Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Get the Magnavox HD streaming video player and play your online network services right on your TV in full HD mode. This Wi-Fi Media Player features a built-in Wi-Fi and HDMI output that ensures easy installation and setup. Available in steel gray, this Media Streaming Player measures 4.7 x 4.5 x 1.2(L x W x H) inches and is very lightweight. It can be easily transferred from one room to another. With plenty of screen saver options available, you can set a picture of your own choice on your Wireless Media Player. Whether it is YouTube, Picasa, Pandora, Film Fresh, HULU, Netflix or Vudu; now you can anytime enjoy them all on the Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player. The menu system for Netflix over this player is excellent; it breaks down the movies into genres and permits you to access your items accordingly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.017 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation84%47 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Great streamer Great price

11/05/2011
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little streamer. I picked this up for my girlfriend and she loves it. It may be small but if you're looking for an inexpensive way to stream Netflix this is really all you would ever need. It has 2 outputs: HDMI and the (yellow, white and red) plugs if you have an older non HD tv. No need for wireless adapters...this streamer already has the wi-fi built in. It will also work on a wired (LAN) connection. I'm using the wired connection so I can't comment on it's wi-fi performance. (the wi-fi menu on the streamer was able to pick-up 4 routers in my neighborhood lol) What I prob like the most about this streamer is the menu system for Netflix. It breaks down the movies into genres, allows you to access your Q and best of all, allows you to Search. The search feature is so nice!! I have an older Sony blu-ray player which only allows access to my Q on netflix and no searching. You can also access Youtube, Pandora, Blockbuster along with many others. Comes with a very easy to use remote and a cool little bracket if you wanted to mount the streamer on the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+139points
Review 2 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Good Media Streamer

11/17/2011
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty much a plug 'n play streamer. Can stream in HD with HDMI hookup. I hooked it up via an Ethernet cable, not the wireless way. Wished it got MLB.com but happy with the 8 channel it does play. Netflix streams with no problems. Cheap price, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Review 3 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

DOES NOT WORK FOR HULU PLUS

11/11/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this with the intention of being able to watch netflix and hulu plus in one of the bedrooms. Walmart does state that this box is for use with netflix, pandora, blockbuster, etc. and HULU PLUS. It is not, I was confused so i went to magnavox's website. A FAQ and answer follows:
What features will be available after I connect to the Internet?
Answer
You can connect to internet services including Netflix, Film Fresh, Blockbuster, VUDU and Pandora.
Will be returning for a Roku or another Blu Ray player. Otherwise, great little device if you don't have hulu plus. easy set up, wi-fi worked fine. Walmart needs to change the product description. Also, why anyone would make a media streaming device without access to that is just strange.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Good To Know
Posted 01/22/2012
I have the Roku XD and am very satisfied with it and highly recommend the Roku. With the Roku LT's out of stock (and marked up $10 in store at Walmart's) and the other Roku's costing a bit more than this device, if the only reason a person would not get this is because it doesn't have Hulu +, you may want to reconsider. I have been very disappointed with Hulu + during my 2 month free trial that came with my Roku. Netflix and Hulu + have the same monthly fee ($7.99 as of Jan 2012) - but Netflix is commercial free and the TV shows on Hulu + (or at least the ones I've watched) are not commercial free. Also, some of the shows you can watch on regular Hulu for free cannot be watched using Hulu +. Originally I was a little bummed that my Nook Color didn't have Hulu +, but now it doesn't matter.
0points
Customer Avatar
Indianapolis, IN
Posted 11/19/2011
i have been trying to do the same with my living room tv. however, if u went to hulu plus/devices they do not have the rights for that brand. that is on hulu not any box store.
0points
Customer Avatar
Try the RCA model
Posted 11/17/2011
The RCA DSB772WE plays Netflix and HuluPlus, as well as YouTube, Vudu, Pandora, Picasa, and tons of Vudu apps!
-1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F
11/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I debated what kind of media streaming device to purchase for a long time and was really set on getting the low end Roku. However, I happened to come across this item on the site and that made my decision more difficult. Netflix is the only subscription I already had, but with their recent changes in price I'm not certain I will keep them; although my original purpose was to stream Netflix to the TV. So the Magnavox appealed because it seemed to have access to more sites. I checked what kind of availability Vudu, Blockbuster have, and I really wanted Pandora. The Roku has access to many more channels, but not necessarily ones that I'm familiar with or would be interested in. And the Magnavox was less expensive. It was a nail biter decision since there were zero reviews available at the time, but I believe it was worth the purchase.
I will say that I had the darnedest time connecting it at first. The router was new as well, so I don't know if it was the router or the player. After the 1st few weeks of frustration, it's almost as if it needed to learn our home. It gets played more than the TV by itself, but I do wish I was able to access Amazon streaming, maybe Huluplus but not sure that additional subscription cost is worth it to me. I may still get Roku for the bedroom. Frankly I wish these things could access all streaming sites, but I'm sure there's some non-competitive contracting going on there. I guess that's called being techy enough/care enough to hook the PC to the TV directly. For our limited cable channel only home, the Magnavox was a good investment in our entertainment.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 5 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Extremely Happy!!!

