Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

The T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Smartphone is an affordable and feature packed 4G Android 2.3 smartphone that offers an easy way to access rich entertainment and productivity capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(329 Reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
78
3 stars
27
2 stars
20
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation84%274 out of 328reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
78
3 stars
27
2 stars
20
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

I love this phone!

11/20/2011
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I picked it up at a Wal-Mart store because of ease, and the exclusive $30 monthly plan with 100 talk minutes, unlimited text, and unlimited web (first 5GB at 4G speed per month, rest of the month slows down to EDGE).
It does come with a lot of junk T-Mobile loaded up with, but I rooted the phone with SuperOneClick easily, and installed an application which allowed me to uninstall the bloatwares (Root Uninstaller in Market).
This phone has very decent specs:
* 1GHz single core Qualcomm Snapdragon processor (S2)
* 512MB of RAM
* Dual-facing camera with LED flash on back one
* 4G network - HSPA+ (Up to 14.4Mbps)
* 3.7" TFT high-res touch-screen (Like 480x800 or something)
* PREPAID! LOW MONTHLY PRICES!
Everything I do on this phone is snappy. If I do somehow go over my talk minutes, I just use GrooVe IP with Google Voice for free calls (Uses data). All apps are compatible with this phone unlike most prepaid carriers that limit the phone's functionality. Although I did have a huge disappointment finding out that 4G is not available in my house, so I'm limited to EDGE. But my Wi-Fi should take care of that! (25Mbps down/1Mbps up :D)
There are currently no custom ROMs for this phone, but it is rootable and can be customized. I recommend getting LauncherPro from the Market to customize the homescreen.
There is one problem I ran into: the microphone does not function correctly in any application other than the stock "Camera" app. This shouldn't be a hardware problem, but a software problem. I'll look around for some answers.
I still can't believe the $30 a month plan! After tax it was only $32.05, so really, I'm not complaining. Be sure to get a microSD card though (Up to 32GB), and a class 4 one too, because if you like to put a lot of music and apps on the phone, you only get ~2GB internally.
Overall, I'm satisfied with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1,060points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Denver
Not 4G
Posted 04/16/2013
I like a lot of people think that if you buy a 4G phone that you get 4G on any of Walmart plans. It was pointed out to me plain as day. All plans with Verizon, TMobile or anything else is 3G for a certain limit then cut back to Edge/2G. I think it's a little misleading, but the fine print doesn't lie. I look at the new Family Mobile plan (T-Mobile) and 3G. The phones are cheaper than T-Mobile, but at T-Mobile you get 4G for a limit then cut back. So you have to decide to get the full potential out of you phone or not. Can anyone tell me what UNLIMITED means.
0points
Customer Avatar
Washingtonian, DC
Can I keep my cell number with this phone??
Posted 04/02/2012
My current number is from Verizon or will I get a new phone number from T-Mobile??
Thanks
+3points
Customer Avatar
Burlington, NC
CyanogenMod 9 Custom ROM!
Posted 03/27/2012
Beta has been released!
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1532005
0points
Customer Avatar
Burlington, NC
GrooVe IP
Posted 02/26/2012
You'll have to mess around with the GrooVe IP settings, preferably the settings under the Troubleshooting menu. Read what they each say, and mess with it if they apply to your problem.
0points
Customer Avatar
Reno, NV
Dennis
Posted 02/25/2012
You seem pretty knowledgeable. No one can hear me on outgoing calls with the groove ip app. What settings are you using? I can't seem to find info in any of the forums online.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/23/2012
Thanks for the app recommendations!
0points
Customer Avatar
Broomfield, CO
Re:
Posted 02/20/2012
I really want this phone but it's sold out online and I'm not sure for how long it has been sold out. The other stores have it for $199 and I don't want to pay that much. When will it be back in stock? :(
0points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 22 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Display goes out during a call

