Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Garmin Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Thanks to Garmin Guidance 3.0, free lifetime traffic and map updates, advanced lane guidance and much more, the Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS provides a comprehensive navigation capabilities available. And at just 9mm, it's this portable GPS navigation system is compact and can be easily mounted. With its innovative speech recognition, you can control nuvi 3490LMT with your voice, allowing you to keep both hands on the wheel. Simply wake up nuvi with a customizable voice command and begin speaking menu options that are clearly displayed on the screen. You can also control the nuvi using its 4.3" glass touchscreen. The Garmin Guidance 3.0 guides to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. The Garmin touchscreen GPS comes preloaded with maps that feature 3D landmarks and terrain for North America. It also comes preloaded with more than 8 million points of interest (POIs) and offers the ability to add your own.
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%49 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Exceptional GPS exceeds all expectations!

12/29/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought a "refurbished" Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT that all reviews (written when the unit was first introduced) indicated was the best available. Apparently, it was originally returned for corrupt software issues. These were never corrected before the unit was offered for resale. I recommend never buying refurbished goods. Further research revealed that this unit has a history of problems not mentioned in any of the reviews I read. Unable to correct these issues, Garmin has dropped that model from its 2012 line. My research indicates that the best 4.3 "road-ready" GPS is now Garmin's Nuvi 3490LMT, which I purchased new. I have no problem with the "higher" price, considering the amount of time, effort, research, software programming and satellite acquisition software required for it's manufacture and continuing performance. It performs as well as I expected it to. I am very satisfied with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Best GPS Device on the market

06/13/2013
By ,
Monroeville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this one to give to my sister after buying one for myself in Jan 13.
Pros:
Free, lifetime map updates.
When you deviate from the route, rather than that annoying "recalculating", the voice just gives directions from the deviation.
Announces turns in plenty of time to execute the turn without having to make a sudden drastic maneuver.
Real time traffic updates are awesome (this is the only unit that doesn't include advertising). Recently a tunnel was closed in Pittsburgh just over the weekend, starting at 10pm on a Friday. I came through town at 10:50 pm, planning to just follow detour signs, but the Garmin told me there was a detour ahead and took me a different, much better way!
Paired my blackberry with it via bluetooth and can now use my phone handsfree!
When on a highway, shows a photo of the exit sign alongside the map view. Very helpful for ensuring that the exit is correct.
Cons
When entering an address, it predicts the town/state based on the street address, but for me it's often wrong. It's hard to get it to stop doing that. I'd rather just enter the whole address. (Need to read the manual to see if I can disable.)
Takes a long time (several hours) to update maps.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Works well -When it works

01/04/2013
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had this Garmin since Dec. 24, 2012. It is a great improvement in voice activated navigation - when it works. Issues so far ( freeze problems; directing me to take Off Ramp then go right back on ON Ramp; inoperative on/off function), required Garmin (I had to contact them already) to suggest a 'Master Reset' be done then a software update ( after 3 weeks?) So far it's too soon to say if the 'fix' has worked long term - 2 days - so far so good. This version has a lot of things to recommend it - if they can keep it working to specs. It's light, thin, great graphics, clear voice and easy voice recognition, very good traffic reports/ road closures, great customer service. This is my third Garmin. I upgrade for new technology. If the Master Reset woks long term I would rate this Garmin five star. Now how about a wireless model Garmin?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Does what it supposed to do

11/08/2013
By ,
08724
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it supposed to do, there is a learning curve. Software for updates is terrible, but there is more than one way to update.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Works great ! Very Functional

12/27/2011
By ,
Silicon Valley
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compared to OEM 06 Lexus GPS this is much more user friendly and the voice commands are outstanding! My only other unit was a cheap Nuvi 200 and it was about the same as my car's.
Traffic mode is spot on. The life time upgrades and free traffic are very nice features.
Only negative i can comment on; is the very very long time to down load map up dates 4 hours !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Bit high priced but good

03/01/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than the price which I will say "is worth it", The time it takes to download this maps unlike Tom Tom, is way, way longer. The features like voice recognition with just a key word (no touching the screen) is awesome. If you have a smartphone, you will also get weather and other. Bottom line I'm very happy with my investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

overall satisfied

02/18/2013
By ,
Panhandle FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this GPS in support of a vacation trip to ireland based on recommendation from CR. There were a few glitches on the way to getting it to work correctly. First, the registration and set up of the unit failed the first couple of times I tried but I eventually got it to work. Second, I had one initial experience in Ireland during which the unit was unable to calculate a route correctly, but after a full power down reset it seemed to correct itself and performed flawlessly after that. The voice feature is nice and allows substantial hand free operations; for instance I was able to locate and drive to a filling station in Dublin using only voice commands. An absolute must to successfully navigate to car drop off in Dublin. Overall very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Appears to be discontinued for 2013 do not wait

02/17/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am still learning how this unit works and how to use all of it's numerious features. Walmarts price is one of the lowest I could find for a new in the box unit and I have been pleased buying from them on line before. I could not find this unit listed in the 2013 line of Garmin models. This may be a close out price and was excellent compared to the original MSRP. A few local stores are selling it at a discount price of $349.00, $100 more than I payed. Several other local stores did carry it but are not getting new inventory for it. I upgraded from my older TOMTOM for the digital traffic. The digital HD signal is strong on the I-5 corridor as shown on the coverage map shown on the Garmin site and updates quickly as advertised by Garmin. I am disappointed that Garmin did not use a visual map of traffic similar to WSDOT. You have to be analytical with the information you hunt for on various traffic menu option ICONS. The voice recognition for the Bluetooth is lacking at best. I had to scramble quickly several times to stop it from dailing out to an incorrectly identified voice request. I feel this is a very good unit for the discounted price. I would not buy one for MSRP. If you want one with these features at this price you may need to buy it soon or end up paying for the much more expensive 5" models with the same features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

I like my Garmin!

