Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Mainstays Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

The Mainstays Corner Desk is an ideal addition to almost any home or office. This versatile piece provides ample surface space for a computer monitor, with a slide-out tray for a keyboard and mouse. It also comes with two lower adjustable shelves with room for books, documents, office supplies and other accessories. Available in multiple colors, this student corner desk has a space saving design that tucks neatly into corners, with a contemporary look that blends easily with almost any decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.597 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation73%105 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great for school

12/16/2012
By ,
Sedalia, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk for college since I would be doing my work online. This desk was great. Was easy to put together and was in my price range. It held everything I needed for school and helped me save space in my room. The adjustable shelfs are a major plus since I had some large size books.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great Desk for the price!

01/22/2013
By ,
Newark, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this many months ago and this desk is still great! As many have said there is a problem with the key board tray, if you apply constant pressure to it and use it 24/7 it is going to break. I had read the reviews before hand and knew this was a issue for some. After many months my keyboard tray did break but I had more than enough room on the top of the desk for my keyboard and mouse plus like a million other things. To avoid this issue try to not allow your hand to lay on the tray on either far corner of the tray, which is where the issues comes from.
Other than that I've had no problem with this desk and would certainly buy another if I was low on money and needed it.
This takes up very little room and allows for a ton of stuff to be stored around, on and in it.
This desk is well made and easy to put together and I had no problems with it at all.
This is a good desk for kids or adults who don't need a large desk for work or school. I would recommend this desk to anyone, young or old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

pleasantly surprised!

02/22/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk in 2006 when i moved to my first apartment and i had little money to work with. I didn't expect much for 50 bucks - but it was all i could afford at the time. I was pleasantly surprised to find that, now, in 2012 - this desk FINALLY fell apart! I put it together myself - with no problems (i was 22 at the time) and it has been moved to 3 different locations since being first assembled. It held up very well to - I was in school at the time and had MANY heavy books i stored and to this day the shelves had not bowed. -- but, When i say it fell apart, i mean, the slider the keyboard goes on - the screws came loose and it fell off - an easy quick fix - but now that i have a little more than 50 bucks to spend on a desk - i think i'll just give it a respectable burning for all the quality it has given me over the years! more then worth the money i spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

It's still standing

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The desk was easy to set up. It's a lot smaller than I thought it would be but it fits my television and my PS4. There isn't much room at the bottom for a PC. I kept the throw away pieces and put my PC sideways on them. I would invest in some cheap coasters to avoid ruining the paint. It looks good and it seems sturdy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

It got home in very horrible conditions...

07/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Desk came pealed from ever corner.. They should be more careful with their shipping... Very disappointed...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great desk for a small space,

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking little desk! I have very little space and it was a perfect fit. Goes great with your $20. Office chair. I wanted storage and the shelves underneath held everything perfectly with space left over. I stored the tower, router, file box, iPad, and paper shredder neatly and out of sight! Very easy to assemble and priced just right for a small budget as well. Very pleased with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Operator Error

02/23/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't see where A. it's a poor quality product, B. it falls apart quickly or C. it was hard to put together. I didn't have ANY problems putting it together AT ALL and I have to say I hardly even glanced at the directions. It's self-explanatory. It took me less than an hour. It looks, put together, exactly as it looks both online and on the package. The looks are definitely NOT deceiving. I don't see how it could fall apart easily or the slide out keyboard drawer would fall off unless you're pushing/pulling way too hard. I guess it's the perfect desk for an adult who knows how to treat furniture. I'm happy with it. And my husband is, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Corner Desk

06/22/2010
By ,
Newport News, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are not looking for a top of the line quality product but something that will do the job for the price this is what you need. This table doesn't take a lot of space and is easy to assemble. Is like everything if you take care of it, the product will do the job. I move a lot because my husband is military and I had to get rid of other tables but this one is so easy to take it apart and put it back together in just a matter of minutes. I absolutely love it. I am going to get another one for my husband to put it on the other corner of our room. I highly recomend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

It is worth the money!

07/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product today and I love it. I had a friend come over and build it for me, because it is a very heavy product, but I love I have not trouble with it what so ever. It is strong enough to hold a laptop, and my keyboard slider works just fine, and I am able to put a printer on the shelf. The packages came with two triangler pieces and they say to throw them away, but I am actually going to make them into shelves. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Cute Desk and Easy Set-up!

