Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LePan Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LePan Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

The Lepan TC970 with Wi-Fi 9.7" Touchscreen Tablet PC has the Android 2.2 operating system, which allows you to complete tasks, customize your tablet and connect to your world on the go. Take pictures and share them wherever you are with the 2MP webcam,
Average Customer Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation78%90 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Great alternative

11/28/2011
By ,
Central NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my wife who was constantly borrowing my Ipad. My wife likes the Le Pan better than my Ipad. Only issue is that the it freezes once or twice a day. The reset button on the back fixes that quickly. Le Pan Support recommended to update the firmware which i have not yet done.
The dog knocked the Le Pan to the ground from about 4 feet, some of the sides separated slightly, but i was able to push it back together, it is still working
battery life is good about 5 hours playing wordfeud, not as good as the Ipad
screen is great but fingerprints show so i cut a screen protector from a ipad screen protector
sound is boxy at the highest volume
the back button is not lit so it is hard to find in the dark
no 3g so you are limited to wifi
wifi reception is not as good as the ipad so i installed a 2nd wifi router to get full coverage in my house.
plenty of apps in the android/amazon store
it you can live with the points above this is a great tablet. i finally have my ipad to myself now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 2 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Excellent tablet!!

10/31/2011
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tablet!! Brilliant 9.7" screen that displays bright and sharp graphics. Multitouch capacitive touch screen works like a charm. Wi-fi connects quick and easy altho range is slightly weak. Browses fast. Official android market is a big plus - plenty of apps and everything I've installed works fine. Amazon appstore works as well. About 1.5 gigs of onboard storage. I've added a 32gb microsdhc card so tons of room. Youtube and Adobe flash already installed and work well, but flash player seems to work better with some browsers than others. Movies play and look beautiful. Sound with earphones is great . Speakers just ok. Camera is just adequate. Skype works fine for calls but I haven't got video calling version yet. Seriously, this thing is as good as my daughter's IPad. I bought my first one on Amazon for 270 bucks and my second one from Walmart at 218 buck and now at 198 buc this tablet is a fantastic buy. Read the reviews at Amazon and Newegg.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+276points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ga.
tablet
Posted 12/04/2011
im trying to locate the android marketplace...any help plez!
0points
Customer Avatar
virginia
Update
Posted 11/07/2011
Still think this tablet is great especially for 198 bucks. But less pleased with Youtube and Adobe flash. Youtube plays smoothly but not that sharp, almost looks like its enlarged/zoomed-in and kind of blurry. Adobe flash as I mentioned in first review is hit or miss. Plays alright in Android browser but in others I've downloaded like Dolphin and Xscope it works sometimes and not others. Will try Le Pan support. They responded promptly about my first Tablet(which I left out in the rain) One other plus - very good battery life.
+1point
Customer Avatar
virginia
Update
Posted 11/05/2011
Youtube still playing smoothly, but quality of graphics is not sharp. Seems to play in blurry zoomed in mode?? Definitely not as sharp as videos and movies that I've added which are still excellent. tjsh
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

BUY THIS TABLET NOW BEFORE THE PRICE GOES BACK UP!

12/20/2011
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this tablet for a week now it was an early christmas present for myself. I love it!!! I havent used an ipad so I cant compare the two. But thanks to the reviews I decided to try it, im glad I did. It was easy to set up right out of the box. Was on the internet in less than 3 min. Pages load quick nothing lags, pinch to zoom works great. Sent a pic today from my cell using bluetooth worked great. Having the full android market is great apps galore!!! I bought my wife the kindle fire it is cool but cant do nowhere near as much as this tablet. I downloaded the kindle from the android market so dont need a kindle fire. Downloaded Pandora and the speakers work great. Downloaded Angry Birds and several other games and have no problems Why pay 300+ when you get almost all the same bells and whistles as an ipad and with my discount I got this tablet for 179.00. The only con is that the navigation buttons only light up when you touch them so cant see in the dark.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Great for tablet for the money!

