Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions | 876 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 141 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

ok for the price

02/27/2012
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't know why I thought the plan gave you internet service in the $45 plan, they do not. What it actually is, they don't charge you when you find wi-fi service and use your phone to access the internet. Other wise you would be charged for internet usage though you're not getting internet service directly from them. This phone freezes up alot. I have to power down almost every time I need to use my phone. Well what can you expect for the price. Now my phone is just acting up, I think I have a technical issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not verizon

10/30/2013
By ,
se nebraska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
would have been nice if it said in the description that it only works on sprint and not Verizon now I have to return it and find one that works on Verizon and be with out a phone for another two weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

It's not an s5 but worth the money.

07/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just got the phone and got to say I like it. For being a $50 phone it holds up pretty darn good compared to some of the more expensive ones. I would recommend this for a cheaper way to go if you don't have a lot of money for the S4 or 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Taking it back tomorrow

10/07/2011
By ,
LaFayette, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's extremely sensitive. You can't get ringtones from phonezoo. You can't save pictures from text messages. Or sounds for ringtones. You can download music and turn it into a ringtone. No speed dial. Doesn't work in my zip even though it says it will. My old nothing LG does more than this "smart" phone does. I don't see what all the hoopla is about. My husband and I both got one of these and after spending all day on the phone with customer service (not as bad as I've heard), we're taking them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MIDWEST
text image
Posted 10/14/2011
simply press and hold on image for approx 3 seconds for menu - save
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 145 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

disappointing xmas present

12/29/2011
By ,
gallitzin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a christmas present for my daughter. She has had straight talk phones in the past and we have had no problems so I went to them for the android phone. The phone was a good value but had no service in our area. When I called straight talk for assistance he said I should "go outside and walk around my house to find signal" should we go outside in the cold to make a phone call???? The phone didn't work outside either. I came to find out that Straight Talk's android phones only use Sprint towers. So I would recommend checking if Sprint is available in your area. We returned the Smart Talk phone and bought an AT &T prepaid phone and have great signal and she loves the phone! It would of been a great phone if it would of worked in our area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 146 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT phone for the price!

03/08/2012
By ,
Anderson SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I love this phone and it went above and beyond my expectations. However, all phones have a few glitches...
Pros:
Touch screen (sensitive but not too sensitive)
The apps are great!
I love the sleek look
I love that it is an Android phone
I LOVE that I only have to pay $45 a month!
I love the live wallpapers!
I love the size
Cons:
low battery life
Facebook almost never works
Screen freezes sometimes
It can sometimes be hard to text
It is not on the Verizon network/towers
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 147 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 148 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Love it

11/03/2013
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great phone. Keyboard is a bit touchy and takes some getting used to, but love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 149 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

01/20/2013
By ,
Nashville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great smart phone but the straight talk customer service is non-existent! I had been a Verizon contract customer for many years & decided to go with prepaid to save some money but I have had nothing but headaches with this company. they are all in another country, can barely speak English and are rude. I put a $30 card on my grandson's phone yesterday and it will not work. You can waste a lot of money putting minutes on a phone that doesn't work. I tried to talk to customer service many times yesterday and last night and cannot get a human. Beware of this company.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 150 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sure this phone would be great in a city, not for rural customers. I reviewed it before I bought it and it was my understanding straight talk uses AT&T and Verizon cell towers. WRONG, the andried was the only straight talk phone that uses Sprint. The customer service was horrible, the had such a accent I couldn't understand them. Lets just say it took three day and had to buy another phone to anyways. I went over 24 hours with no phone at all. I have very small fingers and I couldn't text very well. I only suggest this to people who have patience, which is NOT me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 151 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money

02/22/2013
By ,
Hopatcong, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
PROs: inexpensive, small and lightweight, excellent screen
CONs: ridiculously short battery life (about 12-15 hr), poor quality camera, small keyboard (nearly impossible to text), very little memory
Although there is plenty of memory in the phone, you can't store your applicatons there. You will find that if you download any apps, you will immediately run out of memory. You will be unable to physically move most of your apps to the available memory --why this is I have no idea. But it is infuriating!
You have one month to return the phone. About 2 days after that, my phone started freezing up and the bluetooth stopped working. After SEVERAL days wasted going back and forth with Straight Talk support, including restoring my phone and losing all my contacts (which they said wouldn't happen!), I ended up having to have a new phone sent to me, which doesn't really help b/c I don't want it --it's such poor quality. But you are not allowed to return it after the 30 day period.
Save yourself the hassle and get the Samsung Galaxy S2. Works PERFECTLY, no issues except that it's so much more money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 152 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so much the phone but cusomer service