05/05/2013
By ,
Jacksonville Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The smart phone is alot of things, but mainly a phone for me. The display kept going out during a call so I couldnt get through an automated call menu without having to hit the power button to keep it on despite numerous calls to technical help and I sent it in for service for this problem. They wouldnt give me a refund because it was after the 15 day period. I am disgusted with Samsung for not helping on this.
I finally got so disgusted that I bought a different phone--a LG Optimus L9. What a refreshing difference! The screen display stays on much longer and there are many features that are superior to the Samsung. I am delighted and recommend the LG phone.
But my lesson learned, if you are not satisfied with whatever phone you buy, dont wait--just take it back for a refund within 15 days. I was trying to work with customer service but didnt realize that they were just trying to run out the refund warranty period.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 23 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Great phone for the money

02/12/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second order of Samsung Exhibit. First had a very bad resolution.
Good speed, slim shape. The applications provided meet my day to day needs. I was able to transfer my work email and leave my BB home. Two problem with the phone. Battery life is last only for half day if you don't use anything, less if you try to listen to a music or watch something. I had to buy space battery witch is not so convinient. And second problem is Tethering. I had My touch 3G before and was able to travel with my laptop and have internet to work whenever i went. With Samsung not only i had to install drivers to see my memory card but i cannot use plain tethering, i have to buy Hotspot plan - $15 a month.
If you just need a smart phone for basic needs: phone, GPS, web, photo (BTW photo did came out with good quality) - this phone worth the money.
Hope this help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 24 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Best Smartphone I have owned

11/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this phone online it didn't take long to come either it meets all of my expectations Im on the $60 a month plan with T-Mobile its a great phone without contract worries and its a smartphone with a whole lot to offer I did my research before purchasing and it was worth every penny hope this helps anyone who is undecided on what phone to get this holiday season reception is good, service good no cons on my end.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Review 25 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Great phone!

12/30/2011
By ,
SF Bay Area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to buy the Samsung Galaxy S but I didn't want to pay the $400+ that came with it since I wanted to have the T-mobile $30 prepaid plan. This phone was offered by Walmart and I bought it immediately. This is my first smart phone, and I am impressed so far.
Pros:
-Amazing phone with access to android apps
-Wifi (right now I am using up my pre-paid minutes before I sign up for the $30 monthly pre-paid plan and I can access my email accounts and the internet with Wifi)
-Camera flash, front facing camera
-Price!!
Cons:
-The camera resolution could be better. I found out that the colors are not amazing, but I could fix them a little bit with my photo software
-Battery life. I have to recharge it every day, and I don't use it a lot. I had to buy a car charger.
All in all I think this is an amazing phone for the price. I am saving so much money compared to Iphone cost and monthly payment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 26 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Excellent Value for the buck