01/14/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color me grateful. Grateful for the ease of installing. I'm afraid of tech stuff, I always come out loser, lol. Not this time. It took me longer to order this unit then to get it up and running.
Super sharp picture. The other "popular" brand begining with a "R", was more expensive and more difficult to get going. The remote is easy to use as well with big fat buttons. The remote is half the size of any TV remote. The unit itself is very very tiny, takes up no room at all. I wanted Netflix, UTUBE and Pandora; I have them and 3 other ones including Vudu and Blockbuster. Walmart was fast too. They told me 19 days to begin with and it arrived in nine. Site to Store only way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
UPDATE!!! 4/1/12
Posted 04/01/2012
Piece of garbarge. I'm of course ashamed to admit I'm wrong but you all are more important than my pride. Loses sound whenever I place it on pause for extended time. Constantly have to call LG's Customer support for the latest software update. Can not move from my TV to HMI 3 without the loss of sound. Can not go from computer back to netflix with the loss of sound. VERY VERY SLOW UNIT AS TIME PROGRESSES. The UTUBE software in this device is simply horrible in every way. STAY AWAY!!!!! Learn from my mistakes.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Awesome Product!

01/24/2012
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of the box, connected with provided rca cables (hdmi port is there as well, but no cable), plugged it in and turned it on with the included remote not mentioned in the description! Went into setup (simple via setup user menu), and entered my wireless internet password. Selected netflix & activated. All of five minutes out of the box and it was streaming movies great, better than expected! Only complaint is it looks like this item is discontinued because I could the only other place I could find it was at Target.Com for 69.99 and its out of stock online and their stores. Walmart.com shows online but not in stores and you can only order one at a time online - likely due to their limited stock as they are probably not re-stocking as they go off the shelf. Ashame, this thing is cheap and great - rare. Buy one why you can, hopefully you are not too late!!! I just ordered another one...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

AWESOME!!!...Has What Roku is Missing!

12/09/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because it has Vudu and Blockbuster - NOT AVAILABLE ON ROKU - it also has Vudu apps - which looks like it could give Roku a run-for-the-money in the future - not as many channels as Roku, but very interesting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

great product for less money

11/28/2012
By ,
Landisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a middle-aged non-techie person so I read the reviews carefully for the Magnavox and the better known Roku brands of streaming devices. The reviews for both seem to point to the products being good and also easy to setup which was very important to me. The only difference I can see is the Roku pulls in more viewing channels, some free and some that cost money to view.
I find quite a lot to watch on Netflix and YouTube so I went with the Magnavox to save money. It was easy to setup, works like a charm. I'd never heard of Pandora, the music channel, and it appears to be free but requires signing up at their website. That is the only thing I would like to see changed: if it's free, why can't I just select it and use it right from the streaming device? Keep it simple, is my motto. So someday when I feel like creating yet another account with somebody, I may try Pandora. But for now, I am too busy streaming videos, woo hoo!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F
01/05/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the item and the price. I purchased it for netflix only but now I enjoy listening to Pandaro. I used the wireless connection with no problems. I am going to purchase another one for my other room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 10 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Great Little Box

