Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Sony Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Get full-on gaming experience with brilliant audio range as provided by the Sony Wireless Stereo Headset PS3. The clarity of 7.2 virtual surround sound lets gamers hear the evil villains before actually seeing them. The interaction between the game's characters is easy to hear with this unit. When you can hear all the action better, you can play smarter. The microphone lets the leader interact with his team through a high-quality voice chat. The Sony PS3 stereo headset displays its status on-screen for optimum control. When the audio is not needed, it is easily turned off with a single tap or slide of the finger. Long gaming sessions are comfortable with this wireless gaming headset thanks to the soft over-sized ear pads. The pads are also breathable so your ears will stay cool while you play. You will hear the sounds of your game with crystal clarity while the large ear pads restrict those sounds to your ears only so your game play will not disturb others.
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(88 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation83%72 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 101 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Awesome Headset for PS3

12/14/2012
By ,
Carthage, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I went back and forth to different headsets. I tried a few Turtle Beach headsets and they sounded great however I couldn't afford the wireless. The wires I didn't like too much so I decided to give this one a shot. Walmart just did a price drop, too. Right off, I was impressed. The installation of this unit is VERY simple. Plug the adapter into your USB port on the PS3(or Computer) Change your input and output sound settings...DONE! That's it! Then came the sound in actual gameplay. It was fantastic. Yes there were a few others I tried that sounded a bit better, but in my opinion, this headset was much more convenient. I can hear the enemy coming up behind me on Black Ops II most of the time. My PS3 is no where near my router and so far I have NEVER lost signal. I also listen to Pandora on my PC when I'm working around the house. The range is sufficient. Overall I am very satisfied with my purchase. I would say, for the price, this is the best headset for PS3.
Recommendations for improvement:
1. adjustable mic. This one only extends out a few inches and you cannot bend it into a position in front of your mouth.
2. Make a more attractive design. This doesn't bother me at all but I could see how some would not find this headset very appealing. Actually, I remember now that there's a new Pulse Headset out and it is much more attractive. However, the mic is built in to the ear piece. idk
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Really good headset

03/01/2012
By ,
Las vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These headphones are really good. I bought these because I didn't have any gaming headset. I used a cellphones Bluetooth before, yea I know. I got these 4 months ago and I have been very happy with them. They are very comfortable. The padding is very soft and feels good on your head. They are a lot more comfortable than my music headphones for sure. The bass is not to strong but It still sounds amazing, specially if you are playing games with great sound. On the left side you have the power on button, the sound volume, the Voice Chat volume and the retractable microphone. The voice chat sounds great once you play around with the headphone settings a little bit. The battery last about 5 to 6 hours which is pretty good for me. The headset does not interfere with the controller as some people are saying. I love the way they look, it matches my PS3 and well, overall they look really good. The quality is good but not great. They feel like if you drop them on hard floor they would brake and the retractable Microphone does feel flimsy, but if you truly know how to take care of your stuff, you shouldn't worry about them breaking. Overall I give this headphone a happy 4.5/5 and I recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Battlefield 3 (PS3)
4.3 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
Hauppauge Computer Works HD PVR Gaming Edition
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
PlayStation 3 320GB Uncharted 3 Bundle (PS3)
4.7 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
 
 
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

As a wife i love this

11/19/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband got this last night and we both love it he loves the sound and how it is wireless i love it bacause it blocks ALL the noise most only block out the convo but this blocks out the game sound as well so i can read while he is playing and only hear him talk love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Amazing Product!

10/21/2011
By ,
Columbus GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This headset is excellent buy, they are durable and have GREAT sound quality. Wrecks the other headsets i have used in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Pretty Darn Good

12/29/2013
By ,
Viera, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are pretty good. Great look, quality, and sound for the price (under $100) when compared to similar products. The only thing that someone purchasing may need to be aware of, is if you have a problem with getting a good connection or your PS3 starts slowing down or lagging, you may need a usb extension cable. Mine had problems causing my system to lag probably because of all the wireless signals close to the system. I added a usb extension and problem solve. Really great sound!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Acceptable

07/10/2013
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
for $100 i thought there would be seperate game/voice volume control. It has a simple slide to majority button but thats it. Its hard to get a good middle between game/voice which is annoying when playing FPS. I would recommend for value, it is wireless, uses the controller cord to charge, and is fairly comfortable to wear 4+ hours of play.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)
11/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome headset for the price, the slidders on the side of the headset has never given me any problems, the sound quality is perfect. It immerses me into the game, esp. for Black Ops and MW3. Anyone who writes a bad review just has no idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

excellent headset for gaming and movies

11/19/2013
By ,
orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is one of the best gift for holydays specialy when is comes from Sony
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Headset

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good headset
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Highly recommended for gamers and movie lovers!