12/24/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone about a month ago. I am not a tech freak, so I don't generally try the most advanced stuff, but at the same time try to keep up with technology. The reason I switched to this phone, was that I was sick of paying upward of 65 dollars for a contract, and I must say I don't regret moving on.
-This phone has everything in one of those 500 dollars phones but technically it is just half a step behind.
-The camera is 3.2MP (similar phones with 5 or 8 MP are 150-250 dollars more expensive). it does not have a dedicated camera button, so you have to press the screen, which is annoying. The pics are not too bad, the videos are ok. I cant zoom comfortably, although there are options to zoom, but could not get it to work yet. So basically it is ok for on the go photos and videos but dont use it for wedding photos or videos.
-It has a powerful processor which you can use to work several applications at a time, but when I had one too many applications it sometimes slowed down a lot. nevertheless it is almost always good.
-I watch youtube videos on it, excellent streeming.
-I downloaded a lot of android market apps and games and everything work fine.
-I downloaded many books, movies, audio books on the external SD-card, and everything work fine on the phone, although the phone is not as big as a kindle so reading might not be comfortable if you cant look at a small font.
-I cant figure out yet how to download stuff directly to the SD-card while the sd card is in the phone. but after download you can easily move it from the phone to the sd card.
-phone voice is good, net is super fast (4G). no complaints.
-from what i read in previous reviews people may have problems with applications or recharging, which has nothing to do with the phone itself. and it is easily remedied, so you can signup with t-mobile for automatic recharging (they charge taxes though, I dont know if walmart does).
-like i said sometimes it slows down and i have to close some applications. it did freeze on me once or twice (but that's less often than my computer freezes on me)
FINAL WORDS:
It is an excellent top notch smart phone. Of course nothing is perfect and if you look hard enough you will find limitation for everything. I would definitely recommend it. I bout the 30 dollar unlimited text web card and 100 mins, and i installed Skype which i am already a subscriber to and have a Skype phone number and i use the Skype for all my phone talk (cost me extra 2.5$ a month for unlimited talk, and 2.5 for phone number (when people call my Skype number (from there phones) the phone rings))
hope that was helpful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+563points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ct
Ernie
Posted 08/30/2012
I bought these phones ( Samsung Exhibit 4g ) for my wife and myself for the t-mobile $30 month unlimited text ,web and 100 min talk. Great for viewing web sights ,for me the camera is also great.
You will love this phone. there are a lot better smart phones out there but you can't beat this for the price. I am not really a hi tec person nor do I need this phone for a business ,so what it does is great for me. My last phone was an old flip one , using this was like jumping into another time zone. Maybe if I get more into what these phones can do I may want to uograde in the furure but for now i'ts been all I need it to be, so I will probably not upgrade. I have had the phone for a month and I can't seem to put it down. Everytime I play with it I find a new function it does . I have even used it to teather the internet to my Accer androde pad thu Bluetooth on 4g , now that is worth the $30 a month alone. If you buy this phone you will not be sorry!
+4points
Customer Avatar
great falls, mt
good review
Posted 06/03/2012
That is nice that you wrote a really good review from an average users point of view. I know a lot about computers and stuff but I can't really believe a review written by an advanced user because they are over-critical. You say this phone works great for you, I can believe that it must be a pretty good phone.
+4points
Customer Avatar
NY
An update
Posted 01/06/2012
CONs: A serious problem I found with this phone is an extremely poor battery life. I had to buy an extended life battery from ebay with a charger for 30$ and with 2 batteries it works fine. I think the battery is used up quick because i have Skype running on all the time. and I am heavy handed on internet usage.
Apparently some features have been disabled on this phone, so I can not call forward to another phone number ( I will try again with customer service and update you)
PROs: The video chat works better than on my PC, and I was able to switch between cameras so I can either use the front or rear facing camera.
A correction from my earlier review: you can not zoom with the camera at all. so it is always automatic.
Bottom line I still love this phone, and love the freedom from the hefty 65$ contract that gave me limited talk time, limited text and practically no internet, so I figure in 6 month the phone would have paid back for itself just from the difference in contract price...I will keep u guys updated
+19points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 27 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Good phone plan alternative. Average smartphone.

03/18/2012
By ,
Winnetka, Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Of course I received the phone fast and with no problems from Walmart. I bought this simply because it has GSM and when unlocked can be used during my foreign travels. I currently have and enjoy immensely an HTC Evo 4 G. I am not comparing this phone to the Evo for it would be comparing an apple to an orange (different plans, carriers and phone qualities although both have android). Activation was easy enough but the instructions (specifically the visual) on how to insert the sim card was erroneous and required some extra analysis. Bought $100 credits prepaid and chose 100 minutes with 5g at 4g speeds. Display is second to none. On/off button takes a long time to respond. Presence of emails get displayed fast but downloads of said emails' specific contents have some appreciable lag. Battery life is excellent. Call quality can be choppy at times specially if you have wifi turned on. All in all it does what it is supposed to do. But whether the phone is worth the cost of $189 plus tax is debatable. Savings from the prepaid plan however is appreciable if you are willing to live with its limitations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 28 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Phantastic Phone

