Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Black & Decker Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Ideal for trimming weeds and other plant growth in your backyard, the Black & Decker Cordless String Trimmer is lightweight, easy to use and has padded grips for maximum comfort and usability. This Black & Decker trimmer comes with two battery packs, which can also be used in other Black & Decker 18V tools. It's great for edging and precision work, even when working with unruly hedges and weeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation85%94 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Great trimmer for Home Owner

05/31/2013
By ,
Avoca, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Black and Decker (B & D) battery operated trimmer. I had the original model from 10 years ago. Battery finally lost its life. I was skeptical when I was first advised to purchase this unit from a home center outlet. I was tired of jerking my shoulder out of socket with the gas trimmers, so I gave it a shot. Excellent buy. Push button operation.
The 2 batteries included are more than enough juice to take care of an average yard. I can get by with 1 battery, but get carried away sometimes. I recommended this to my Mom and she got one some time ago. She loves it. Perfect for those that want instant on and off.
Line automatically feeds when needed; extra plus. Light weight. Can be used as edger, but opted for the B & D electric corded edger. Much more efficient and power than this trimmer's feature.
You will not be able to do major jobs with this unit though.
Would be nice if it came with a second charger. Batteries are interchangeable with other like B & D products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer
04/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very surprised at well this corldless worked. I have a typical sized yard but I had let much of it go a little crazy waiting for the rain to stop.I had some places in the back yard along the fence that had grass almost a foot and a half high. This trimmer had no problems handling the entire front yard down the outside of the fence on one battery that included the flower garden and edging. Next I took on the back yard that was real bad over most of it (the mower was having a hard time with the heighth). This trimmer did the inside of the fence line all around the A/C unit and over half of the back yard before the next battery died. It is battery powered so I knew it would run out at some point. Overall I don't regret buying this product. No cord to drag around and the Gas powered Weed Eater ($79) on did not work as well along with no mixing of gas. The only down side is the 6-9 hour charge time they need a speed charger but when I get it managable I don't see a problem getting everything done every time with battery power to spare. CONDITION THE BATTERY THE WAY THE TELL YOU or it will not last long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Great for small city lot

04/10/2012
By ,
minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, remember this is a battery operated item. It will not run forever without recharging the battery. Battery life is acceptable if you "condition" the battery like the manufacture suggests. I get 15 minutes of run time from one battery. Plenty to do my small size city lot. Automatic line feed system works good. Replacement spools are expensive in my opinion. Very pleased with product, just don't expect more then the battery is capable of. There are several other tools available that use the same battery, but I am not sure if they can be purchased bare, without the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer
04/16/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase of the black and decker 18V cordless string trimmer and highly recommend it for the typical yardwork use. We have a large lot with lots of weedeating to do around the fencing, storage shed, flower beds and a water pond. I have been able to accomplish this task without using the second battery. It is lightweight yet has enough power to knock down the toughest of weeds. I especially like the adjustable handle. It is comfortable for both my husband and I to use it even though there is a foot difference in our height.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Excellent product

04/19/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 67 year old woman so needed something light enough for me but with the power to cut through big mature weeds and tree seedlings around fence lines of our horse farm. This trimmer surpassed my expectations. Cutting this heavy stuff the battery lasts about 30 minutes of heavy constant trimming. With a charged back up battery I can finish my work all in one session.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+202points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Perfect for edging and trimming around my yard

05/16/2012
By ,
Jackson TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a yard that is 3/4 an acre. After reading the reviews, a put the first battery on charge and charged it while I slept. Got up in morning the light went off so assumed it was charged. Swtiched batteries and went to town for some local errands. Then came back home. Not expecting to finish, I put the first battery that was charged and headed out. Not only did it finish trimming my yard and edging along the sidewalk and driveway. I still had plenty of charge so went down the sidewalk and used it like a blower to clear the sidewalk too.
After 6 years thinking my yard was too big to consider a cordless edger, but tired of the mixing gas so was ready to give it a try. The two batteires, plus knowing I had 3rd battery with my drill, I figured I had nothing to loose plus 2 extra batteries to gain for my drill if I needed them for big home project.
The review saying the barery only last 10 minutes, thinking either a bad battery or person didn't let it charge all the way, cause it lasted little over 30 minutes for me, and still had a charge for more if I needed it.
The only downside is suppose to buy string refill cartidges, but hoping I can buy new line only and just restring it like I always did on gass weedeater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Not sure why I didn't get this sooner!

