Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Garmin Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Start out for your destination and leave the navigating to the Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS navigator. It easily looks up addresses and services and guides to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. The speed limit indicator of this lane assist GPS shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. With its "Where Am I?" emergency locator, you always know your location. The Garmin GPS with lifetime map updates comes preloaded with more than 8 million points of interest. With lane assist with junction view, there's no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. The Garmin automotive GPS guides you to the correct lane for an approaching turn or exit, making unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate. It realistically displays road signs and junctions on your route along with arrows that indicate the proper lane for navigation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%119 out of 127reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
101 Questions | 195 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
37
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Easy setup and use

03/29/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product performs as advertised. Simple setup, simple download of updated maps, simple entry of addresses or latitudes/longitude positions. Voice directions preclude having to take eyes from road. Mounting that comes with device works well on my vehicle. I did buy alternative mount that turned out to be unnecessary. Easy to remove from vehicle when not in use, easy to remount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

An average GPS

02/25/2014
By ,
Marietta, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a pretty average GPS. Key features I like is it tells you which lanes to stay in on the freeway so you won't take the wrong exit or connector and the automatic reroute. What I don't like is that if you pull off road into plazas or a hospital and put in another destination it will say continue to a road but not tell you how to get to that road from the place you in. You will pretty much be guessing which way to go until you hit pavement and it reroute you if your wrong and that can get hectic with one ways and no left turns so you can do a lot of extra driving and extra rerouting. But in all it pretty accurate about getting you to your destination.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

great value

03/05/2014
By ,
Ann Arbor MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is clean, new and worked well out of the box. It is exactly as described and a welcome gift to our family. We feel much more safe when traveling out of town.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Easy to update

04/04/2014
By ,
Glenville, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older Nuvi GPS. It is user friendly, especially after previously using a Garmin product. I like having unlimited updates, and it's very easy to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Good general purpose GPS

03/31/2014
By ,
Newburgh, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced an older Garmin with 40LM to have Lifetime maps. It also has street names and touch screen as added features. I am pleased with it's fast response and reliability.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great value for money

11/19/2013
By ,
Texas today!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in the USA on vacation and bought this to assist us in finding our way about, getting in the right lane etc. We have a Tom Tom back in the UK and we like that but this product had better reviews on various websites. We found our way around with no problems whatever (in previous years we have had plenty of missed turnings etc). We think this is great value for money. Maybe not so functional as other more expensive units but it did the job for us perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Worth the money

05/06/2013
By ,
Valdese, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Garmin was an upgrade from our previous model that got stolen. I will say that I was unsure of features that would be with it reading the material send with it, but once tried it was surprisingly good. It was just like my old one and came with all the needed accessories. But the great part that drove me crazy with the old one is that it does NOT say recalculating for every wrong turn or if I pull into a gas station or restaurant. It just gives you the next direction to get to where you are going. It did confuse me a little 2ce, because streets were marked wrong on sign not GPS and it did tell me to turn on a street that was right in front of me. But I figured it out. The other bonus is that when you are exiting the highway it gives a more detailed view of the exit so you know exactly what side and what lane to get into. I think that this was a very good choice compared to other expensive ones and probably has the same features. Very simple to program as long as you have satellite connection (outside). Haven't used map updates yet but hopefully that works without any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS

03/01/2014
By ,
Wickliffe Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great clear sound for directions. Always updating maps at no charge. Can't beat it for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Garmin updated GPS

08/24/2012
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my new Garmin GPS. More options than my last one (purchased two years ago). Easy to use, easy to read, more volume (and volume control). Love being told the final address as I am approaching my destination instead of having to look at the menu and find the actual house number. Great buy. Good value for the money. And, Garmin is the most user-friendly of all the GPS's. Thanks, Garmin.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Lifetime maps is the way to go! Great product.

08/04/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful for the money. Lifetime Map updates can be done 4 times a year and purchased individually they run $79.99 So if over the life of your Garmin, you update your map twice, you have paid for the device. It is fairly easy to use sometimes it can get a little confusing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS

12/04/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Garmin and I really like the product. It's much more detailed oriented than my phone GPS or auto GPS. I like being able to get the big picture map as will as decreasing down to a detailed map. Also like the ability to identify restaurants and gas stations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS navigator.

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What did we ever do before these tremendous gadgets were around? This Garmin 40LM has lifetime maps included which really makes sense for any purchaser - as it costs not much more than downloading lifetime maps into my old Garmin nuvi 255W. The maps in that old GPS were 3 years old and it really got difficult when trying to navigate streets that have moved or don't exist any more. As for finding "points of interest" - they come and they go, so having current maps is a must. This device is quite simple to use and very similar to my old unit. There are larger receivers available but the 4.3" screen is quite adequate for me and easily manageable. It is the same size as my old 255W, which suited my needs quite well. DO NOT PURCHASE ANY GPS WITHOUT LIFETIME MAPS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

great gps

02/24/2014
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Service from shipping to pickup for this product was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

great product

12/02/2013
By ,
tampa fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older version of this GPS. It dose so much more than tell you where you are and how to get somewhere
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS for the money

11/04/2013
By ,
NNJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, updates already needed right out of the box, highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS for the price!!

09/18/2012
By ,
Central FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new GPS! There are so many neat features on it!! And one of my favorite things is that it doesn't say "re-calculating" when you miss a turn. It just guides you to the next turn or exit. I wish I would have gotten this a long time ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

More features than expected

06/30/2012
By ,
Dallas/Ft.Worth TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read just enough about it to know I wanted this GPS but was pleasantly surprised to find more good features that I was expecting.
The "red-light camera" warning is great. Now I only stop at red lights when there is a warning beep! No - just kidding! But it really is a neat feature. Great unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Very nice GPS item

03/25/2014
By ,
cincinnati,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Garmin came with lifetime updates for maps and works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

good gps

03/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no problems so far would recommend to others
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Price and quality are exceptional

09/27/2012
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used the GPS unit for trip to Gatlinberg, TN and took the back roads instead of the inter state. The unit quickly recalculated a new route. After returning home, I completed the registration and was prompted to update the unit's maps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next