Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions | 877 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

disappointing xmas present

12/29/2011
By ,
gallitzin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a christmas present for my daughter. She has had straight talk phones in the past and we have had no problems so I went to them for the android phone. The phone was a good value but had no service in our area. When I called straight talk for assistance he said I should "go outside and walk around my house to find signal" should we go outside in the cold to make a phone call???? The phone didn't work outside either. I came to find out that Straight Talk's android phones only use Sprint towers. So I would recommend checking if Sprint is available in your area. We returned the Smart Talk phone and bought an AT &T prepaid phone and have great signal and she loves the phone! It would of been a great phone if it would of worked in our area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+923points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/09/2011
By ,
St. Paul, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased one of these and was quickly disappointed by the service. It is serviced by Sprint here, so the data end of the phone is limited. You can't surf the web or send pictures in text messages during a call. The phone does work well. Buttons on screen are small, but you get used to them. Going back to using a GSM.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Please Please AVOID this phone

02/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please Please AVOID this phone at all cost. It's not designed for Android and to make matters worse the "3g" speed is slow, 600kps if I'm lucky.
You can't download apps because there isn't enough INTERNAL memory. for MP3's buffs though, this phones for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Lots of Features but no delivery

10/09/2011
By ,
Longview, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite the zip code verification that this phone would work in my area, I was able to get no voice service. I eventually did get the internet and text features working by having lunch on the second story of a restaurant and atempting initiation there. I LOVE straightalk and my old samsung, but was disappointed in this phone. Am trying a phone recommended by my friendly local electronics associate next, a nokia smartphone only available from walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not a good phone

03/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the $45 dollar a month is a good deal, the phone is lacking in power. The phone overheats a little to easily for doing basic things, an example of which would be when using the GPS navigation. Having GPS is great, but if the phone shuts down do to overheating it really doesn't do you much good.
The memory is also lacking and you can only install a small number of apps. Granted there are apps out there that will allow you to move the app from the phone to the memory card, but a person should be able to install more than five apps before having to go that route.
While I haven't tried any of the other phones, if you're looking to purchase this one, don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No signal

04/07/2012
By ,
Otisville, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return product, no signal, even thought Straight Talk said I should have a good signal at my homlocation.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, great price

02/15/2012
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really lpve this phone. Its my first smartphone so, I am impressed. I did research and read the reviews first, so I knew what I was gettong into. It loads kinda slow. With that said. I would still order it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/19/2011
By ,
north oxford ,ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
compared to last phone this one is excellent download tons of free apps to sd card and one touch access to google google maps facebook and more excellent for this service plan
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Bummed out about my phone

06/24/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After only having my phone for a few days, it would get extremely hot even when not in use. It only did that a few times, so I thought it was fine. Well, after a few months it started getting hot again. Not only would it get hot, but it would also freeze up. So, I bought a new battery thinking that was the problem.....nope, not the battery. 6 months later, it not only runs hot but it freezes up, does not show when I missed a call sometimes, my phone will ring but it won't show who is calling....etc. I am now looking for a new cell phone, just not an android. I'm sure other androids are just fine, but this one really burned me. :/
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern California
just get warranty service
Posted 07/27/2012
My goodness- throw away money buying a new battery?
12month warranty by straight talk covers the battery as well. They pay for shipping back for repair or replacement.
My phone is also a problem........I agree it's horrible. Mine is going back...except I bought the walmart accident/coverage plan, so hopefully I can get money back and buy a different phone.
good luck
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone great price

12/12/2011
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 14 year old daughter. She absolutely loves it. I on the other hand have a hard time using it...it is not for beginners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Price Great Phone

12/12/2011
By ,
Bagley, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Puchased with the free 1st month free. I wish I would had purchased two of them....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

NOT A HAPPY CAMPER

04/06/2012
By ,
Sheboygan, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a Straight Talk customer for many years and I’ve just upgraded from another Samsung phone. However, after 40-days of limited usage my Samsung Precedent the battery would not charge. An “unsupported battery, see manual” message appeared on my screen. There’s nothing in the manual about this or any trouble-shooting guide. I went to their web site and the only helpful advice they had to offer was try another charger. I went to their FAQ section where a lot of people were asking the same question. I work for half of the wages I use to make. Extra money for pleasure spending is hard to come by. I spent all this money on this phone for 40-days usage. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Price, great features

