Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danskin Now Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Danskin Now Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Get into a fun-filled fitness regime with the Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop. You can shape up your body by moving with every swish of the weighted fitness hoop. Burn extra calories, and tone your abs, core, and waist by undergoing a complete body workout. This exercise hula hoop is easy to assemble and disassemble for better portability. With a foam cushioned hoop for added comfort, the hula hoop tones your biceps, triceps, shoulders, thighs, hips, and glutes. It enhances your balance, stamina, and coordination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.253 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%74 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Not for the first time hooper!

12/08/2012
By ,
Bloomington, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price on this item is good. The construction of the individual sections is strong and the sections fit together well and hold up to the continual falling of the hoop by the first time hooper. It is next to impossible for a beginner to use this hoop without professional help. The dvd shows a former gymnast with superfirm abs using this hoop w/o a problem but my 56 y.o. bod is not up to her standards.
My husband was able to hoop with this hoop but only because he was strong enough to keep it by brute force!
If you are a novice or first time hooper we recommend checking bodyhoops.com for a lighter weight hoop that we were able to use the first time we tried it. Unless you are just unusually short or super slim the large size hoop from bodyhoops is a great choice for the first timer.
We have no connection to bodyhoops other than being a satisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

I love this hoop!

03/25/2012
By ,
cape may, nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to put together. The instructional video was helpful and informative. From my experience it is good to start with a few minutes the first couple of days and see how your waist feels. The third day i took a break because my waist felt a bit sore because as the hoop circles your waist it feels a bit like a massage. Now after having the hoop for about a three weeks i can use it daily without any problem. My waist feels and looks firmer! It's fun and easy, but you do need a good size area to use it indoors because it is a large hoop. also be careful using it around pets since it is heavy and could really give them a whack. (i have NOT hit my dog with it- but am always mindful of where she is when i am using it) Happy Hula!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
encinitas, ca
Thanks for the doggie tip
Posted 05/03/2013
I have 2 very exciteable chihuahuas, so I very much appreciate the tip about the dogs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Low Impact and Fun!

04/17/2012
By ,
Tulare, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have fibromyalgia and have been looking for something that was low impact, but would still give me a good workout. I desperately need core strength but just can't hang with too much weight lifting or sit ups due to chronic neck pain.
I am loving this Hula Hoop. I can actually hoop with it as opposed to the lighter cheapy versions. It was easily put together, and I love that I can take it apart to take with me if I travel. The price is very reasonable, as others hoops I have checked out cost more.
As the other reviewers mentioned, it is heavy when it drops and you do need to make sure you have enough space. And, my waist does hurt a little from the weight of it, but I think I'm really going to love it even more when I get used to it! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbus, GA
THANKS for you comment
Posted 06/08/2013
I have fibromyalgia as well and am looking to trim some belly fat. Thanks...this was helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

love it!

08/12/2013
By ,
louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was a little worried that 2.5 lbs would be too heavy for me, but it was fine. I did get a bruise above my hip when I first used it (and relearning how to use it, as it has been years since I had last hula hooped), but after a week or so of using it for about 10-15 minutes a day, I got used to it and it didn't hurt after that. You may have bruising and/or soreness if you haven't done anything like that for a while (or at all), but definitely take breaks if it gets to be too much for you...that's what I did until I got used to it. Also, you need a lot of room to use this hula hoop as well (since it's 39" in diameter, or a little over 3 feet)!
I don't know about this DVD everyone is mentioning, since there was no DVD in the box, just the hula hoop (although I didn't really mind since I don't usually watch those anyways). The hula hoop was really easy to put together (just snap in the pieces one by one), and the price and 2.5 lbs weight is great too for those of you who are just starting out weighted hula hoops. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Reading the reviews helped!

08/01/2012
By ,
Goose Creek, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having seen how much fun my mother-in-law was having with hula hooping, with weighted hula hoops, I couldn't help but want to try it out myself. Who doesn't want to feel like a kid again and get a workout at the same time? I don't buy things on a whim though. I research the best price and ALWAYS read the reviews, to see exactly what people like and don't like about the product, before purchasing it. I noticed on this particular hula hoop that a few people were having problems with their abs hurting after only a few times of using it. I bought the hula hoop with caution and I have to agree, I can only do the hula hoop in moderation for now but if I stay consist, I will get use to it. It's a ton of fun and I'm very satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop
11/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The foam material of which this is made is not heavy duty. When the hula hoop fell to the ground there was a gouge in the hoop after the first day of use. But it is still usable for sure. I got a lot of bruising around my waist from the weight of the hoop until I got used to it. A lighter weight might have been better. But it is fun to use overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
maryland
Posted 03/22/2013
all weighted hoops cause bruising on initial use
after using it for a while the body adjust to the weight and less bruising
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop
02/20/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the saying "no pain, no gain" is to be believed one must purchase this item!!! LOL I accidentally used the product for a few additional minutes than truly needed on the first night I received it, so when I tried to use it the second night, oh the pain! You don't realize that 2.5 lbs will have that kind of effect on your body but it does - TAKE MY WORD FOR IT!!! I am excited (once I get the original over use pit falls out of my system) to work on my entire workout! Start slow, build up and work the workout and I believe it will be just what I wanted. I cannot afford to lose weight per se but I do need to tone certain areas and I think this will do just the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Great Exercise Tool!

