Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.029 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(689 Reviews) 573
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
217
Customer Recommendation56%383 out of 689reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
552 Questions | 844 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
217
Customer Reviews
Review 141 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

VERY EASY TO BREAK

02/28/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have gone through 5 of these phones now and the company just keeps sending me new ones but the last one i had broke in one month and i didnt even drop it or do anything to cause that. The battery life is less than perfect, i mean it keeps a charge if your not using it at all. i accidently left it at a friends house in standby on airplane mode and it lasted over a week but i have it on at school and im texting people and it dies a little after lunch. for the price its an ok phone but for anyone that needs something a little more heavy duty should look for something else.
on the other hand though the phone uses sprint towers which get ok service where i live and in some places in rural regions and works great in the city but the further away you go the slower it becomes. the phone has exceptional custom-ability and great a great app center, but little internal memory to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

02/21/2014
By ,
desoto, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome value, super quick shipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not verizon

10/30/2013
By ,
se nebraska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
would have been nice if it said in the description that it only works on sprint and not Verizon now I have to return it and find one that works on Verizon and be with out a phone for another two weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Love it

11/03/2013
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great phone. Keyboard is a bit touchy and takes some getting used to, but love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 145 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

junk

02/17/2014
By ,
(e.g. Newark, NJ)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its junk users sprint towers they have the worst service in the world always make sure when you buy a straight talk phone uses Verizon towers
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 146 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Sprint Failed

01/29/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone is great. Easy to learn and much more to offer. However, I was unaware that this was accompanied by Sprint before I purchased it. Sprint is not a very good coverage plan. I would have preferred Verizon or possible another company. I get poor connection and my calls are always dropping. It's not worth the unlimited price to pay. I expect better coverage for my money. Please add to your product description if "Sprint Plan Service", or any other plan that is used with the phone. This will provide better customer service to your dedicated paying customers.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 147 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

good

02/19/2014
By ,
Marina, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 148 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Very poor value!

11/22/2012
By ,
Plymouth,IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is just a headache, the battery does not charge rite,it freezes up all the time. And powers itself down. And does not have enough space!! I've wanted to snap it in half or throw it against the wall. I would not recommened this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 149 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

phone problems

02/12/2014
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Got my phone and put on charge all night. Got up this morning and noticed the battery still was not charged. Plugged phone back up and got an error message that battery was not compatible.
Because of health reasons I am not able to go to the local store to handle personally.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 150 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

good phone

02/14/2014
By ,
frederick md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have had mine for about 2 years now works great. battery is about shot have to charge twice a day. have not the problems that everyone talks . only use to talk and text.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 151 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/29/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really great phone for the price. I needed an android that accepted credit cards for my business and this phone is perfect for just that. Love the ease of the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 152 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

StraightTalk Samsung Galaxy

11/22/2011
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I did a ton of research on this phone and the coverage in areas I knew I would be in outside my zipcode. The phone is great except for a couple of little quirks. StraightTalk, however, dropped the ball! Okay we know it is the worst customer service out there. It is in India and operates on script reading and apologies without much help or accuracy. I called specifically to check on service in the zipcodes I would be visiting-less than 80 miles from my house. I was assured there were at least 3 towers in each location so I bought the phone.
I needed Android 2.2 so I could use SquareUp to make charges on my phone at my arts festival.
Ten miles away from town, I lost service. I had no service at the hotel, the civic center, on the street facing in any direction. I called customer service from local Walmart and was told THIS WAS THE ONLY STRAIGHTTALK PHONE WITH NO ROAMING CAPABILITY. WHAT WAS MY ZIPCODE WHERE I BOUGHT THE PHONE? Needless to say I could make no charges (income lost) or call home for 3 days! I returned the phone-don't need a phone that I can't use outside my neighborhood! Returned for now to my old phone.
IF YOU TRAVEL DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE FROM STRAIGHTTALK. I am shopping for an affordable carrier and will buy a more expensive phone if necessary. When I find it, StraightTalk will be kissed bye-bye. What a shame, with a little concern, Straight Talk could be a top notch company.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 153 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, bad battery life!