01/30/2012
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is an amazing deal. While it is no Samsung Galaxy S, it can provide the basic and quite a few advanced features that an average user would want in a smartphone.
My favorite feature is the wi-fi access. You can save minutes for use at other times if you download the free (or modestly priced) apps from the android market place to make internet calls. You CAN NOT use the software provided by T-Mobile to make wi-fi calls without losing precious minutes if you happen to be on a plan with a limit.
I suggest the $30/mo 100 min talk, unlimited text/messaging plan available through T-Mobile or Walmart only. An unlimited data plan? With 5G of high speed? Sounds good to me......Unlimited text messaging? Count me in.....100 minutes talk time? OUCH! But, I'll deal with it by using wi-fi talk.
And, despite what you may have read, so long as you have ANY new phone with a new SIM card/activation code, you can activate on line with T-Mobile. If you have an unlocked awesome phone and want a cheap, no-contract option: purchase the most basic phone at Walmart and activate it then move the SIM to your other phone.
Also, I have read other reviews regarding failure to activate the phone or plan properly. I don't want to tell you that your experience will be as smooth as mine, but it was simple. You HAVE to enter the numbers correctly the first try (S/N, SIM code and new phone activation code.) I did become nervous when my $30 card was applied and I was told I had no balance......then I spoke with customer service who expained that activation of the phone can take as long as 24 hours and once activated, the funds would be present. I checked my phone and sure enough it hadn't yet been recognized by the network. 30 minutes later, all was well with the phone and the balance. Don't stress for nothing.
I had no idea what I was missing with my old phone until now. And, while I might not be keeping up with the Joneses, I AM able to keep up with my family, my friends, netflix, news, weather, and too many other positive connections I now have with the world.
Thank you Walmart and T-Mobile!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 29 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

GREAT PHONE!

03/22/2012
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my market research before purchasing my Samsung Exhibit II at Walmart with a $50 unlimited plan. My biggest draw was the wifi calling, as I get NO CARRIER service at my home. I bought it as a replacement for my iphone, because I wanted to go with a prepaid service to save 80.00 a month on my bill! It works flawlessly on wifi. I never drop a call and it never cuts out. As good as being on 4G with full bars. Took my phone on vacation across the country from Washington to Alabama, and had great coverage all the way.
It's fast, browsing is full... meaning you can go to www.ebay.com, not a WAP ebay site. GPS is amazing too! Full access to all android apps, and I have not had a problem with any app yet. Video chat is phenominal and fast!!!
GReat phone, Great price, Great service!!! Can't beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 30 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

BEST PHONE

11/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just upgraded from net10 and this is the best phone and the best plan ever. You can't beat the $30 a month with unlimited text and web with 100 minutes of calling and the phone is cheap too! My phone came in 3 days of ordering it and it was the fastest shipping ever! this is an awesome phone that is just like the iphone but a lot cheaper! I love this phone! The only bad thing about this is that it is very light and I am scared it will get broken easily or be dropped easily but no problems so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+133points
Review 31 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone
05/15/2012
By ,
california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
having 5GB of internet is awesome. 4G works faster than my former 3g. however, for some reason, my phone restarts everything every so often. it doesn't turn off, but all the apps, even ones i am currently working on, will restart and then ill have to start all over. i dont know why it restarts, but it'll tell me ill lose internet connection and my 4G signal is gone, happens alot actually. the text messaging is also slow, but i just downloaded the Go SMS app so I don't have to wait so long. Another downside is using GOOGLEVOICE thinking you won't use up your 100 minutes, just because your using the "internet" for it. but tmobile tracks it down and counts it as your minutes as well, so beware of that. so other than losing 4G signal quite often, slow text messaging, and not having too great of voice over IP usage, it's still a cool phone with an AMAZING PRICE on the data!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 32 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