09/05/2012
By ,
Hamburg, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great exercise tool plus it is lots of fun! It was a snap to put together (pun intended!) and is much easier to use than a regular hula hoop. If you are serious about whittling your waist, buy this!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Great weight (2.5) for a beginner with the hula.

02/18/2013
By ,
Katy, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am having a fantastic time getting back into what I used to do as a girl 50+ years ago. Because of the weight, it is putting a little pressure on my stomach as I already had some stomach ulcers. Going to check with my doctor on this and pray she does not tell me to discontinue. I LOVE this --- and each time I hold it in place a little longer I give myself several "high fives". LOL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Fitness Hoop

01/20/2013
By ,
Northwood, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was having problems with my feet, so the treadmill and eliptical machine was out of the question for the time being; so I had seen one in a store and wondered if I still had it after all these years, and yes I did. A few minutes a day and lots of fun! Easy to assemble and can be taken apart when not in use. This isn't the toy one that's plastic - this is padded and evenly weighted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Good value

08/31/2012
By ,
norfolk,va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My fitness hoop arrived a day or so before the estimated due date. I tore open the box and assembled it without looking at the directions - no problems at all. I hadn't taken into account the size of the hoop and knocked over a few things on the first spin! I've not had any problems with it coming apart. Considering the weight, 2.5lbs, it is comfortable to use, with more than adequate padding. But this is not the hula hoop from your childhood. More than a couple of minutes will leave a mark. Good buy for beginners and a fun way to spice up your routines.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Hoola Hoop

05/13/2013
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read that one shouldn't use a hoop more than 2 lbs. I ordered it anyway. Even though the hoop had to be put together (it was in 6 pieces) I could feel how heavy this would be. Since it was such a good deal $$$$ wise, I thought if the cassette disc was good I would keep it just for the c.d. Well, it was approximately 7 minutes long and didn't really learn anything. One move on c.d. suggests putting the hoop onto your wrists. This is not a good idea if you don't want to do some damage to your wrists. If it's too much weight on the waist and hips, it will be too much weight and pressure on the wrists. I returned the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Love it

07/11/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is great it snapped together easily, it was affordable and fun to use! the only con i would say is that i have sensitive skin and bruise easily and where the joints hit my hip i have a huge bruise. It could use some extra padding or something to improve the connectors so that it doesn't hurt but i would still recommend the hoop i have so much fun using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Easy to assemble; nice colors

02/26/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great even for those folks who haven't hula hooped in quite a while. The fact that it's slightly weighted has worked out extremely well for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

a little better than meh

04/09/2013
By ,
chicago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i would recommend this with reservations. it is inexpensive and is as described but not the best fitness hoop out there. the pieces for mine fit together nicely and there are no gaps to pinch; also i had no soreness or bruising and this for an out of shape 60 something who bruises easily. for anyone willing to spend a little more and does not object to shipping charges i would suggest a hoop that is not quite as heavy - 1 - 1.5 lbs. - and not padded. i would also suggest reading about hoops and their usage (videos are helpful) before making a decision. different users have different fitting and usage tips and many suggest taking a class to see what hoop is best for you.
it does raise my heart beat and makes me sweat and burns calories that would no doubt otherwise turn to fat so not a total waste of time and money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop
02/17/2013
By ,
IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Hula Hoop is a great addition to my exercise routine. I used it for 10-15 minutes for the first time and I ended up having a sore and bruised hip. Now I move my feet around (like the instructions recommend) and it works fine. Time goes by fast when you watch TV as you hula hoop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop
02/12/2013
By ,
MDI, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product because I love to hula hoop and was excited to see one that was actually made specifically for exercising. The product was easily put together in less than a minute. It is a larger hula hoop so give yourself some space. This is not for beginners, I would suggest buying a light weight "children's" hoop along with it for practice. It takes a little bit more coordination and strength so practice first with the lighter hoop!!! I did not give a full five stars only because when using the product even though there is a lot of padding, I felt like I was bruising while hooping and sure enough I did get light bruising. I still recommend this product and have fun using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Great hula hoop for adults

05/07/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brings back memories of childhood. It's a fun way to get fit, and I'm hoping it will tone my middle. It comes with a dvd (which I haven't viewed yet). Only downside is that it is BIG so you need sufficient room without obstacles to use it (about 3' in every direction). For storage though it just leans up against a wall so it doesn't take up space. It comes apart for travel, which is another plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Fun fitness

02/27/2013
By ,
Manitou Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always loved hula hoops since a child, so when I heard about a weighted hoop for fitness I had to try it. The weights really make this a workout. It is a bit rough on my skin. I now have bruises around my waist now. But I have fun with it. Starting with 2.5 pounds is a good suggestion. I imagine the 5 pounds would be too much for me at this time. I am in pretty good shape with running and other aerobic activities, but a half hour of this hula hoop really works my waist, legs, back muscles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop

Sore to start.

03/25/2013
By ,
Owensville, Mo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When you first start using this you can become a little sore or bruised in your waist. I guess because it is weighted. I use to love to hulu hoop as a child and find this easy. It is also a great excercise to do while watching television. I would not recommend this for someone who is in their 60's or older because of the bruising protential.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next