Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Singer Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

This Singer Automatic Sewing Machine, Model 6160 is a computerized sewing machine with 60 built-in stitches, including essential, decorative and stretch stitches. The easy-to-read LCD screen, automatic needle threader, fully adjustable stitch width and length and automatic reverse button make sewing a breeze. The supplied accessories make this Singer 6160 Sewing Machine an excellent value, too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.017 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation82%47 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Error code & would not sew after 2 uses.

04/19/2012
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this as a Christmas gift. Have used it twice since then for little things. Seemed to be fine. Decorative stitches worked and the straight stitches turned out good too. But didn't last. Just took it out to use on a bigger project and it just stopped sewing. The foot pedal wouldn't work at all. The back stitch button would sew though. If you tapped the pedal aggressively at times it would delay and then jump forward 3 stitches and then display the C3 error code saying the foot pedal was disconnected, which it clearly wasn't. Tried the Singer CS line. Was caller number 20, was on hold for 40 mins when I finally got down to caller number 4. All of a sudden the operator hung up the call and stated "their offices are now closed." I was furious. Needles to say, it went back to WalMart and I won't be buying another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Outstanding product for an unbelieveable price!

12/17/2011
By ,
Pilot Mountain, N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used a Singer sewing machine in the past but for the last 35 years I have used the brand name "White" sewing machine. As I have gotten older, it has gotten harder and more difficult to thread the machine so I have used it very little. Recently I set up the machine to overcast some pants for my husband that needed hemming. After several tries at threading the needle with the thread continually breaking, I was so frustrated that I decided to make myself have a Merry Christmas and buy a new machine. I read several descriptions for various brands but decided to go back with a Singer. Ordered this online and received it within three days with free shipping! I read the manual and watched the DVD to learn how to use the automatic threader. What a wonderful surprise when everything works even better than imagined. This is a true Godsend for me and I will highly recommend this to even someone that is just beginning to sew. Outstanding item at a super price. Walmart and Singer, you have done it again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160
02/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this machine to do piecing and possibly some quilting. I have an awesome Singer from the 60's so I was trying to remain loyal but I was SO disappointed with this machine. This is supposed to be a "pull it out of the box and get sewing right away" machine, but I had nothing but problems from the jump. The bobbin was difficult to get in and out. And I never got it to sew a proper stitch. The bottom would have loose stitches and it jammed constantly. I consider myself knowledgeable about troubleshooting machine problems but no matter what I did after SIX HOURS I couldn't get it to work. I'm taking it back tomorrow and getting a Brother that has a drop in bobbin and hopefully a simpler machine. I don't really need to fancy digital machine anyway. Maybe this one was just a dud, but the difficulty of loading the bobbin alone is enough for me to not get a second one to try.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Decent starter machine, good for the price.

12/31/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this machine as a Christmas present and initially loved it! I haven't used a sewing machine since my middle school home-ec classes, but I found it very easy to pick back up and immediately improve what little skill I had. It's very easy to thread, easy to switch stitches back and forth as often as you please, and very easy for a beginner (or someone like me, who is extremely rusty) to get accustomed to the basics. Adjusting the settings for different fabrics can be a little tricky, but just takes a little practice and the right needles to perfect. Cheap/lousy thread can be prone to catching and knotting in the machine, so spring for something slightly fancier than dollar-store stuff if you want it to work properly. I also wouldn't suggest using this for fleece or any really heavy fabric, as the foot sets very low and the feed dogs are weaker than most, but it seems to work well for about everything else, including the denim jeans and fleece pajamas I made for my daughter! I did have some problems at first; thread bunched and caught underneath the fabric, I couldn't adjust the tension right for any fabric of any thickness, and the pedal went out within two days of opening the box. However, I brought it back and exchanged for another of the same model and have had zero of issues since, so I am assuming the first machine was simply defective. Overall I'm very happy with this machine, but as I make children's clothes for extra income, I may upgrade to a more advanced model at some point to be able to use fleece and suede in my projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160
03/27/2012
By ,
colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machine to sew my daughter some clothes. after getting it home and reading the instructions I was very excited to try it out. Much to my disappointment the foot pedal would not work. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and exchanged it for another one. My second one worked for a short time (1 day). This time is wasn't the foot pedal but the thread just kept tangling underneath the fabric. I had my mom come over (she is the expert). She said it was the tension but we tried to loosen and tighten both the manual tension as well as the bobbin tension and it didn't help. needless to say, this machine went back to walmart and I am looking for another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

This machine ROCKS!! I LOVE IT!!

12/27/2011
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this machine for Christmas and it is fantastic!! Easy to use, great machine, and threads the needle for you! (:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

A lot of machine for the price!

02/08/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first sewing machine for making American flags. It has more than I need but the easy threading for the needle and for the thread to the needle makes it easy to change colors. It will go through 6 layers of fabric and the ability to easily alter the stitches to my need make it the best value machine for the money that I have seen. It will hold 2 thread spools (1 horizontal and 1 vertical). Winding a bobbin is simple. It uses standard class15 bobbins and I have never had to adjust the tension.
There are not a lot of accessories available for the machine but there are a few basic ones that can be found at Amazon.
Not a real fast machine but really well worth the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!!

