Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Greenworks Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Greenworks Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Average Customer Rating:
3.679 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation71%20 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Awesome Paperweight

04/24/2012
By ,
Ames, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are looking for a 90 pound paperweight then look no further! This has it all! I ordered this mower online with high hopes and ideals wanting to save the planet with my eco-consciousness. I had it shipped to my house and when I got there I opened it carefully savoring the greatness that this mower would be. It was VERY easy to to put together no real problems there. I plugged the battery in and went to bed with visions of mulch in short grass in my head.
I awoke the next day extra early with excitement in my heart. I ran down the steps unplugged the battery put it in the mower and.....nothing.....uh oh. hmmm. Well I was in a hurry so I plugged it back in hoping this would fix it. Got home from work and tried again. Again nothing but silence. I called the company the next day and they referred me to a lawnmower company about an hour away to fix to it as it was most likely a loose wire. She said this very casually as this is the standard response. I assume this must happen a lot. So I got the information and called the repair place.
On the phone I stated who I was and what my issue was...I was met with silence. It was like my mower worked for them! Are the robots taking over...is skynet becoming self aware? Finally I heard..."is that one of them lectric mowers?" I said "yes". He replied "Yeah I think we work on those some". I said thanks and just took the mower back to Wal Mart where they happily refunded my money.
So if you are looking for a 90 pound paperweight or planter this is it. If you are looking for a functional mower I would try another brand. I hope it isn't just me though. But good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 2 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Awesome!

04/04/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got Greenworks Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower today. I was a little skeptical at first, but it worked better than I thought it would. It was already charged out of the box. There was some assembly, but my six year old daughter did it in two minutes. The self-start up was amazing. I wanted to see how long the charge would last, so I mowed my lawn twice over and it still had a bit of a charge. It took me about 45 minutes to do this, so I'm guessing the charge would have lasted another 5-15 minutes before it would have died. It's very quiet, and a lot more relaxing than my last gas mower. It's amazing how good fresh cut grass smells without the smell of fumes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Review 3 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Very surprised with quality and power of mower.

04/11/2012
By ,
Pierre,SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leary of buying a battery operated mower.Well this mower just blew me away.To begin it came fully assembledight out of box!Battery was even fully charged.It had alot more power than I thought it would.Plus the self propelled part of it was amazing.No having to push this mower,you have to walk fast to keep up.It went through long thick grass with no problem.One of the best buys I have made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Review 4 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

packaging is a joke - arrived damaged two times

04/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first unit I got came with a broken handle bar. Ok, these things can happen - I returned it to the store and ordered a new one. The second mower had the engine cover cracked when I unpacked it. It's actually no surprise considered the extremely poor packaging. Inside the box is nothing - no styrofoam, bubble wrap nor anything else - that would hold the 100 lbs heavy unit in place and protect it from damage. Perhaps the flimsy cardboard box is not intended for individual shipment but Walmart does it anyway when you order it online. Unfortunately I can't say anything about the product itself since Walmart wasn't able to provide me a unit in working condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 5 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

I love this mower!

07/04/2012
By ,
Oak Harbor, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am recommending this mower to a friend and am sending her a link to this page. When I saw the negative reviews on here I just had to put in my 2 cents. I bought this mower a couple of months ago and have used it about 5 or 6 times so far. I am very happy with my purchase. It is a great mower! It seems well-constructed. Assembly was minor and easy. The battery charges fully with no problems. I have a medium-sized yard and can mow my whole yard on one charge and still have power left over. The self-propel feature works well and makes mowing much easier and faster. The mower does a great job of mulching. It even handles relatively tall grass without a hitch. One feature that I really love about this mower is that the battery is easily removed so you have the option of charging the battery outside of the mower. Just grab the handle on the battery and lift it up to remove. I store my mower in a shed without electricity, so the removable battery is great because I can bring the battery in the house and charge it overnight. The battery is heavy, but the handle makes it easy to carry. I am a small woman, but with the handle I can carry the battery with one hand, although it is easier to carry using two hands. The battery adds a lot of weight to the mower but I don't have any trouble pushing the mower even without engaging the self-propel feature. Another nice feature is that it has latches on the handle so that the handle can easily be folded down for storage. Just lift the latch on each side and the handle folds down. The best part of all is that it is electric and cordless. No gas to buy or store. No fumes. No maintenance other than sharpening the blade. It starts instantly with the push of a button. Sweet!
The only negative thing I can say about this mower is that the manufacturer recommends that the battery be charged every two weeks, even when not in use. That will be a pain during the winter. However, since the battery is removable, the battery can be stored in the house or garage during the off-season for easy charging.
I am very glad I bought this mower and I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 6 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Great lawnmower for the price

