Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.024 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(721 Reviews) 605
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
162
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%400 out of 721reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
567 Questions | 873 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
162
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT LOOKING PHONE, HOWEVER SOME BAD NEWS...

10/05/2011
By ,
Tulare, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just recently purchased a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone. I love the way it feels and how it looks compared to other phones Straight Talk offers. There is not a lot of accessories for the Samsung Galaxy Precedent in stores, However, the Precedent is the same as the Samsung Galaxy Prevail from Boost so cases and screen covers will fit.
BAD NEWS!... Unlike my previous Straight Talk phone that uses the Verizon network, the Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone uses the Sprint network. For me, Verizon has a much better coverage in my area. Needless to same, I am very disappointed with Sprints wireless coverage.
NOW THE REALLY BAD NEWS!... After a few days, the phone overheats and the phone constantly freezes. To get the phone working again, I have to remove and reinstall the battery. I suspect the battery is the issue and called Straight Talk for support after my new phone heated up and froze five times in one day. They are sending a new battery to see if that will eliminate the issue. If this does not resolve the issue, I will be sending my phone back for a full refund. I suggest you research other reviews before purchasing this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1,628points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
Alachua, FL
Ditto!
Posted 07/05/2013
I could have written the review. They did not send a battery, they sent me another one. The new phone has been doing it also.
0points
Customer Avatar
Straight Talk phones off Verizon?
Posted 07/14/2012
Are there any Straight Talk phones that run off Verizon? Especially any Smart Phones?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Ditto!
Posted 02/07/2012
I had the same problems with this phone! It CONSTANTLY froze, between 5-10 times each day. It had horrible reception, would not upload pictures to facebook, AND i had to FULLY CHARGE this phone TWICE day! I do not reccomend getting this phone, or an android thru straight talk! I have been a straight talk customer for 2 years, bought this phone to replace my other phone that had a problem with the speaker....sad to say, i'm returning this phone, and ordering my nokia 6790 from walmart.com!
+4points
Customer Avatar
Grand Forks,ND
THE NEW ANDROID PHONES ARE NOT FOR TRAVELING
Posted 01/11/2012
Let me say straight talk has had the best phones for the best money and have the
absolute best coverage/reception, Until they brought these androids in.....yes they are cool
phones an do everything from make cookies to ride a bike but once you leave the safe
haven of town they DO NOT WORK. There is no service so be forewarned, if you never
leave the comforts of your home town where it is registered, you will love these phones,
if you travel DO NOT BUY THESE AS THE PROVIDER IS SPRINT (not like all the other straight
talk phones that get signal from any tower) AND THEY WILL NOT WORK
+3points
Customer Avatar
NC
Sprint is a total deal breaker for me
Posted 10/17/2011
I like to think $45/mo/unlimited on a nice phone would be enough to try $print once more. I just was treated so badly for 8 years by $print non-Customer Service, in a area where I had no choice until Straight Talk came along. I'll have to wait until Straight Talk gets back in bed with Verizon for a sweet phone because $print is a deal breaker.
+6points
Customer Avatar
Tulare, CA
UPDATE: New battery did not help.
Posted 10/11/2011
Straight Talk sent me a new battery. I was very happy with respose time, however, the new battery id not resolve the issue. I am sending my phone back for a refund and returning to my old Straight Talk phone.
Side note: Another family member got the same Samsung Galaxy Precident phone around the same time I did. They have no problems with it.
+13points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/10/2011
Got the Cricket LG Optimus C over the weekend and wow am I impressed! The same great coverage we have come to expect from Cricket and the LG Optimus C has a much better battery life as compared with my Cricket Ascend (v1). The Optimus came with Adroid 2.2 and that is just fine. The LG skins are very cool and well organized. I may root and upgrade to CM7 later, but for now I don’t think that will be necessary.
0points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/08/2011
I had a Blackberry with the Sprint network for several years and have had the same poor coverage experience. I changed over to an Android with Cricket about a year ago after being mocked by my wife and her good Cricket coverage when I had no coverage on my Sprint BB. I was interested in ST because I had heard it might be using the Verison/ATT network. I have been unable to determine what the coverage will be for the ST Android in my area, so I may be upgrading both of our phone's to the latest Cricket LG Optimus C this week. The LG has good reviews, and the Cricket coverage is more clearly shown. The coverage map on the ST site is too small to read; "coverage is approximate."
+3points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+923points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+672points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone is great. Sprint's coverage is bad..

