Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.024 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(721 Reviews) 605
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
162
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%400 out of 721reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
567 Questions | 873 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
162
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice phone and all but if you do any type of travel not worth the time cause will only work under sprint and not roam so as to always receive coverage
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Android

01/17/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy my touch screen phone. The only problem that I have is that the battery life is short, if you use the phone alot. But I enjoy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

a waste of my hard earned money /

05/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After buying phone and minutes I can't get service at my home; major disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I wouldn't buy another one.

11/15/2012
By ,
Gadsden, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So this phone... It freezes alot while I'm trying to send a text. The only way I've learned to fix it is lock and unlock the phone. After that it works like nothing ever happend. It often fails to send messages, and I resend it one time then it goes through just fine. When I'm trying to recieve a phone call sometimes it wont let me answer the call. Like if I have the music player on listening to it for example sometimes it lets me answer sometimes it doesn't. Also when i try to hang up the phone or get on Facebook it freezes. When trying to view pictures on other peoples profiles you can see the thumbnails great then you tap to view them bigger and they either take a year and a half to load or they stay fuzzy so you can't see them. A few times i've been on the internet and the keyboard wont work you have to tap the buttons hard like the sensors are messed up or something. The camera takes good quality pictures however the phone has no flash like most smartphones do. I'd like it better if it did. I haven't made a video yet so no comment on that. I'm not sure if I just got a refurbished phone and thats why its like this. Maybe its just low on space and I need a SD card but I wouldn't buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Samsung...this is my LAST purchase

04/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Samsung products are developing a well earned reputation of being junk. The phone I just purchased is a replacement, the third, for a phone I bought on a Straight Talk plan. Because I have to have a Straight Talk phone I bought a Samsung, thinking I was purchasing quality the first time. Had to have to phone replaced twice and it is still garbage. Problem is I can't use the phone that I wanted with the plan that I have and I can't afford a more expensive plan then the one I have. So here I go again, buying a junk phone at a cheap price just to keep my phone bill at a monthly charge that I can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent phone, TERRIBLE COVERAGE(Sprint Network)

10/19/2011
By ,
Macon,GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this phone from walmart and it would not work inside of that very walmart. I had terrible reception at home, I was never able to hold a conversation longer than 15 minutes on that phone without it dropping the call(sprint) and that goes for home,walmart,or anywhere else. The phone itself is nice it has lots of free apps,nice camera,swipe keyboard etc. I loved the phone, but returned it because Sprint has terrible coverage and beware you only have 15 DAYS to return it to walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not impressed at all

06/28/2012
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okay so when I first found out about the Android market being on Straighttalk, I knew I had to get one. So I was going to purchase the Galaxy Proclaim because for a good two weeks, the ST website said it would work in my area when I entered the zip code. Well one week I noticed it wasn't on their website and they took it off. So they told me that the Proclaim wouldn't work even though it is a verizon phone and that is all anyone ever uses in my area is Verizon. So they told me that I should get one of the phones available like the Precedent or the Huawaii(sp?) phone and I read the reviews on the hueweii phone (sp?) and they made me decide for the Precedent since my mother in law has that phone and it works great for her.
So after buying this phone today, I was disappointed from the start.
1.) I don't get service at all in my house even though Straighttalk said I would.
2.) As soon as I was charging the phone for the first time, I kept getting this beeping noise and seeing the message (Unable to charge system. Please see owner's Manual.) I have no clue why it keeps showing me this message. It is BRAND NEW and nothing is wrong with it.
3.) The phone gets really really warm too. I have no clue why and I don't know if that is Normal but I read on here that other's had the same problem too. It gets a lot warmer when I am charging my phone but even the first time I started it up, I noticed it was warmer then most phones I have ever noticed.
So this weekend I will be running uptown and returning this phone and waiting for the Proclaim to come out and I will give that phone a try. I really am impressed with Straighttalk (bill & non android service wise), I just wish they had better Android phones with better Android Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I like it

10/16/2011
By ,
ROCHESTER,NEW YORK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased the Samsung Galaxy Precedent and so far it is an awesome prepaid device. I believe the service is provided by Sprint not Verizon as the sales associate said, therefore, some people may have trouble with their service as far as connecting. I am satisfied with the price as well I am coming from having a contract phone which was $180-$200 a month for two Blackberry devices. I can no longer afford a high cell phone bill it is just not feasible with this awful economy. I say make the switch to a prepaid service whether it is Straight Talk or not, shop around and ask questions, read the reviews stay informed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Cheap entry level Android phone.

