Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.038 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(686 Reviews) 570
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
214
Customer Recommendation56%383 out of 686reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
551 Questions | 839 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
214
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+669points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+660points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/28/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone. Service is great, have not had any dropped calls or run out of the service area. Love the speaking aspect, works for searches and texting. Lots of apps to choose from and everthing works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Best Pre-paid Smart Phone yet !!!

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone and it does everything. It has thousands and thousands of apps too choose from (includeing Angery birds) & (pandora radio) & (myxer) && "YES" ALL OF THEM WORKK !!!! the touch screen is magnificent . the music player is ok but there are apps to make it better
it takes fantastic photos expecially in good lighting you cann also make Notification ringtons ((for txt messages)) and ringtones
the key board is fairly small butt you get use to it after a while. I RECOMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYBODY . IT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

very nice phone

12/25/2011
By ,
gray,maine 04039
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
although very pricey,its a great phone.fast,great service,easy to use.although texting is tricky.speak to text works good.easy access to apps.all around very happy.although im not in the sprint area from what they say.i get great reception and internet.check your local sprint coverage ,this is run by sprint towers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/02/2012
By ,
Corsicana,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT'S A GREAT PHONE,CAN'T SEEM TO PUT IT DOWN
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/23/2012
By ,
Corbin, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my daughter for Christmas...She loves it...She has not had any problems with it..It is an awesome phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

awesome phone

02/01/2012
By ,
Deming NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had thought about buying this phone for awhile now. I read reviews both good and bad. I was told this phone would not work in my area. But then I thought well if the phones dont work in my area why would my local walmart sell these phones? Well i noticed a few people here with the phone then i went to the sprint website put in my zip code and saw that there is service in my area. Im in a small little town (deming NM) and seeing as to how this service is not suppose to work here i have all 6 signal bars. The phone is great. I was having second thoughts about buying it cause of the bad reviews this phone was getting but I am happy that i decided to give it a try. Its a great phone so far. If my phone decides to mess up well ill be writing another review lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone!!!!

02/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone since December 24 and i have to say that this is the best phone ever!!!! It does everything a smartphone suppose to, it looks good, and i love the way it feels!!! but there is not alot of acceseries out there for it but if you go to the mall you can find some....it also works off the sprint network so i dont always have good signal in some areas but other then that it is a wonderful phone and i definitly recomend it...especialy for teenagers!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Nice phone. Decent service with good price.

02/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone. Works excellent. Service has a few dead spots. Great value all in all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome phone!

03/05/2012
By ,
Marion, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great phone for the money! EVERYTHING I could ask for with a pre paid plan!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Everthing expected and more!

04/03/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone ever. After charging and activating it, I started to try it out. My first thought was I had made a mistake. This was on Friday night. By Saturday morning I was using the voice to text to send texts, post on Facebook, and many other tasks. I was worried about small keyboards on smartphones. This one is a bit tricky, but not impossible to use once you get used to it. If you have trouble typing, try the voice to text option. It worked well enough for to speak into it "working on a 12 pack of stella artois right now" it got the phrase perfectly and I posted it to my Facebook. All my email accounts are now synced to it. I never miss an email now, just set it alert you when they come in. You can get plenty of apps from Google Play for this phone. Stick to apps from this source. You have less chance of getting any malicious apps. The camera is decent. You can snap a shot from where ever you are and upload to your social networking site. OK it's not an IPhone with it's Ios operating system. I let an IPhone user check my phone out, she said IPhone is the best but this Android phone is second best. For $129 for the phone and no contract for $45 a month, it is hard to beat. While you're at Walmart, get a 12 pack of Stella Artois too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Deal for iphone users

07/09/2012
By ,
New Port Richey, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use with the iphone is easy. All U need is the simms card. All apps work and instead of $45.oo extra a mo. , that's all it cost. I save over a hundred dollars w/two phones. Had trouble changing over, but customer care worked hard to resolve problem. Purchased ZTE for my wife and she loves it.
Recommend highly
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I can't believe how good this phone is!!!!

10/20/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking at the reviews of this phone, I was a little nervous to purchase it, but it was on sale for such a good price, I took the risk. This is my first smartphone, and I've now had it for a week, and somehow I can't imagine how I ever existed before having it? I don't know if I am lucky, or if everyone who has rated this phone is wrong, but knock on wood, I have not had one single problem with this phone, no overheating, no freezing, no nothing.. There are so many apps to pick from, and when your internal memory goes low, just transfer the apps to the 2GB sd card that comes with the phone, so easy. I love this little phone, and the fact that I got it for such a great price, makes me love it even more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Cell Phone Value

11/09/2012
By ,
Hallsville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Precedent is a great smart phone for the price. With the Straight Talk plan, my monthly costs have been almost cut in half.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/11/2012
By ,
WEST frankfort IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this new Smart Phone, I learn something New about it and how to use it everyday!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

grandaughter loves this item

11/19/2012
By ,
springfield illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this phone for my grandaughter so i can only relate to you what she tells me which is that she is happy with the phone , to compare the value of this deal , i have a contract with A.T&T in which i have no text,no internet or long distance,and it usualy cost me 47.00 dollars a month,my grandaughter has unlimited every thing for a flat 45.00 dollars a month, as far as im concerned you cant beat this deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/24/2012
By ,
Washington PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE the phone, and the straight talk deal! It works as well as an expensive plan, but so much more affordable.
Only complaint I do have is that the battery runs down fast.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/27/2012
By ,
Portland maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this came just as fast as promised , great value WM is super at site to store !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 571 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next