Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Garmin Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Garmin Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Start out for your destination and leave the navigating to the Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps. It easily looks up addresses and services and guides to your destination with voice-prompted, turn-by-turn directions that speak street names. The speed limit indicator of this portable GPS navigator shows you how fast you can go on most major roads. With its "Where Am I?" emergency locator, you always know your location. The Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps comes preloaded with more than eight million points of interest. With lane assist with junction view, there's no more guessing which lane you need to be in to make an upcoming turn. The Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" GPS guides you to the correct lane for an approaching turn or juncture, making unfamiliar intersections and exits easy to navigate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
56
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%213 out of 228reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
144 Questions | 277 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
56
3 stars
8
2 stars
10
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great upgrade

08/05/2014
By ,
Douglasville, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this GPS to replace an old one we had for years. The Garmin nuvi 40LM is a great GPS. Not only do we have to never worry about paying for a map update, the nuvi 40LM is much faster than our old GPS. When changing routs it recalculates within seconds. The screen is clear and easy to see and the voice is easy to understand. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Worth the money

05/06/2013
By ,
Valdese, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Garmin was an upgrade from our previous model that got stolen. I will say that I was unsure of features that would be with it reading the material send with it, but once tried it was surprisingly good. It was just like my old one and came with all the needed accessories. But the great part that drove me crazy with the old one is that it does NOT say recalculating for every wrong turn or if I pull into a gas station or restaurant. It just gives you the next direction to get to where you are going. It did confuse me a little 2ce, because streets were marked wrong on sign not GPS and it did tell me to turn on a street that was right in front of me. But I figured it out. The other bonus is that when you are exiting the highway it gives a more detailed view of the exit so you know exactly what side and what lane to get into. I think that this was a very good choice compared to other expensive ones and probably has the same features. Very simple to program as long as you have satellite connection (outside). Haven't used map updates yet but hopefully that works without any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great product for the price

06/04/2014
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking around for a new Garmin because of outdated maps on the one I have. The price of this Garmin was cheaper than updating the maps on my original and the new one has lifetime map updates. Seems to be much the same as the old one in ease of use. I think it will fit my needs perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Not as expected.

09/29/2014
By ,
Phoenix AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thought i would be able to punch in a city and it would take best route. It requires an address I don't always have. I have put in coordinates and it said no match. I know it should be there because I was using a book to tell me where the place was. Points of interest should have included historic sites.
Motels choices usually told me what was behind me or the opposite direction I was going.
Gas stations settings were good. Using just the map was sometimes helpful. Did like when I had in a destination, I could see cross streets. Have not been able yet to investigate all the other features. I am sure they will be good.
My old GPS also! showed current time and how many miles to destination. A feature I really like. I did like the large speed limit and actual speed icon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Second Garmin for me

05/23/2014
By ,
Glen Ellyn, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1st unit was the StreetPilot c330 purchased in 2006. It worked very well but is dying on me due to many falls and it is outdated.
Here is what I love about this Garmin PRICE! I have researched this same unit from best buy to amazon the savings is $50 plus. Their prices range $129 - $169 depending on where you look, and some are for refurbished product. Walmart online price is $79.98 brand new. Second, lifetime map updates.. the cost of one upgrade equals a unit, so another economic savings, my old unit always had to re-calculate because I didn't upgrade the maps, which brings up my next like..you don't hear re-calculating when you miss or decide to go another route. I also love the fact that the speed indicator is there, I was surprised what a nice feature that would be, and it helps When you go over the posted limit, your speed turns red.. one review I read mentioned this unit has traffic as well, this unit does not.
You can customize to a degree when you register your product online, another sweet thing is all you have to do is put in your email address and your Garmin is registered... I also like how once you enter your addresses, they get categorized for you. This unit offers a good amount for the money, you have to get to know it to appreciate the value. One con I have found already would be battery life...I charged it when I got it and the next day it seems to be just about out of juice. Overall the price and the ease of this Garmin nuvi makes me very happy with my choice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

An average GPS

02/25/2014
By ,
Marietta, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a pretty average GPS. Key features I like is it tells you which lanes to stay in on the freeway so you won't take the wrong exit or connector and the automatic reroute. What I don't like is that if you pull off road into plazas or a hospital and put in another destination it will say continue to a road but not tell you how to get to that road from the place you in. You will pretty much be guessing which way to go until you hit pavement and it reroute you if your wrong and that can get hectic with one ways and no left turns so you can do a lot of extra driving and extra rerouting. But in all it pretty accurate about getting you to your destination.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Easy to update

04/04/2014
By ,
Glenville, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an older Nuvi GPS. It is user friendly, especially after previously using a Garmin product. I like having unlimited updates, and it's very easy to do.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Easy setup and use