I Am Sorry I Bought This Phone

06/19/2013
By ,
Chicago
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My phone worked fine for about 5 months. I added several apps and more memory. But the phone seemed to get slower & slower. I don't know if it is TMobile service or the phone but I constantly get my calls dropped. It happens to almost everyone that calls me, so I know it is my phone or service. Many times people try to call me and phone don't ring. It goes right to voice mail. I have lost connection & service many times. When caling out, sometimes I have to redial two or three times to get the call to go through. On a few occasions I have looked at my service bars moving from 3 to 4 bars to no connection. Half the time I cannot get on the web. I have to turn phone off and or take the battery out and put it back in. The phone has turned the volume and display setting down all by itself. Several times TMobile customer service had to send a reprogram signal to my phone to solve the problems. But they come right back after a while.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

BEST DEAL EVER!!!

01/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Samsung Exhibit II 4G Android Smartphone from Walmart (along with a $30 prepaid T-Mobile card) a few days ago. I went online and activated the phone with no problems. However, because I purchased a "Speed" refill card (blue) as opposed to the regular (pink) refill card, I had difficulty adding the plan (unlimited text/web + 100 minutes) to my account. So after repeated failures I was forced to call customer service for assistance. The representative was very nice and helpful and assured me that the plan had been added and the minutes credited as desired. He was right; I received a text message the next morning confirming my purchase.
With that being said, this is the best smartphone and voice/data plan on the market. I've been wanting for a smartphone for awhile (particularly the IPhone) but was unable to buy one due to the fact that the data plans are so overpriced and thus too high for my budget. Hence, I've been stuck using a "dumb" phone for years. But when I came across this deal, I thought it was too good to be true. So I did a lot of research and read countless reviews and learned that this deal was indeed as good as it promises. I CONCUR!!!
If you want a Smartphone (that does just about everything the IPhone does) but cannot afford the enormous data plan fees the other service providers charges...then this is the phone/plan for you. It is unbelievable!! This phone is easy to use, has a fast processor and internet speed, and is loaded with multiple applications and customizable options. The touchscreen is an added bonus and navigates easily and efficiently. In short, it does almost anything you want it to do (except bring you a glass of water).
I highly recommend this phone and T-Mobile's prepaid voice and data plan. It's very affordable and the best part is the fact that it does not require an annual contract. What more could you ask for? Again, it's still almost too good to be true. You better run out and get one before T-Mobile realizes what a bargain this is and inadvertently change their minds....I'M SO SERIOUS!!!! It is sooooooo worth it!!!!
I am one happy camper right now. I FINALLY HAVE A SMARTPHONE with DATA ACCESS!!! YAY ME!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Review 34 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Excellent value

04/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a smartphone to do 99% email and web browsing and 1% voice calls. Got this phone with the $30 monthly plan (100min talk + unlimited web). Phone does its job for me well. I live in an area where coverage from all phone companies is spotty at best. Rarely get 4G but mostly am on the EDGE network speed. When I am in an area that has good coverage I see mostly 4G.
I do not have any need for the rest of the android applications. Phone user interface took a little while to get familiar with. Battery does not seem to last more than a 1.5 days or so but that seems to be the issue with all of these smart phones. So I carry around the USB cable and charge phone when connected to laptop via USB.
Have used this phone for the last week and am happy to recommend.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 35 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Good Phone - Poor Instruction Book

10/09/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the phone - there is no comparison to my previous flip phone. The only complaint I have is that the instruction book lacks instruction, and is confusing. For example - not all of the email related information is in the same place, and even then not everything you need to know about email is in the book. I'm not one of those people that has the phone with me everywhere I go - I only use it when I leave the house, and only for business - so I have not experienced the battery or heat issue that some people mention. I consider myself a light cell phone user, so for me this phone has a lot of stuff on it that I will probably never use. I could see, though, that someone who always uses the phone would find the features more than sufficient. I am very pleased with the phone except that I thought it was a tad expensive at $199, and would have given it 5 stars on the overall rating if the instruction manual was easier to follow and complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 36 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Best prepaid android deal out there!!!

