Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.029 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(689 Reviews) 573
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
217
Customer Recommendation56%383 out of 689reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
552 Questions | 844 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
217
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT LOOKING PHONE, HOWEVER SOME BAD NEWS...

10/05/2011
By ,
Tulare, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just recently purchased a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone. I love the way it feels and how it looks compared to other phones Straight Talk offers. There is not a lot of accessories for the Samsung Galaxy Precedent in stores, However, the Precedent is the same as the Samsung Galaxy Prevail from Boost so cases and screen covers will fit.
BAD NEWS!... Unlike my previous Straight Talk phone that uses the Verizon network, the Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone uses the Sprint network. For me, Verizon has a much better coverage in my area. Needless to same, I am very disappointed with Sprints wireless coverage.
NOW THE REALLY BAD NEWS!... After a few days, the phone overheats and the phone constantly freezes. To get the phone working again, I have to remove and reinstall the battery. I suspect the battery is the issue and called Straight Talk for support after my new phone heated up and froze five times in one day. They are sending a new battery to see if that will eliminate the issue. If this does not resolve the issue, I will be sending my phone back for a full refund. I suggest you research other reviews before purchasing this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1,620points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
Alachua, FL
Ditto!
Posted 07/05/2013
I could have written the review. They did not send a battery, they sent me another one. The new phone has been doing it also.
0points
Customer Avatar
Straight Talk phones off Verizon?
Posted 07/14/2012
Are there any Straight Talk phones that run off Verizon? Especially any Smart Phones?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Ditto!
Posted 02/07/2012
I had the same problems with this phone! It CONSTANTLY froze, between 5-10 times each day. It had horrible reception, would not upload pictures to facebook, AND i had to FULLY CHARGE this phone TWICE day! I do not reccomend getting this phone, or an android thru straight talk! I have been a straight talk customer for 2 years, bought this phone to replace my other phone that had a problem with the speaker....sad to say, i'm returning this phone, and ordering my nokia 6790 from walmart.com!
+4points
Customer Avatar
Grand Forks,ND
THE NEW ANDROID PHONES ARE NOT FOR TRAVELING
Posted 01/11/2012
Let me say straight talk has had the best phones for the best money and have the
absolute best coverage/reception, Until they brought these androids in.....yes they are cool
phones an do everything from make cookies to ride a bike but once you leave the safe
haven of town they DO NOT WORK. There is no service so be forewarned, if you never
leave the comforts of your home town where it is registered, you will love these phones,
if you travel DO NOT BUY THESE AS THE PROVIDER IS SPRINT (not like all the other straight
talk phones that get signal from any tower) AND THEY WILL NOT WORK
+3points
Customer Avatar
NC
Sprint is a total deal breaker for me
Posted 10/17/2011
I like to think $45/mo/unlimited on a nice phone would be enough to try $print once more. I just was treated so badly for 8 years by $print non-Customer Service, in a area where I had no choice until Straight Talk came along. I'll have to wait until Straight Talk gets back in bed with Verizon for a sweet phone because $print is a deal breaker.
+6points
Customer Avatar
Tulare, CA
UPDATE: New battery did not help.
Posted 10/11/2011
Straight Talk sent me a new battery. I was very happy with respose time, however, the new battery id not resolve the issue. I am sending my phone back for a refund and returning to my old Straight Talk phone.
Side note: Another family member got the same Samsung Galaxy Precident phone around the same time I did. They have no problems with it.
+13points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/10/2011
Got the Cricket LG Optimus C over the weekend and wow am I impressed! The same great coverage we have come to expect from Cricket and the LG Optimus C has a much better battery life as compared with my Cricket Ascend (v1). The Optimus came with Adroid 2.2 and that is just fine. The LG skins are very cool and well organized. I may root and upgrade to CM7 later, but for now I don’t think that will be necessary.
0points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/08/2011
I had a Blackberry with the Sprint network for several years and have had the same poor coverage experience. I changed over to an Android with Cricket about a year ago after being mocked by my wife and her good Cricket coverage when I had no coverage on my Sprint BB. I was interested in ST because I had heard it might be using the Verison/ATT network. I have been unable to determine what the coverage will be for the ST Android in my area, so I may be upgrading both of our phone's to the latest Cricket LG Optimus C this week. The LG has good reviews, and the Cricket coverage is more clearly shown. The coverage map on the ST site is too small to read; "coverage is approximate."
+3points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+669points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No Adobe Flash Samsung Galaxy Precedent SCH-M828C

