Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Mainstays Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

The Mainstays Corner Desk is an ideal addition to almost any home or office. This versatile piece provides ample surface space for a computer monitor, with a slide-out tray for a keyboard and mouse. It also comes with two lower adjustable shelves with room for books, documents, office supplies and other accessories. Available in multiple colors, this student corner desk has a space saving design that tucks neatly into corners, with a contemporary look that blends easily with almost any decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
52
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation74%118 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
52
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great for school

12/16/2012
By ,
Sedalia, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk for college since I would be doing my work online. This desk was great. Was easy to put together and was in my price range. It held everything I needed for school and helped me save space in my room. The adjustable shelfs are a major plus since I had some large size books.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great Desk for the price!

01/22/2013
By ,
Newark, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this many months ago and this desk is still great! As many have said there is a problem with the key board tray, if you apply constant pressure to it and use it 24/7 it is going to break. I had read the reviews before hand and knew this was a issue for some. After many months my keyboard tray did break but I had more than enough room on the top of the desk for my keyboard and mouse plus like a million other things. To avoid this issue try to not allow your hand to lay on the tray on either far corner of the tray, which is where the issues comes from.
Other than that I've had no problem with this desk and would certainly buy another if I was low on money and needed it.
This takes up very little room and allows for a ton of stuff to be stored around, on and in it.
This desk is well made and easy to put together and I had no problems with it at all.
This is a good desk for kids or adults who don't need a large desk for work or school. I would recommend this desk to anyone, young or old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

eh, you get whatcha pay for

05/12/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well as soon as we put it together , the sliding keyboard shelf broke. The screw just won't screw in. I tried to put the screw elsewhere but unless I buy a drill I can't get the screw through the wood. I tried to put some wood glue but there is not enough grip within the hole for the screw to cement it. The shelves are slimmer than I was expecting. I wiped down the desk and some of the color came off . It serves its purpose. It fits in the corner, room looks kinda cool , bought the matching 3 draw dressers with it. My main complaint is that it's a computer desk. I should be able to store the CPU in the desk but the shelves are to slim to face out the CPU and not wide enough to store CPU faced sideways. so I had to get a cart for the CPU which to me kinda defeated the purpose buying a computer desk. Now I look at the picture and don't see a CPU in the desk... the things you notice after the fact! lol!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

pleasantly surprised!

02/22/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this desk in 2006 when i moved to my first apartment and i had little money to work with. I didn't expect much for 50 bucks - but it was all i could afford at the time. I was pleasantly surprised to find that, now, in 2012 - this desk FINALLY fell apart! I put it together myself - with no problems (i was 22 at the time) and it has been moved to 3 different locations since being first assembled. It held up very well to - I was in school at the time and had MANY heavy books i stored and to this day the shelves had not bowed. -- but, When i say it fell apart, i mean, the slider the keyboard goes on - the screws came loose and it fell off - an easy quick fix - but now that i have a little more than 50 bucks to spend on a desk - i think i'll just give it a respectable burning for all the quality it has given me over the years! more then worth the money i spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Operator Error

02/23/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't see where A. it's a poor quality product, B. it falls apart quickly or C. it was hard to put together. I didn't have ANY problems putting it together AT ALL and I have to say I hardly even glanced at the directions. It's self-explanatory. It took me less than an hour. It looks, put together, exactly as it looks both online and on the package. The looks are definitely NOT deceiving. I don't see how it could fall apart easily or the slide out keyboard drawer would fall off unless you're pushing/pulling way too hard. I guess it's the perfect desk for an adult who knows how to treat furniture. I'm happy with it. And my husband is, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Corner Desk

06/22/2010
By ,
Newport News, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are not looking for a top of the line quality product but something that will do the job for the price this is what you need. This table doesn't take a lot of space and is easy to assemble. Is like everything if you take care of it, the product will do the job. I move a lot because my husband is military and I had to get rid of other tables but this one is so easy to take it apart and put it back together in just a matter of minutes. I absolutely love it. I am going to get another one for my husband to put it on the other corner of our room. I highly recomend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

It is worth the money!

07/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product today and I love it. I had a friend come over and build it for me, because it is a very heavy product, but I love I have not trouble with it what so ever. It is strong enough to hold a laptop, and my keyboard slider works just fine, and I am able to put a printer on the shelf. The packages came with two triangler pieces and they say to throw them away, but I am actually going to make them into shelves. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great desk for the money!

05/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does what we bought it for/ Doesn't take up much space. Great little desk!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Poor Quality

04/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently bought this product as a replacement item since my previous desk was worn out. The picture of the desk made it looked decent for the price. It wasn't hard to put together but it doesn't stay assembled. After I put it together and moved it to stand it up some of pieces were very loose and came apart. I was very frustrated and disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Good product for a fair price.