12/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this tablet the other day and I am extremely happy with the product! Prior to my purchase I invested several hours researching Android tablets online for my daughter. This one has everything I was looking for. A lot of tablets that run the Android operating system and that are inexpensive do not have the actual Google Android Market, which this one does. The difference is a few thousand apps to hundreds of thousands. The sensativity of the capacitive touch screen is fantastic. the WiFi is very quick and loads pages with no problem. I am a little jealous that I am giving this to my daughter for Xmas and not keeping it for myself. It's not an Ipad but for the money and for someone that wants to surf the net, play games, watch Youtube videos, facebook and check email, you can't go wrong with this tablet. If you are looking for a case for this product you can use an HP Touchpad case to do the job. Just make sure it's the one with the four corners open.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

excellent product

12/26/2011
By ,
hammond, indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tablet for myself for xmas after hours of research. I didnt need an ipad bcuz i am not a techie. But i feel like i got one. This tablet is excellent. Does everything i need and more. I have already used the yahoo meesenger from the android market. I havent video chat yet bcuz the other person wasnt logged in but so far so good. I got a hardshell folio case from caselogic it fits perfectly and it adjust to great viewing angles. All in all a great purchase.
However for new purchasers make sure u plug it in for 8 hours to charge the battery. It needs to be charged completely first so plug it in while you are using it or battery will die after few hours. My battery died and i thought i had broke the tablet bcuz it wouldnt turn back on until it charged atleast twenty minutes or so. Also you can charge it using the usb connected to your pc. My only complaint is the fingerprints it attracts have to clean it off often besides that its perfect. Get this tablet you will enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Everything a Tablet should be

12/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this tablet and ordered one for my husband who is computer and internet handicapped..lol! I was not sure what to expect from Lepan or if my husband could even figure it out. When I got it I was surprised at how much it resembles my friends Ipad. She even was amazed especially for the price of it. The best part is that it is android and not itunes. It is like I am looking at a large android version of my phone. Sweet! It runs netflix and youtube right out of the box. No messing with rooted sd cards at all. Any android app you can load it can handle. Angry birds is amazing on this screen.... hehe. The camera is not fabulous but, we don't use it anyway. I'm sure it would be decent enugh for skype or video chat though. Email is a breeze. Wifi is so easy and the touchscreen is fantastic. So, easy to set up and even my husband can find his way around on it which is amazing in and of itself. Well, I had to set everything up for him..haha! I just ordered another one because I loved his. Order one. You will be amazed at how awesome it is!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 7 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS
06/21/2012
By ,
O.P., Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a newbie to the tablet market. Meaning I have never owned one. After researching my options, I decided on the Le Pan TC970 and of course Walmart had the best price. I couldn't purchase it in store, so I had it shipped to me "free". Unbelievable how fast they shipped it to me (two days). I was excited about my purchase and couldn't wait to get my hands on it. After charging it up, I started investigating my new tablet. I was in tablet heaven. It worked great! For about a minute. The screen froze up and wouldn't do anything. Got a paper clip and I "reset" the tablet. Everything was back in working order. For about a minute. Then the freeze. I did this about ten times and after trying several "fixes" decided it was going back to Walmart. Really disappointing, being though as I wanted to get into the tablet world. Oh well, maybe next time. If I do, I will try the Le Pan II, after the price comes down a little bit. If you do buy one, I hope you are lucky and get a good one. Thanks for listening.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 8 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Great little tablet, super value for the price!

