Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions | 876 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/28/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone. Service is great, have not had any dropped calls or run out of the service area. Love the speaking aspect, works for searches and texting. Lots of apps to choose from and everthing works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/23/2012
By ,
Corbin, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my daughter for Christmas...She loves it...She has not had any problems with it..It is an awesome phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This is a great smart phone but....

02/29/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is everything I expected. This is my first smart phone. It is through the sprint network so as expected the service could be better. Over-all it is everything I wanted. I have had the phone almost 3 months. The battery life is short but that is also expected with a smart phone. The charger that came with it broke after maybe a week of using it. The phone has limited phone storage space but all you have to do is buy a 8g-16g memory card off Amazon for as little as 8 dollars. (I did buy my 16g sd memory card off of Amazon for $8 plus $3 shipping and I am pleased with it) It downloads a lot of apps and it works like a smart phone should. The only problem I have with it is that here lately it has been over-heating and freezing a lot. (That might be because I dropped it I am not sure). The keyboard freezes while I am trying to type. Only dilemma, and it is rather slow loading(unless you have WiFi).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not impressed at all

06/28/2012
By ,
North Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Okay so when I first found out about the Android market being on Straighttalk, I knew I had to get one. So I was going to purchase the Galaxy Proclaim because for a good two weeks, the ST website said it would work in my area when I entered the zip code. Well one week I noticed it wasn't on their website and they took it off. So they told me that the Proclaim wouldn't work even though it is a verizon phone and that is all anyone ever uses in my area is Verizon. So they told me that I should get one of the phones available like the Precedent or the Huawaii(sp?) phone and I read the reviews on the hueweii phone (sp?) and they made me decide for the Precedent since my mother in law has that phone and it works great for her.
So after buying this phone today, I was disappointed from the start.
1.) I don't get service at all in my house even though Straighttalk said I would.
2.) As soon as I was charging the phone for the first time, I kept getting this beeping noise and seeing the message (Unable to charge system. Please see owner's Manual.) I have no clue why it keeps showing me this message. It is BRAND NEW and nothing is wrong with it.
3.) The phone gets really really warm too. I have no clue why and I don't know if that is Normal but I read on here that other's had the same problem too. It gets a lot warmer when I am charging my phone but even the first time I started it up, I noticed it was warmer then most phones I have ever noticed.
So this weekend I will be running uptown and returning this phone and waiting for the Proclaim to come out and I will give that phone a try. I really am impressed with Straighttalk (bill & non android service wise), I just wish they had better Android phones with better Android Service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone is garbage

10/19/2012
By ,
lafayette, La.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The touch screen is unruly. There is no way to add minutes directly to the phone. If they lose your account info like they did me, there is nothing you can do about it without another phone. I also resent that you have to commit to the more expensive plan. I'll be throwing mine away for a cheap net 10 phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so great in the long run...

11/23/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone a lil over a year now. It worked and worked quite well when I first got it. However, that's about as good as it gets. Since then, and for months on top of months I have had numerous problems with this phone. This is my second straight talk phone and the first one I had worked great, no problems, great reception, but it wasn't an android phone so I decided to switch and this is what they had at the time. THE PROBLEMS: Always freezes and crashes, sometimes takes me a bunch of taps to the screen to unlock the phone because it freezes, It completely erased all my icons twice and I had to put all them back on the front pages, It sometimes turns off on its own, it's been dropping calls within the past month, it overheats a lot, the battery doesn't last very long if your an active user, says it's charging while it's not, and most recently and the reason i'm ditching this phone is because it won't charge. My mom has the exact same phone and I try both batteries and both phones, the batteries are fine but my phone will not charge. It goes off and on like it's charging and it used to still charge but now it will say it's charging while it's really not. I have to swype batteries with her phone in order to use it. It was good at first but has been a disaster since not too long after the beggining. I'm not really one to bash products but I feel I had this phone long enough and can give an honest review. I think I will be switching back to virgin mobile, same wack sprint service but in my area it's cool and way better phones and you have three plans to choose from that you can alternate month to month based on your finances. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product but to each his own. If you don't wanna take my word or anybody elses for it then get one and try it and hopefully you have a completely different experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

the product was good and it meets my expection

04/16/2013
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product came earlier than it was expected. Pick was fast with excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone...when it works

07/19/2013
By ,
West Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone as a replacement for another Samsung phone that fell victim to my children. I bought this thinking that it would perform like the previous Samsung. I was horribly wrong. It will not run games, I heart radio freezes, and the phone overheats quickly. I overlooked all of that because it made calls (essentially what you want in a phone). Well, after having it for less than a month, I now have no service while I am at home. Be warned that this phone, like others have said, runs on the Sprint network NOT the Verizon network. You will have problems. After spending the money on this less than a month ago, I'm going to have to buy yet another phone because we do not have a landline phone. It may be inexpensive but it's a WASTE OF MONEY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/03/2013
By ,
blytheville ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i was very disappointed in this phone. it didnt work the battery discharged when it was supposed to be charging. the phone looked good but something was wrong.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

02/21/2014
By ,
desoto, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome value, super quick shipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Stopped working after only 5 days.