10/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to agree with a few others here that the phone itself is great. And if it was with a different carrier, I would still have it. But Sprint's coverage in my area is the pits, so I had to take it back to Walmart. If you're looking for an entry level Android based phone, I would highly recommend this one. It was very easy for me to pick up and figure out. I fell in love with it in the short time I had it. So if the Sprint prepaid network works in your area, and you're looking for a great smartphone, look at this one for sure. Oh, and do your research on Sprint's coverage. The Straight Talk map is too small to see, and Sprint's coverage maps have quite a few inaccuracies. And one more thing, ask the local Walmart sales person if they activate many Sprint phones in their store. If they say no because of poor coverage, don't buy the phone. If it doesn't work there, chances are in won't work well in your area. Now if Straight Talk would just offer this phone on their Verizon system, I'd buy two tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+168points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson az
I am told you should
Posted 05/18/2014
I am told you should check the number and make sure it has a v in it for Verizon. A stands for att and s is sprint. Makes a huge difference. Maybe take it back and exchange for a verizon tower service. Same straight talk just phones are determined by their number. I wish they listed the numbers on the site.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No Adobe Flash Samsung Galaxy Precedent SCH-M828C

10/07/2011
By ,
Lugoff, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having had a Gmail account for a decade now, this is just another great usage for all the Google fans, sync your emails, float to wifi hotspots, use your own wireless, USB to your laptop or computer, 3G, works via app w/ my Sony Google TV ;) Apps to make your head spin and battery discard...grrr.. but fun. GPS, navigate, maps, locations. Almost endless possibility w/ caveat on Adobe Flash.
Pros:
All the stuff written on the box.
2 Gig SD in Box (just an appetizer)
Swype: create words by drawing through OSK (on screen keyboard)
Voice Dictation: Search/messaging/email; just say it and DICTATION is magically preformed for you. Huge plus if you have awkward thumbs or big fingers in general.
Big Cons:
You have to purchase the unlimited 45/30 refill, bummer since you can't stream from free Android compatible providers like Crackle.
For those wishing to make use of unlimited data from a Google Android app like "Crackle" or use "Google Earth", or use "QR Droid": you'll be stumped and hindered as the powers that be have limited the hardware/software, or by some contract have not made a Flash player installable. If your phone is USB'ed to your computer and you go to the Android Market Place, a compatibility warning like the one below for Adobe Flash 11, Google Earth, and QR Droid.
"This app is incompatible with your Mid-Tex Cellular Samsung SCH-M828C."
Be Smart and research your home address for nearby Cell towers!
Since this phone is a Sprint Network Phone, you can use the Antenna Search web page to locate the towers in your area. There exist also Cell Booster PCS/4G that can really pull a marginal signal and strengthen it. Google "Solid Signal" for a Cell Booster, and "Antenna Search" for a Map view of the towers/specs in a 4 mile radius of your entered address search. Excellent tools for a safe purchase of an excellent phone; no matter your choice. I've owned the phone 1 day, but purchased w/ confidence.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+365points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Dsm
Posted 03/20/2014
This little phone is just ok I am having trouble receiving calls when inside my office and home. I would not recommend it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Grove
area
Posted 01/02/2012
I'v had striaght talk for over a year now and service has been great but, Iwas wanting the new samsung galaxy.It says it will not work in my area, I read that someone had the same problem and drove somewhere to activate it. Will that work?
-1point
Customer Avatar
Pretty Good Phone!
Posted 11/30/2011
I bought this phone a few days ago and it works great! The only con would be that it's difficult to type unless you pay for the model with the qwerty keyboard and the camera is not very good but overall a pretty good phone. It has an easily accessed store to buy games, books, music etc...it comes with navigation software and a few other essentials. It works well and looks nice. I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't need a phone with a good camera. Having said that, the pics I've taken with this are ok and not terrible.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Lugoff, SC
Less than a Lincoln Car Charger found at Checkout
Posted 10/14/2011
found at Checkout
Vivitar universal usb car charger Micro and Mini for Android
http://www.walmart.com/ip/FAST-TRACK-UNIVERSAL-USB-CAR-CHARGER/14869368
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight Talk phones run on all the major carriers towers. It all depends on the make and model of the phone. Do your home work and know what you are buying before you select your phone. The Galaxy Precedent is the first Android phone offered by Straight Talk and yes, it does run on the Sprint network. So beware, make sure you have good coverage through Sprint in your area. I bought one of these phones fpr my sister a few weeks ago and she loves it. She has had no problems at all with her phone other than learning how to use all the features. I have a Nokia E7 Straight Talk phone which runs on the AT&T 3G Network. Have had it for 8 months and am very happy with it. Straight Talk is the best cell phone deal around, but do your research so you select a phone that uses a carrier with good coverage in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/14/2013
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the Galaxy Precedent when Wal-Mart was selling them for $129.99 + tax. It was the highest end phone from Samsung that they had, and I was looking for an android phone to replace my 'dumb' phone.
This phone does indeed run on Sprint Network in my area. This was the dumbest, most ridiculous, insane thing I had ever done. Reception in my area is horrible. Most of the times I have 1-2 bars, and if I get a call while in the house, I have to go outside just to answer it because I usually have no signal (an X over the reception bars) at all or 0 bars in the house.
This also runs on Android 2.2.2, which it seems most developers are starting to require at least Android 2.3 for their apps these days.
I've been told that Wal-Mart is starting to discontinue this phone because of the horrible reception issues they have, and are getting these phones returned in droves. Straight Talk is a very buy at your own Risk kind of venture anyway, but at least Wal-Mart has a limited time return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

only if you desperately need an android phone..

