Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions | 876 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Definitely worth the money!

12/06/2011
By ,
Ontario
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my boyfriend who is new to Android and smartphone devices and he absolutely LOVES it. It's easy to use, very practical and the coverage has been great! He lives in Cleveland and has had no coverage issues with his phone. It's a great phone for those looking for their first smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent Phone for the Price!

12/06/2011
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent is my very first smartphone, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it ever since I bought it two months ago. I was looking for an Android phone that was affordable and didn't want to be locked into a contract. Thanks to Straight Talk, I was able to find exactly what I was looking for.
Other than some occasional freezing up, adjusting to the tiny the keys on the touch-screen keyboard, and the "locking" feature that pops up during calls, I have no real complaints with the phone, but can you really, when it's only costing you $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and web? Not a bad deal for someone like myself, who only works part-time while going to school and is on a limited budget. I've been able to do pretty much everything on this phone-send e-mails, go on Facebook, check the news/weather, even read a book on it that I purchased from the Google e-bookstore!
So if you're looking for an entry-level smartphone that's affordable and don't want the hassle of a contract, you should definitely check this phone out-you may be pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone & Excellent Features!

12/06/2011
By ,
Mentor, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone now for nearly 2 months and couldn't be happier. Yes, when in remote areas Sprint coverage is not the best but overall this is a great phone for the price. The Android system updates nice and the apps are great! If you have coverage issues in your location then purchase the accessory Cell Booster PCS/4G.
WIFI is terrific too but make sure you turn off this feature when not using as it will zap your battery! I also suggest a screen cover to protect from scratches such as Skintomi on Amazon as it works very well and you might as well pickup a rubberized case while you are at it.
Overall a great phone especially for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/28/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone. Service is great, have not had any dropped calls or run out of the service area. Love the speaking aspect, works for searches and texting. Lots of apps to choose from and everthing works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
02/29/2012
By ,
Inverness FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I'm pleased with the Samsung G3 slider and have had no problems with pickup which was a concern,not being familiar with Sprint.This plan gives me the works unlimited with no contract and is cheaper than the limited plan I had with Verzion.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/29/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really great phone for the price. I needed an android that accepted credit cards for my business and this phone is perfect for just that. Love the ease of the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

what r they talking about???

01/22/2013
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my smartphone for over a year and I have NO complaints!! The reception is great, the pkg is great....I don't know what I did before I had this. Worth every penny!! Straight Talk Rocks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Beat my expectations by far

01/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about three months and it has been great. It has its flaws every now and then but thats expected with a pre-paid phone. I love the android market, it has things that I use to write down quick notes for school to just a whole bunch of music apps. Before this phone I had a AT&T Blackberry Torch and it was pretty good but I have to say this phone goes step for step with it.This is cheaper since it is only about 50 dollars where I live for unlimited everything, I really recommend this to ANY people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I'm still trying to learn how to use it.

07/11/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems to be more than I anticipated. As soon as I learn how to use all of its features I will really be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great cellphone

09/16/2013
By ,
Dothan, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

New phone for a graduation.

05/14/2014
By ,
Hot Springs Village, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son wanted a new phone and he will love this. It is an upgrade from his Tracfone. Hope it will help him in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

very nice phone

12/25/2011
By ,
gray,maine 04039
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
although very pricey,its a great phone.fast,great service,easy to use.although texting is tricky.speak to text works good.easy access to apps.all around very happy.although im not in the sprint area from what they say.i get great reception and internet.check your local sprint coverage ,this is run by sprint towers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/26/2011
By ,
va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought the smasung galaxy and the lg optimus q..they are the easiest phones i ever activated i called straight tlak and only had to give the activation # and the pin # for the minute card.and the phones did the rest.activated both with 20 minutes.both phones are great the galaxy is very touchy but when you put ur screen saver on it is about rite.and the optimus q man what a phone both are great but the optimus is just a bit bit better..lol.. has for features .like speek to text.are just one..thanks straight tlk and walmart...:)))).oh alot of people have troible activating the phones ,but they are trying to do it by useing the phones ..save ur selves alot of time and hair pulling and just call straight talk,i know this because i was at walmart and 3 ppl were bringing them back and i pulled my 2 out and used my phone to call striaght talk for them and in 10 minutes the phones were working .but i got a big hug :))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight Talk phones run on all the major carriers towers. It all depends on the make and model of the phone. Do your home work and know what you are buying before you select your phone. The Galaxy Precedent is the first Android phone offered by Straight Talk and yes, it does run on the Sprint network. So beware, make sure you have good coverage through Sprint in your area. I bought one of these phones fpr my sister a few weeks ago and she loves it. She has had no problems at all with her phone other than learning how to use all the features. I have a Nokia E7 Straight Talk phone which runs on the AT&T 3G Network. Have had it for 8 months and am very happy with it. Straight Talk is the best cell phone deal around, but do your research so you select a phone that uses a carrier with good coverage in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+672points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/01/2012
By ,
oswego ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this phone just as good as my iphone.. i have no problems with a single..
i would buy another one if it did break...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, espcially if you're new to smartphone

03/16/2012
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm super new to using a smartphone, I love my phone! It's a little slow to upload web pages but I can live with it. No flash for the camera but it takes great pictures and the zoom is wonderful!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this new phone!!!! Only one complaint is battery life but I know the charge does not last long on an Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT fone

11/01/2011
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything about this fone. Works very well, browsing is easy, sound quality is awesome. The only annoyance is the self locking of fone every few seconds. When contacted Samsung, it was explained to me that this was to prevent dropped calls. If that is really the case....it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 608 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next