10/07/2011
By ,
Lugoff, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having had a Gmail account for a decade now, this is just another great usage for all the Google fans, sync your emails, float to wifi hotspots, use your own wireless, USB to your laptop or computer, 3G, works via app w/ my Sony Google TV ;) Apps to make your head spin and battery discard...grrr.. but fun. GPS, navigate, maps, locations. Almost endless possibility w/ caveat on Adobe Flash.
Pros:
All the stuff written on the box.
2 Gig SD in Box (just an appetizer)
Swype: create words by drawing through OSK (on screen keyboard)
Voice Dictation: Search/messaging/email; just say it and DICTATION is magically preformed for you. Huge plus if you have awkward thumbs or big fingers in general.
Big Cons:
You have to purchase the unlimited 45/30 refill, bummer since you can't stream from free Android compatible providers like Crackle.
For those wishing to make use of unlimited data from a Google Android app like "Crackle" or use "Google Earth", or use "QR Droid": you'll be stumped and hindered as the powers that be have limited the hardware/software, or by some contract have not made a Flash player installable. If your phone is USB'ed to your computer and you go to the Android Market Place, a compatibility warning like the one below for Adobe Flash 11, Google Earth, and QR Droid.
"This app is incompatible with your Mid-Tex Cellular Samsung SCH-M828C."
Be Smart and research your home address for nearby Cell towers!
Since this phone is a Sprint Network Phone, you can use the Antenna Search web page to locate the towers in your area. There exist also Cell Booster PCS/4G that can really pull a marginal signal and strengthen it. Google "Solid Signal" for a Cell Booster, and "Antenna Search" for a Map view of the towers/specs in a 4 mile radius of your entered address search. Excellent tools for a safe purchase of an excellent phone; no matter your choice. I've owned the phone 1 day, but purchased w/ confidence.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+327points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Dsm
Posted 03/20/2014
This little phone is just ok I am having trouble receiving calls when inside my office and home. I would not recommend it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Grove
area
Posted 01/02/2012
I'v had striaght talk for over a year now and service has been great but, Iwas wanting the new samsung galaxy.It says it will not work in my area, I read that someone had the same problem and drove somewhere to activate it. Will that work?
-1point
Customer Avatar
Pretty Good Phone!
Posted 11/30/2011
I bought this phone a few days ago and it works great! The only con would be that it's difficult to type unless you pay for the model with the qwerty keyboard and the camera is not very good but overall a pretty good phone. It has an easily accessed store to buy games, books, music etc...it comes with navigation software and a few other essentials. It works well and looks nice. I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't need a phone with a good camera. Having said that, the pics I've taken with this are ok and not terrible.
0points
Customer Avatar
Lugoff, SC
Less than a Lincoln Car Charger found at Checkout
Posted 10/14/2011
found at Checkout
Vivitar universal usb car charger Micro and Mini for Android
http://www.walmart.com/ip/FAST-TRACK-UNIVERSAL-USB-CAR-CHARGER/14869368
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Taking it back tomorrow