03/30/2012
By ,
Mobile, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone maybe a month ago. It looks really nice and at first the set up looks so great. And it was all $120 for an ANDROID phone, wow! But after getting used to this thing, you very quickly start to hate it. If you've ever had a super nice Android phone from HTC or Motorola, you're gonna hate your life if you downgrade to this thing. It lags very badly, sometimes taking up to 10 seconds to perform the command. I've never had a phone freeze up as much as this phone does. It just will not run half of the apps that I've used on other phones, for example, I have to use the old version of Facebook for it to even work properly, it won't even run the Capital One banking app without shutting down the operation. CURRENTLY my main problem is that the phone will not send text messages. It's getting network signal because it's downloading application updates, but just will not send text messages. I'm seriously about to purchase a new phone because this one is just so awful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/05/2013
I agree I've had this phone for less he two months and I HATE it. Its always freezing and takes forever to do anything. I don't know if its because it switched from android to google play or what but I've about had it. I'm seriously thinking about calling the company and telling them its worthless.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great for a first smart phone

09/21/2013
By ,
portland oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first thing I should tell you,I am an older person and not smart phone literate..this is my first smart phone. I LIKE IT. It was difficult to understand at first but the answers to all my questions are there..just have to find them. I paid $50.00 for the phone and can't see why I would need anything more advanced. I got $45.00 a month Straight Talk, which is unlimited which gives me access to basically anything I want. Great phone and great plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Want to buy one
Posted 01/21/2014
Does this phone use a sim card yes or no please respond
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/18/2014
IS THIS SUPPOSE TO BE A TRAC PHONE? I PURCHASED THIS PHONE PLUS THE COMPATIBLE SIM CARD, BUT CAN NOT USE SIM CARD WITH THIS PHONE. I WAS NOT LOOKING FOR A TRAC PHONE.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Most frustrating Smart Phone you will ever own

02/13/2014
By ,
Warren County, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not the phone to enter the 'SMARTPHONE' market for you. You will be frustrated and want to dismantle this phone after a week. The phone freezes and locks up frequently. You either press the on/off button for 10 minutes to reset or just rip out the back case and battery and put back together again. This phone has preloaded applications that cannot be removed. They hold on to most of the available memory in the phone and they cannot be moved to the SD card. If you get over 22 MB of available space you are lucky! Getting larger SD cards are useless. The usb/charger port is not working after about a year. I bought extra batteries and a separate charger and just swap out the batteries. Of couse that means taking up time to reset the phone to where I left off. For you techie types, getting apps like Busybox Free and Root Browser do not remove the preloaded apps. As for connectivity, this phone can't even find a wi-fi inches away from it until it feels like it! If you buy this phone after reading this review you were warned!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Forget the iPhone, this beats it hands down !

11/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It blows the iPhone away since it has a beautiful screen, easy to use interface and fast network transfers.
The lack of a keyboard made me reluctant at first until I used the voice recognition feature to dictate SMS text messages, address book entries or just directions to closet restaraunt.
Example: I can activate voice search and speak "directions to nearest WalMart" and the phone automatically uses the GPS and superimposes my location onto a real time Google Map and then shows me the route to the nearest WalMart or allows me to choose other WalMarts.
I can dictate SMS messages faster than I could even type them on a laptop or a thumboard or just dictate into a chat window or Facebook and my Tweets.
The onscreen keyboard is OK but prone to fat fingering the wrong keys but the voice recognition makes up for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome android for such a cheap price!