12/18/2012
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned mine for about a year now. It started giving me issues from the beginning I recieved as a gift so I couldnt return it so I called about the warrenty and the closest place to me was 3 hours away!! I guess they are very few and far between. Its been in and out of the place since then. I have had to send it and they send it back on their dime. So I thought if I drove it there they would send it back well haha no they dont if you drop it off. $40 to send each time just to have to send it back. My warrenty is up in a couple days and so they did extend my warrenty to get it fixed since ive had so many issues but of course they wont replace it or refund me at all. My mother in law bought one for herself when I got mine and she took hers back. Waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Great Value

03/07/2012
By ,
Dahlgren, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine based on other reviews. Let's put it this way, when I was a child, I broke several needles on my mom's sewing machine and was banned from touching it. I have always wanted to sew, but was too afraid to try. Now I am married with two kids. Things come up and the need for sewing is there. So I decided to get this machine. I read through the directions and put it together. I am happy to say, it works and works well! I have done several stitching patterns and use different materials. I plan on making more things this week. The only thing that is bad for me, is that I don't have enough time and my neck hurts from sitting there so long. But if you don't like to sew that much, you won't have that problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Horrible Machine

02/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this machine for my wife and straight out of the box, it's had nothing but problems. My wife is very thorough when it comes to directions and she follows them better than anyone I have ever met. She set the machine up after reading every piece of material that came with it, and watching the dvd. She was so excited to start using this machine because she hasn't had her own machine since long before her and I were married. The machine gives her an E6 error message when she tries to sew anything. We bought a very light material for her to practice on, and she all she gets is 3 or 4 stitches and then the E6 error comes on, shuts the machine down, and lets of an ear-drum piercing beep. She redid the tension according to the manual, and was finally able to get the machine to complete a set of stitches on the practice fabric. She then switched to something else she was going to make for her mom, never turning the machine off. Guess what....E6 all over again. So she redid the tension again, this time to no avail. This machine is going back and we're getting a Brother machine. Our old neighbor had one and she never had any problems with it. Bottom line, only buy this machine if you need either a door stop, or a wheel chuck to stop a vehicle from rolling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Great sewing machine for the price.

03/07/2012
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted something simple to do everyday sewing and mending and this has been wonderful. I have made drapes, aprons, mending, etc. and love it. Far exceeds what I was expecting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

VERY DISAPPOINTED

02/29/2012
By ,
upstate New York
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited about this machine when I got it for Christmas. It was like a dream @ first....then I tried to zig zag stitch. No go!!! It would skip several stitches & connect randomly!!! No rhyme or reason. Many of the other specialty stitches were off as well. Multiple troubleshooting attempts, a call to singer, nothing helped. Very frustrating!!! Finally returned it & went back to my old clunker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160
12/15/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Worked great for about 5 minutes then stitches would not connect and after looking at troubleshooting on manual and online gave up trying to get it to work.
Machine is slow and manual is very light on the instructions. Not worth the price if its not going to work
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160
12/24/2012
By ,
BEDFORD,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FOUND IT TO BE MUCH BETTER THEN WHAT ONE MIGHT THINK FOR NO MORE THEN IT COST. VERY GOOD DEAL AND SUPER MACHINE,SO FAR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160
01/29/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only sewn very little since I purchased the machine 2 weeks ago, but what I have sewn has been very easy.This machine has many options available. When I have more time, I will experiment with more stitches. Getting the automatic needle threader to work, took a bit of time, I guess, I'm too old school, but when the needle was threaded, sewing was easy. This machine is quiet & doesn't dance on the table when in use. Great price. Very pleased with Walmart, as getting it sent to the store was very convenient also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160
03/02/2013
By ,
Bahamas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine a day ago and had major problems with the bobbin thread constantly breaking during stitching. I read many of the reviews and it said the same about the bobbin problems. As I live in the Bahamas it would be a problem to return the machine. If anyone encounters this problem simply remove the bobbin casing and turn the screw in the bobbin casing a little to the left to release the bobbin tension. Hope that this works for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Great Machine!

01/02/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recieved this machine from my husband as a Christmas present. My only piece of advise is to make sure you read the owners manual, because if you are used to using a more "simple" machine, things can get a little confusing. I am used to using my Grandmother's singer that does the bare minimum so things like where to put the bottom feeding bobbin and how to run the thread can be a little confusing, but otherwise, it is a great machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Great Sewing Machine

12/24/2012
By ,
Florence Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hope it holds up as well as it looks. It was a christmas present for my grandaughter and she was delighted with it. I am hoping it is what she wanted . I know the singer product and they are well made . I was very very pleased at the shipping of this product to my home it seemed like I had no more than hung up the phone than ups was knocking at my door with it. Very effecient . I would recommend very highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

I love to sew again!

03/26/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this after years of not sewing and I really did not want to invest in an expensive machine (in case I couldn't revive my old sewing skills). I am not disappointed. It has been a great value for what I needed it for. I was able to renew my sewing skills and I have not had any major problems. It has met my needs!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Computerized Sewing Machine, Model 6160

Great machine for the price..

12/31/2012
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about purchasing this machine because of the reviews, I'm so glad I went with a recommendation from an Walmart salesperson. I consider myself a novice, this machine was easy to set up and my daughter has already made a quilt without any problems what so ever. I love this machine and the cost even better!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next