Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Similac Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Similac Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

The Similac SimplySmart Bottle was made by experts in infant nutrition and has a special venting system that is developed to reduce excess air so your baby experiences less fussiness and gas. Featuring a naturally shaped nipple that is designed for feeding between the breast and bottle, these BPA-Free Similac 8 oz Bottles also have a wide opening for less mess. This Similac Baby Bottle also uses a SmartClose system to help lock out leaks and has an EasyMix system that is designed to reduce bubbles. This Similac SimplySmart Bottle set includes one level, one nipple, with SmartClose and EasyMix.
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation64%14 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Great Bottle!

03/20/2012
By ,
Nothwest Chicago Suburbs, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were using both Avent and Dr. Brown's bottles but needed a few more. When I went to purchase more Similac Advance powder formula, they were including a free Similac SimplySmart bottle. I bought two and noticed that they came with Level 1 nipples so I bought a pack of two Level 3 nipples for about $4.50. The bottles work great! We've had no leaks whatsoever. The nipple can "fold" in awkwardly when putting the bottle together if you aren't careful and that can leak but the cap has an opening that should tighten over a blue triangle on the bottle which shows it's closed tight. The mixer prevents clumps and foaming when shaking. After trying these bottles, we went back and bought two more cans of formula with free bottles and another pack of Level 3 nipples. We're really happy with them and so is our 6 month old who is able to hold the bottle herself due to the contoured shape.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free
12/27/2011
By ,
Fenton, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great design. No complaints with this bottle. Works better than any other bottle we have tried. Only bad thing to say is they are not available in any local stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

These bottles leak!

02/24/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I went to wal mart looking for born free bottles and they ended up not having any. I had seen these in a magazine and figured if similac made them then they must be good bottles that will help my sons gas problem. I read the reviews before buying them and they all say no leaks... These bottles do leak! i have all the pieces in place the correct way and they STILL leak. They leak from the bottom of the nipple on top of the ring and from the bottom of the ring down the bottle. It even has a feature to show you that the lid is on correctly and closed all the way!
I should have kept my Dr Browns!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

EXCELLENT!

01/19/2012
By ,
Pleasanton, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been trying for months to find a bottle that didnt leak all over my son while he ate. These bottles are excellent, and he loves them too. Love the mixer that keeps the formula from clumping up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Terribly Leaks

11/05/2012
By ,
Holley NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bottle in a pinch when I forgot my son's bottle. I usually would buy the ventaire bottles by playtex, but have seen these advertised and thought, "wow, these are supposed to be really good bottles and they're cheaper too" so I picked it up. What a mistake! This bottle leaks all over myself when shaking it and my son while he is drinking it. And yes, I have made sure all the parts are properly in place, top is closed tight to the blue triangles. Needless to say, I'm waiting for Similac to open so I can call and get my money back. What a dissappointment, I'll be going to buy a ventaire bottle with my refund!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

wonderful bottles!

01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bottles are working out great for my breast-fed baby boy. He transitions nicely from breast to bottle. I had been using playtex drop ins, which are great but I was tired of buying the liners. These bottles each cost about the price of a box of liners, and are well worth it. Every baby seems to "choose" what bottle works best for them- these work great for my boy! He prefers the soothie type pacifiers, and this nipple shape is similar to those. My last son loved the soothie bottles, but they don't make those anymore. These are very similar and are great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

No Spitting Up Anymore!

05/31/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When my son was born, I couldn't breastfeed him because of a medication I was on. His older sister was breastfed, and we had a lot of those little Medela bottles that you can pump directly into and then feed from. I figured because they were small, they would work okay for my newborn.
My son would spit-up. A LOT. It would shoot from his mouth like a scene from "The Exorcist" and pour out of his nose. His eyes would widen, he'd grimace, and then he would let out this terrified, pained cry. It was heartbreaking. The bottles were the obvious culprits: The nipples would collapse in a vacuum, air bubbles would fill the tip. He was simply taking in way too much air and it was all coming back up so forcefully that half of what he had eaten, at least, would be ejected.
I went to the store immediately and figured I'd buy some Playtex Drop-Ins. They seem reasonably priced until you figure how much you'd be spending in liners, and then it doesn't seem so reasonable anymore. I considered the Vent-Airs, the Tommee Tippees, and a few others. I had never even heard of the Similac bottles until I happened to glance at them at the end of the shelf - I don't even use Similac formula. The little mixer is what eventually sold me, and I bought some to try.
I absolutely love these bottles. My son has only spit up once since we started them a month and a half ago. His formula mixes up without bubbles, foam or clumps; the generous opening makes putting a scoop of formula into the bottle at night a lot less precarious; the vents are constantly bubbling as they allow air flow which keeps everything moving smoothly and limits how much air he'll take in - unlike our last bottles, which we had to constantly remove from his mouth to let air in so the formula would flow again. Even the little blue shield showing that the bottle is closed correctly is extremely helpful, since I would have had some serious messes if I hadn't looked for it. The shape is very easy on the hands, as well. He's a slow eater, so holding the bottle for a long time isn't uncomfortable.
The only problem with these bottles is that the vents occasionally leak. Every once in a while, I'll find a drop of formula on my son's collar bone or some will run down between the nipple and the ring. Positioning the bottle so that the vents are on the sides instead of the top and bottom seems to help. Just because there is one dip in the nipple where a vent is doesn't mean that's the only vent; there's one opposite of it, which you can see by turning the nipple upside down.
Also, and I don't know why this is, the nipples got cloudy when I boiled them, which never happened to me with any other nipple (we have fast-flow Playtex Drop-Ins at home from my daughter as well as the Medela ones, all silicone). It hasn't made a difference in the quality of the product, though. It might just be my water; I'm not sure.
Overall, I love these bottles. Feeding my son just got more comfortable for BOTH of us!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

