Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Watch your favorite Blu-ray movies in stunning high quality with the Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player. It plays Blu-ray discs in 1080p HD format for an entertainment experience of a lifetime. You can also stream video via the Vudu or Netflix network services directly to this Magnavox Blu-ray player. The streaming Blu-ray player comes with a built-in Wi-Fi connection that lets you connect to the internet and watch movies through online portals. The multi-format disc playback offered by the 1080p Blu-ray Disc Player lets you play almost all discs such as CDs/DVDs/Blu-ray Discs etc. It also features one SD memory card slot that lets you play movies from memory sticks directly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation55%42 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

GREAT FOR THE PRICE!!!

01/02/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased several Magnavox products from tv's, vcr's, dvd player's...etc. I have never had a problem out of
any of them! I decided to turn to them for a blu-ray. I decided to purchase this blu-ray, mainly for the Netflix but the picture is amazing and for the price, I have no complaints. I guess magnavox has a life long customer with this quality!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Great & works as advertised

12/12/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this over the weekend 12/10/2011 and it was a great deal for Blu-ray, WiFi built in and Netflicks, VUDU, and VUDU Apps. Store kept trying to ring it up for 79.00 but had a price drop tag of 68.00, so that's what I paid. I got it home. Hooked it up to my wireless network with no problems and did a speed test. It showed top speed and showed maximum resolution under VUDU (HDX - 1080p). Don't have a Netflicks account so can't comment on connection there. VUDU work wonderfully and Blu-ray-performance was excellent. I have no complaints and a steal for the price with those features (Blu-Ray, Built-in Wi-Fi, Netflicks, VUDU, Apps).
I would recommend to others..No idea why so many bad reviews. Works great for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Network Connectivity Issues

10/22/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon removing from packaging and first time setup, the unit found my SSID (router name) and just required the WEP key to connect to the wireless network. Upon completion of this, I was able to load Netflix and register the device. The system was then turned off, then back on minutes later. When the unit powered on, the device could no longer locate my router. After resetting the system, changing settings, using "Push Button", Auto (DHCP), and Manual attempts, still the device cannot locate my router.
The manual (online only) states that network issues are cause by failures in your router/modem. Hard to say that when I have a desktop (wired), 2 laptops (wireless) and a Wii (wireless) that have no problem finding or connecting to the router.
Customer support was fast, website stated they closed at 900pm EST, but was able to speak with someone at 904pm EST. Unfortunately, the representative was not knowledgeable about the system and "walked me through" a Auto setup per the manual, which still shows no router. Only suggestion was to unplug the device for 1 hour.
Have not tried the BluRay/DVD portion of the device, so no comment of this as of yet.
I am returning the device to the store, after waiting 50 minutes, the device did reset to "out of the box" status, found my router (wireless) and connected. Upon attempting to connect with Netflix, the system could not make a connection. The Wireless Setting Review states that it connected to my router, however it now has no signal, no channel, therefore no network.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+81points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Miami
You Tube
Posted 03/20/2012
Does this blu ray has youtube
0points
Customer Avatar
WON'T RESPOND OR PLAY ANYTHING
Posted 12/26/2011
I read every review for this product and tried to give this product the benefit of the doubt....bad idea....player easily connected to network...however, it would not respond to many buttons on the remote control or device, and if it did, it responded after SEVERAL seconds (major delay). On top of that, it would not play a disc...even a brand new one! The studio logo would come on and then go black! No matter what disc was in. I called customer service, and the representative was NO help. Just said I could talk to the warranty department if I wanted to. Could not answer a single question. I have worked with electronics for many years and am no idiot. This product was extremely disappointing and not worth the money or time of set up. It will be replaced immediately.
0points
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Change router's security setting to accummodate
Posted 12/18/2011
Wifi devices can vary widely for the types of security needed. If WEP was successively recognized once by your router with the push of a button then all connections thereafter would require a push of a button every time you wanted to connect to your network. Password protected entry is much more secured and is automaticallly loaded up by networked units (bluerays, a/v receivers, printers, printer servers et al) after being keyed in and saved. Sorry but the fault is not the machine. Antiviris security systems combined with more complex and varied wireless choices can prevent connection.
-1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Great buy for $68.00 and Netflix also works too.