06/29/2012
By ,
Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Le Pan I tablet PC thinking I would use it and see hop I liked using a tablet before investing in an IPad. Well, I love this Le Pan so much I am not going to buy the IPad for $400 more & I've even gone out and bought a 2nd Le Pan, (the Le Pan 2 version), and given this original tablet to my wife. She also loves it and carries it around with her for work and travel. The tablet is easy to use, has very good battery life on a single charge & is pretty responsive in connecting to the wi-fi internet. Our only complaint is the touch screen, we are constantly wiping of the fingerprints from the glass screen & using rubber tipped stylus have been kind of hit or miss for us so for, (fingers work better but leaves smudges!) Overall, you can't go wrong with this little tablet PC, but just remember that it is not designed to be a full feature computer! My wife & I find ourselves trying to do more with our tablets than what they are supposed to do! Other than that we've had no problems with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Excellent for the price

12/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a cheap tablet that does what I want and I found it. This one run Netflix, and support the full Android marketplace apps not like those cheap sub $100 tablets that advertise Android 2.2 but only run a very limited number of apps. This one is the real deal with a solid build with capacitive touch screen (means sensitive for swiping, don't buy tablet with resistive touch screen because you can't really swipe on it). Mine came with 2 GB SD card on top of the internal 2 GB storage (1.4 GB available to user). With 10 inch screen and all that for $200, I can't find another better deal. The next decent tablet goes for $300+. I only got it for 2 days but so far so good.
Cons:
- It freezes on me once when trying to install an app and required a reset to get out of it
- The screen is a little, but just a little, yellowish and not pure white
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 10 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Good tablet for music, video, web and apps

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got mine before they sold out! Happy I did...
I had a $80 7" pandigital that had a bad touch screen and wouldn't run the android apps without hacking it, not ideal for kids.
this one has a 9.7 inch screen and a little weight to it, it won't get thrown around ..
Plays music (installed 8 gig card with 15 cd's before I loaded it up)
- Use mort player, it sorts based on folders not artists.....
Runs apps - angry birds while playing music worked flawlessly. (backround images too). No slowing down, smooth gameplay
Camera is average, who doesn't have a digital camera this shouldn't be an issue (haven't video called yet, skype, taango should work fine though - for my kids, don't care if they can video chat)
internet runs smooth, youtube works fine. Project free TV works fine...
Ebook Reader - multiple to choose from
it won't update to android 3.0 but who cares, run it as is (android 2.2) out of the box to do anything you need. if you want top quality, go ahead and buy an ipad 2 , just remember the ipad 3 comes out sooner than you think. for $200 you can buy a new one in a year and a half... add a 32 gig card and you just saved over 400 bucks.....
I'm a digital manager who bought this for his kids so I can get my phone back from them, they will be more than happy with this. I tested it for anything they will do on it and it passed with flying colors.. $600 ipad 2, I don't think so!
Questions ask and I'll try. no promises...
B.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/25/2011
is the screen glass like ipad or plastic?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

This is a great tablet!

11/26/2011
By ,
Vestal, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching reviews and educating myself on tablets, I asked my husband to get one for my birthday. My sister and I sat side by side and compared her iPad to my Le Pan and we both thought it was a close call. For a little less than $200. this is a steal. It's quick, sharp and sensitive. WiFi picks up great, streaming video flawless, web surfing fast, lots of apps to choose from in the Android Store, very sharp/bright screen. Down side: it freezes up once in awhile; reset brings is it back though and does not happen often. I wish it had a front facing camera. But for the price, I will not complain!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+137points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Question
Posted 12/04/2011
By front facing you mean when your holding the tablet the camera is facing you or away from you?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Great Gift For The Holidays