This Bottle leaks

06/24/2012
By ,
savannah,ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well i got a coupon in the mail for this bottle so i decided to buy it. Thought ok cool should work great i liked the desgin and how it had the mixer thing in it. so i got it home and used it and it leaked all over my son. It leaked from the top where the vent is and when i would shake it to mix the formula it would just go everywhere out of the vent. it is a great desgin, but it needs to be perfected i think.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Bottles crack for no apparent reason

02/22/2014
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got one of these bottles as a free sample and it was the only bottle my baby would take. I bought 6 of them. Sadly, they would get cracks on the bottom of them and there was no apparent reason, they weren't dropped or handled improperly. Every single one of them that we got cracked. Contacted Similac and they replaced the ones that had cracked, but they cracked as well. I ended up having to switch bottle brands. Very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

lids don't fit

01/26/2013
By ,
Round Rock, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These bottles are OK. I like that they are so wide, making it very easy to pour formula in and easy to wash. The numbers on the side are big and bold, so when I am making a bottle late at night without my contacts in I can actually see what I am doing which is my favorite part. The wand inside seems to reduce some of the bubbles. My only complaint is that the lids on the bottles I got dont even snap on to the bottle becasue the lids are to big! This is kinda annoying but I only use the lids every once ina while anyways. Also if the bottle is not turned correctly while feeding it does leak, so you have to make sure the vent is facing towards the babies nose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Good bottle but not for price

02/02/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would be better if you could choose the flow rate of the nipple when you purchase bottle since you then have to purchase nipples as well and you have a slow rate nipple you will not use if you have older then a newborn baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 12 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Awesome bottle for colic

01/13/2014
By ,
Moses Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying a few different bottles for my infant this is my favorite by far. It works the best for her, I am very upset that this product has been taken from the store because I can not find it anywhere else and I do not want to go through the hassle again of finding a different bottle she will take to and I do not have the funds to try different bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Awesome bottles!!!!!!

08/28/2013
By ,
Vicksburg, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My newborn son tried dr. Brown's and vent air an neither seemed to do well but when I got one of these bottles free in the mail, from subscribing to similac, I decided to try it and he was eating better, no grassiness or fussiness and I love them! My son is nine mths ad started on these when he wa a mth old and they worked wonderfully. The only downfall was I had to order them bc they do not carry them at the stores here. Overall, they helped my son eat better and no grassiness! I highly recommend!!!!!!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

my favorite out of the 3 brands I have tried

12/12/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love these bottles, but my only complaint is that they sometimes leak because the nipple or cap isn't on right. During the day it is easy to see how to put the cap on the right way, but a couple times during late night feedings, the bottle began to leak all over because the cap wasn't on correctly. Otherwise, this product is great! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

They're okay...

05/18/2013
By ,
Portland,or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not completely Satisfied...they aren't horrible bottles but they have several flaws. The nipple often bends and gets sucked in, the blue cap doesn't completely seal on, and the nipple doesn't pop into place easily either. However, I really liked the "easy mix" plastic thing because it really does keep milk from bubbling and doesn't leave any clumps either. Also, the shape of the nipple is great as well. Good product but has some down falls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free
12/21/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My baby really liked this bottle, but you can not shake this bottle because the formula or whatever you are mixing in it will come out the vent in the nipple. The little mixer thing that is in this bottle is nice because is breaks up the formula and air bubbles.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 17 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Good!!

08/09/2012
By ,
Eagle Pass, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I tried this bottle I felt in love with it... I have bought 3-8oz bottles and there is one little tiny problem, they are too fragile. I ve had them for 2 weeks and my little one has thrown them to the floor and they have broken from under the bottle. That I dont like since they are a little expensive. But he loves them, just wish they werent that fragile!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

THANK GOD

04/02/2013
By ,
Waterford, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the absolute only bottle my 5 month old daughter will take. The problem is, I can't find it in any stores now. If it wasn't for walmart.com having this particular type and brand of bottle, I would have a very unhappy baby.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

great product

06/23/2013
By ,
owings mills, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now own 5 of these bottles and my baby loves them!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Similac - SimplySmart 8 oz Bottle, BPA-Free

Leaks

02/15/2012
By ,
Orangevill, Ut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The design is great, but if it is ever left on its side it will leak.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next