10/30/2011
By ,
Moriarty,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10/30/11 -I don't understand the reviews people are putting on here this model does play netflix videos. I just bought one today and hooked it up, setup my wireless connection and logged into the netflix account. It will also play DVD+R's. My configuration is a HDMI going in to a 1080i 37 Sharp TV. I had to write this review because I think allot of people are buying the MBP5120 not the 5MBP5220 Magnavox. I know that Wal-mart had to do a price correction because the price was ringing up $98.00 instead of the advertised $68.00. Its a great buy for $68.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+30points
Review 5 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

IT works with Netflix's

11/02/2011
By ,
Forney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other reviews were bad for this, but I'm impressed. Bought November 1st and I paid $68 at the store and I connected to WI-FI and netflix immediately. Very happy, highly recommended..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Review 6 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Why have WiFi if you have to wire it in?

01/22/2012
By ,
Minot ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this player primarily for viewing movies on NetFlix. When I hooked it up and played a Blu Ray movie, the quality was beautiful. Then I connected to my wireless network and tried to watch a movie on NetFlix, it lost the connection about every 5 -7 minutes and had to be reloaded. It did reload from the same spot, but it took over two hours to watch a 90 minute movie. Very frustrating! I went online to the manual and discovered that the manufacturer recommends connecting to a wired LAN for streaming movies. What, then, is the point of having WiFi?? It doesn't have an internet browser, so all you can do on the network is view either NetFlix or Vudu, both of which require a wired connection. Very misleading - I'm returning it tomorrow.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 7 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player
12/17/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for its price and features primarily. As soon as I got it out of the box, hooked it up, and went through the set up, it played beautifully. I also have it wified to my internet and am happily watching streaming movies from netflix. It is a abit limited, but for my needs it is abolutely what I wanted for my bedroom. It plays regular dvd's of which I have a ton. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Good player, but weak wi-fi

01/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as an after Christmas present for my family. I was mostly intersted in Netflix and streaming videos. After many tries and purchasing additional routers to extend my signal I finally put the router in the same room with the unit and it works great. When you look at the available networks it will only pull up a couple of ones, then cannot connect if less than 4 bars. My laptop shows many more networks. So I think that the unit is not very strong as far as being able to pick up a wi-fi signal unless it is in the same room. We streamed a movie last night and it worked great. We lost cable due to high winds but then it picked up where it left off. So either put the router in the same room or wire directly and you'll be fine. Very good deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 9 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Good Player for the price

12/24/2011
By ,
Spencer, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got mine as a Christmas present from my wife. It's our first Blu-ray player, so I'm not sure how it stands up to other, more expensive units...
I got mine hooked up, connected to the internet, and watching MythBusters on Netflix all within 20 minutes... Very easy to set up. Most of that time was fiddling with typing on the on-screen keyboard, or waiting for the 5 or so minute software update to complete. Other than that, very streamline.
I don't know if this is a valid complaint or not, but it seems a bit slow when shuffling through Netflix, and in and out of certain Blu-ray menu options. Typing on the on-screen keyboard is annoying because you push the button to move, and it moves a half a second later. Quite an annoying little delay, but again, I don't have a more expensive unit to compare it to.
Overall, it was very easy to set up, but I think it may be a tad on the slow side.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Blu-Ray Player - Trust This Magnavox

12/18/2011
By ,
Santa Maria, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this about two months ago and it has been perfect from the moment I took it out of the box. I love the wi-fi connection. One less cable to worry about. So easy to set-up: Connect the HDMI to the TV, plug-in, put batteries in remote, auto-detected my home wi-fi, put in the password - done! Instantly surfing Vudu and Netflix, and they both work great. Signed into my Netflix account with no problem. Player works great with Blu-Ray and DVD. Awesome picture. Although this is a less expensive Magnavox brand, it is performing like a champ. My advice - don't be afraid of Magnavox. This device works!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 11 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Not sure about this player

01/26/2012
By ,
Harrisburg PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just got this player yesterday and have same problem as a few others I have to keep unplugging it to get my netflix back on keeps saying it cant connect when I'm wireless and my laptop and roku box downstairs all work fine. I'm going to box it up today and return and find something better. Too all those it works for your lucky lol I was not but i will say the set up was easy and disc play fine, but to keep unpluggin the unit is nuts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Help!

