Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Garmin Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

With a big 5" touchscreen and more than 8 million points of interest (POIs) and spoken turn-by-turn directions, the Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS navigator makes driving fun again. Touch the screen to easily look up addresses and services and to be guided to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. The speed limit indicator of this Garmin GPS with lifetime map updates shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. With its "Where Am I?" emergency locator, you will know where your exact location is. The voice prompt GPS also comes preloaded with more than 8 million points of interest and offers the ability to add more places. Lane assist with junction view guides you to the correct lane for an approaching turn or exit, making unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate. The lane assist GPS realistically displays road signs and junctions on your route along with arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(422 Reviews) 307
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
109
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation93%392 out of 420reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
302 Questions | 482 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
109
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Outstanding Value

12/03/2011
By ,
Winston Salem NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this GPS. The 5" width makes it much easier to see. It almost instantly picks up all satellites when it is turned on. Routing is rapid. It also recalculates a new direction rapidly if you miss a turn. It is lightweight and worked great right out of the box. I updated the maps with no problems. Garmin has taken the guesswork out of doing it. ALso the Garmin 50LM is one of the latest models that Garmin has made. I almost forgot...the lane assist is REALLY great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+265points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

I Love it!!!

12/04/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first GPS unit and soon as i got it home i plugged it in to charge on my computer, Very Easy to update the unit!!! Once I unplugged it i had no problem at all Putting in my home information and a destination. I'd try a tomtom in the past and i fought trying to figure out how to program the thing. Garmin it was very quick and painless to figrue it out. I would defiantly recommend it to friends specially fro the price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+185points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Piece of junk!

12/19/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Garmin 50LM GPS on Black Friday 2011 to upgrade a 2+ year old Garmin that I was happy with but was just getting old and not worth paying for a map update. Plus I really wanted a 5" screen.
Outwardly, the 50LM looks great. Unfortunately, it was laggy and kept switching itself to GPS Simulator mode and getting stuck there. It wouldn't let me disable simulator mode in the setup screen. Updating the software didn't help, nor did several calls to Garmin. They said it's a common problem and they had no solution other than a series of resets which only worked a couple of times. I can't imagine the frustration if I had bought this as a gift instead of for myself. Garmin makes great products, but this one was a huge disappointment.
I ended up returning it and getting a 1450LMT for only $20 more. It's a far better GPS and the lifetime traffic was well worth the extra investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+168points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

For the money this unit is excellent

02/12/2012
By ,
Greeneville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently purchased the Nuvi 50LM from Walmart. Everything worked as expected. I did have a bit of a problem when I first connected the unit to my PC but a reboot fixed evrything. I read a lot of reviews and the 4... 1 star reviews for this item on the Walmart site have NO merit. I believe the users don't know how to down load the software. One person said the unit wouldn't turn on ... well, it does NOT come with the battery charged so you have to charge it before you can use it. Another said it locked up his computer .... did you try a reboot. Your computer most likely did not recognize the device the first time around. Sometimes that happens ... it was your computer not the Garmin. I could go on but let me summarize with this. The unit is great. The sound is good, the street names are pronounced funny at times but are understandable, the unit is dead on accurate, etc. Finally and most importantly it takes a long time to download the maps ... there is a lot of data and after they download, there is a long wait for the verify. Be patient, it is worth it .....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

wonderful gps

08/17/2012
By ,
boaz al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if u need a basic gps that has a huge screen then you have found it its got juction view which is wonderful becuse you can see the exit u need to get off on and it tells you what lane you need to be in. it speaks street names so u dont have to look at it to see what street you on my favorite feature and the reason why i bought it was city expoler it does cost extra to download the map you need i will explane if you dont know what this is lets say if u plan on going to new york city ok go to garmin find the city expoler maps section find new york download now you have a walking city guide to everything you wont or need it covers everything and tells the location and distance so if u need to get to anything in new york city find it on here what i love is if u need to find a place to eat u can located on this city expoler tap it you will bring up a triple aaa guide it will show reviews ,price,details of it if you like to travel and expoler new place then u have found the gps u need its woth the money
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates
05/11/2012
By ,
Englewood, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to replace the Garmin nuvi that was stolen out of my vehicle about six months ago. I absolutely loved the Garmin I had. I was so afraid I would never be able to find one that I would be that happy with. Boy, was I wrong.
I took my time and researched all the different types of GPS systems available. When I read the rave reviews from people that had purchased the "Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS with Lifetime MAP UPDATES," I knew this was the right one for me. Boy, was I right! I love this one more than the one I had stolen.
It is so easy to use! The big 5" screen makes a big difference. It is very fast to calculate a new route and I am so happy it doesn't say "recalculating" anymore like my other one. I love how the screen splits to show where to turn. It shows what the legal speed limit for the road your on and what speed you are traveling at. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Huge screen, satellite response, lifetime maps

