Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Singer Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

The Singer 1512 Sewing Kit includes everything one needs to learn stitching. It is an ideal traveling companion for both sewers and beginners alike. This Singer beginners sewing kit has a 60-inch measuring tape, needle threader, 11 spools of 100 percent polyester thread, 10 hand needles, and 100 straight pins. Moreover, a sewing gauge helps you measure and stitch hems and a seam ripper removes stitches while the blue and white marking pencils help in easy stitching. Apart from these, you also have a thimble for safety, a tomato pin cushion to keep needles handy and a pair of 8-inch bent trimmer scissors. This travel sewing kit consists of 130 pieces in total which come organized in a reusable storage box. Featuring polyester thread in 11 assorted colors, the Singer 1512 Sewing Kit also makes a great gift for a child as a first sewing kit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%29 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Good Value

12/23/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There were a lot of items included. Overall, the value was there. However, I did not
realize the threat spools would be so small. I wanted thread for my sewing machine.
I chalked it up to my error and will keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

tiny thread spools ? made as if for small child

11/23/2012
By ,
boston, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
very unhappy when i opened package, your picture is very deceiving...i thought by the looks of the picture that the spools of thread, and pin holder were full size not MINI!! needed to use it as i had things i just had to put stitches in, and fix some buttons...the thread is cheap and continued to break as i used it..the seam ripper did not work i had to use small grooming scissors to open the seams to clean them up before re-stitching...i only fixed 3 items ..i will never buy something on line from walmart again. the scissors are lousy too. i can't believe i did not send it back ...i should have known better because a good spool of thread cost at least 2.50..............my fault for purchasing without knowing what i am getting......off to a fabric store to buy the proper things i need. i know this will not get posted but someone has to know how the picture is just not even close to the mini sizes of most of the product why don't you put "mini size thread,seam ripper and pin holder" and let people know that it is what it is, SMALL.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

great everthing needed for a beginner sewing kit

02/04/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tthis was great for my 14 year old granddaughter who is learning to sew.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Pink?

01/25/2014
By ,
Greenville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tiny thread spools are only good for hand sewing or mending. Which is fine for the value. The kit is pink not red.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Everything you need to start sewing!

01/12/2012
By ,
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit has everything you need to start sewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Square Sewing Basket, Geometric Dot Print
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Great for beginner

07/01/2012
By ,
VaBeach, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this sewing kit because it comes with quite a bit for a beginner sewer, without it being overwhelming. I only wish it had bigger spools of thread! But I've been able to get a lot of use out of a small spool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

nice little kit

12/19/2013
By ,
Carlisle, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice little kit
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Can't g wrong with "Singer"

12/13/2013
By ,
clearlake CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My ten year old grandaughter is just begininng to sew I got her her first sewing basket for Christmas and I think this will be the perfect starter kit for her.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Seems to have everything you need for a beginner

11/06/2013
By ,
pekin, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a gift for my granddaughter and I think this will work for her as she is just beginning to be interested in sewing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit
01/17/2012
By ,
chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have no complaints. sewing material cheaper than JoAnn fabrics
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

As pictured.

12/05/2013
By ,
newport, vt
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A simple beginner's kit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

False advertising

10/11/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product because I was looking for red scissors and a red cushion, instead it's pink, like I am little Princess Persephone who lives in a world with talking animals who do housework. I am very upset and will not shop online with Walmart again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit
11/29/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The pin cushion and tape measure in the kit that I got are PINK, not red. Hopefully, my son will be okay with that being that it was bought for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Made my grandgirls very happy!

08/10/2013
By ,
pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would have preferred the colors in the photo, but it came in the very popular pink and black which was no problem for my granddaughters who turned 7 and 4. It arrived long before the promised time which was very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Perfect for start

12/20/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very great value for the price more than happy with my purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Great product for a beginner

01/03/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for my 7 year old grand-daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

You Get What Tou Pay For

12/18/2012
By ,
landover, md
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The scissors and threader were flimsy. The needles were small and were only in one size. Two needles and a lot of the straight pins were bent.
This kit pales in comparison to a beginners sewing kit I bought a few years ago.
Would recommend spending a little more and buying another kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit

Just Wish I Had a good pair of

02/06/2013
By ,
Ottawa, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glasses. Just the oldness of me that I have a hard time threading needles, but I love this set. It is perfect to have chairside and ready to mend in an instant. Would recommend and buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit
12/21/2012
By ,
Woodland, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product ordered wasn't a reflection on WalMart, but just not very good overall quality. But you get what you pay for!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Beginner's Sewing Kit
11/03/2012
By ,
Ogden, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hoping this sewing kit came with an enclosing case, but was pleased with the amount of included accessories.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next