01/10/2011
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a small corner desk to put in my kid's room and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. The desk looks like it does in the picture and it was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Very disappointed in this horrible product

05/05/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this desk because I was renovating a small room in my house into an office. I needed a small corner desk that I could set my laptop on and this looked like it would be perfect. I read all of the reviews and fully understood that it was an inexpensive item and knew that it wasn't going to be a top of the line piece. However, I did expect that I would be able to put the desk together without it breaking into pieces! I couldn't even get the screws into the desk without the particle board falling off in huge chunks. I literally tried of the course of 3 days to get this desk together (and tried using wood glue in addition to the hardware provided). I never did get the desk together and honestly, even if I had, I guarantee it would have fallen over in the first week. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!. I've ordered many, many times from Walmart.com and never had an issue. Even though the desk is inexpensive, it's not worth your time and money!!! Stay Away!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Perfect for grad student/teacher with little space

04/30/2011
By ,
New Orleans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An old roommate gave it to me when she moved out. She had it for a year before me and I have had it for almost a year and a half. I will admit the cardboard backs on the shelfs are flimsy and ugly but they are against the wall. Also my printer does not fit on the shelves, but everything else does. Workspace is limited if doing a project but perfect for a laptop and speakers. A solid piece overall it has held up really well and I have no trouble with the slide tray. All in all a good no frills piece of furniture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great corner desk

10/05/2011
By ,
Lakewood, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item a few weeks ago for my new work from home job. I absolutely love it! Its a great desk for the price. It has just enough room for my computer on the top and the shelves can be used for extra storage. The only problem that I would can say should be changed is that considering its a computer desk, there should be perforated holes in the back to put your cords through if you choose to put your computer tower in one of the shelves. Also if there were to be a need for a printer then there is no holes to put the cords through for that.
I use this product every day for work and it is just what I needed. I put it together myself. I put it together in about an hour. The directions were pretty easy to follow. There was one step that was a little confusing but if I would have paid attention to the pre-drilled holes in the wood it wouldnt have been a problem :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Great desk for a small space,

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking little desk! I have very little space and it was a perfect fit. Goes great with your $20. Office chair. I wanted storage and the shelves underneath held everything perfectly with space left over. I stored the tower, router, file box, iPad, and paper shredder neatly and out of sight! Very easy to assemble and priced just right for a small budget as well. Very pleased with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Love It

12/22/2011
By ,
Berlin, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to use as a tv stand in my bedroom. I needed the height and I love it. It is very nice looking and fits nicely in the corner. I gained extra space with the shelves below. It is just what I wanted. You can't get a tv stand for $50 dollars, it was very easy to put together, took maybe 1/2 an hour. I did not put the slide out keyboard tray on, but you could and set your dvd player on it. The only thing was the shelves aren't very deep but my vcr fits on it. So I couldn't be happier!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Mainstay

09/16/2010
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product fit well in the corner of my sons room and has been perfect for doing his home work and using his lab top. Once we found the directtions at the bottom of the box it was really easy to set up it took us 20 min and the directions were easy to follow. I would purchase another one of these for the guest room. I like this desk and it looks really nice to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Perfect

09/07/2010
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 2 toddlers and a small (900sqft) house...so conserving space is always good for us. We needed a small corner desk for the living room and this work PERFECT. Its as solid as our old desk..which was pine I believe. It was easy to assemble (20 mins?) and I have no complaints...its was 44 dollars in store and worth every penny...rather buy this than a 300 dollar desk. I keep the mouse on the top of the desk with a large cushy mousepad and the keyboard on the slide out tray as there is not enough room for both if you use a large mouse pad like i do. as long as you dont use the slide-out keyboard tray to rest your arms and other belongings on that it wasnt intended for..IT WONT BREAK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Wasted Time and Money

02/16/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Though this product LOOKS great, several hours after I purchased it earlier today, it has found a permanent home in the dumpster. Before even getting the desk put together, the keyboard drawer hardware split off the particle board because the screws are large and have to be put on so close to the edge. This was such a waste of time and money. I would STRONGLY suggest looking elsewhere for a good, sturdy desk unless you just have $50 to throw away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Mainstay Corner Desk Black

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Mainstay corner desk, its sturdy and easy to assemble the size perfect for my monitor and desktop I even place my speaker both side. The shelf is adjustable according the height you want, enough room for the printer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Corner Desk, Black

Perfect Fit

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this item it was just what I wanted size and all the only thing I will say is it came scratched.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next