12/12/2011
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using Garmin's for years now and this one is the best value so far. The screen is great compared to 3.5 inch models that I'm used to. It's almost like going HDTV compared to standard definition just because the overall screen size is so much larger.
It quickly recalculates when a turn is missed...way faster than any other navi I've had. Easy to use interface...the Nuvi 50LM doesn't have tools I'm used to though: no calculator, currency converter, etc. But to be honest I really didn't use those much and would rather pay less to get a larger screen and lifetime maps.
Plus some of the newer models like this one have a new feature that shows you exactly what lane to be in when on highways and such while navigating so there is much less chance to miss turns.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Love it!

12/03/2011
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first GPS-so far-I love it! Easy to use and easy to get started and just plain old easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Not what they use to be.

12/02/2011
By ,
Columbia SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have praised garmin for years, now it looks like they are going down hill.
My older units had removable batteries, these new ones do not. Once in a blue moon, it would lock up, and removing the battery was the only way to really reset it. What do I do now?
A lot of time, I just have the gps on just to see the surrounding streets, that way I learn the area.
Now in these new units, it no longer shows the names of those streets, I called garmin, they said that was a update that customers wanted! Tell me, who would ask for a gps that does not show the names???? They could have put that as a option in the how much detail to show, but no, even in high detail, no names. It does not even show the name of the street you are on, but will show the name of a up coming street, which is very distracting as it keeps flashing the next street name. I'm sorry Garmin, I can't say tell people how good you are anymore. ps, at least the unit will get you to your location, unlike the tomtom.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Santa Ana, CA
now it does have street names
Posted 10/23/2012
I just purchased mine. It does have street names.
0points
Customer Avatar
Well Pleased
Posted 06/01/2012
I have tried several gps system, in the past 2 months and gramin make the best gps system ever in my opinion. TomTom just doesnt compare, with garmin you get lots more plus I like the way that you can protect your device from anyone using it. My tomtom did not have this feature and it was cumberson to use.
Good work garmin
0points
Customer Avatar
Canaan, NH
don't understand your review
Posted 12/04/2011
Garmin car units have always had rechargeable, non-removable batteries. The handheld units are the only ones that you can do that with.
Garmins keep getting better - more functionality for less price. You can get a good unit for $99 now. My first Garmin for the car was $300 only 4 years ago - and there were NO map updates.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Franklin
Tough Decision
Posted 12/03/2011
I recently bought a tomtom XXL 550 TM. Nice 5 inch screen, lane assist, 2D/3D views but am probably going to return it. First it was very difficult to set up TomTom HOME on my laptop (I write search programs for databases). I took a few trips to places I know and programmed the destination as such. Each time I had to change the route, one time it actually had me turning away from the destination when we were about a half mile straght ahead. I am not sure I want to trust it with places I don't know. For now I will use the GPS from my smart phone despite the smaller display.
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

I like it!!

12/19/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 50 LM is the second garmin I have purchased. The first was a 350 five years ago. This one is so much better than the 350. I really like the instant on feature. There is no waiting for searching for a signal. I also like the 5" size. I purchased a new car and didn't order the built in GPS. I was able to velcro the unit perfectly above the radio and hide the cord down to the 12 v plug. It even announces red light camera's. I have made several trips with this unit and it is great. No problems yet. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Not as Good as you would think

08/27/2012
By ,
Sterling, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this model and used it on a trip to Chicago. Map updates were more difficult than a TomTom. Requires creating an account to a web site, then it download three different software modules that download updates for the device. No CD is included, you have to have an internet connection. When going off route the device has planned for you, it will take about 10-15 miles before the device figures out that it needs to re-route you. This device is is very laggy. The lane assistance is a good feature though. I recommend finding a device with live traffic updates. This device did not know that Wacker Drive in Chicago was under construction and ran us into a construction zone that was a dead ended/closed. I had to return this and get a TomTom that has Live Traffic updates over an antenna and Lifetime Map updates. It re-routes instantly and will be able to get the construction areas and traffic information on the fly and it was $10 less, only missing feature is the Lane assistance.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Good GPS

10/24/2013
By ,
Richmond, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was found that a lot of time was spent updating the maps after purchase. Whoever buys one of these needs to be aware that a major map update will need to be done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AUstin Tx
GPS Guarantee
Posted 12/13/2013
Is there a guarantee with the GPS I am inquiring about?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

GREAT PRODUCT

12/06/2011
By ,
bURLINGTON N C
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the gps on sale love the product clear voice on the turn by turn direction I like the 5 in screen.This is my secound Garmin product they keep getting better
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Awesome GPS for any traveler!!