11/11/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, Tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've found that some of the maps are not accurate even after updates.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Garmin Nuvi 3490LMT.

01/17/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used Garmin product for many years so this was to replace my 265WT, which is very good but I gave it away to my niece. The 3490LMT is better, faster and better resolution with glass screen. Boot up and acquiring signal is fast, calculating route is fast and no more voice say calculating route, traffic works fine.
I live in Southern California where traffic GPS is very helpful. I had no issues in registering, updating maps and all those sort of things, everything working good. The missing SW part in this model that No Screen Lock to secure your GPS as it used to be in prior models, which means anybody steal it and its their's. There is only one available voice for speaking street names, I tried download more but Garmin don't have good options for now. I would recommend it anyone looking for high end GPS, since Garmin web site showing newer models and they probably trying to clean out this model. Good Luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Should work as good for $

12/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit works fine, connects fast, bright good screen, recalculates fast.
After old Garmin this one shows too many numbers, old Garmin Nuvi 501 is more intuitive (user friendly).
Voice feature is marginal, understands basic commands (like "go home") , but not spoken addresses.
Overall, for $400 unit should work as it is. So I'm OK with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Very happy with the Garmin 3490LMT

12/30/2012
By ,
Plano, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my Garmin 3490LMT. It has most of the features I wanted, it is easy to use, connects quickly to the satellite, and the routes tend to coincide with the ones I would chose.
In retrospect, I might have considered the 3590LMT, which has a 5" screen, but I have no problems with viewing on the screen and there is an on screen button to increase the size of the map.
Initially I thought that Garmin sent the wrong DC charger/traffic cable for the car as it had a mini USB connection. I thought it should use the micro USB connection on the bottom of the unit. I learned from Garmin that the mounting bracket is required to be connected on the unit and that's where the mini USB connector is inserted.
With my misunderstanding of how DC charge was connected, I had contacted Walmart Customer Service (via email). They responded quickly and offered to help rectify the problem. I was very impressed with the Walmart Customer Service as they far exceeded my expectations on their responsiveness. I will definitely be looking at Walmart.com for future online purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Awesome GPS w/maps & traffic

01/21/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best of its class. This extremely thin GPS has everything I need. Lifetime maps free updates for me forever and traffic without commercials. It recently came down in price by nearly $100. Also has bluetooth to sync with phone for handsfree speaker phone operation and will read audio books which is awesome for long trips. Replaced a nuvi that was five years old with this model. I didn't have lifetime maps on the old nuvi, so there were times when I couldn't locate the address I needed due to the address being too new. Also annoying on the old nuvi was when stopping for gas en-route, the nuvi would constantly say "recalculating." This one doesn't do that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

very good graphic

07/19/2013
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the system. What could be improved is:
* When in plain map view, the traffic information should be provided in graphical from
* I was surprised that many streets have no information on speed limits (yet). It is easy to add that on the fly, however.
* When entering an address to locate, the system asks for the street number first, then street name. I find this highly annoying and would expect city first then street name, which would limit the street names a whole lot. At least the order of entries should be an option.
One thing that impressed me particularly was when driving on the interstate and passing an exit, it showed all the lanes but also a real picture. (It seems, however, to be an exception.)
It nicely turns on and off with the power supply being on and off (from the car)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Garmin different from old Tomtom

01/04/2013
By ,
freehold,nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My new gps was to replace my vintage Tomtom. Many cool features and easy update to maps. However difficult to change some parts of the trip program without fooling the computer by adding an intermediate stop to the trip. The touchscreen is sometimes too sensitive especially when typing in destinations unless the road is very smooth. Can't use a stylus since the screen must use heat sensitivity. Traffic sensitivity was spotty going up to New England. Lack of an included manual is a bother for those who need to refer to it while traveling. You can print one from the website. The office size page is cumbersome. Entering favorite locations is involved. All in all, I'll probably like it more with frequent use. Satellite location is quick and its ready to use very soon. Its nice to be able to scan the whole route quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Almost Perfect

08/11/2013
By ,
Abbeville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the bluetooth hooked up to my Icom bluetooth device on my hearing aides, this would be a perfect product.
The screen is easily read, the address lookup is almost intuitive, the satellite lockon is very fast, the poi find is excellent, the mini card reader is helpful, and I like the speed reading compared to the speed limit on the screen.
I am sure there are other features I have yet to discover. I purchased insurance I hope I never have to use, and I also purchased a European map I have yet to have the opportunity to try - but the portability of this device seems outstanding.
Ten times the value of my old GPS, but half the price I paid for it. What a find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Great product

04/06/2013
By ,
Ft. Polk, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Garmin my girlfriend brought me. The slim, sleek design is stylish and convenient. The screen is a nice size to view while driving. The whole functionality of this device is just awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic
04/19/2012
By ,
Canton, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this item for about two months. It seems to be an excellent product so far. The only complaint I have is it should have came with a dash mount also for the price it cost. Thats the reason I only give it 4 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Awesome GPS Unit

03/21/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the size, the lane assist, the portrait view for walking. It's awesome!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 3490LMT 4.3" Portable GPS w/ Lifetime Maps and Traffic
03/24/2013
By ,
Champaign, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I try to enter my house on the GPS, it can't find my house.
One time the exit to the highway was on the right, as was also clearly indicated on the the GPS screen. However, as I approached the exit (off-ramp), the voice kept telling me that the exit was on the left.
And almost all the time say the wrong side to arrive on the right side - for destination on left side.
Did you know Walmart.com return policy on GPS is only 15 days?
DON'T BUY IT you are not going to like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next