Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Garmin Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Start out for your destination and leave the navigating to the Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps. It easily looks up addresses and services and guides to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. The speed limit indicator of this portable GPS navigator shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. With its "Where Am I?" emergency locator, you always know your location. The Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps comes preloaded with more than eight million points of interest. With lane assist with junction view, there's no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. The Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" GPS guides you to the correct lane for an approaching turn or juncture, making unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
53
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation94%193 out of 206reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
140 Questions | 263 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
134
4 stars
53
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great upgrade

08/05/2014
By ,
Douglasville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this GPS to replace an old one we had for years. The Garmin nuvi 40LM is a great GPS. Not only do we have to never worry about paying for a map update, the nuvi 40LM is much faster than our old GPS. When changing routs it recalculates within seconds. The screen is clear and easy to see and the voice is easy to understand. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great product for the price

06/04/2014
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking around for a new Garmin because of outdated maps on the one I have. The price of this Garmin was cheaper than updating the maps on my original and the new one has lifetime map updates. Seems to be much the same as the old one in ease of use. I think it will fit my needs perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Second Garmin for me

05/23/2014
By ,
Glen Ellyn, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1st unit was the StreetPilot c330 purchased in 2006. It worked very well but is dying on me due to many falls and it is outdated.
Here is what I love about this Garmin PRICE! I have researched this same unit from best buy to amazon the savings is $50 plus. Their prices range $129 - $169 depending on where you look, and some are for refurbished product. Walmart online price is $79.98 brand new. Second, lifetime map updates.. the cost of one upgrade equals a unit, so another economic savings, my old unit always had to re-calculate because I didn't upgrade the maps, which brings up my next like..you don't hear re-calculating when you miss or decide to go another route. I also love the fact that the speed indicator is there, I was surprised what a nice feature that would be, and it helps When you go over the posted limit, your speed turns red.. one review I read mentioned this unit has traffic as well, this unit does not.
You can customize to a degree when you register your product online, another sweet thing is all you have to do is put in your email address and your Garmin is registered... I also like how once you enter your addresses, they get categorized for you. This unit offers a good amount for the money, you have to get to know it to appreciate the value. One con I have found already would be battery life...I charged it when I got it and the next day it seems to be just about out of juice. Overall the price and the ease of this Garmin nuvi makes me very happy with my choice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Worth the money

05/06/2013
By ,
Valdese, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Garmin was an upgrade from our previous model that got stolen. I will say that I was unsure of features that would be with it reading the material send with it, but once tried it was surprisingly good. It was just like my old one and came with all the needed accessories. But the great part that drove me crazy with the old one is that it does NOT say recalculating for every wrong turn or if I pull into a gas station or restaurant. It just gives you the next direction to get to where you are going. It did confuse me a little 2ce, because streets were marked wrong on sign not GPS and it did tell me to turn on a street that was right in front of me. But I figured it out. The other bonus is that when you are exiting the highway it gives a more detailed view of the exit so you know exactly what side and what lane to get into. I think that this was a very good choice compared to other expensive ones and probably has the same features. Very simple to program as long as you have satellite connection (outside). Haven't used map updates yet but hopefully that works without any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Does what we need with clearity and precision

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very old Garmin. Updated and upgraded. Very happy with choice.
Did find it cheaper, after I bought it on-line from Walmart. : (
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

An average GPS

02/25/2014
By ,
Marietta, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a pretty average GPS. Key features I like is it tells you which lanes to stay in on the freeway so you won't take the wrong exit or connector and the automatic reroute. What I don't like is that if you pull off road into plazas or a hospital and put in another destination it will say continue to a road but not tell you how to get to that road from the place you in. You will pretty much be guessing which way to go until you hit pavement and it reroute you if your wrong and that can get hectic with one ways and no left turns so you can do a lot of extra driving and extra rerouting. But in all it pretty accurate about getting you to your destination.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

A little difficult on start-up

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apparently, depending on how long it has been sitting on the shelf, the GPS may be received without any battery life. It can either be charged for 3-4 hours using your car battery, or 9-12 hours on the computer, using the enclosed mini USB port. I had anticipated being able to use the GPS immediately, right out of the box, but was disappointed that it first needed charging. When charged, it operates just fine. As an aside, I had called Garmin's Customer Service number when I had questions about not being able to use the GPS immediately, and the person that I spoke with was very polite and informative. Therefore, if you have problems or questions, call Garmin, as it would seem that they really want to be helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Easy setup and use

03/29/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product performs as advertised. Simple setup, simple download of updated maps, simple entry of addresses or latitudes/longitude positions. Voice directions preclude having to take eyes from road. Mounting that comes with device works well on my vehicle. I did buy alternative mount that turned out to be unnecessary. Easy to remove from vehicle when not in use, easy to remount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Easy to update

04/04/2014
By ,
Glenville, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older Nuvi GPS. It is user friendly, especially after previously using a Garmin product. I like having unlimited updates, and it's very easy to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great Buy!!

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great - so, glad I bought it. The voice is easy to understand. It doesn't say recalculate - but if you look at the screen you will see it recalculating. It recalculates very quickly. The suction cup is very sturdy and adheres well to the car window. Well worth the money. It also has points of interest - shopping, fuel and hotels - good for when you are on a trip. The only drawback was that I sometimes need to press the letters hard for the device to take them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Garmin Nuvi 40LM

08/20/2014
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had to use this once since I got it but so far has lived up to my expectations. I have not yet downloaded the lifetime maps so perhaps I'll update my review at a later date.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great value for money

11/19/2013
By ,
Texas today!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in the USA on vacation and bought this to assist us in finding our way about, getting in the right lane etc. We have a Tom Tom back in the UK and we like that but this product had better reviews on various websites. We found our way around with no problems whatever (in previous years we have had plenty of missed turnings etc). We think this is great value for money. Maybe not so functional as other more expensive units but it did the job for us perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Mailed it back for a new one. bad keyboard

07/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Still waiting for the new one in the mail
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

love it

08/18/2014
By ,
winter haven,fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great gps for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Loved my TomTom but this is soooo much better

08/14/2014
By ,
Dayville CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, directions are easy to understand and view on the screen. The voice is clear. I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Very helpful

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Helpful and easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

BE More like the Cell Phone

08/12/2014
By ,
Kissimmee,Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used this Portable Gps.Needs to do better.I try to take the short-cut to my distance.No good,my cell-phone did a better job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

A very helpful product

08/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product helps us on a daily basis in navigation. It works awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

User friendly

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked very well. So helpful in my travels. Easy to update.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

second garmin

08/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i update by buying a garmin with lifetime maps. I choose garmin because of the outstanding performance of my old one. I'm impressed with the ease of transferring files form old to new. i never leave home without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 165 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next