Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Star Wars Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Star Wars Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

Feel the power of Darth Vader's weapon with the Star Wars Ultimate Darth Vader FX Lightsaber. Featuring a bright, glowing blade that illuminates with light, the Star Wars ultimate FX Lightsaber makes sounds when you power up or power down to give you a real Star Wars battle experience. The motion-sensor controlled sound effects like clashing, battle impact, and crackling sounds add more excitement to the fight. Recommended for children over 6 years of age, this Star Wars Lightsaber toy is powered by three AA batteries that come with the set.
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%28 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

My 5 year old loves it!

12/25/2012
By ,
Signal Mountain
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
He wanted a REAL one and this met the criteria!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

Good but could be better

10/07/2011
By ,
San Francisco
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We liked the way on power-up the lights extended from the hilt to the end. It looks great in the dark (even better when one of the team used it on our weekly video-conference). There's a motion sensor that will give the whoosh noise when you swing it and a clash when it impacts on something (your co-worker wielding the Anakin saber perhaps?).
The saber "blade" is pretty rugged and has stood up to some abuse without any signs of damage. It doesn't retract like some similar products, so if you plan to use this with a Halloween costume, be ready to carry it's full length. Also the little plastic piece that looks like a switch actually isn't, though everyone wanted to press it.
The handle was a little awkward to hold. It's diameter is pretty big for even an adult hand and kids might find it a bit big for them. I think the power switch might be a little loose, because the saber sometimes likes to shut itself off.
Overall, it's good for those of you who need to get your inner Darth Vader on, but there are a few things that could be better.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Anakin
4.7 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
Star Wars Darth Vader Ultimate FX Lightsaber
1 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Star Wars Force FX Lightsaber - Darth Vader
4.7 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brick
Very nice lightsaber
Posted 10/21/2012
I like the way it makes its sounds such as "power up", and the "clashing" sound. It looks really cool in the dark too. And for people who don't know this, look at the base of the handle and you will find a three position switch for "off-tryme-on". Switching to "on" will keep the light saber turned on.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
10/31/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let me son play with it for a couple weeks. He had an absolute blast. He's got a variety of sabers. Ranging from the Ultimate one to the basic ones, he loves this one the most. As mentioned in previous reviews, this one doesn't retract. So don't plan on sneaking through the forest of Endor with this by your side, and whipping it out as your assault begins. However, because it is a fixed "blade," it's also a lot thinner.
The power on and off effects are cool. It ascends and descends respectively. When you slice through the air, it makes whooshing sounds. And when you hit something, it makes an impact noise you recreate your battles.
All in all, the detail is pretty good. The blade has great effects and visuals. Plan on using it to crush the pesky Rebel Alliance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 4 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

good buy

01/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart online is pretty impossible to beat price wise. This was a good deal, the light saber is very realistic in light and sound. My four year old loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 5 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

My 7 year old son loves this

01/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 7 year old son runs around the house with a towel draped around his neck and this light saber, trying to slay his sisters. We love this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

Fun toy for 9 year old!

02/08/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves Star Wars so we got him the Darth Vader Ultimate FX lightsaber because it was a great price compared to the original FX lightsabers. This one is made for kids. The blade uses less leds than the fx lightsabers but are very bright. When they are swinging the thing around, you can't really see the individual led bulbs. The handle is plastic and is easy to turn on and off. He loves playing it with his sister who also loves Star Wars and has the Qui Gon version. They do stand up to quite a bit of abuse. My kids do not really swing at full force at each other, but even when you control the swings, sometimes they do make pretty hard contact with each other with only minor scuffs to the blade which cannot be seen when powered on. I wish I had this when I was a kid. I do have the FX lightsaber and even though it is more expensive I do play with the kids and hit my lightsaber against theirs but obviously I am more careful with my swings. I have attached an action shot pic, which looks very cool, but bear in mind that the actual lightsaber colors are very solid, (ie. solid red), but because of the way the camera handles exposure, it looks like the core is white with a red outline just like the movies!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got 2 of these for my nephews for Christmas and I must say they are very very durable. The sounds they make are great to good and loud. My littlest nephew has a reputation for breaking toy swords with in about 10 minutes of getting them but his saber is still working and in one piece. The funny thing is I have found myself playing with them from time to time and not realizing how awkward it must look lol. I would recommend these to any one with a kid 5yo+.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 8 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

Gift for nephew

12/13/2011
By ,
New Market, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item as described. I've never been into the whole Star Wars thing, but I know my nephew will love this. The family coordinated gifts, so he'll also get a second lightsaber and the helmet. Great fun for a nine year old!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 9 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

great toy

12/27/2011
By ,
Toledo, Oh.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson loved it. He is four yrs. old and it was the first thing he played with Christmas Eve.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

The kids and dad love this.

02/17/2013
By ,
Lake Crystal, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the cost, these things are really fun and durable. Very pleased overall with the quality and ability for the lighsaber to take abuse, so long as your not being extremely agressive or using it as a hammer. Reasonable jousting and play seems to hold up fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

Super fun nerd toy

01/14/2012
By ,
Tacoma, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My little boy lit up like the death star when he got this. And its durable. He is 4 and has been fighting everything and everyone with it for a month and its not broken yet so super awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
01/11/2013
By ,
Portland, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap Plastic replica of real ones. Would not recommend to anyone due to cheap quality of item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
02/18/2013
By ,
Sanford, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandon loved it. Even the adults played with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
03/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great toy for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
01/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson loved the lightsaber
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
01/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought 2 for Christmas, one worked well and one worked only for a few minutes. The replacement has been great. Lots of fun for the kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 17 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader

10/28/2012
By ,
Del Rio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter and she loved it. Worth the money we paid for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
04/12/2012
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of these for my grandson for his birthday and he absolutely loves them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Star Wars Ultimate FX Lightsaber, Darth Vader
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5