10/07/2011
By ,
LaFayette, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's extremely sensitive. You can't get ringtones from phonezoo. You can't save pictures from text messages. Or sounds for ringtones. You can download music and turn it into a ringtone. No speed dial. Doesn't work in my zip even though it says it will. My old nothing LG does more than this "smart" phone does. I don't see what all the hoopla is about. My husband and I both got one of these and after spending all day on the phone with customer service (not as bad as I've heard), we're taking them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MIDWEST
text image
Posted 10/14/2011
simply press and hold on image for approx 3 seconds for menu - save
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i just got this phone and so far it is a good phone alot of new things to do and find on this phone, it is alot better than the Straight Talk Samsung T528G GSM, i know alot of people have had alot of problems with that phone, but so far i good phone. hopefully it stays that way
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight Talk phones run on all the major carriers towers. It all depends on the make and model of the phone. Do your home work and know what you are buying before you select your phone. The Galaxy Precedent is the first Android phone offered by Straight Talk and yes, it does run on the Sprint network. So beware, make sure you have good coverage through Sprint in your area. I bought one of these phones fpr my sister a few weeks ago and she loves it. She has had no problems at all with her phone other than learning how to use all the features. I have a Nokia E7 Straight Talk phone which runs on the AT&T 3G Network. Have had it for 8 months and am very happy with it. Straight Talk is the best cell phone deal around, but do your research so you select a phone that uses a carrier with good coverage in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+920points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/09/2011
By ,
St. Paul, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased one of these and was quickly disappointed by the service. It is serviced by Sprint here, so the data end of the phone is limited. You can't surf the web or send pictures in text messages during a call. The phone does work well. Buttons on screen are small, but you get used to them. Going back to using a GSM.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, has its down sides

10/09/2011
By ,
Marion, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone overall is a great phone, and a cheap android for Straight Talk.. However the down side is that it dosent really compare to the latest and greatest of android phones, and will start to slow down, or get hot on trying to do "too Much". If your not a heavy smart phone user, and may occasionally want to check FaceBook or surf the web, this phone is for you.
Another huge downside, as the guy before me said: Sprints network.. Verizon's network is so much better, and this phone only works on Sprints Network..
So, To cap, if you have great sprint coverage, and are not a heavy smartphone user, this one is for you.
If you are coming from something like an iPhone (as i did) to it, and/or your area has VERY BAD Sprint coverage, dont get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not for me

10/09/2011
By ,
Atl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
it uses a sprint connection and that worked fine, but it has a automated lock feature.-couldn't get rid of it. to unlock phone you are supposed to press the power button. it is a terrible design!!! there were times that phone turned off (power button) instead of unlocking. and it locks within like 3 seconds of calling some one - so it was too much of an annoyance with me and a problem- if the lock button was alone I might not have sent it back. sometimes I would have to touch something a few times for the command to work. camera good. this phone is just not for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Memphis, TN
Posted 01/16/2012
There are app in the Android market to prevent the phone from locking, or to unlock it automatically when you hit the button to wake the phone (ALL smartphones sleep like this because your battery would be dead even faster than they die now.).
To make typing faster, I would suggest an app such as Swype or I9 Text, which allow you to spell the words without lift your finger from the phone. I've used Swype for years and would rather have it than a physical keyboard on the phone. Swype isn't available on the Android Market, but a simple web search should bring up the site.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atl
update
Posted 10/14/2011
update- forgot to mention that keypad is small. took forever to type text and my fingers are not big. the automatic lock feature made it nearly impossible to call a business customer service that had you pressing numbers during call (Ex: 1 for english, 2 spanish, etc.) cuz' while locked, cannot pull up key pad. if try to unlock by pressing power button it always hung up my call. my husband had same problem. you have to be way to concerned about phone locking during call- hate this phone. did send back. got LG qwery key pad- works great!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Lots of Features but no delivery

10/09/2011
By ,
Longview, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite the zip code verification that this phone would work in my area, I was able to get no voice service. I eventually did get the internet and text features working by having lunch on the second story of a restaurant and atempting initiation there. I LOVE straightalk and my old samsung, but was disappointed in this phone. Am trying a phone recommended by my friendly local electronics associate next, a nokia smartphone only available from walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This phone craves attention

