Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions | 877 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

sorry

02/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had to get a replacement on one and looking to get it on the other one also. Bought two of them at same time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

phone

02/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone was amazing. it was just to bad that it does not get service in maine. If you want this phone make sure you go on straighttalk.com to see if this phone will get service in your area. I was really disappointed because the phone was really cool. Its too bad that they dont make the phones compatable for all areas. They are loosing out on major money. I know at five people that were going to buy this phone until I told them I ahd to return it because it never got service. Im not sure if it works in southern maine but i know it doesnt work in Central or northern maine.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Bargain Phone

11/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone is a great bargain phone. All of the features work as advertised.
The battery life is shorter than I would like however a charger was included. The keyboard is small but useable and the touch screen is responsive with no noticeable problems. The camera even though a lower megapixel than most current models takes clear and crisp pictures.
The biggest complaint I have is that the coverage area I am in does not receive great reception which I feel should be disclosed on the site when purchasing phones.
After adding a case and screen protector the phone is very sturdy and reliable when I have reception. I have noticed no freezing or processor problems and all popular apps I have tried have worked without problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Insufficient internal memory - poor coverage

12/19/2012
By ,
Manassas VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a little over 1 month of use - slave to daily cache cleaning to maintain internal memory available. Deleted Facebook because it hogged too much internal memory. Straight-talk apparently uses Sprint: Coverage, at one mile from cell tower, is spotty at best and mostly I get cut off. If I lived in an urban area, it might work for coverage, but I am semi-rural - but still only a mile from tower. Had I realized that internal memory was so small, I never would have bought this model. But THAT IS NOT ON THE BOX. Samsung support is so convoluted that they don't even acknowledge this model when trying to get help online ("You can't get there from here"). Same for Straight-Talk (this model isn't listed). Pitiful. It will go to the recycle bin at then end of my next month's minutes. In the meantime, I guess I can use it for texting - but that is a lot of money for one function already on another device.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight talk phone

03/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't buy this phone, you will waste hard earned money. I had to take this phone back 2 times for an exchange b4 i took it back for a refund. There are alot of negatives about this phone... 1.) the keyboard is too small to use 2.) Extreme freeze. I experienced major freezing with each exchanged phone 3.) Not enough battery life (even if your not using wifi, using low back light etc etc) 4.) Poor service everywhere regardless if you in a big city or not. 5.) Text messages came late (like a day later). 5.) Got to the point where i couldn't make any calls even when i had plenty of service and signals. 6.) The phone is small and the screen is not big enough. 7.) runs on sprint...
pros: speakers for the mp3 are loud and plenty of apps. please don't wast your money on this trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Poor Quality

07/30/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for a couple of months. I have to uninstall all updates to maps, books and other apps, it does not have a lot of storage space on it. even with a mini card. The text messages do not come in all the time or they are late or deleted because of the amount of space on the phone. The phone works well for using it to make phone calls, but using it as a smart phone is not very good. I have not downloaded a bunch of games or calenders or other apps, just the google play store app and the amazon app all stored on a mini card. The cost of the phone for calls only seem a little high but if you do not do nothing a smart phone then this is an ok phone. It does receive email, texts, and weather, just not the updates for them before it runs our of storage space. Battery life is not that great either. one phone call and it is dead. I am looking at a newer version of the samsung phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone!

03/26/2013
By ,
gulfport ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't understand why so many people are giving this phone only one star. My husband and I have been using these phones for over a year, this obviously is a long time for a phone! We use them constantly they have been dropped, gotten wet and still work fine. I have no complaints about these phones.
They are also cheaper than what you would go to a cell phone store and buy a phone without a contract. I have never had a problem dealing with their customer service either.
These phones and the carrier are hassle-free!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Beat my expectations by far

01/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about three months and it has been great. It has its flaws every now and then but thats expected with a pre-paid phone. I love the android market, it has things that I use to write down quick notes for school to just a whole bunch of music apps. Before this phone I had a AT&T Blackberry Torch and it was pretty good but I have to say this phone goes step for step with it.This is cheaper since it is only about 50 dollars where I live for unlimited everything, I really recommend this to ANY people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not the greatest..