10/19/2011
By ,
Nixa, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all this phone works off of the Sprint network. If your area is not supported by Sprint, don't waste your time or energies trying to use this phone. However, if your phone is to be used in a Sprint service area, look no further. This phone is superior to any phone that is currently be offered by the people at Straight Talk.
This phone uses an older version of Google Android, but still functions very well. I like the idea that full HTML is supported when browsing and not just plain vanilla text, like some phones offer. The phone offers both 3G and W-Fi connections, both of which make surfing a breeze. In addition standard texting is supported as well as emailing.
This is a true Touchpad screen with zoom in and out features, built-in camera and support for up to 32GB media card. The phone is simple to use and I have used Netflix to video stream movies without a problem. The Android store has over 250,000 applications to choose from. FWIW not all apps will work on this phone.
My only con: Battery life when surfing is limited to about 4 hours or less. I find that I have to recharge the phone more often than my older talk only phone. However, Samsung provides a combo charging card for both electrical and USB charging of the device. Nice touch Samsung.
This is a great phone for a smartphone newbie such as myself and I am loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mass
Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android
Posted 05/11/2013
Can this phone be used wifi without signing up for service?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Magnificent !

01/28/2012
By ,
New York , New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is great! It meets all your expectations and it has excellent apps. The camera takes clear pictures, and the wifi is good, and the android market is incredible. The only thing I don't like is that the phone freezes quite alot and I have to restart it. Maybe it's because of all of my downloads, but don't let me ruin your chances of buying this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/01/2012
By ,
Maple Hts, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this phone was not good from when i first turned it on and it kept freezing ended up getting the LG Optimus Q for $50.00 more bucks
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
3.5 out of 5(429)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not a great phone

06/21/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While I know I can't expect much from a prepaid Walmart cell, this phone has not even met up to my initially low expectations. First, the phone is VERY low on space. I have very few apps, but whenever I download a new one I am told that my phone is low on space-- I have to delete apps in order to make room for new ones. It seems the simple solution would be to save these apps to my SD card, but unfortunately, the phone does not give me that option for most of my apps. Nor can I delete any Google apps that I don't use (such as Google Books, or Latitude). Thus, if you are someone who likes apps (and really, who doesn't?) this is not a good phone to purchase.
Also, the battery life is atrocious. It seemed Ok at first, but now, after only three months, it doesn't even last a day. I start the day with a full charge, and as soon as I use email or Facebook or anything of the like, it drops to about half charge. I usually have to plug it back in after only 4-5 hours. If I use the navigation, I have to use my car charger because it drains so fast when I use that function.
That being said, you still can't beat 45$ a month for unlimited everything. I've never had problems with service (my area has a lot of Sprint towers). But if you are looking for a reliable Smartphone that can handle a lot of apps and will last at least a day, I would not recommend this phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone poor battery endurance:

12/12/2011
By ,
ASHTABULA, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Phone works great, really meet my needs and much more. Apps are many and work great on this phone. When it comes to the battery lasting it doesn't. The stats say's 6 hours talk and 9 days are not even close to realistic. Talk is about4 hours and with no calls and nothing else running except the send and receive calls i'm lucky to get 24 hours. this is without the WI-FI, GPS, Bluetooth, and Sync not running I get if lucky 16 hours. I have tried everything I can think of to extend the batter life without shutting off all featues, and I have given up. Its not going to happen. Keep the phone on a charger all the time when you can. At home in the car you will need the power when you are not on the charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, has its down sides

10/09/2011
By ,
Marion, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone overall is a great phone, and a cheap android for Straight Talk.. However the down side is that it dosent really compare to the latest and greatest of android phones, and will start to slow down, or get hot on trying to do "too Much". If your not a heavy smart phone user, and may occasionally want to check FaceBook or surf the web, this phone is for you.
Another huge downside, as the guy before me said: Sprints network.. Verizon's network is so much better, and this phone only works on Sprints Network..
So, To cap, if you have great sprint coverage, and are not a heavy smartphone user, this one is for you.
If you are coming from something like an iPhone (as i did) to it, and/or your area has VERY BAD Sprint coverage, dont get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone freezes after charging

12/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone freezes up after charging and I have to take the battery out to reset it. I called the tech support in India and they said the couldn't help me because I don't have different phone to call them back on. Should have stayed with T-mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 608 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  31 Next