04/04/2014
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 56 year old woman and have 2 acres of yard to maintain. So most of the time I would skip the weed-eating and just trim as close to everything as I could with the lawn tractor. I received this battery operated weed eater with the two batteries just last week. Oh my, I actually had fun trimming around the trees, long driveway and around the house. I trimmed everything I saw. I'm sure the newness will wear off, but it's so darn nice to be able to just turn it on and go with it. It's no where near as heavy as the gas trimmer and I love it. Excellent deal and couldn't live without it now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

LOVE THIS TRIMMER!

05/05/2012
By ,
Boyertown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer because of the reviews and I have to add my praises for this item. I love the second battery pack and it was easy to put together and I was outside. This little trimmer has lots of power. I used it probably 10 minutes this afternoon and it still was going strong. Our weeds are high and it did a great job. I will be out there, again, tomorrow morning. I like the easy way the handle adjusts to anyone's height. It was a little challenge how to get it to run, but after I got outside and really looked at it, it was obvious that I needed to push the one button before the start button would move. I recommend this, highly. LOVE IT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Doesn't Last

04/18/2012
By ,
Clanton, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this trimmer in July 2010, and basically used lightly for 1.5 seasons. This year, the batteries won't hold a charge, the motor won't get up to speed, and the main on/off switch is
intermittent. The machine comes with a 2 year warranty, and that is fine and dandy if you live close to a B&D service center. For me, I have to drive 78 miles each way to get to one. I'm
now considering another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Lightweight, great trimmer. good battery duration

05/08/2013
By ,
Clovis, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Black and Decker NST2118 Cordless Nylon Line Trimmer / Edger
First Impressions:
I live in a typical suburban house on 1/5 acre. I wanted a lightweight, cordless trimmer to cut the weeds along the backyard fence and house. I purchased this one 6 May 2013.
The only difficulty I had assembling the NST2118 was pressing the guard onto the trimmer because it was a tight fit. I'm 6 feet tall and there is still 1 inch of adjustment available on the handle/shaft for a taller person and over 7 inches of adjustment the other way.
I charged the first battery overnight. The next day, I was able to trim the weeds and some grass with dirt packed around the roots in the front and back yards and alley with only 1 battery. The backyard fence and house are cinder-block, concrete and stucco so I did not try trimming around chain link. I also did not do any edging. When I finished, the battery was still going strong.
The only problem I had was about halfway through the job the nylon line started to unravel on the spool while still inside the auto-feeder. It took me a couple of minutes to remove the spool and tighten the line by cupping it in one hand and turning the spool with the other. It did NOT wrap around the base of the trimmer like other auto-feed trimmers I've read about.
Finally, keep in mind that most battery-powered tools will not be as powerful as corded ones. Still, the NST2118 cut through several 1/4 inch diameter weed stalks (although it took me about 30 seconds of trimming for each one).
Tips:
1. Follow the directions on battery care, charging and safety in the manual.
2. Store the batteries at "room temperature" (about 70-75 degrees Fahrenheit). Storing most types of batteries at extreme temperatures (outdoors, attic, garage, etc.) will reduce the battery lifetime.
3. Don't slam the bottom of the Automatic Feeder on the ground like the old style "bump feeders" because this could damage it.
Pros: Lightweight. Works great at trimming. Long battery charge for a typical residential lot.
Cons: Nylon line started to unravel on the spool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Batteries run down too fast

06/22/2012
By ,
FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Don't get me wrong, this is a great little weedwhacker for a small yard and personal use. The problem I have is getting about 20 minutes out of a battery and 9 hours of re-charging time. If you could quick charge a battery and have one on hand it would be great. I do like the "no gas" (no ethanol...!) and no power cord ability and will be pricing some more expensive and better quality products.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer
05/14/2012
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life is very poor, maybe 30 minutes with any decent power. Fortunately, this came with 2 batteries, so it was a good value. Unfortunately, it takes at least 8 hours to get the battery charged, so you're luck to do an hour of yard work and then you have to wait 8 hours to do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Very good string trimmer.