11/10/2011
By ,
Prescott, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE! I researched the phone and everything before I bought it. Many of the comments said that Sprint service is finicky and so I looked up their map on their site. I decided that it was worth the risk of bad spots and bought the phone. I don't get the greatest service at my house, but I live in the boonies and knew that I probably wouldn't get service there anyways. If I am in any town or even on top of a mountain, I get service. Its fine. The phone has all the features of any android. I recommend getting a larger micro SD card if you have a lot of contacts and music you wish to have on your phone. I took the advice of another reviewer and put everything on the card and I haven't had any problems with the phone freezing up or anything. The screen is very large and the speaker is well-made. Its very loud and also quite clear. Some smartphones have a problem with volume or clarity, however, this one does not. It has access to any kind of app. Its camera doesn't really zoom in much, but its on a phone; you can't expect too much out of it. It does take sharp pictures, though, if you do have enough light on your subject. Its swype technology is very good. I've heard some people with other phones say they have to correct the swype all the time but I haven't had that problem. It is very accurate. The keyboard is very sensitive which I like, so you don't have to struggle to make your phone recognize what you are trying to do. The only thing is that it is easy to accidentally switch to Spanish. The first time it happened to me, I was in a hurry and trying to give vital information, but it wasn't recognizing what words I was trying to use. I became exponentially more frustrated until I finally noticed that it wasn't on English. when I got the phone I spent the whole day having fun learning how to use it. The book may seem trivial, but it does have a lot of good information in it. I still flip through it from time to time and I have had the phone for weeks. Of all the phones I have ever used, including my friends and family, this phone is my favorite because of its quality, durability, and affordability. Definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prescott, AZ
LakotaSkyye:
Posted 12/06/2011
I live in Prescott, az too. I just wanted to know how the service was in prescott. I dont live in the boonies, but other than that does it work okay?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not happy with this one.

12/24/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone for my girlfriend for Christmas. I gave it to her a little early because she needed the phone. The first day she had it, everything worked fine. Now we are on day 5 and this is whats wrong with it. The touch screen isn't very responsive. The phone is not receiving texts. I sent several to her and ended up calling her to ask if she got them. She had not. She received them all the next day while we were eating breakfast. It comes with a 2gb micro sd card. She filled that up with apps and what not right away. She has now filled up the phones memory with apps as well. So we put in an empty SD card. The phone will not allow her to transfer anything from the phones memory to this new SD card. We tried another SD the one from my phone so I know it works. Same result. The phone was at the right price and being Samsung Galaxy series I figured it was good buy. I wish I would have had the money to spend on a Galaxy S4.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone, but Do Your Research!

10/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I upgraded my Nokia E71 on Straight Talk to the new Samsung Galaxy Precedent and I am so glad that I did. The phone is small and fits great with many iPhone accessories (such as the arm band, I would not try phone covers, ect). Transferring my number and plan from one phone to the other only took a few minutes, which is great. I quickly downloaded numerous useful apps for my business and my life, which is the reason I wanted the phone to begin with.
I've seen A LOT of complaints that the phone is on Sprint. This is not some big secret. When the phone was announced for pre-sale, Straight Talk also announced this. It is also no secret that other carriers such as AT&T and Verizon do not offer unlimited data usage. Even when you pay unlimited, your phone slows down if you use to much. Which is why this phone is on Sprint network, as is the newest Android phone coming out. Do your research before buying the phone.
The phone does have minimal internal storage. Not even 1 GB. It does however have a MicroSD slot which can handle up to a 32GB card. I got one and installed it in my phone. Changing apps from being stored on the phone to being stored on the card is super easy, literally there is an option to move them right on the app screen.
All in All, this phone is great. The available screen protectors at Walmart are not really made for this phone (even though they say they are). I cut the bottom of mine because the hole was not in the right place and it was agitating. As long as you have Sprint in your area and upgrade the SD card, this can be an outstanding phone for minimal money and a very low monthly plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buy the Warranty

10/20/2011
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the phone three weeks ago and at first I loved it. The coverage does work on Sprint, but it's not that bad. The phone is nice sized and does what I wanted it to. However, I am already on my second one. The first one I bought I had plugged in to my car charger and it got so hot it almost burned my hand when I went to use it. So far no problems with my second one. I recommend the phone, it could have just been a bad one. Either case for about 20 bucks I would recommend the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First phone I bought from straight talk, very disappointed. It overheats, freezes up, and randomly shuts itself off. Also no way to delete one text at a time or save any pictures you are sent via text. The battery lasts only a few hours then I have to recharge it. That is only with moderate use. I donot reccomend this phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lithonia GA
Hi
Posted 10/26/2011
The way to save a pic n your text is so easy. You place your finger on the pic and press the window pops right up and asks you do you want to save it. You also delete messages the same way.
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/13/2011
By ,
billerica, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone after checking to see if sprint worked in my area, it says it does, but I get no service in my house at all, only 1 bar outside. Been a loyal straightalk customer for a few years and have been satisfied until now. The battery is also pretty bad, tried turning of wireless and gps and it got a little better but not nearly as good as my last 2 straightalk phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

don't get thisnphone

10/20/2011
By ,
Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ii don't recommend this phone at all. The reception is horrible, battery life is a joke. Even without making a single call, the phone needs to be charged twice in one day. It constantly freezes up. The only way to reset it is to take the battery out and reinstall. I've been with straight talk for over a year and had no problems but apparently they use different towers for the android phone so, this phone doesn't work in my area. Customer service is no help at all. Straight talk just lost another customer because of their poor excuse for an android phone and poor customer relations. Oh, by the way connection speed to the Internet is similar to that of using dial up....pretty sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 606 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next