05/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After only 5 days the bottom row of buttons on the phone completely stopped working. When I tried to use the phone again, the screen began to freeze up and glitch, jumping randomly between screens if it moved at all. I am extremely unsatisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/11/2011
By ,
Winston Salem
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone seems like it would be great but the customer service from Straight Talk is as poor as they come. I had just purchased a $30 plan before buying the Android but because of problems with my old phone I was forced to make the purchase of a new one. I called Straight Talk to pay the difference and upgrade my service and they refused to help. I explained the issue and even explained that they were crazy for not attempting to help because I would be returning the phone and discontinuing my use of their service but they acted as though they are not in need of customers. From my experience in customer service you do everything possible to help out the customer. I was not asking for a handout because I wanted to pay the difference, even though $15 would not be a lot for them to eat to have a satisfied customer that would continue their years of service with them. Now they have lost 3 phones' services and I will be sure they are not affiliated with the company I replace them with.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
georgia
straight talk samsung galaxy precedent
Posted 12/24/2013
It started off working well, but the icon for the charger comes on and I don't even have it on the charger, at times I cant answer my phone ..keys get stuck...I had someone tell me I was not accepting incoming call and I don't have my phone set for that.I was gonna get the optimus just to keep my service but im seriously thinking of going to boost mobile. I don't know what smartphone actually works with no problem so im gonna do my research and check things out before I make that switch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Definitely worth the money!

12/06/2011
By ,
Ontario
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my boyfriend who is new to Android and smartphone devices and he absolutely LOVES it. It's easy to use, very practical and the coverage has been great! He lives in Cleveland and has had no coverage issues with his phone. It's a great phone for those looking for their first smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent Phone for the Price!

12/06/2011
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent is my very first smartphone, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it ever since I bought it two months ago. I was looking for an Android phone that was affordable and didn't want to be locked into a contract. Thanks to Straight Talk, I was able to find exactly what I was looking for.
Other than some occasional freezing up, adjusting to the tiny the keys on the touch-screen keyboard, and the "locking" feature that pops up during calls, I have no real complaints with the phone, but can you really, when it's only costing you $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and web? Not a bad deal for someone like myself, who only works part-time while going to school and is on a limited budget. I've been able to do pretty much everything on this phone-send e-mails, go on Facebook, check the news/weather, even read a book on it that I purchased from the Google e-bookstore!
So if you're looking for an entry-level smartphone that's affordable and don't want the hassle of a contract, you should definitely check this phone out-you may be pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Go For It!

12/10/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great smart phone with good features and functionality. It is the real deal!
My only disappointment is that you quickly run out of internal storage for apps. I wish there was either more internal storage or that more apps would allow you to transfer them to the SD card. You will need to pick and choose which apps you really want and need to download depending on their size.
Still, despite this minor shortcoming, it is a great phone and the monthly price of $45 for unlimited data, voice, and text cannot be beat!
Go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible phone Service

12/22/2011
By ,
Pennslyvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was horrible.. The battery dies with in 4 hours if that, i couldnt get any service unless i was driving in the car and naturally thats not the best time to be trying to mess with a phone. It took a entire day to download an app. It was the worst purchase and i have returned the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
there should be something that tells you where this product can be used before you purchase it. christmas i had to run around and return this to a store. ( which i live an hour away from either direction) because it does not work in my area.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not as good as they say

12/29/2011
By ,
atlanta,ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this android it is ok for games for kids, it is always having updates, to load netflix is very slow, signal inside of buildings is very very poor, the battery life is the worst, and when you come near a building service dies. it did better with my nokia E71 or my samsung sch-r355c . this android drops calls and there is nothing that straight talk can do or will do to upgrade the phone to make it better. I am switching back to my old samsung until I get my new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone/Bad Network!

01/31/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this phone after checking on line to be sure it would work in my area by zip code and after talking to some associates/customers. I have ouly had the phone for a few days but the Sprint network it is operating on is terrible. I can't download apps, send text messages and am having calls constantly dropped. The battery doesn't last long at all due to it searching for the network constantly. This is not only the case at home but also at work and many places in between. This phone is basically useless to me! I plan to carry it back to Walmart and switch my service back to my original Samsung phone that operates on the Verizon network which has always worked fine. I would caution anyone thinking about purchasing a Straight Talk phone that operates on the Sprint network to be prepared for lots of interrupted service!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 608 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  31 Next