12/29/2011
By ,
Houston Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this phone about a week ago and has worked great!
Even though it is considered to be an entry level android device, it can use almost every single popular app available. Performance and battery life on this phone (like any other phone) relies mainly on the user . It all depends on how many apps are open throughought the day, considering that a 1GHz processor and 512 MB RAM can only do so much.
respectable specs
-1GHz Snapdragon CPU; Adreno 205 GPU; Qualcomm MSM 8255 chipset
-512MB RAM; 1GB ROM; microSD card support (up to 32GB)
-3.7” LCD display with WVGA (800 x 480 pixels) resolution; 252ppi pixel density (awesome screen)
-Front-facing VGA camera for video calls
-Android 2.3.5 Gingerbread with TouchWiz 4.0 launcher
-4G!!!!!
-(a year ago, this phone would have been competing with most top of the line phones)
not so respectable spects (yet again, this phone is only $199 in stores, $189 online)
-3.2MP camera with lowly VGA video recording-3.2MP camera with lowly VGA video recording
-Too many preloaded apps from T-mobile
-dull appearance (can be fixed... mine looks awesome after buying a cover from the T mobile store)
-no earphones or memory card included.
I strongly recomend that you buy a 32 GB memory card (save everything you can here) along with a phone cover (its plastic structure seems prone to major scratches or serious damage if dropped). As long as you dont exhaust the phone with every single app available in the android market, this phone will perform smoothly.
I had no trouble activating this phone, it is very easy to activate. Transfering your old phone number may take up to 24 hours (mine was ready in 3 hours). Overall this phone has worked awesome with me. it transfers data fairly fast, Ive never found myself without signal (i live in the city), video streaming is awesome (netflix can be used with this phone!!), $30 unlimited data + txt, 100 talk min plan is great.
I find this phone nearly identical to the Galaxy S II. Of course without the 1.5 GHz dual processor, bigger AMOLED screen, and 8 megapixel camera. other than that... it is nearly identical.
Overall, you get a great phone for the price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Monroe, Wisconsin
Memory card
Posted 03/15/2012
I see where you recommend (Jordanshoesman Houston Tx) people buy a 32 GB memory card (save everything you can here) along with a phone cover. Why a 32 GB, instead of a 16 GB memory card? Does it matter on the brand as to how good it is? I want to buy the memory card at the same time I purchase the phone online.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Everything You Need.

08/21/2012
By ,
Washington Twp, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Please be aware, this is no Samsung Galaxy. It's only got 512mb of RAM, and after the system tapping into it, you only have a little over 100mb to work with. Yes, it does only show 320mb, but the system reserves some of the RAM for stability. I've owned this phone for over a month now and not a single issue has occured with the exception of a few freezes here and there, all of which recovered.
The phone comes loaded with goodies like GPS. Google Maps now allows you to download them "offline" so that you can use the GPS even when you're not in a service area. It does take up a bit of space, so only grab areas where you plan to go to. You will NOT be able to download entire cities at the moment. The download will stop. Download small chunks at a time.
My only REAL issue is with T-Mobile's service itself. I live in an area that only gets basic 2g coverage, so outside of the city you can't really enjoy the 3g/4g support. The 4g, in areas where I have it, is awesome, to put it simply. Yes, by today's standards 4g is still well behind our cable networks, but 3-4mbps over a PHONE is pretty impressive.
Here's the thing about this phone, don't load it down with applications. Root it, and get rid of T-Mobile's bloatware, and keep your home screens clear. One of the biggest things with Android is that you can't use a lot of widgets. Yes, the search one and whatnot is useful, but it takes up a LOT of RAM. Also, make sure you're properly closing applications. It isn't like an iPhone, it actually has multi-tasking so you'll bog down your system.
The good thing is this phone does have wifi support. A lot of these cheaper prepaid phones put in the bare minimum to constitute as a "smartphone." The build quality is excellent. I've dropped it 3-4 times already onto pavement and the worst that happened was the battery cover came off and the battery came out.
This phone DOES use Gorilla Glass, contrary to popular belief. I still applied a screen protector. Walmart sells the screen protectors for $10, you get 3 of them. You can find them online cheaper of course, but the first thing I did was apply a screen protector. Walmart, however, does not sell any kind of case or cover for this model. I only found one case and it was on Amazon. The case does add some thickness and weight, but it's needed to hold this phone firmly in your hand. The phone itself is fairly light and thin, right out of the box. A lot of people say it feels "cheap" because the phone isn't iPhone build quality. Yes, iPhone's are built nice, but every phone not made of glass and metal doesn't make it "cheap."
That being said, the only real downfall is the RAM. You will almost NEVER max out the 1ghz processor. Just make sure you keep closing applications and keeping some RAM freed up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 38 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Excellent Buy

