Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.021 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(724 Reviews) 608
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 724reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+923points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome phone ....and minutes pkg

12/23/2011
By ,
Ft Wayne,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Verizon network andriod phone...AND NO CONTRACT OR DATA PKG PRICE !!!!!
I've been every where my old verizon phone worked and this one does too !!!
The ease of use ..and the touch screen is great..it promts you along so it's sooo easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

what r they talking about???

01/22/2013
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my smartphone for over a year and I have NO complaints!! The reception is great, the pkg is great....I don't know what I did before I had this. Worth every penny!! Straight Talk Rocks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/27/2012
By ,
Portland maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this came just as fast as promised , great value WM is super at site to store !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/11/2013
By ,
Holly Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first my son didn't like it, but now he love's it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

grandaughter loves this item

11/19/2012
By ,
springfield illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this phone for my grandaughter so i can only relate to you what she tells me which is that she is happy with the phone , to compare the value of this deal , i have a contract with A.T&T in which i have no text,no internet or long distance,and it usualy cost me 47.00 dollars a month,my grandaughter has unlimited every thing for a flat 45.00 dollars a month, as far as im concerned you cant beat this deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Beat my expectations by far

01/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about three months and it has been great. It has its flaws every now and then but thats expected with a pre-paid phone. I love the android market, it has things that I use to write down quick notes for school to just a whole bunch of music apps. Before this phone I had a AT&T Blackberry Torch and it was pretty good but I have to say this phone goes step for step with it.This is cheaper since it is only about 50 dollars where I live for unlimited everything, I really recommend this to ANY people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

LOVE

01/11/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my phone on the 28th and that same day I feel in love with it. I don't regret getting this phone like I did getting my very first straight talk phone. I'm happy that I didn't get that other one!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
04/07/2013
By ,
Ocean Springs, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not used this phone but I know others who have and said in our area their service with it under Straight Talk was much better than that of Verizon. I noticed that most of you have indicated that the phone uses strictly Sprint towers and after I did some research I have found that is not completely true. If you go to Straighttalk.com and select on coverage it will will have you input the zip code where the phone will primarily be used and then it will ask you which phone you plan to use. Once you select this and continue it will show what type of cellular technology (ex: GSM or CDMA) that the phone will be using and the coverage. Sprint/Nextell and Verizon use CDMA. When I input my zip code and the phone I am interested in the cellular technology indicates that it will be GSM. Due to this it will not use any Sprint towers. If Straight Talk has a contract with them it will use TMobile and AT&T. For those who do not know, if the phone does not use a SIM card then it is not a GSM phone. Also, a SIM card is not the same as a memory card which is what you can store pics and files on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/30/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for my grandson for Christmas. My grandson loves it. Says it's so much better than his old phone. He's 14 years old and he loves it. Says there is a lot he can do on it. Says it has everything he wanted. So I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great update from flip to flat

03/11/2012
By ,
Roswell, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this phone is Great! the only thing I can't figure out yet is why it turns itself off when the battery is half charged.....maybe to reserve power I guess. This phone does everything! I don't think there is a better deal anywhere. I would definitely recommend it for someone that doesn't do ALL DAY TEXTING, but even if they do, it is still a great phone. I really like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

E-Coupon does not work

01/11/2013
By ,
colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my son,
who is on a limited budget.
The sale of the phone was supposed to come with a
$20 e-gift card, Since I was going to give it to him for Christmas
I went ahead and put the E-Mail with the E-Gift card for $20 in my
saved mail.
As I was very busy before christmas, I figured we could print out
the E-Gift card on Christmas evening.
Everytime I tried to open the saved E-Mail containing the $20 E-Gift card.
The whole entire e-mail would just POOF Disappear.
EVERY time.
I will never get another E-Gift card again, I paid the extra to get it
and it Disappeared.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for all ages!

03/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unsure of this phone from seeing so many of the bad reviews. However, this is the best phone that I have ever had. I LOVE this phone and with the cost, it is a steal. Go for it! You won't regret it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awsome!!

11/14/2011
By ,
Cleveland, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. Before i had it i bought the Nokia E71 that is like 200.00 at walmart. But it kept messing up onme the memory on a 4gb card would fill up so quick. But this phone i have had for 2 months (about as long as i had the other) and it is so great. it has the coolest apps many many of them are free. free ringtones, and music downloads really cool. screen very sensitive so not like have to push down hard or repeatedly. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone & Excellent Features!

12/06/2011
By ,
Mentor, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone now for nearly 2 months and couldn't be happier. Yes, when in remote areas Sprint coverage is not the best but overall this is a great phone for the price. The Android system updates nice and the apps are great! If you have coverage issues in your location then purchase the accessory Cell Booster PCS/4G.
WIFI is terrific too but make sure you turn off this feature when not using as it will zap your battery! I also suggest a screen cover to protect from scratches such as Skintomi on Amazon as it works very well and you might as well pickup a rubberized case while you are at it.
Overall a great phone especially for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great to be free of a contract

12/31/2012
By ,
Florida/New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Works great. Uses Verizon's towers. I was a dedicated Verizon customer since 1998. They became way too expensive for a casual user. I wantd Android without the cost...Straight talk is the answer I wanted. Have used from NY/PA/NJ all the way to my place in FL without issues. Works excellent wherevery Verizon does.....which is everywhere. No 4g....so, if 4g is a must...not for you. The 3g works great. Most coplaints on here are old.....in the begining they used Sprint networks....not very good then. Now, part of Tracfone....who has exclusive rights with Verizon. If you are looking for Verizon quality (which really is the best) without the cost....here is your way to "cheat" the system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

great phone

12/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone is great works just like my old htc eris the only thing is are the keys are to small
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Definitely worth the money!

12/06/2011
By ,
Ontario
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my boyfriend who is new to Android and smartphone devices and he absolutely LOVES it. It's easy to use, very practical and the coverage has been great! He lives in Cleveland and has had no coverage issues with his phone. It's a great phone for those looking for their first smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 609 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next