Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tear Mender Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Tear Mender Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

The Tear Mender Adhesive provides a permanent bond or repair on clothes, leather, upholstery and more. This Fabric and Leather Adhesive, 6 oz, is non-toxic and is made of natural latex that is also acid free. This Fabric Adhesive is waterproof and UV resistant once it becomes dry. It can be used on indoor and outdoor items and is lasting and durable. The Tear Mender Adhesive comes in a convenient squeeze bottle for easy application. Use it on sporting equipment, home decorating projects and clothing. This Fabric and Leather Adhesive, 6 oz, will bond permanently to almost anything it can penetrate. Use this Fabric Adhesive for a permanent fix for materials that you need quickly repaired. After only three minutes after application, the bonded items will be wearable, and after 15 minutes they will be wash proof. The Tear Mender Adhesive is an smart choice for long-lasting repairs and bonds.
Average Customer Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation77%34 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Ruined my chair!

01/14/2014
By ,
CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leaves a tacky residue. Once you sit on it (and I waited a full day) it starts to look cloudy and peel from the corners. Then it keeps peeling off, just like rubber cement, except it doesn't come off in some places! So my chair now looks like it has balled rubber cement all over it and I can't get the rest off, so I have to throw the chair out.
DON'T BUY
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Works good!

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used it for junky couch, works greaty for cheap repairing,
"Trust the bish".
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Tear Mender

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used Tear Mender to repair my pool cover. Several areas of the cover had separated at the stiching due to last winters heavy snow and ice. So far so good Tear mender was easy to apply and the cover looks like new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive

05/29/2012
By ,
Northern Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product, capable of fastening a sole that has split on a shoe. Whether rubber, leather, works fantastic.
Been around for many years and still does the job!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Awesome Results!

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing. I tore my fur coat. I knew if I took it to a professional or the designer showroom that manufactured the coat, it would be an expensive repair. So, I went out on a limb and tried this product based on consumer reviews. It seamlessly fixed my coat better than new. I know little something about sewing, so I took my time, bought a few things and went ahead with the repair. I definitely recommend this product. But, proceed with caution. Once it bonds, the seam cannot be undone. Good luck!
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Mends almost anything

01/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband had a huge rip in his canvas boat cover and this fixed it in seconds. It also mended the leather strap on my purse. For those of you who are having problems with it working, try adding a little more and holding the fabric in the position you want it to mend for a few seconds.
Ladies a quick tip. I had a small run in my hose and I dabbed a little on the run and the run has stopped and I am still able to wear the hose.
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Wrong product

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought it might work for repairing cat claw punctures in vinyl, but it isn't a filler, it's a glue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

GREAT PRODUCT. 55 YEARS, I HAVE BEEN USEING IT !!!

03/27/2014
By ,
CRESCENT CITY, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY PRIMARY USE OF TEAR MENDER , IS TO PUT IT ON ALL THE SEAMS AT THE END OF MY AMERICAN FLAG. I LIVE IN A WINDY LOCATION AND MY FLAGS LAST A LOT LONGER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

excellent product

08/13/2012
By ,
Norridgewock,ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. It has been used on leather and I highly recommend it. It has strength and is durable. We are so pleased with this, we ordered more! You get more for your money with ordering this through Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Put back in stores!!!

09/25/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the best fabric mender on the market! I have used this product on a wide variety of fabrics and as long as it was a porous material I used it on, it has never let me down. My only complaint is that it is not found in stores anymore. Working as a supervisor for a big-box retailer myself, I understand the economics of why, but it works so well and lasts so long that you don't need to buy it very often. It would still be nice, however, if I could go to the store and get a new bottle instead of ordering it online as I do not want to wait for it or pay shipping so I guess I will try a new product that is available in the stores. So sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elizabethton Tn
carpet / Jeans
Posted 05/16/2014
A few years ago a spark from the fireplace burnt a hole in my new Berber carpet--used Tear Mender, done a great job and still cannot tell where I cut the hole out and patched it with a scrap piece of the carpet I had saved. I Patch my husband Jeans that he wears when cleaning gutters mowing etc with it also.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Fix a tear on car leather seat - it works!

11/13/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small tear in the leather passenger seat of my 2003 Mercedes S500. I placed a small amount of Tear Mender on the tear. The tear is holding up well and the mended area remains flexible. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Does work

09/20/2014
By ,
CHICAGO,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just applied and wait.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Awnings

04/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to glue awning fabric as seen in a YouTube video. It didn't work. It beaded up like water on wax paper. Wal-Mart did an excellent job getting me the product though.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Pleasantly surprised, it really worked!

07/22/2014
By ,
Northern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, this glue is VERY drippy and messy and can be very difficult to work with as such. It is not a typical glue consistency, much more liquidy and because it contains latex, it kind of feels like a liquified rubber glove (NOT recommended for people with latex allergies, there is a warning on the bottle but not in the advertising before ordering). I wouldn't recommend it for all purposes, and I wouldn't use it on clothing, however... I have a huge suitcase that had a zipper torn away (the zipper was functional, just not attached to the suitcase any longer), I thought for sure the suitcase was a goner and it would've been a small fortune to have professionally repaired. Thought I would give this stuff a shot before tossing it -- I was very pleasantly surprised, it actually worked!!! It states it would be washable, though I don't have a need for washability so I can't speak to that aspect. But it did rescue my suitcase and I attempted to tear it away to see if it would come apart and it is still holding well. It does dry relatively clear, I used it on a dark color suitcase, something lighter you may see some of the residue but it mostly disappears. Depending on your purpose, I would definitely recommend this stuff for your heavy duty repairs. Just be prepared that it will be messy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Holds well.

10/13/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product works well. I used it on my snowmobile seat. Make sure you tuck a denim patch behind the tear, then apply the product to the backside of the tear and to the denim patch and hold for a few minutes. Water proof and ready in 15 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

It simply did not work!

10/23/2012
By ,
Oneonta, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried using this product on a leather chair and I had no luck what so ever. I applied the glue repeatedly and it simply did not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

Received different product

04/06/2013
By ,
philadelphia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Same name but different brand. I ordered from Walmart instead of amazon because reviewers on amazon we receiving the same one I was shipped. It is still basically the same type of product expect the one I received dries white instead of clear. I was using it to fix a tear in leather sofa so it would of be better to be clear.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
philadelphia
Bish's original Tear Mender
Posted 04/11/2013
Well I did add a picture with my review but it didn't get posted for some reason, so you can know what I received its called " bish's original tear mender".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

A very helpful product

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

This product ruined my shirt

09/26/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did NOT dry clear. I had a tiny hole that I tried to repair in an off-white knit shirt. The shirt was still wearable, but I was afraid the small hole would get larger over time. So, I put a small drop of this adhesive on the inside of the shirt.
The product spread out as it soaked in to the fabric and now I have a brown spot the size of a dime on the front of my shirt.
The shirt is completely unwearable now. Don't waste your money on this awful product.
I should have known something would happen with the product didn't look like the one on the website. I assumed that the product was the same, only with an updated label on the bottle, but whatever it is Wal-Mart sent me, ruined my shirt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive, 6 oz

worked well

11/06/2013
By ,
newtown, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worked well it leaves a rubbery scar on my leather chair but it stopped the rip.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next