10/17/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great lawnmower, it works well and my grass has never looked better. The battery charge time isn't the greatest, but not bad at all if you plan a day ahead. It is nice not having to deal with Gas and Oil, and the starting on this thing is fantastic. Push a button and pull a lever and you're off. I forewarning, it is HEAVY. Difficult to move backwards even when the self-propel isn't engaged. I have .2 acres and this thing works great, but when you get around curves on a flower bed (Not 90 degrees), it gets a little tricky. It will bog down in shin-high grass, and you are better off not using the self-propel to make sure you get everything cut.
One thing to note, as when I was looking into buying this mower I found where it said Front-wheel drive, but it is in fact rear-wheel, which I find as no big deal because you can just drop the lever and disengage the self-propel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 7 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Mows Low Shipped Haphazard

04/27/2012
By ,
In a house
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The charge allows the mowing in detail of a 50 x 100 foot lot. The raise on the wheels is low even at the highest setting. Be prepared to go slow or angle your cut if the grass is deep or wet or the ground is soft. The mulching is more like individual lumps of cut grass. Scrutinize your package if shipped to your store. Open and survey before you sign. The box was torn open in various locations. If there had been a warranty card or manual in the box, they never made it to the store. The lower edge of the deck was damaged and paint was off, as if lifted by a fork lift or a badly handle hand truck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 8 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

DO NOT BUY

05/08/2012
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Came thru FedEx all damaged, mowed for 10 mins and machine died. Called Canada based mfg. to get it fixed, they couldn't find a service center in 100 miles radius....I live near Trenton, NJ. Worst company and bogus product. Just returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Just what i wanted

05/11/2012
By ,
Etowah, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have mowed twice and no problems. I have already saved on gas and oil and over time i hope the savings will be more than enough to pay for it. Whats not to love about no fumes and loud noise compared to a gas mower. If i had a large area to mow i would have bought a riding one. I feel better about the footprint this leaves behind. I have one half acre and i mowed what i needed to on one 1 charge. Very sharp blade and nice clean cut to grass.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 10 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green
05/01/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this mower - very little assembly - arrived on time - easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Review 11 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

I now LOVE mowing my lawn!

06/16/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was at my wits end after four years of mowing my lawn with a manuel rotating clip mower. I only have .08 of an acre, but it was so difficult for me that I had to mow in 2 seperate days with 1 hour to do the front and 1 1/2 hours to do my back lawn. I was so exhausted after each session that I hated to mow the lawn twice a week, so I treated myself to a new mower.
I didn't want to have to worry about gasoline or electric chords so I chose a chargable and self propelled mower. My Green Works mower is a g-d send. I charge the battery overnight and it takes me 1 hour and 15 minutes to do my whole lawn, without interruption of loosing power. The best part, is that I am not drained of energy. The easy button start is so quick with no pull string to yank. Plus, changing the cutting height is a breeze with a simple click of a lever and all four wheels are at the same height.
My only issue is that after I picked up my mower from Walmart to get free shipping after ordering it online from walmart.com, when I opened the sealled box after I came home, it didn't contain a manual. I was able to find a version online to make sure I was using the mower correctly and then called the company the next morning and had a manuel mailed to my house for free. The mower was so easy to assemble too that even my husband, who can't hammer a nail in the wall without hitting his thumb, helped me.
I love my Green Works mower and you will too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 12 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green
05/17/2012
By ,
Dawsonville, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this product! On a positive note it was very easy to assemble. That is the only positive. Didn't even make through one grass cutting before the cushion on the handle started splitting. Then it just quit working. We returned it for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 13 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Great lawnmower so far

