Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Garmin Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Stay on track wherever you go with the Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS. With a 5" touchscreen, More than 6M Points of Interest vs. 8M POI's, and spoken turn-by-turn directions, this Garmin nuvi GPS navigator makes finding directions easier. This portable GPS navigator's intuitive interface greets you with two simple choices: "Where To?" and "View Map. " All you have to do to easily look up addresses and services and to be guided through your journey is simply touch the screen. With speed limit indicator, this Garmin nuvi GPS shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. Lane assist with junction view alerts you of an approaching turn or exit, whereas turn-by-turn directions help you reach your destination quickly and easily. The Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS with speed limit indicator displays road signs and junctions on your route along with arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(310 Reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
198
4 stars
78
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation92%285 out of 310reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
180 Questions | 309 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
198
4 stars
78
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

5"Screen Major +++

12/14/2011
By ,
South Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nuvii 50 was an upgrade for my older and still functioning Nuvii 360. It was time to upgrade the maps on the older unit and the cost of a new Nuvii on sale out weighted purchasing a map upgrade or spending a few more bucks to get a new unit on sale @ Wally World. The bigger screen is a major plus and it seems to respond much faster than the older unit. The only downside that I really had was loading the lifetime maps the first time..this takes almost 3-4 hours depending on the connection you have. My connection was via a wireless hotspot so it took a good 3 hours. So be forewarned when you go to load your maps the first time..do it when you have some free time. After that you are done and its works amazingly fast and perfect. There are a few changes from the older Nuvii's that you have to get used too but the newer changes make it much simpler to operate. Overall I am overjoyed with my purchase and was extremely glad that Walmart carried this model since it did save me a few bucks in the long run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Posted 12/02/2013
if you want lifetime maps, make sure you get the model with the 'LM' in it.. in this case, the Nuvii 50LM.. it only costs a little more.
0points
Customer Avatar
Pennsylvania
Love Garmin...
Posted 12/01/2012
Do they all come with free lifetime updates? My parents want a new GPS for the same reason you got yours, the update to their old one is almost as much as a new GPS. So I want this but want to know if the maps are free or if you eventually have to pay for them... Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Good GPS for the money

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this to replace a prior 3-year old Garmin, that started having trouble acquiring satellites. This one gets satellites fast. We like the split display when we are approaching a major highway exit, and it even shows what the exit sign looks like.
On the negative side: the instruction booklet is small and has no words-- it's all pictures, and was not at all clear. At a minimum, a "getting started" in English would have been useful. We had to log onto the website from our computer to get info about the device.
Someone in a review said the product did not come with a dashboard mount, so I ordered one when I ordered the device. But this was NOT true-- the device did come with a dashboard mount, so now I have to return it.
What one might want to order to go with it is: a USB cable and carrying case.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Simple to use, accurate most of the time

11/29/2013
By ,
Englewood, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought another model, the 40LM, but I had to write a review here after reading the complaints about the lack of Lifetime Maps. Duh? If the model number has LM after it, it comes with lifetime maps and a USB cable for updating. If it has a "t" in the model number, then it also comes with free traffic reports. Anyone who buys a product has the responsibility to do some basic research or shouldn't have a driver's license in the first place. Complaining that a GPS does not come with free lifetime map updates when it isn't advertised that way is like complaining that a 1 bedroom apartment doesn't have 2 bedrooms. Read the description!! Where does it say "comes with lifetime maps?"
Anyway, for $69 this is a steal. I just got the 40LM and am thinking of exchanging it for this budget model. Maps don't change that much, although often points of interest do because businesses close or change location. Heck, I'm still using my 3.5" Nuvi 260 that I bought over 6 years ago and that cost me about $300 and it did not come with free map updates. In any case, no GPS is perfect, but a Garmin GPS is easy to use, speaks the street names, and usually lasts for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Does not state RECALCULATING.

12/09/2012
By ,
New England
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a good unit and works perfectly right out of the box.
Large screen. Easy menu.
A good value for a US streets GPS.
No lifetime map updates.
Apparently no current/newer Garmins state the word RECALCULATING. Some/many must have complained to Garmin as this long time Garmin feature has been eliminated from all newer Garmins.
Unit does recalculate route but does so silently.
My extensive driving does require the spoken word RECALCULATNG if I do get off route. This is a feature that I require for my driving needs. Some do not care for this feature so this Garmin model would be fine.
The potential problem of not verbally stating the word RECALCULATING is that you could be off route for many streets making all sorts of turns and not even know you are off route unless you physically look at unit while driving. And even then you may not know why you are making all of these turns.
I returned this Garmin model 50 and purchased a Garmin Model 1490LMT that does state the word RECALCULATING.
If verbal recalculating is not a concern of yours this will make a fine GPS purchase.
Garmin 50 worked perfectly right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pinellas Park, Florida
Lifetime Maps
Posted 07/14/2013
I know this is old but to help others before they buy the wrong unit, make sure its a Nuvi 50LM. The LM stands for Lifetime Map updates. Sounds like this person bought the Nuvi 50.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Missing one key component

06/24/2013
By ,
Milton, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit comes with free lifetime map updates...but the box didn't include the cable one needs to connect the unit to your pc/laptop so you can get the map updates, and/or the "Dashboard", and/or the other features that are only available by connecting the unit to your pc and going online to Gamin. Was not informed/did not know that this key component was not included with the unit, and this cable is quite expensive. Unit works fine, but was quite frustrated to discover I'd have to make an additional cable purchase in order to get the "free" map updates - Garmin and WalMart, how is something "FREE" if I have to buy something to get it?????
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Beware of false Walmart advertising