05/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this black corner desk by Mainstay from Walmart and procrastinated assembling it because I am not "gifted" in the area of assembly required items. However, as I sit at the desk now, I have no regrets about my purchase. I was able to put it together with relative ease from 2 - 5 am and I didn't have any leftover pieces! I was even able to attach the rollout keyboard - this desk raised my self-esteem! Don't skip out on using ALL of the nails to secure the black backing to the desk. AND please hammer the nails in STRAIGHT, otherwise they will poke out through the top of the desk - ask me how I know ; /
I underestimated how small the desk is. Since I use the top desk for my laptop and the rollout keyboard for writing, I would have liked more space at the top, but for the price I really can't complain. I was able to fit a picture frame, answering machine, pencil holder and modem box on the desk. Also, I wish there was enclosed storage or some type of drawers on the desk, but other than that, the desk fits in well with my new home office and I found a great leather bonded chair (another easy assembly) at OfficeMax on sale for $59 that works perfectly with this desk! Along with my beautiful bookcases from United Furniture, my new home office is complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Very disappointed in this horrible product

05/05/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this desk because I was renovating a small room in my house into an office. I needed a small corner desk that I could set my laptop on and this looked like it would be perfect. I read all of the reviews and fully understood that it was an inexpensive item and knew that it wasn't going to be a top of the line piece. However, I did expect that I would be able to put the desk together without it breaking into pieces! I couldn't even get the screws into the desk without the particle board falling off in huge chunks. I literally tried of the course of 3 days to get this desk together (and tried using wood glue in addition to the hardware provided). I never did get the desk together and honestly, even if I had, I guarantee it would have fallen over in the first week. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!. I've ordered many, many times from Walmart.com and never had an issue. Even though the desk is inexpensive, it's not worth your time and money!!! Stay Away!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

easy to put together!

04/10/2014
By ,
denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a great buy and so easy to put together!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Good product for a fair price.

01/10/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a small corner desk to put in my kid's room and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. The desk looks like it does in the picture and it was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great corner desk

10/05/2011
By ,
Lakewood, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item a few weeks ago for my new work from home job. I absolutely love it! Its a great desk for the price. It has just enough room for my computer on the top and the shelves can be used for extra storage. The only problem that I would can say should be changed is that considering its a computer desk, there should be perforated holes in the back to put your cords through if you choose to put your computer tower in one of the shelves. Also if there were to be a need for a printer then there is no holes to put the cords through for that.
I use this product every day for work and it is just what I needed. I put it together myself. I put it together in about an hour. The directions were pretty easy to follow. There was one step that was a little confusing but if I would have paid attention to the pre-drilled holes in the wood it wouldnt have been a problem :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Perfect for grad student/teacher with little space

04/30/2011
By ,
New Orleans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An old roommate gave it to me when she moved out. She had it for a year before me and I have had it for almost a year and a half. I will admit the cardboard backs on the shelfs are flimsy and ugly but they are against the wall. Also my printer does not fit on the shelves, but everything else does. Workspace is limited if doing a project but perfect for a laptop and speakers. A solid piece overall it has held up really well and I have no trouble with the slide tray. All in all a good no frills piece of furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Saves space!

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. I usually get the keyboard slide shelf wrong, but not this time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Neat

03/02/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my kids room and it's the perfect match. Delivery was fast, box was intact, all pieces were included. Took me about 30 minutes to put them both together. Great for small spaces and kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great desk for the money.

04/17/2014
By ,
Hamilton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what we were needing for the money. Easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Love It

12/22/2011
By ,
Berlin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to use as a tv stand in my bedroom. I needed the height and I love it. It is very nice looking and fits nicely in the corner. I gained extra space with the shelves below. It is just what I wanted. You can't get a tv stand for $50 dollars, it was very easy to put together, took maybe 1/2 an hour. I did not put the slide out keyboard tray on, but you could and set your dvd player on it. The only thing was the shelves aren't very deep but my vcr fits on it. So I couldn't be happier!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Not good one like seen on the website

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not happy at all I got two different product when I request the same product . The quality is very poor .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 135 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next