05/02/2014
By ,
Springdale Ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone dont have much memory and androids are picky about what you can save to memory. This runs on the sprint towers so no SIM card. Poor reception or none in rural areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

SUPER PRODUCT FOR ON THE GO SMALL BUSINESS

12/31/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a small business owner always on the go, you can not go wrong with a Straight Talk phone from Walmart. I have finally graduated this fall to the new (then) to this phone. It does everything I need for business and much more. 1. above average cell coverage with SPRINT everywhere I travel in coastal GA up to SC and all over FL. 2. When a client emails me, I get a PING I go to my email ( easy Andriod App for my email ) and BAM I'm reading my email. 3. The key screen is easy to control. 4. I use a hand held scanner for documents that uses a micro SD card. After a scan I take the sd card out and switch it for the one in my phone and email a client a reply accessing (easy) the pre scanned document and send them the document. 5. The PIRCE $ 149.00 and $ 45.00 bucks a month. As a small business owner that $ 45.00 monthly fee auto drafted makes the best business sense for any small business on the go. It's a true work horse. My business freinds that have purchased the Apple phone and a contracted $ 150.00 monthly bill wish they would have waited and purchased this phone. Straigth Talk and Walmart got a great thing going. They even let you try it out for 15 days and if you don't like it return it with the receipt and the box, you can't go wrong, what a deal!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight talk area code phones

04/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only certain straight talk phones work in certain area codes. I ordered 2 phones that does not work in my area code. They do not tell you this at all. You cannot gamble and order a straight talk phone on line. You have to buy it from your local Wal-mart and area code. But the local Wal-mart was nice to let me return the online phone to them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT fone

11/01/2011
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love everything about this fone. Works very well, browsing is easy, sound quality is awesome. The only annoyance is the self locking of fone every few seconds. When contacted Samsung, it was explained to me that this was to prevent dropped calls. If that is really the case....it works.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so hot Phone.

12/03/2013
By ,
Monett,mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this phone online and when it arrived The lady at the store told me it was on the sprint network which doesn't work where I live. I checked it before I ordered it to see if would work here and it said yes so I didn't even get out of the store before I exchanged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Very Frustrating!

02/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well the phone looked great but straight talk wouldnt let us turn it on because they said it would not work in our area. Well why in the heck does the box say nationwide and if it wont work in this area why do they sell it in this area(marietta)??
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Like it

02/26/2014
By ,
St. Pete, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it , it is just taking me awhile learning how to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

great Android for the price

01/25/2012
By ,
bend, or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had no problems with it so far and the coverage has been great which is what I was most worried about so I really have nothing bad to say other than the internal memory is quite small but understandable for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY IT

12/08/2013
By ,
watertown ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was hope too have a good cell phone i guess i am so wrong no phone storage and it gits a little hot too i think walmart need too take it off the web site
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, espcially if you're new to smartphone

03/16/2012
By ,
Springdale, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm super new to using a smartphone, I love my phone! It's a little slow to upload web pages but I can live with it. No flash for the camera but it takes great pictures and the zoom is wonderful!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

wouldn't work on verizon tower. returned it..

05/01/2014
By ,
Taylorsville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my 11 year old, we read some of the views before purchasing it. We were hoping that we would not have some of the problems that some of the others experience. Believe it or not as soon as we got the phone and started to make a contact list and OMG the phone freezed up. Also the the phone powered itself all the way off, as of today the phone will not come on. Now be mindful we didn't have the phone a full day. I don't know whether it's a manufacture issue but it's going back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 606 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  31 Next