11/10/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With specs close to the Ipad, the LePan TC970 is an excellent buy for half the price. And now that Walmart has a price rollback, I made the decision to compliment my smartphone with a tablet. The biggest difference between these two gadgets is the screen size and resolution, everything looks bigger and more visible on the tablet. But that comes at a price of portability, it is meant to be used indoors and sunlight will make the screen totally unviewable. But other than some minor complaints, this table is worth every penny.
Here's a list or pros and cons that I've managed to collect in the short period of usage, I've spent most of it downloading apps and enjoying the new features and capabilities of my new toy. One reason I bought this is to install the Skype software which provides for voice and video conversations throughout the world. So with that said, let's go on with the list:
Pros, The Good:
Price - Walmart's price beats everyone.
Quality - Much, much better than the cheap competition.
Size - Just right and very slick, the dust cloth comes in handy.
Ipad Screen - The 9.7 screen and 1024x768 res is a standard for tablets.
Fast Wifi - Wireless connection and speed are both easy and fast.
Working GPS - No antenna cables here, the built in chip works like the phones.
Working Bluetooth - Great for pairing headphones and file transfers.
512mb memory - Not the stingy 256mb found on other models.
2g internal memory - More apps to load, no more out of memory messages.
32g SD card max - You want more storage, just buy a 32g micro sdhc and you're set.
Accelerometer
Ambient light sensor
Front facing camera and microphone for video call/chat.
Settings behind status bar dropdown, very convenient.
2g internal storage expands non-SD apps capacity. A big plus for apps that cannot move to SD.
Ambient light sensor controls screen brightness. Saves the battery.
Screen is very sensitive to the touch, a fly could probably land on it and cause unpredictable results.
Most apps designed for the Ipad will probably feel at home on the LePan because of the same screen and resolution.
Cons, The Bad:
No manual, learn by trial and error. I haven't checked the www.lepantab.com website yet.
Very narrow handles cause fingers to touch sensitive screen.
Accidental hit of back button very annoying. Wish those handles would extend out for better grip.
Comand button lights not controlled by ambient light sensor, hard to see in the dark.
SDHC chip slot location very awkward, huge closure tab gets in the way. Bad design.
Hardware buttons are not labeled, must grope to locate.
Back button should not be too sensitive to the touch, it will exit the app in progress. Extremely annoying.
Still lack compatibility with some tablet apps due to hardware and software differences. Mostly video games that demand faster graphics chips like the Nvidia Tegra. Also the later version of the Android OS provides more features found in more expensive tablets.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+692points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Update
Posted 11/12/2011
I just installed the Netflix app and with a dsl connection this tablet plays my favorite movies even in bed. The battery drains fast when screen is always on so I keep it plugged in on the wall when Netflix is running. It's also an excellent ebook reader, no need to fumble with that book light under the sheets.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Awesome Tablet!!

12/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tablet for our 4 year old for Christmas. I have been playing on it for several weeks now before Christmas downloading apps and such. This is a neat device! The picture quality is awesome it's super fast and i'm very satisfied with it!! I almost didn't give it 5 stars because the screen doesn't rotate on all games and sites. I'm not sure if that's the tablets fault or the other ones fault. Also I was unable to watch anything on Hulu.com. I'm not sure who's fault that is either. Other than that we are very satisfied with this product and would buy one again. Also just an FYI the user instruction manual is in your Adobe. Just go to your Adobe icon and it will come up click on it and you have all the answers. :o) I will be purchasing a memory card since it only has 2GB. I bought an Ipad1 protective case for it but it's not working very well so hopefully Le pan will be coming out with one soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS
12/10/2011
By ,
Colorado Springs , Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got my Le Pan and I love it ! Easy to use and I saved over 400.00 with this tablet . I ordered a iPad 2 32GB first , could not get the touch screen to work . Don't order fom the Apple Store online it's a pain to get a new one . I'm happy I sent the iPad back and got the Le Pan . Get a micro memory card it will take up to a 32GB .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 15 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Thumbs up. the review of all reviews.