12/17/2011
By ,
Maryville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am really loving this phone! This is my first Smart phone... I recently dropped US Cellular and switched over to Straight Talk. I love all the aspects of this phone and it does everything I need it to do.
My only complaint with it so far is the battery. The battery on this phone is terrible; at least the one I have anyways. It takes roughly 4 hours to fully charge the battery, which is fine, but then the battery goes dead rather quick. I mainly use this phone for texting, checking facebook, playing Angry Birds, and using Pandora occasionally. I tested the battery on this phone yesterday. It was fully charged by 9am, and was already needing to be charged again by 3pm. The only thing I did on my phone during this time was text. I didn't play any games, and only logged on Facebook once, for about a minute. I have asked around about this phone and people tell me to download the battery saver app, that will save my battery power in every way possible, but the app either isn't doing its job, or I just got a bad battery.
I love this phone, but wish I could find a way to save the battery power more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 154 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Three strikes

06/27/2012
By ,
Huntington Beach, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me say I replaced my phone three times... thinking it was a quirk with my problems... nope, returning the third too..
First, the phone comes with next to no built in memory and I actually ran out of memory day one on my first unit... for some reason it had less memory than the other two units...
Bugs, not sure if in the OS, or the carrier, or a hardware issue...Text messages will fill and even if you mark them to auto delete, they do not, and after about 1 month (or certain number of msgs) you simply stop rec all messages until you remove all your messages, then reset the phone.
Next, another big problem, the phone gets to a point where it will not allow you to update ANY contacts... cant add phone numbers, cant make edits or anything... it simply crashes every time you try.
Unit crashes allll the time... almost every other app you run or try to "Multitask" seems to eventually always crash..
Going to try another brand and hope its a hardware/brand problem and not the OS/service
Ok these were not quirks, it happened on EVERY PHONE in about the same time frames... they all have same issues...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Hello!
Posted 07/10/2012
Hi, my name is Sara and I work with Straight Talk Wireless. I noticed your concern on this blog and I would like to help you. Just send me your name, contact number and your phone serial number or cell number and I will resolve this for you right away. I work here and I too have a TracFone. At times there are problems, but with the right people to help, your issue will get resolved. Just copy your blog concern and include it in your email. Please email your info to ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straightalk.com.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 155 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I wouldn't buy another one.

11/15/2012
By ,
Gadsden, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So this phone... It freezes alot while I'm trying to send a text. The only way I've learned to fix it is lock and unlock the phone. After that it works like nothing ever happend. It often fails to send messages, and I resend it one time then it goes through just fine. When I'm trying to recieve a phone call sometimes it wont let me answer the call. Like if I have the music player on listening to it for example sometimes it lets me answer sometimes it doesn't. Also when i try to hang up the phone or get on Facebook it freezes. When trying to view pictures on other peoples profiles you can see the thumbnails great then you tap to view them bigger and they either take a year and a half to load or they stay fuzzy so you can't see them. A few times i've been on the internet and the keyboard wont work you have to tap the buttons hard like the sensors are messed up or something. The camera takes good quality pictures however the phone has no flash like most smartphones do. I'd like it better if it did. I haven't made a video yet so no comment on that. I'm not sure if I just got a refurbished phone and thats why its like this. Maybe its just low on space and I need a SD card but I wouldn't buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 156 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice phone and all but if you do any type of travel not worth the time cause will only work under sprint and not roam so as to always receive coverage
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 157 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/18/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the phone because with the service plan I have unlimited everything; however, I've only had the phone for about 3 weeks and it has froze several times.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 158 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Android

01/17/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy my touch screen phone. The only problem that I have is that the battery life is short, if you use the phone alot. But I enjoy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 159 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Never made it out of package

02/08/2014
By ,
Trinidad, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not buy a phone on line again. when you buy on line you do not get the right product
that works in your area. and therefor you have to shop elsewhere and spend more money.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 160 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

nice smartphone

12/13/2013
By ,
winter park, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for daughter and she loves it. Perfect for a tween.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
141-160 of 574 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  6 7 8 9 10  ...  29 Next