07/01/2012
By ,
Burnsville, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance is equal to similar size and weight gas trimmers and electric trimmers, but you don't have to drag cords around or mess with fuel and try to start the small 2-cycle engines. Winter storage is also not a problem, as with gas powered trimmers. One battery is more than enough for a a large yard at the lake cabin, and the backup battery is ready when you need it. I anticipate buying other lawn tools with the same battery pack and charger to enhance ease of use. The adjustable height is a very good feature but the lower handle ratchet adjustment will slip after a few minutes of use. Not a big problem but something they could fix.
I've had a lot of trimmers over the years, and really like this one best!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Not bad for small yards

05/18/2013
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is not a bad product for small yards. It's reasonably lightweight, and the batteries free you from a long, heavy cord. The adjustment for the handle and swivel head is easier than most operate. For most 80 by 100 foot residential lots this trimmer will get the job done.
Now for the bad. The electric motor is slightly underpowered. As a result, the job takes longer. Although it comes with two batteries, it takes nine hours each to charge them and if you have a large yard, mine is two and half acres, they simply don't last long enough to get the job done. With the 18 hours total charging time, it becomes two days before you can finish the job.
Overall the tremor is okay at $79.95 and would be an exceptional buy at $59.95.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Good product, so far

06/28/2012
By ,
Ocean County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: powerful; good battery life; includes 2 rechargeable batteries and charger.
Cons: None so far.
Although I now have a relatively small property compared to my previous home, I still have 250-275 feet of plant beds and sidewalks to edge on a regular basis. This machine is powerful enough to create sharp, deep edges on my planting beds (by holding the trimmer so the string rotates on the vertical plane), and does as good a job as my previous gasoline powered Echo string trimmer.
I've only used it 3 or 4 times so far, but so far, so good. Easy to control, balanced and comfortable to handle, and line self-feeds as needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer
04/24/2012
By ,
North East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is lightweight, portable, and easy to use. But it is not for heavy trimming. It is for maintaining an area (not too big). The battery must be at full charge, or it does not work well. My weeds were too tall, and it took twice to get them down, but once a week works well now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

3 1/2 stars. Could've been 4 to 5 stars

07/28/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall good trimmer/edger for typical yard, even with fence lines AND a long driveway, as long as you're not looking for absolute perfection that would take up some time. With cordless you gotta learn to be quick, just like the lawn pros. My only real gripe is the oh so cheap charger they give you. Guess they wanted to keep this under $80 to seem more like a deal. I would have gladly paid in the mid $80 range if it meant having a faster charger, anything faster than this. ANYTHING! A charge of 9 full hours for each battery is ridiculous. I thought people were kidding when they said it actually took 9 hours. No, they weren't kidding. I mean, the charger is as cheap as cheap can get. For those here(and elsewhere) that have complained about the batteries not charging anymore, it might actually be the charger that had gone bad. I mean, it's cheap, cheap, cheap.
The one great pro for this trimmer is the hassle free line. Auto-feeds every time. Never failed in that regard yet. The trimmer line replacement cost is inexpensive... $10 for a twin pack. Easy quick change from trim to edging(and back again) is a nice plus also. Nice lightweight feel too.
Here's hoping the cheap charger doesn't fail me. Other than that, I basically like this product.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

great for the price

05/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trimmer has some wonderful features, lightweight, easy to adjust, quiet to operate, and auto line feed. My battery times average 20 minutes per battery.It does great at maintaining an edge but really lacks the power to create a new one. It can do it but will take a few rounds of re-charging to do any long edges. The batteries will discharge as they sit around like the manual says, so charging right before use is best.I am happy with this purchase !!
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer

Great light weight weed eater.

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this weed eater. It's light weight. It stayed charged until I finished my front & back yard. I would strongly recommend this weed eater.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless String Trimmer
06/21/2012
By ,
Castalian Springs, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my gas powered trimmer with this cordless model. I was very impressed with the performance. The automatic feed works great and edger funtion comes in handy. The only drawback is the battery only last about 20 minutes but it comes with 2 batteries. Overall, a great product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next