12/15/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I've now spent 9 quality days with my new LePan TC970. I spend countless hours reading every review out there, watching Youtube videos evaluating its performance, and comparing it to other comparable units. I just never could find just the right review to give me the "warm fuzzies" that would just automatically tell me that It was ok to pull the trigger on this unit. Maybe it's because this is my very first Android OS item, I don't know. What I do know is that I'm absolutely thrilled with almost everything about the LePan. I feel that I'm a pretty techy guy, but I've always been scared of straying away from Non-Windows based products. This unit, and maybe I just really got a good one, is awesome! the overall speed is absolutely spot on. I haven't found any lag time. It IS a fingerprint magnet, but for Goodness sake, you use your fingers, it's GONNA be...no big deal. I've compiled a list of programs that were either included or I've downloaded from the android market that run seamlessly...here it goes. Youtube, facebook, Linkedin, Skype, Pandora, Netflix, Google, Dropbox, Gmail, and a few others. The only program I've struggled with was Skype, and that's probably because it's a new program for me. BUT, the most important program that runs perfectly and I know you're gonna go out and get it.....ANGRY BIRDS!!! WOW!! It really does work without a single hiccup. Bottom Line, I know I've only had this for a little over a week, but i really do love it. It connected with both my home and work Wifi network almost automatically and I have yet to have an issue with the connection. The only downfalls on this are that the Wifi signal strength seems to be a LITTLE weak but still good. Other than that, it's a winner and I'm very happy with it. You can be assured that I am NOT a LePan employee, just a regular everyday guy that enjoys a great new piece of technology that works well, I can have a lot of fun with, AND it makes me look cool when I use it. LOL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 16 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS
11/11/2011
By ,
CT usa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Owned this tablet for a few days and very happy with battery life, speed, and preloaded apps. Unit was up and running within 5 minutes of turning it on. Unit found my network and was off and running. Flash works very well with very limited choppyness to video ie, netflix streaming. Have surfed the web serveral times now and time between screens is fairly short.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+121points
Review 17 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Love this tablet!!!

12/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I had bought him a $100 cheap one first but it was having battery issues so I returned it when I discovered the LePan. I was shocked at the price and that is was a 10" tablet. I read all the reviews and decided to give it a try. It shipped quickly and I installed the firmware update(tablet can't be plugged in when you do it or it won't go to the firmware upgrade menu). Installed apps, set up his email and everything works great. Definitely worth more than I paid!!! Can't wait to give it to him on Christmas...although now I am tempted to keep it for myself...lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 18 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

INCREDIBLE!!!!!!

12/19/2011
By ,
cypress texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BROUGHT THIS TAB FOR MY WIFE FOR CHRISTMAS. I OPENED THE BOX TO SET HER EMAIL ACCOUNT ON THE TAB AND TO PURCHASE SOME APPS THAT WERE ON SALE BEFORE CHRISTMAS. I WAS COMPELLED TO PURCHASE ONE FOR MYSELF.
MY BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT IS THAT WHEN I RECEIEVED MY SECOND UNIT IT HAD A LATER EDITION FIRMWARE ON IT THAN HERS DID. NOW I HAVE TO UPDATE HER FIRMWARE AND REINSTALL ALL HER APPS. JUST MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE LATEST EDITION FIRMWARE ON THE UNIT.
IF YOU DONT NO PROBLEM JUST GO TO WWW.LEPANTAB.COM WHICH IS THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE FOR LE PAN AND THEY WILL WALK YOU THROUGH THE VERY SIMPLE PROCESS. I ALSO PURCHASED 2 MEMORY CARDS FOR THE UNITS TO EXPAND THE MEMORY AND I WASNT SURE WHICH CLASS SD CARD WAS COMPATIBLE.
I CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE TO ASK THEM AND WHILE THEY WERE UNAVAILABLE I LEFT A MESSAGE AND THEY CALLED ME BACK WITHIN 5 MINUTES AND WERE VERY FRIEND AND HELPFUL. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT TO KNOW YOU CAN GET SUPPORT WHEN YOU NEED IT. I HAD AN ARCHOS TAB AND TRYING TO GET AHOLD OF THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS LITERALLY LIKE TRYING TO HIT THE POWERBALL JACKPOT, BUT LE PAN IS ON POINT.
UNLIKE MOST UNITS THIS UNIT HAS A BUILT IN GPS WHICH IS GREAT YOU CAN USE AS A NAVIGATION WITHOUT WIFI ON THE ROAD. A GARMIN OR TOM TOM NAVIGATION WILL RUN YOU ABOUT $100-$200 ALONE. MY BIGGEST GRIP IS THAT THERE IS NO USB CONNECTION AND THERE IS NO HDMI CONNECTION. I AM SURE THEY WILL BE ADDED THESE FUNCTIONS ON FUTURE MODELS, WHICH I AM SURE I WILL PURCHASE AS WELL.
THIS TABLET IS JUST AS INCREDIBLE AS MY SAMSUMG GALAXY S2, ONLY WITH A 10 INCH SCREEN. I AM NOT SURE WHAT ALL THE HOOPLA IS ABOUT A $500-$800 IPAD IS. This unit is so much easier than an ipad or ipod because you dont have to go through itunes to add music, videos and photos. In a nut shell its a close to perfect without having a usb, hdmi and removable battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 19 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Worth the money!