08/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a self-propelled, cordless electric lawnmower, and this model was the one that had the best price out of those that met my criteria. I found the packaging unusual (there are cardboard tabs in the joints of the handle, i guess to keep them from rubbing during shipping, didn't see a way to remove them because the joints don't come apart), but so far the lawnmower has run like a dream. Had the lawnmower for about three weeks now, and used it three times. Charges pretty quickly, and I am able to cut the entire yard with charge left over. The yard size is just over a quarter of an acre, so the battery is performing at better than it was rated at. Mulching works well. The bag is slightly smaller than I expected, but I have been using the mulch plug, so thats not a big deal. The self-propelled function runs at exactly the right speed for me. It's kindof awkward to operate it using the bottom handle, but you get used to it. It's definitely quieter than the gas powered alternative. The cut looks great, and i'm very satisfied with the adjustability of the height. Great lawnmower, no problems so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

battery charge reading not functioning

11/18/2012
By ,
Hamden, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My experience was not great. The battery did not seem to take a charge and was dead upon arrival. I charged for over 24 hours and the battery meter still read as no charge. The battery was very hot at this point. The battery charger unit light still indicated it was charging as well. I called the company hotline and while they were courteous they were of little help. They told me there were no spare batteries to send out and just to try it. For a new unit I expected more out of them. Why would I pay that kind of money for something that didn't work and that I would never be able to charge with confidence especially when it needs charging every two weeks over the winter? I returned the unit to Walmart and there were no issues except that I had to haul a 100 pound box back and forth only to end up with no working lawnmower. I bought a gas powered unit at Sears!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Good for everyone.

06/01/2012
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great. A little hard pulling backwards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 16 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Awesome Mower

07/27/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Packaging of the product is inadequate. The box was ripped, bent, torn and otherwise beat up. The battery handle was damaged.
Very easy to assemble. Took less than 5 minutes. The mower is extremely quiet, starts easily, and is self-powered. On the flat, haven't really had to use the self-power feature. No gasoline and no exhaust smell. If it weren't for the packaging problem, I would have rated this a 5 star.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 17 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

works good, but hard to steer

06/21/2012
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the cutting ability of this mower. Ease of operation, but have a hard time with the self-propelled part. It pulls me around and is hard to turn unless in gear.
Read the instruction booklet and not helpful at all. I have a hard time maneuvering around bushes and plants and cannot back up very well.
But mows good and nice not to have to worry about gas/oil and stuff like that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 18 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green

Not worth the Money

05/14/2012
By ,
Dawsonville, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Brought the mower home, charged for 15 hours, charged for another 10 hours, finally got a full charge. My son cut 1/2 of our yard and the battery dies, charge again and I take a turn. Cuts about 4 rows and dies, will not restart. Battery still says fully charged, no matter how many times I push the button and pull the handle, it will not start.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green
07/27/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Switched to an electric mower after my gas mower died at beginning of the year. Researched and read reviews - thought this would be a fair choice - fair price, lightweight, self-propelled (glad I got, due to slight rise in the backyard - notice a difference when it's engaged). Still isn't horrible to push w/o self-propel engaged. HOWEVER, I seem to be having a problem w/customer service. Mower came boxed - never opened - but missing the bag. Went ahead as old mower had died, but my grass hadn't!! Called Greenworks re: this - CSR told me they didn't have any bags, no others worked w/it & to either take mower back to Walmart or call them & see if they had one lying around their warehouse. As mower had to be delivered to my home b/c I had no means to pick up, I certainly couldn't take it back. Was told I could put me on a list for a bag but that would be "pointless." Asked for supervisor - unavailable, given an email & was surprised when they responded back to let me know they would work on it and even 2nd time to say they should have something by end of the day - NEVER REC'D RESPONSE, EVEN AFTER EMAILING THEM BACK. That was in April! Mower's not bad, but would be leery of customer service. If the description, manual & box pictures include an item, I expect it to be there or for the company to make it right, as it was purchased new. Although mower can be used w/o bag, it's a sore point with me....doesn't seem to bother them that they don't follow up w/solutions to problems. Guess they figured their advice was sufficient. Would still recommend mower, unless customer service is a strong point to you!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Greenworks 24V 18" Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower, Green
08/30/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came fully put together, all I had to do was charge the battery for one day & I was off mowing my yard. The self propelled feature is a bit strong....is there a way to decrease it's power? Otherwise I am very satisfied
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next