03/29/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product performs as advertised. Simple setup, simple download of updated maps, simple entry of addresses or latitudes/longitude positions. Voice directions preclude having to take eyes from road. Mounting that comes with device works well on my vehicle. I did buy alternative mount that turned out to be unnecessary. Easy to remove from vehicle when not in use, easy to remount.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great value for money

11/19/2013
By ,
Texas today!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are in the USA on vacation and bought this to assist us in finding our way about, getting in the right lane etc. We have a Tom Tom back in the UK and we like that but this product had better reviews on various websites. We found our way around with no problems whatever (in previous years we have had plenty of missed turnings etc). We think this is great value for money. Maybe not so functional as other more expensive units but it did the job for us perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Does what we need with clearity and precision

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a very old Garmin. Updated and upgraded. Very happy with choice.
Did find it cheaper, after I bought it on-line from Walmart. : (
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Works Great

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have zero complaints about this transaction.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Garmin updated GPS

08/24/2012
By ,
Kingsport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my new Garmin GPS. More options than my last one (purchased two years ago). Easy to use, easy to read, more volume (and volume control). Love being told the final address as I am approaching my destination instead of having to look at the menu and find the actual house number. Great buy. Good value for the money. And, Garmin is the most user-friendly of all the GPS's. Thanks, Garmin.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Lifetime maps is the way to go! Great product.

08/04/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful for the money. Lifetime Map updates can be done 4 times a year and purchased individually they run $79.99 So if over the life of your Garmin, you update your map twice, you have paid for the device. It is fairly easy to use sometimes it can get a little confusing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS navigator.

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What did we ever do before these tremendous gadgets were around? This Garmin 40LM has lifetime maps included which really makes sense for any purchaser - as it costs not much more than downloading lifetime maps into my old Garmin nuvi 255W. The maps in that old GPS were 3 years old and it really got difficult when trying to navigate streets that have moved or don't exist any more. As for finding "points of interest" - they come and they go, so having current maps is a must. This device is quite simple to use and very similar to my old unit. There are larger receivers available but the 4.3" screen is quite adequate for me and easily manageable. It is the same size as my old 255W, which suited my needs quite well. DO NOT PURCHASE ANY GPS WITHOUT LIFETIME MAPS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Great GPS for the price!!

09/18/2012
By ,
Central FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new GPS! There are so many neat features on it!! And one of my favorite things is that it doesn't say "re-calculating" when you miss a turn. It just guides you to the next turn or exit. I wish I would have gotten this a long time ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

More features than expected

06/30/2012
By ,
Dallas/Ft.Worth TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read just enough about it to know I wanted this GPS but was pleasantly surprised to find more good features that I was expecting.
The "red-light camera" warning is great. Now I only stop at red lights when there is a warning beep! No - just kidding! But it really is a neat feature. Great unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Price and quality are exceptional

09/27/2012
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used the GPS unit for trip to Gatlinberg, TN and took the back roads instead of the inter state. The unit quickly recalculated a new route. After returning home, I completed the registration and was prompted to update the unit's maps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

great GPS

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always used Garmin brand GPSs. I'm satisfied with my new purchase because it's easy to use and understand. The quality seems durable too. And the price is reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

Looking forward to a long relationship

09/03/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used this in traffic yet? But, I can already tell you, after loading several addresses, that it's very user friendly. I've read the owner's manual. The GPS screen is large. The icons are large and very touch sensitive. This is much easier to use than the Magellan Roadmate. I purchased the Magellan as refurbished 4 years ago and it no longer works.
The user's manual said to charge it using the car battery. This was step 1. I was able to partially charge the battery via my computer because I went ahead to step 2. I was required to download the app Garmin Express in order to register my GPS. The download took approx 45 min. I was not able to download the entire US map because I don't have a memory card for this. I had the option to download a section of the US map.
I am looking forward to using this. It has a 3D map. For navigation, route preferences are faster time or shorter distance. Navigation also includes avoidances: u-turns, highways, toll roads, ferries, carpool lanes and unpaved roads. It also has the option to avoid some speed camera tickets by announcing your speed. This is way more sophisticated than the 4 yo Magellan I was using.
I had the option to purchase this as refurbished but I decided to not go that route this time. So, I paid more but I'm expecting this to last longer than 4 years. Walmart had the lowest price for this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Garmin nuvi 40LM 4.3" Portable GPS with Free Lifetime Maps

First time user of GPS

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product was easy to use and program. It was very helpful in helping us get to our destination. The voice of the GPS was in our primary language and very clear and easy to understand. The screen on the GPS is of an appropriate size and did not interfere with our driving. We will continue to use this devise as we will continue traveling to different parts of the country.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next