10/10/2011
By ,
Nashville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has constant dialog boxes that require you to read the screen. To operate the "Handsfree" dialing system it requires 3 touches to make the call and one to hang it up. It requires fewer hand motions to just find the contact and dial the number. When accepting an incoming call one has to look at the screen, find an icon and slide that icon to the right. This can be very tricky and quite dangerous if you are changing lanes at the time. It is the same to hang up.
The phone is ok for reading the news and checking email. I had a hard time fat fingering the qwerty touchscreen keyboard but I got used to it and almost enjoy typing on it..
I will be taking this back ASAP to trade for a phone that is actually good for calling people. Please do not use this phone on the road. It requires too much attention to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 10/18/2011
Why are you playing with your phone AND driving? Glad I don't live near Nashville, I would hate for your incompetence be the death of me and/or my family....
+7points
Customer Avatar
"on the road"
Posted 10/18/2011
No one should be using the phone anyways if they are driving. That is very unsafe!
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Freezes, shuts itself off-horrible call reception.

10/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Switched to this phone from a reliable, simple Straighttalk LG. This is a TERRIBLE PHONE: When not frozen (at least 50% of the time), the Galaxy was busy turning itself off. Very slow processor meant that-even when functioning, it was always 1-2 seconds behind the commands. Constantly dropped calls. BUYER BEWARE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+660points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/11/2011
By ,
Winston Salem
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone seems like it would be great but the customer service from Straight Talk is as poor as they come. I had just purchased a $30 plan before buying the Android but because of problems with my old phone I was forced to make the purchase of a new one. I called Straight Talk to pay the difference and upgrade my service and they refused to help. I explained the issue and even explained that they were crazy for not attempting to help because I would be returning the phone and discontinuing my use of their service but they acted as though they are not in need of customers. From my experience in customer service you do everything possible to help out the customer. I was not asking for a handout because I wanted to pay the difference, even though $15 would not be a lot for them to eat to have a satisfied customer that would continue their years of service with them. Now they have lost 3 phones' services and I will be sure they are not affiliated with the company I replace them with.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
georgia
straight talk samsung galaxy precedent
Posted 12/24/2013
It started off working well, but the icon for the charger comes on and I don't even have it on the charger, at times I cant answer my phone ..keys get stuck...I had someone tell me I was not accepting incoming call and I don't have my phone set for that.I was gonna get the optimus just to keep my service but im seriously thinking of going to boost mobile. I don't know what smartphone actually works with no problem so im gonna do my research and check things out before I make that switch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone is great. Sprint's coverage is bad..

10/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to agree with a few others here that the phone itself is great. And if it was with a different carrier, I would still have it. But Sprint's coverage in my area is the pits, so I had to take it back to Walmart. If you're looking for an entry level Android based phone, I would highly recommend this one. It was very easy for me to pick up and figure out. I fell in love with it in the short time I had it. So if the Sprint prepaid network works in your area, and you're looking for a great smartphone, look at this one for sure. Oh, and do your research on Sprint's coverage. The Straight Talk map is too small to see, and Sprint's coverage maps have quite a few inaccuracies. And one more thing, ask the local Walmart sales person if they activate many Sprint phones in their store. If they say no because of poor coverage, don't buy the phone. If it doesn't work there, chances are in won't work well in your area. Now if Straight Talk would just offer this phone on their Verizon system, I'd buy two tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/13/2011
By ,
garfield nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad on battery and also poor on service bad signal all the time
not good for the money
not happy customer
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Misleading

10/13/2011
By ,
Petoskey, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Says it works in my area but no 3g boooooooooo rest of the phone is ok except for the dial pad which you have to slide to hang up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/13/2011
By ,
billerica, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone after checking to see if sprint worked in my area, it says it does, but I get no service in my house at all, only 1 bar outside. Been a loyal straightalk customer for a few years and have been satisfied until now. The battery is also pretty bad, tried turning of wireless and gps and it got a little better but not nearly as good as my last 2 straightalk phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 574 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next