12/22/2011
By ,
La Palma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone for my husband's birthday. It has been great. I was a little afraid because of some negative comments that I read, but thank God we got a good phone. All the features are great and the price is great too. I really love it and am getting one for myself. The only con that I find is the delay when taking a picture, the battery life is not excellent, but it is great considering the screen that you have. But other than that, the sound, reception, and size are great, it never freezes, the calls never drop, great features. I was thinking that maybe the other people got a lemon or their phones were refurbished and they should look into having the phone replaced, because this phone that we got works properly and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 39 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

First smart phone - it's still a bit overwhelming

06/18/2012
By ,
Ft Wayne, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband gave me this phone for my birthday. I enjoy the features that I have figured out how to use! My kids are giving me "lessons" to help me understand all the amazing things this phone can do. They #kids# have each checked into this phone and haven't found any negative feedback or major software problems that have been reported.
The only thing about this purchase which concerns and confuses me is: we chose Wal-Mart to purchase a phone because we liked the Straight Talk program. However, when we bought this phone, we were told that we had to pay $50 for one month of T-Mobile service and then we could purchase a Straight Talk Sim Card #$15 +/-# which would then allow us to go forward with the $45 per month unlimited plan.
We haven't been able to find this Sim Card available at any store or even on the WalMart webpage. Has anyone had a similar experience with this cross over plan info?? If any body could give us some guidance we would appreciate it very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Soap Lake
works ok
Posted 05/08/2013
Did get the straight talk sim card for 15.00 through straight talk, phone has some programming inside to slow it down you have to set it down and wait for the built in pause to cancel out and your page loads. Somethings work great, others so so
0points
Customer Avatar
FL
Call
Posted 09/03/2012
Personally I think you should call straight talk directly. I don't think they gave you correct information. My husband works at Walmart and uses the straight talk plan. This is the phone he is going to buy and he wouldn't if it didn't work with straight talk.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/22/2012
you would have to buy the sim card on straight talk website or call them. They can send you one.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 40 for T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone

Good Product, Better Service

04/07/2012
By ,
Royal Palm Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smartphone and I'm extremely pleased with it. Well technically it's my second and that's where Walmart's excellent customer service comes in. After having the phone about a week I accidentally locked myself out of it by (ironically) trying to make the phone more secure. Following instructions from a T-Mobile Rep I did a factory reset on the phone and it pretty much crippled my phone. I couldn't use the android market and half of my apps were gone. After spending half a day on the phone with T-Mobile offshore tech consisting mostly of numerous factory resets which all yielded the same results and desperately looking for a fix in the android blogoshpere I finally decided to take my phone to a T-Mobile store to see if they could restore my phone to it's former self. I called the nearest one and explained my situation and was advised to bring the phone back to Walmart for an exchange since I'd only had the phone about a week. Well that's what I did and it was a painless if not quick process and when I got the phone home and checked it out, it was exactly the way I remembered it, google play app intact and all. I don't know what I would have done or how things would have worked out if I hadn't bought this phone from Walmart but I'm very very glad I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
21-40 of 284 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next