12/30/2011
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting good quality seeing it is from Sony, but they really impressed me this time! The surround quality far exceeds expectations. The only downside is making sure you are more than ten feet from a wireless router or you will have interference. Overall it is better than any other headset in this price range. I highly recommend it!
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Just Change Channels on your Wireless router
Posted 03/20/2013
All you should have to do change the channel on your wifi and that should fix that issue, though you have to know how to access your router. Which is simple open a browser on a PC (or smartphone while using your home wifi) and enter http://192.168.1.1 then login (default passwords are usually admin/admin but you can google your model.s default username and password. This should solve any issues you have with interference, chance I am horribly mistaken, but I am a PC/Network Admin...though we don't have this issue at work o_O nor did it ever appear on any cert. exams. If I am mistaken well...At least you may have learned how to access your router's setup/config GUI and you can even install custom firmware. I did so I could have a command line rather than a GUI.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

These headset's are great for pro. and newbie

12/30/2013
By ,
Marietta Ga.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is true to the description. The sound has the true theater experience. Ability to turn surround sound up or down adds to the intensity of the game.
I gave this product four stars because the instructions were difficult to follow. It took two adults none gamers to figure out how to start/stop the microphone and headset. Hopefully it will be fun and
essential addition and improvement to our gamers way of play. So far, I am glad I made the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)
07/06/2012
By ,
Mishawaka, IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gaming headset for my husband. He loves it! He`s tried a few other brands & this is most definitly the best one he`s had. I do reccomend this. It is well worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Well made, good looking Headset

12/08/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grandson will love this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Great headset for gamers

07/25/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Blocks out outside sound perfectly and my wife can't hear the game I'm playing at all. I love using this headset when I'm gaming. The mic works great and the sound is better than ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)
12/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was siked up to buy this after watching the ps3 store commercials. I expected problems but not this bad.Lets make this clear i went to walmart for their return policy, only 15 days but still better then the game stores.i wont mention their names but no returns only credit with receipt only.If your lucky, but thats another story.
The design is ok once you see it in your hands.Closer inspection will easily tell you they dont adjust well.So they slip off your head often.They also lack a chat mute or chat volume control versus game noise.This is a very good feature if you were lucky enough to experience it before.
So i get em home .Installation was easy ( but you better have a suitable usb cord for charging. The one the system provided you stays handy for times like this) charging only took a couple of hours.But then.........After the second day the volume went down and couldnt be adjusted back up.I was like wow and before i knew it (Day 7) the entire volume, except the chat dissapeared.I always say you get what you payed for but i expected more for my money.I guess the value of a dollar doesnt carry well anymore.Ill try a different brand and let you know how that turns out.But remember people...return policy matters.And keep your receipt!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/10/2011
#gamerconsumer
This product has a chat mute as well as chat volume control. Chat mute is located where the power button is, just tap it. Chat volume control is on the back left side. It is a slider adjustment. The front left side has a game volume, or chat volume control. Keep it in the middle to have both at the same time. Hope you'll reconsider buying this product again. I've had mine for about 2 weeks and I love it. I just can't seem to figure out why people can't hear me when I talk.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Ok Headset

02/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a good headset for online gaming and chatting indeed very crisp sound no interruptions when playing and also captures sound very well. All though the problem with it (That I have) is that it died way too quickly. I tried to plug it in to charge because the battery died and it would not charge! I had this for almost 2 months and it died on me while i was gaming with my friends. It's a fair Headset but it just needs to last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Works with ps4

03/04/2014
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sounds good fits kind of big
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)
01/01/2012
By ,
springfeld mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this headset is the best for ps3 the sound is awsome great for your money if u got it i use it for nba and cod and u dont have to talk to lod but the mic is kinda short but that dont matter and the 7.1 surround sound is great but u can trun it off and on with the button on the top
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Excellent in using to avoid disturbing others!

06/28/2012
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my teenager daughter who "loves" surround sound while watching a movie. The noise level can be interfering to others when watching movies or playing a video game on tv; this solves the issue tremendously! Worked out for all! Would love to purchase a second one for myself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony Wireless Stereo Headset (PS3)

Not worth the price

12/28/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to exchange the first one and then the second one was exactly the same. They crackle and sound goes in and out. Many issues with this product for the price. It shouldn't be this expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next