Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tear Mender Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Tear Mender Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

The Tear Mender Adhesive provides a permanent bond or repair on clothes, leather, upholstery and more. This Fabric and Leather Adhesive, 6 oz, is non-toxic and is made of natural latex that is also acid free. This Fabric Adhesive is waterproof and UV resistant once it becomes dry. It can be used on indoor and outdoor items and is lasting and durable. The Tear Mender Adhesive comes in a convenient squeeze bottle for easy application. Use it on sporting equipment, home decorating projects and clothing. This Fabric and Leather Adhesive, 6 oz, will bond permanently to almost anything it can penetrate. Use this Fabric Adhesive for a permanent fix for materials that you need quickly repaired. After only three minutes after application, the bonded items will be wearable, and after 15 minutes they will be wash proof. The Tear Mender Adhesive is an smart choice for long-lasting repairs and bonds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation77%27 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Ruined my chair!

01/14/2014
By ,
CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leaves a tacky residue. Once you sit on it (and I waited a full day) it starts to look cloudy and peel from the corners. Then it keeps peeling off, just like rubber cement, except it doesn't come off in some places! So my chair now looks like it has balled rubber cement all over it and I can't get the rest off, so I have to throw the chair out.
DON'T BUY
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Awnings

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to glue awning fabric as seen in a YouTube video. It didn't work. It beaded up like water on wax paper. Wal-Mart did an excellent job getting me the product though.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Very good product

04/15/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product. I am very happy with the outcome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

GREAT PRODUCT. 55 YEARS, I HAVE BEEN USEING IT !!!

03/27/2014
By ,
CRESCENT CITY, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY PRIMARY USE OF TEAR MENDER , IS TO PUT IT ON ALL THE SEAMS AT THE END OF MY AMERICAN FLAG. I LIVE IN A WINDY LOCATION AND MY FLAGS LAST A LOT LONGER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive

05/29/2012
By ,
Northern Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product, capable of fastening a sole that has split on a shoe. Whether rubber, leather, works fantastic.
Been around for many years and still does the job!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Put back in stores!!!

09/25/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the best fabric mender on the market! I have used this product on a wide variety of fabrics and as long as it was a porous material I used it on, it has never let me down. My only complaint is that it is not found in stores anymore. Working as a supervisor for a big-box retailer myself, I understand the economics of why, but it works so well and lasts so long that you don't need to buy it very often. It would still be nice, however, if I could go to the store and get a new bottle instead of ordering it online as I do not want to wait for it or pay shipping so I guess I will try a new product that is available in the stores. So sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Fix a tear on car leather seat - it works!

11/13/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small tear in the leather passenger seat of my 2003 Mercedes S500. I placed a small amount of Tear Mender on the tear. The tear is holding up well and the mended area remains flexible. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Tear Mender is EXCELLENT!

03/07/2014
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Some friends bought a bottle of this for me years ago...and it lasted a long time. It's great for many things. I have used it to hem a pair of jeans, to repair upholstery on furniture, and to "tack" curtains up and keep them off the floor or away from a heat/AC vent. You will be surprised at the things you can use it for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

excellent product

08/13/2012
By ,
Norridgewock,ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. It has been used on leather and I highly recommend it. It has strength and is durable. We are so pleased with this, we ordered more! You get more for your money with ordering this through Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Mends almost anything

01/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband had a huge rip in his canvas boat cover and this fixed it in seconds. It also mended the leather strap on my purse. For those of you who are having problems with it working, try adding a little more and holding the fabric in the position you want it to mend for a few seconds.
Ladies a quick tip. I had a small run in my hose and I dabbed a little on the run and the run has stopped and I am still able to wear the hose.
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Holds well.

10/13/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product works well. I used it on my snowmobile seat. Make sure you tuck a denim patch behind the tear, then apply the product to the backside of the tear and to the denim patch and hold for a few minutes. Water proof and ready in 15 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

This product ruined my shirt

09/26/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did NOT dry clear. I had a tiny hole that I tried to repair in an off-white knit shirt. The shirt was still wearable, but I was afraid the small hole would get larger over time. So, I put a small drop of this adhesive on the inside of the shirt.
The product spread out as it soaked in to the fabric and now I have a brown spot the size of a dime on the front of my shirt.
The shirt is completely unwearable now. Don't waste your money on this awful product.
I should have known something would happen with the product didn't look like the one on the website. I assumed that the product was the same, only with an updated label on the bottle, but whatever it is Wal-Mart sent me, ruined my shirt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

worked well

11/06/2013
By ,
newtown, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worked well it leaves a rubbery scar on my leather chair but it stopped the rip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Would never spend the money again for this type of

01/13/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work !!!! A waste of $10.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

It simply did not work!

10/23/2012
By ,
Oneonta, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried using this product on a leather chair and I had no luck what so ever. I applied the glue repeatedly and it simply did not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Works great

10/03/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really worked well very pleased seals and dries quickly.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Received different product

04/06/2013
By ,
philadelphia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Same name but different brand. I ordered from Walmart instead of amazon because reviewers on amazon we receiving the same one I was shipped. It is still basically the same type of product expect the one I received dries white instead of clear. I was using it to fix a tear in leather sofa so it would of be better to be clear.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
philadelphia
Bish's original Tear Mender
Posted 04/11/2013
Well I did add a picture with my review but it didn't get posted for some reason, so you can know what I received its called " bish's original tear mender".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Did not work.

12/16/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All this product did was make a mess. Has not held up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Satisfied

11/15/2013
By ,
Auburn, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this to fix a tear in my pleather couch. It took some fanagling but I got it to work. It seems to hold together quickly. I even hair dried it to make sure it was dry. That was a few weeks ago and it's still together... and that's with 3 kids up and down on the couch. So it works great... they only thing is you can see the glue. It's not clear. I didn't go with all the "patch" adhesives because they didn't get great reviews like this one. I'm very happy that the rip is fixed and i would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Great Job and holds well

11/21/2013
By ,
Lathrup Village, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used on leather sofa arm and it was still a bit tacky after a couple of days, but it did hold and dried clear so there was no need to be concerned about matching the color as with other products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next