Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.021 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(724 Reviews) 608
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 724reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
230
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so great in the long run...

11/23/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone a lil over a year now. It worked and worked quite well when I first got it. However, that's about as good as it gets. Since then, and for months on top of months I have had numerous problems with this phone. This is my second straight talk phone and the first one I had worked great, no problems, great reception, but it wasn't an android phone so I decided to switch and this is what they had at the time. THE PROBLEMS: Always freezes and crashes, sometimes takes me a bunch of taps to the screen to unlock the phone because it freezes, It completely erased all my icons twice and I had to put all them back on the front pages, It sometimes turns off on its own, it's been dropping calls within the past month, it overheats a lot, the battery doesn't last very long if your an active user, says it's charging while it's not, and most recently and the reason i'm ditching this phone is because it won't charge. My mom has the exact same phone and I try both batteries and both phones, the batteries are fine but my phone will not charge. It goes off and on like it's charging and it used to still charge but now it will say it's charging while it's really not. I have to swype batteries with her phone in order to use it. It was good at first but has been a disaster since not too long after the beggining. I'm not really one to bash products but I feel I had this phone long enough and can give an honest review. I think I will be switching back to virgin mobile, same wack sprint service but in my area it's cool and way better phones and you have three plans to choose from that you can alternate month to month based on your finances. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product but to each his own. If you don't wanna take my word or anybody elses for it then get one and try it and hopefully you have a completely different experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone but uses Sprint towers

11/28/2012
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone does everything I need it to do. I have constant immediate access to 2 email accounts, facebook, and other internet apps. I downloaded several apps that I moved to the sd card so the memory wouldn't be too full. The only complaints I have are that the battery dies really fast and the Sprint towers are worthless around my house. I can't make calls from home and have to text everyone. But it works great nce I get closer to the city areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Be sure you can activate this phone in your area.

12/06/2012
By ,
Jamestown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone directly from the Straight Talk website. I was unable to activate it in my area, even though the phone would work in my area after activation. I was on the phone for over 5 hours, (half of that time was spent on hold) trying to activate it, unsuccessfully. Make sure the phone you choose will work in your area as well as be activated in your area as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great product, great price!

12/15/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase. This phone is very nice and user friendly and exceeded my expectations. Much better camera than my previous IPhone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great value and product

12/16/2012
By ,
Athens, