Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.021 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(724 Reviews) 608
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 724reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+672points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+923points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/21/2011
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldnt decided to get this one or the other Samsung android phone because of the price difference, however if I didnt like it I did have up to 15 days to return it and get the other one, but I like this phone a lot. It works just like an regular android phone, its sleek, light, fits in the palm of your hand and it processes pretty fast.
The only thing that I dont like about it so far is the camera, I am not quite satisfied with it yet and there isnt a light with the camera, so quality isnt always good, but I can get some to turn out.
This is as said in another review ran through sprint not verizon, and I am originally from southwest wisconsin and I did say that it would work there, and I can get some spotty service, but otherwise now that I live in a big city and dont get back that way much, I can deal with it.
Overall, I think this is a great phone. It was pretty expensive at first because of the price of the phone, the $45 card, and then the 18 month insurance, but it is definitely worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/28/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone. Service is great, have not had any dropped calls or run out of the service area. Love the speaking aspect, works for searches and texting. Lots of apps to choose from and everthing works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this new phone!!!! Only one complaint is battery life but I know the charge does not last long on an Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Best Pre-paid Smart Phone yet !!!

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone and it does everything. It has thousands and thousands of apps too choose from (includeing Angery birds) & (pandora radio) & (myxer) && "YES" ALL OF THEM WORKK !!!! the touch screen is magnificent . the music player is ok but there are apps to make it better
it takes fantastic photos expecially in good lighting you cann also make Notification ringtons ((for txt messages)) and ringtones
the key board is fairly small butt you get use to it after a while. I RECOMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYBODY . IT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone great price

12/12/2011
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 14 year old daughter. She absolutely loves it. I on the other hand have a hard time using it...it is not for beginners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Price Great Phone

12/12/2011
By ,
Bagley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Puchased with the free 1st month free. I wish I would had purchased two of them....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone -- Great plan !!

12/21/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an early Christmas present for my daughter. She loves it! I don't think I could have bought anything that she would have liked better. The straight-talk program is more than half the price of her previous cell phone plan, and the phone is great. Now she can get on Facebook anytime she wants. I would recommend this phone and plan to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/02/2012
By ,
Corsicana,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT'S A GREAT PHONE,CAN'T SEEM TO PUT IT DOWN
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

AMAZING PHONE

01/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this phone..great service, fun to use, and no problems with it. the only downside is the battery lasts only a day or so. which isnt that big of a problem. sprint has really bad coverage in my area but i still get great service. i would definitley reccomend this phone to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great little phone

02/01/2012
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one; used it for three months. Then bought another for my wife. We both love the phone and the Straight Talk program. Much better than the Verizon contract plan I had for over 10 years. Plus, the coverage is better, and the 3G is lightening fast. Internal memory is a little small, but hasn't been a problem yet. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

android

02/22/2012
By ,
vernon tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it am get one for my son easy too use an lean
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

love my new phone

02/26/2012
By ,
vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first "smart" phone and only android I have ever owned. That being said, straight talk customer service has been on the phone with me a LOT this weekend. I hated the phone when I got it because I had only owned a flip phone but after working with it and a lot of set up to make it do exactly what I wanted it to, I have learned to love it. It has the clearest screen I have ever had, I did buy a rubberized cover because without it, it is as slippery as an eel! The one thing that tech support didnt know is there is a button on the bottom row of the keyboard that says ES or EN and that means Espanol or English when it comes to speech to text and it is an IMPORTANT thing to know or you cant use that feature unless you have it set on the right language. The language tabs in the menu will NOT change the speech to text language. It took me all weekend and finding it myself to figure that out. I wish that it came with a REAL manual but nothing does anymore. Other than that one thing, it is a keeper and it is pretty easy to learn if you keep pushing keys. I could now write the manual myself. Straight talk was wonderful too, their customer service is definitely in India but they are very polite and worked really hard with me to figure out the set up and how to make things work. All in All, I would recommend this phone, its a keeper!!! And I paid 7.75 for the car phone charger at Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Talk Works Basic Car Phone Charger
3.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great features

02/27/2012
By ,
Willingboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this phone. I love it. It has many features such as voice search, youtube, facebook, and google search. You can download hundreds of other apps from the android market. The coverage area is fantastic as well. I can access my emails, the web and text messages with ease. I would definitely recommend this phone to my family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, espcially if you're new to smartphone

03/16/2012
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm super new to using a smartphone, I love my phone! It's a little slow to upload web pages but I can live with it. No flash for the camera but it takes great pictures and the zoom is wonderful!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Everthing expected and more!

04/03/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone ever. After charging and activating it, I started to try it out. My first thought was I had made a mistake. This was on Friday night. By Saturday morning I was using the voice to text to send texts, post on Facebook, and many other tasks. I was worried about small keyboards on smartphones. This one is a bit tricky, but not impossible to use once you get used to it. If you have trouble typing, try the voice to text option. It worked well enough for to speak into it "working on a 12 pack of stella artois right now" it got the phrase perfectly and I posted it to my Facebook. All my email accounts are now synced to it. I never miss an email now, just set it alert you when they come in. You can get plenty of apps from Google Play for this phone. Stick to apps from this source. You have less chance of getting any malicious apps. The camera is decent. You can snap a shot from where ever you are and upload to your social networking site. OK it's not an IPhone with it's Ios operating system. I let an IPhone user check my phone out, she said IPhone is the best but this Android phone is second best. For $129 for the phone and no contract for $45 a month, it is hard to beat. While you're at Walmart, get a 12 pack of Stella Artois too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/29/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really great phone for the price. I needed an android that accepted credit cards for my business and this phone is perfect for just that. Love the ease of the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/02/2012
By ,
chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone tor my daughter, she's never really satified with anything, but within the few weeks she has had this phone not one single complaint, she loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/11/2012
By ,
WEST frankfort IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this new Smart Phone, I learn something New about it and how to use it everyday!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 609 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next