01/03/2012
By ,
Dickson, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a neat little box for streaming video. Easy set up and does what it's meant to do. You won't be sorry you purchased.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Good Basic Streaming

12/31/2012
By ,
fishkill, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this device on the advice of a friend who has 2 and assured me how easy it was to install. Installation was extremely challenging for me because it would not read my router. There was a WEP v. WPA problem. Fortunately, I have a friend who is an IT person. It took him an hour to figure out the inability to connect. Making matters worse, the day after I installed mine NETFLIX had a problem and I thought the device had a glitch in it. Once NETFLIX corrected their problem the device started working properly. After a week of use, we are enjoying the ability to stream directly to our TV. My one warning to potential buyers is that the directions in the package and on line are not very explicit. You kind of need to feel your way around.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F
02/22/2012
By ,
Mesa, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value and was easy to set up to my wireless network
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

love this machine!

05/12/2012
By ,
sun city
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this took only a few minutes for me to set up(and i am an old lady that usually needs help with everything!). all you need is in the box, the instructions were easy to follow and the player works great. was also less expensive then the roku i was considering. if you use netflix a lot this is great, menu is easy, and you can access your que.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Stop Working!

01/14/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this product for three weeks and it was really great. The picture quality was good and I would use it everyday. But then it just doesn't turn on! I don't know why the control works fine but it wont turn on the device just don't know. So I'm going to return it. I wish I didn't have too but it doesn't turn on anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

SLOW

04/09/2012
By ,
Huntsville, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is SOOOO slow and I know its not my internet access because I had used my Wii before to watch Netflix and it works fast with that. I also have to start my Netflix videos over a lot because the screen in just black although you can hear it. Very disappointed. Just shell out the extra $50 and get apple TV. That is what I wish I would have done!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Died after a week.

08/06/2012
By ,
Jamaica, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a Roku, but wanted a "streamer" that supports Vudu and Youtube. The reviews for the Magnavox HD Streaming Videoo Player TB600MG2F were positive, it supports both Vudu and Youtube and it's cheap, so I ordered one (in June). Received the unit, hooked it up to my TV via HDMI cable and then connected it to my wireless network. Wireless setup was pretty quick and simple, no problems there. I then streamed some videos via Netflix, Youtube and Vudu. Still, no problems. I then left the unit alone. A week passes and I decided to "play" with the TB600MG2F again. I grabbed the remote, pressed the "Power" button and nothing. Yep, the unit was dead and I only had it for a week. I still have it (don't want to bother with sending it back). I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F
01/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy setup, streaming Netflix, Blockbuster and Vudu is excellent on this unit, works great connected to Ethernet port on the router (using Ethernet cable) or wireless in another room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Good buy for the cost

02/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this product now for about 2 weeks and it's does the job. I've mainly been using Netflix so far. The movies load without a problem and have experienced no freezing up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 19 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F
01/26/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Operates well, great HD picture. Wish I could add and/or remove apps though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Magnavox HD Streaming Video Player, TB600MG2F

Magnabox Streamer

03/29/2012
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a fairly easy set up, until I got into the programming part of it. I am not a techie, and I am still a bit confused as to how to use it. I would like to stream programs from my PC, but still don't know how to do that.
For me, the manual was hard to read. Too technical. I have an old TV, and did not know what a LAN cord was, and guessed only based on my son's XBOX set up.
For now, I use it for Netflix, until I get the rest of it figured out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next