Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.021 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(724 Reviews) 608
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 724reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone -- Great plan !!

12/21/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an early Christmas present for my daughter. She loves it! I don't think I could have bought anything that she would have liked better. The straight-talk program is more than half the price of her previous cell phone plan, and the phone is great. Now she can get on Facebook anytime she wants. I would recommend this phone and plan to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome android for such a cheap price!

11/10/2011
By ,
Prescott, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE! I researched the phone and everything before I bought it. Many of the comments said that Sprint service is finicky and so I looked up their map on their site. I decided that it was worth the risk of bad spots and bought the phone. I don't get the greatest service at my house, but I live in the boonies and knew that I probably wouldn't get service there anyways. If I am in any town or even on top of a mountain, I get service. Its fine. The phone has all the features of any android. I recommend getting a larger micro SD card if you have a lot of contacts and music you wish to have on your phone. I took the advice of another reviewer and put everything on the card and I haven't had any problems with the phone freezing up or anything. The screen is very large and the speaker is well-made. Its very loud and also quite clear. Some smartphones have a problem with volume or clarity, however, this one does not. It has access to any kind of app. Its camera doesn't really zoom in much, but its on a phone; you can't expect too much out of it. It does take sharp pictures, though, if you do have enough light on your subject. Its swype technology is very good. I've heard some people with other phones say they have to correct the swype all the time but I haven't had that problem. It is very accurate. The keyboard is very sensitive which I like, so you don't have to struggle to make your phone recognize what you are trying to do. The only thing is that it is easy to accidentally switch to Spanish. The first time it happened to me, I was in a hurry and trying to give vital information, but it wasn't recognizing what words I was trying to use. I became exponentially more frustrated until I finally noticed that it wasn't on English. when I got the phone I spent the whole day having fun learning how to use it. The book may seem trivial, but it does have a lot of good information in it. I still flip through it from time to time and I have had the phone for weeks. Of all the phones I have ever used, including my friends and family, this phone is my favorite because of its quality, durability, and affordability. Definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prescott, AZ
LakotaSkyye:
Posted 12/06/2011
I live in Prescott, az too. I just wanted to know how the service was in prescott. I dont live in the boonies, but other than that does it work okay?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Extremely Satisfied!

11/19/2012
By ,
Jonesborough, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely satisfied with my new Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent phone. It more than meets any expectation I had and would highly recommend this phone for someone who wants a Smartphone for a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Completely Awesome

03/05/2013
By ,
Gallipolis,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone, great service, great apps, just plain awesome
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Cell Phone Value

11/09/2012
By ,
Hallsville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Precedent is a great smart phone for the price. With the Straight Talk plan, my monthly costs have been almost cut in half.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awsome!!

11/14/2011
By ,
Cleveland, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. Before i had it i bought the Nokia E71 that is like 200.00 at walmart. But it kept messing up onme the memory on a 4gb card would fill up so quick. But this phone i have had for 2 months (about as long as i had the other) and it is so great. it has the coolest apps many many of them are free. free ringtones, and music downloads really cool. screen very sensitive so not like have to push down hard or repeatedly. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/01/2012
By ,
oswego ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this phone just as good as my iphone.. i have no problems with a single..
i would buy another one if it did break...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great to be free of a contract

12/31/2012
By ,
Florida/New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. Works great. Uses Verizon's towers. I was a dedicated Verizon customer since 1998. They became way too expensive for a casual user. I wantd Android without the cost...Straight talk is the answer I wanted. Have used from NY/PA/NJ all the way to my place in FL without issues. Works excellent wherevery Verizon does.....which is everywhere. No 4g....so, if 4g is a must...not for you. The 3g works great. Most coplaints on here are old.....in the begining they used Sprint networks....not very good then. Now, part of Tracfone....who has exclusive rights with Verizon. If you are looking for Verizon quality (which really is the best) without the cost....here is your way to "cheat" the system!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for the price

04/04/2013
By ,
prattville, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got the phone last night. Have not activated phone service yet but with the wifi have still been able to use the phone as a mini tablet. Used the gps, pulled up you tube vifeos, taken some pictures. It is great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/11/2013
By ,
Holly Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first my son didn't like it, but now he love's it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome phone ....and minutes pkg

12/23/2011
By ,
Ft Wayne,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Verizon network andriod phone...AND NO CONTRACT OR DATA PKG PRICE !!!!!
I've been every where my old verizon phone worked and this one does too !!!
The ease of use ..and the touch screen is great..it promts you along so it's sooo easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Wow, Great Value!

02/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at my local Walmart. It is just a great smartphone for the value. It just does everything well. This is my first smartphone; however, my husband has a Blackberry, so I know a bit about smartphones. I didn't have any problems having my current number ported over, but it took almost 24 hours from Straight Talk. So, just give it a bit of time if you want to keep your number. I live in the Denver area, so reception is really good. I signed up for auto refill with Straight Talk, so this costs me less than my "phone only" plan with one of the larger carriers.. Awesome! This phone has not had any issues whatsoever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

great phone

12/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone is great works just like my old htc eris the only thing is are the keys are to small
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone at a reasonable price

04/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/27/2012
By ,
Portland maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this came just as fast as promised , great value WM is super at site to store !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Perfect for my 15 yr old granddaughter

12/29/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for her needs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/16/2013
By ,
Boston, MA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my son and he LOVES it. He had a Metro PC phone and it was horrible from the service to the cost every month.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome phone!

03/05/2012
By ,
Marion, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great phone for the money! EVERYTHING I could ask for with a pre paid plan!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 609 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next