01/24/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Whe i got this phone i loved it after a while i started to notice it would freeze when im on the phone, it will shut off if i place it on the table, it would take forever to turn on you would literally have to keep pushing the button till it went on,sometimes when i put my phone on the charger it would blink on and off, and sometimes it will lose service randomly,and last of of all the BATTERY DIES FAST.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

OK for a starter phone

05/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THe phone is OK if all you want to do on it is text. I didnt have anything downloaded on the phone but tried to Download candy crush and there was not enough memory
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so hot Phone.

12/03/2013
By ,
Monett,mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this phone online and when it arrived The lady at the store told me it was on the sprint network which doesn't work where I live. I checked it before I ordered it to see if would work here and it said yes so I didn't even get out of the store before I exchanged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

my wife loves her new phone

01/11/2014
By ,
hubert north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my wife has been with straight talk for over 2 years she was in much need a new phone and the galaxy precedent was a great choice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No service

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was never able to obtain service. Phone is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

ok for the price

02/27/2012
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't know why I thought the plan gave you internet service in the $45 plan, they do not. What it actually is, they don't charge you when you find wi-fi service and use your phone to access the internet. Other wise you would be charged for internet usage though you're not getting internet service directly from them. This phone freezes up alot. I have to power down almost every time I need to use my phone. Well what can you expect for the price. Now my phone is just acting up, I think I have a technical issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Taking it back tomorrow

10/07/2011
By ,
LaFayette, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's extremely sensitive. You can't get ringtones from phonezoo. You can't save pictures from text messages. Or sounds for ringtones. You can download music and turn it into a ringtone. No speed dial. Doesn't work in my zip even though it says it will. My old nothing LG does more than this "smart" phone does. I don't see what all the hoopla is about. My husband and I both got one of these and after spending all day on the phone with customer service (not as bad as I've heard), we're taking them back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MIDWEST
text image
Posted 10/14/2011
simply press and hold on image for approx 3 seconds for menu - save
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 136 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

disappointing xmas present

12/29/2011
By ,
gallitzin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a christmas present for my daughter. She has had straight talk phones in the past and we have had no problems so I went to them for the android phone. The phone was a good value but had no service in our area. When I called straight talk for assistance he said I should "go outside and walk around my house to find signal" should we go outside in the cold to make a phone call???? The phone didn't work outside either. I came to find out that Straight Talk's android phones only use Sprint towers. So I would recommend checking if Sprint is available in your area. We returned the Smart Talk phone and bought an AT &T prepaid phone and have great signal and she loves the phone! It would of been a great phone if it would of worked in our area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT phone for the price!

03/08/2012
By ,
Anderson SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I love this phone and it went above and beyond my expectations. However, all phones have a few glitches...
Pros:
Touch screen (sensitive but not too sensitive)
The apps are great!
I love the sleek look
I love that it is an Android phone
I LOVE that I only have to pay $45 a month!
I love the live wallpapers!
I love the size
Cons:
low battery life
Facebook almost never works
Screen freezes sometimes
It can sometimes be hard to text
It is not on the Verizon network/towers
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY IT

12/08/2013
By ,
watertown ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was hope too have a good cell phone i guess i am so wrong no phone storage and it gits a little hot too i think walmart need too take it off the web site
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

01/20/2013
By ,
Nashville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great smart phone but the straight talk customer service is non-existent! I had been a Verizon contract customer for many years & decided to go with prepaid to save some money but I have had nothing but headaches with this company. they are all in another country, can barely speak English and are rude. I put a $30 card on my grandson's phone yesterday and it will not work. You can waste a lot of money putting minutes on a phone that doesn't work. I tried to talk to customer service many times yesterday and last night and cannot get a human. Beware of this company.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not verizon

10/30/2013
By ,
se nebraska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
would have been nice if it said in the description that it only works on sprint and not Verizon now I have to return it and find one that works on Verizon and be with out a phone for another two weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 608 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  31 Next