06/25/2013
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The local add said "includes lifetime maps". This model did not include lifetime maps, so I returned it on the same day I picked it up. I never used it, and can't really rate the product itself. Map updates cost almost as much as buying a new unit. I would never buy one without lifetime map updates again, so I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Montana
Read description fully
Posted 12/05/2013
This device does NOT state it has free lifetime maps...you must purchase the same model but it will say 50LM (for Lifetime Maps). Just thought I would clarify that! Great device though...just buy the model that includes Lifetime maps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/01/2013
you were looking at the wrong model ---- i almost made the same error.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Garmin Nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

12/21/2012
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this GPS during Cyber Week and I have not regretted it since. I didn't need an instruction manual to get me using this GPS. It came partially charged, I just clicked on the start button and everything was just as simple as touching the screen and typing in information. I love the 5" screen! It came with an attachable mount which works perfect and I can position it just near my rear view mirror and take it off when I'm done. I appreciate all the information it gives me such as the speed limit, the amount of time it will take to get to my destination and the length in miles/feet til I'm there. Yes, I recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
south carolina
confusing item description
Posted 12/12/2013
Item specification and description leave out info on whether it has a mount and charger included. Must ask considering the price!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

No Lifetime Maps

11/26/2012
By ,
Vermont
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
According to the Garmin website, there are no lifetime map updates for the Garmen nuvi 50 5". This may make a difference for this otherwise nice GPS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Could not be happier with this product!

12/20/2012
By ,
Smyrna, Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This review is for the Garmin Nuvi 50 which I purchased
online on Cyber Monday from Walmart for $69.00. My
wife and I could not be happier with this product. For us
it is an updated 5 inch screen. At certain highway exits
it turns into a split screen (right side showing a picture
of the exit, signs and all). At certain intersections it
even warns of traffic light cameras with a chime and
small warning window. At most locations it shows you
the current speed limit, the speed at which you are
traveling at any given time, and shows your speed in
RED if you are over the limit. A complete lengthy
owners manual can be downloaded from Garmin
online from their web site which I did. Since its'
purchase I've ordered the friction (bean bag) dashboard
mount and the leather side entry case specifically
designed for the Garmin Nuvi 50 (also fits the Garmin
Nuvi 50 LM with lifetime maps) from Amazon and
couldn't be happier with those purchases also.
My old Garmin Nuvi 200 still works flawlessly
after four years which is why I stuck with a new
Garmin GPS unit. By the way my wife wants to
use it most of the time. Hope this helps if you're
undecided.
Gary
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Works great so far

12/12/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this gps for a little while so far, but it has performed great. I have tested it on a few long drives that I know well and it has performed really well. I have an older and smaller garmin which takes a really long time to acquire my location, but I am really pleased to say that so far this gps has never taken longer than a few seconds to locate my position. I really like the lane assist on the top left of the screen. It shows you the lanes as small arrows and the lane(s) that are white are the one's that you need to be in, and the grey one's are the lanes that you are not supposed to be in. The junction view is cool, but I don't find it as useful as the lane assist, because it is a larger display and takes longer to absorb the information. All in all, I would definitely recommend this to others especially for such a cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Best GPS out there.

06/03/2012
By ,
Dallas, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had another brand previous to the Garmin. Truckers recommended it. If there were 2 streets close together you could take the wrong street. The Garmin in better because it verbally tells you the name of the street you should turn on. (Less chance of accidents)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Great upgrade from my old Nuvi 225

06/30/2014
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to transfer ALL info from the old one using the Garmin App. I enjoy the larger screen and easier to read fonts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Nice big screen, easy to see, easy to use format

12/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very user-friendly device. Easy to get started, easy-to-see screen, works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Nice unit for the price

12/04/2013
By ,
Lancaster, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit online on Thanksgiving for $69 to replace my Tom Tom. My old unit has more options in the settings but this does come with lifetime maps in the lower 49 states only. You can purchase additional maps from other countries. The software to download from their website to update your unit is easy to use but make sure the usb cable is used for data transfer and not just charging. This has a nice large display and is simple to use. If you're looking for all the bells and whistles, this is not the unit. This is just a basic gps that will get the job done. By the way, this doesn't have an instruction booklet or a usb cable but when you download the software, there will be a booklet on your computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

The Garmin nuvi 50 GPS

11/12/2013
By ,
Sequim, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GPS has been a true life saver for me and the online service via WaMar t was superb
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

I love the Garmin and was able to figure it out.

12/14/2012
By ,
03079
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart did NOT have enough information with the product. I returned 3 items. The dash holder because Garmin came with a window bracket. I returned the auto charger because that also comes with the Garmin. I also had to return the carry pouch because they sent the wrong size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Gets You Where You Want to Go

12/28/2012
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice unit. No Protective screen so you have to purchase one... I bought for my husband and he likes the different views on the GPS.
It's loud enough and allows you to see your speed. It was more accurate than the unit I have.
This one gets me directly home vs the other one we have gets us close. Worth the money for 5' screen too
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Need a 12 voltage receptacle

11/27/2012
By ,
Worthington, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recieved this product through the mail because I odered online. For about $74.00 with tax included. When I recieved it I had no idea I needed a 12 voltage receptor which my car dosn't have and it didn't include other chargers with the package. Other then that the product was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

Great Buy

10/31/2013
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My GPS is my second bible dont go anywhere without it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS

A bit disappointed

12/28/2012
By ,
West Bloomfield, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't think this is a refurbished unit, but the info in it is a number of years old. It gets confused easily about where I am and what streets, etc. are around me. It misses most of the "newer" (within 3-4 years) stores and businesses when I search for specific points of interest. I'm sure it will keep me from getting lost, but it could be more accurate...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next