01/04/2012
By ,
Lockport, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Don't buy it for wireless Wifi! I bought 2, had them hooked up to Netflix for 2 days and then yesterday we woke up to "no signal can be found". I have tried EVERYTHING and cannot get them to see my router's signal again though my laptop sees it as does my daughter's iPod. I am not happy. We did not need new players. We wanted Netflix in our rooms. One of these was a gift for my daughter who wanted Netflix in her room for Christmas. I just spent another 2 hours working in this for nothing. I don't know how I will tell her I can't fix this. She is not going to accept that. Hundreds of dollars for these and new TVs for nothing! Thanks for the migraine Magnavox!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Picture quality wasn't great

03/12/2012
By ,
Festus, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture quality wasn't really good. I tried streaming, using dvd & blue ray discs which I have played before & know have a better quality than what was produces with this player. While streaming it kept freezing & I would have to restart the streaming process over & over to watch a movie. I ended up turning it off & streaming through the xbox which did great, I tried going back to this player & it had the same issues so I know it wasn't my internet. I took it back and traded it in for a better player. I may have just gotten a dud, but I wasn't happy with it. My xbox does a better job with streaming & playing dvds than this player did.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 14 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Cheap

04/01/2012
By ,
texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this blu ray for little over a year. The wi fi signal is not good at all. But our problem is while playing a movie on Netflix the whole blu ray just shuts off and come back on randomly. This just started recently. Called magnavox but they are no help!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

One of the better under $100 Wifi Blu-Ray Players

01/13/2013
By ,
Winchester, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK, so the bottom line here is functionality and value! I got this Magnavox unit on sale early last year for $48 and have been using it without any problems ever since! The Blu-Ray looks great on my run of the mill 37" Vizio, as does the Netflix when I stream a movie. Granted that the apps are a little slow loading and navigating, (seems when I read the reviews of most Wifi Blu-ray players under a $100 they all have slow connections) but once the movie gets loaded and playing, I never have any problems with it buffering. I have one other under $100 Blu-Ray, a Dynex, it won't stay connected, won't play half of the discs I put in it and the streaming apps never work right! I have none of those issues with the Magnavox AT ALL!!! I recently added a low end Phillips sound bar to the aforementioned setup and the audio the Magnavox sends out is great too! So, if you compare all the reviews of $100 and under units, this unit seems to be ahead of most, and I would concur! I have always had good luck with Magnavox products, and this little guy is just another example of that!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad

10/19/2012
By ,
ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this player for 1 year now and have never liked it. It won't play movies that have automatic playback, even if we've never played the movie before. It spins and spins the disk and takes forever to load, if it ever does. There's no way to tell if it's playing, paused, or what the player is doing since there is no view screen that tells you.
Don't buy, huge waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Pay a little more for a better product

01/02/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit was perfect, for about 4 hours. After that I constantly get network connection error, says my network is not available. I have to power down the unit several times when watching online movies because it will drop the connection and then show no signal, turn it off then back on, then it shows full signal!? Also there is a delay in the response from the remote to the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

Works OK

11/26/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Blue Ray Player work great for dvd and blue rays. The only problem I have is Netflix's, it only shows your instant queue. So you have to go on the internet to pick the movies you want to watch, and put them in your queue. Next, it states my internet connection is slow, so I might have irruptions when watch a movie, I did a speed test on my internet connection and it where it should be, and plus I used to watch Netflix's on my Wii and never I had a problem with the connection being slow. On Vudu it work well and looks great. The only I have disappointed is Netflix's. Overall its Ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 19 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

01/01/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i repeatedly have to go into network settings and run setup again and again, very frustrating. DOES NOT PLAY HOME MOVES AND PHOTOS VIA DVD+R DISC.
BUY A SAMSUNG INSTEAD, I HAVE ONE IN MY FAMILY ROOM FOR A YEAR NOW AND PLAYS ANYTHING THAT I PUT IN IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Magnavox MBP5210/F7 Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc Player

It's Okay So Far

12/26/2011
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to set up. Connected to home network without issues. The streaming and picture on Netflix are FANSTASTIC, but it didn't make it through whole movie. It was not an issue with the wi-fi network, nor the Netflix....it could only be an issue with the player itself. I had to turn off and reboot the blueray player in order to go back into Netflix successfully. I've never owned a blueray player that streams Netflix, so perhaps this is how they ALL are? Some reviewers indicated a price of $68 --- I paid $98.00. If it weren't for that, I would have given it 4 stars. I will take it back and try a different player while I have the chance. Only 15 days with Walmart to return for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next