07/31/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the phone in Mid April 2013 in may I had the first issue with the phone. All my calls were going directly to voice mail. I called customer service and they were not helpful at all. I finally figured it out myself and did not call them back. Then in mid July my phone starts to drop calls I called cs again on several occasions they still could not help me. All I received from them is the explanation that the network had some problems and they were working on it. They wanted me to update the PRL and see if that works. I explained I already did that but I indulged them. Still no phone service stays on for a couple of minutes then drops. Asked what they were going to do about it. Their response was that they can not refund my money for service that I did not receive. I would not recommend the straight talk service for anyone who actually uses their phone to talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 153 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Be sure you can activate this phone in your area.

12/06/2012
By ,
Jamestown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone directly from the Straight Talk website. I was unable to activate it in my area, even though the phone would work in my area after activation. I was on the phone for over 5 hours, (half of that time was spent on hold) trying to activate it, unsuccessfully. Make sure the phone you choose will work in your area as well as be activated in your area as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 154 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I detest this phone!

04/30/2013
By ,
Lincoln
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get this phone but I quickly figured out it was not at all worth the $80 I spent on it. I have had it for a month and I am hoping to find the money to get a different one ASAP. Texting is very hard to do and the talk to text feature gets it wrong 85% of the time. It does wierd things on its own like switching between named contacts and their phone # in my inbox. And reception? Horrible! I checked the coverage area for this phone before I bought it and it is supposed to work in Lincoln NE, where I live, and in small town Concordia Kansas where I go to visit my father. It does not. It usually works at home but anywhere else, forget it. Sometimes it wont receive text messages when they are sent and they show up en masse after Ive made a phone call. The battery lasts half to 3/4 of a day at most and I barely use it. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 155 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Do NOT get this phone!

03/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to have virgin mobile, then i switched to straight talk and bought the samsung galaxy precident. At first i liked the phone, but after a couple of weeks, i realized how bad this phone is. I have had this phone for almost 3 months now, and i am already sending it back. I have a case for the phone, and a couple times the phone got really hot and i could feel it through the case. I took the case of, took the battery out and almost burned myself. It was that hot. I let it sit for about a half hour, and then it was fine. Until a couple days later it did it again. This phone freezes all the time. It has horrible coverage. and im sending it back. and getting a completely different phone! I highly recommend NOT buying this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 156 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

would not work

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It would not go to the menu screan when turned on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 157 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Freezes, shuts itself off-horrible call reception.

10/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Switched to this phone from a reliable, simple Straighttalk LG. This is a TERRIBLE PHONE: When not frozen (at least 50% of the time), the Galaxy was busy turning itself off. Very slow processor meant that-even when functioning, it was always 1-2 seconds behind the commands. Constantly dropped calls. BUYER BEWARE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 158 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Best Pre-paid Smart Phone yet !!!

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone and it does everything. It has thousands and thousands of apps too choose from (includeing Angery birds) & (pandora radio) & (myxer) && "YES" ALL OF THEM WORKK !!!! the touch screen is magnificent . the music player is ok but there are apps to make it better
it takes fantastic photos expecially in good lighting you cann also make Notification ringtons ((for txt messages)) and ringtones
the key board is fairly small butt you get use to it after a while. I RECOMEND THIS PHONE TO ANYBODY . IT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 159 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

no good phone

11/22/2012
By ,
3-doors down from BigFoot NW WA USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have had nothin but problems with this phone. if straight talk wasnt so cheap i wouldve nvr got this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 160 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GOOD PRODUCT

07/22/2012
By ,
East Windsor, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although when I received my first phone it overheated, I was able to go to Walmart the next day and get a replacement phone. It meets all my expectations and is a good deal compared to other deals and phones I've researched. Coupled with the very cheap "Straight Talk" prepaid deal for 3 month's and the cheap 18 month Walmart Damage Insurance you can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
141-160 of 608 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  6 7 8 9 10  ...  31 Next