01/23/2012
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Landed in TX and my older Nuvi I paid $350 for 4 years ago in Maine died....I am from KY, so Dallas ain't really like these parts. Well went into the local Walmart and bam there she was for $99.99 Not sure why the such a markup on-line but still just $99.99 at my Walmart as of 1/23/12.
Anyway, right out the box she started to save my life. My house is less than 5 year neighborhood and this GPS can find it....Awesome for $99.99 and Lifetime Maps you just cant pass that up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Fell short of expectations

12/31/2011
By ,
Phoenix Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Replaced an earlier model Garmin that gave good service for several years, but lacked turn-by-turn spoken street names and a map upgrade was $89. Purchased a 50LM and updated the maps as advised when I started the unit, and was required to register it as well. That process was not smooth.
The 50LM was advertized to provide turn-by-turn street names and it did not after testing it for a couple of days in several locations. Also discovered you need to spend $89 to get Canadian maps, when the 50LM was purchased for $99. A differet version is available elsewhere for $10 more, but not Wal-mart, that comes with Cdn maps. Decided to return the 50LM and ordered a 1350LMT, after seeing a friend's 1350LMT, which I know provides the spoken street names properly, includes Canadian maps, traffic updates, pedestrian mode, picture viewer and several other great features. The 50LM is a nice GPS, but limited functions compared to Magellan or Tom Tom for about the same price or a little less. Trusted Garmin would do what I expected, think the 1350LMT will meet expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Great product

05/30/2012
By ,
Copley, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this on a trip from N. Ohio to Memphis Tn. and it did not miss a beat. Not only advised of lane to be in and turns to make but shows lanes coming up and highlights the proper lane to move into about a mile before you need to make the turn.
I was amazed that estimated time of arrival at destination was accurate within about 2 min.
I would not hesitate to purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Decent GPS for the Price

08/16/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My older model is a 1300LM. This model has about the same interface. Things I like about are
1. the ease of setting waypoints. It may be the same with the older model, but I never figured it out with that one.
2. shows picture graphic of complicated intersections, and which lane you should be in.
3. lifetime map downloads. Garmin program allows you to register multiple gps's so I don't have to download separate software for each device I own.
4. the microSD slot allows for a memory slot to save routes, custom voices, and so forth. I don't use this, but it is nice to have the option.
As with all GPSs I own, this one sometimes suggests out of the way routes to get somewhere. Once you know the terrain, the ability to override the route with your own waypoints is essential. This one has it, so I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

waste of time

12/09/2011
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This could be an excellent product except for the poor quality control on the part of the manufacturer (no fault of Walmart). The unit performed well right out of the box, but failed after just a few minutes of operation. The unit stopped acquiring satelite signals. After spending half a day updating the software, maps and performing a master reset, all at the direction of the Garmin website, the unit remained in failure. Back to Walmart for a refund. This was my first and probably my last Garmin product. Would have been a great deal at $99.99 with the free shipping, if it actually worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

Great

02/03/2012
By ,
League City TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love the Garmin nuvi 50LM GPS with lifetime map updates. Would be lost without it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates

A Bit Of A Disappointment

11/14/2012
By ,
MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned many portable GPS Units including Magellan and Garmin. My last Garmin was over 4 years old and I figured with the new screen sizes available I would give this a shot. I purchased it last year during Black Friday (2011) for $99.00. A decent price with free lifetime updates how could that be bad.
I use the unit a lot so here is my good and bad...
Good
Nice Size Screen
Speaker Is Loud Enough To Hear Turn By Turn Instructions
Very Bright Display at Night (at 100%)
Signal Reception is Very Good
Bad
Takes To Long Boot (Start up) And Acquire GPS Satellites When You First Boot Up
Recalculation Takes To Long Compared To My Older Garmin/Magellan
Battery Life Is Terrible. It States Two Hour Battery Time. I Have Not Been Able To Get 30 Minutes On The Battery with The Display at 50% and Map with as Minimum Detail.
I don't know what happened when Garmin made this unit. Maybe it's a software issue as far as how the unit operates. My older units worked better than this. Maybe I received a bum unit? I cannot tell but I would look into other units before purchasing this one. Read and do some research. I hope this review will help...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 308 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next