors out of the room. I bought this for a gift because I loved mine so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Lid does not quite shut all the way

10/20/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks good though
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nine Stars 13.2-Gallon Stainless Steel Oval Sensored Trash Can with Stainless Steel Lid

Exactly what I wanted, works great

10/19/2014
By ,
Albemarle, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works good. What I wanted and what I expected. Appears good quality and works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 499 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next