12/10/2011
By ,
Zachary, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Le Pan TC 970 for my husband as an early Christmas present in October from Amazon. It was not available at WalMart at the time. My husband has been using it instead of his laptop ever since. We have been able to connect our yahoo and gmail email accounts to it. Netflix is compatible, he watches it nightly. Facebook works fine on here. Angry Birds is awesome on the big screen! We have the Android and Amazon App store on it, Kindle App, Nook app, etc. My husband used the reader apps a lot. It is easier than holding a book for him when using the case stand. I got a Targus case for the Ipad 1 and have access to all of the plugs, buttons, etc. It holds it secure and folds into a three position stand. I cut down an ipad screen protector for it.
I have the HP ePrint app on it and can print to my Deskjet 3050A which is ePrint enabled. There are no USB or HDMI ports on it. It accepts up to a 32gb SDHC Micro card. I currently have a 16gb in in, and have 14gb available. Between the Android and Amazon app market, you can get lots of apps. I have an Iphone, and there are currently apps that I use on the phone that are not available, but Apple's market is larger. I have not tried the Skype, so cannot comment on it. There is a system tutorial, in the settings on the tablet, but nothing was in the package to tell you that. You find it after the fact. But the set-up was intuitive enough that we figured out the basics first. Looking at my battery usage at this moment, the tablet has been unplugged for 7+ hours, the battery is at 80%. My husband has not been using it much though, it has been in sleep mode when not in use. of the 20% used, 40% was wifi usage, 31% tablet idle, 16% display, 5% Android OS, 5% Android system, 2% Browser.
Cons have been few. There are four main buttons on the screen, which do most of your functions needed. They are not backlit though, so you cant see them in the dark. The screen had frozen up on us several times and had to be reset with a paper clip, but seems to be doing much better since the update to 2.2. We have had some problems with losing wifi, but it seems to happen mostly in our bedroom. You just pull down the top of the screen, click the wifi off, and click it back on and go back to where you were. My husband has big fingers and sometimes has trouble with the keyboard. I am currently checking with the company to see if you can hook a bluetooth keyboard to it. Haven't received an answer to it and I have a Stylus on order to see if that helps.
For the money, I don't think you can get better! The video is stunning, capacitive screen is sensitive. It has been a joy to use. My husband is disabled, and this works so much better for him than a laptop. It is easier for him to carry around. No, it is not an ipad, but I didn't want one. No thought of paying that much, did not want 3g access, no need for a forward facing camera. This tablet is very sturdy feeling, not flimsy. I am hoping, with the case and screen protector, that we will be able to use it a long time. Hope you enjoy yours as much as we enjoy ours!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 20 for Lepan TC970 9.7" 1GHz 2GB Android 2.2 (Froyo) OS

Great Alternative to ipad

12/14/2011
By ,
Gulf Shores, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tablet has surpassed my expectations! It's fast, hooks up to wireless router quickly and easily, firmware up-dated flawlessly, Netflix movies download and play with no issues and the image quality is top notch. Apps available for most anything you could want. Having never used the Android OS, there is a little learning curve involved-and still Learning, but not difficult. The battery life is impressive: up to 7 hrs mostly on line!. Maybe I'm just not smart enough to see any deal breakers with this tablet, but it works for me....and bought for less than 200 bucks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next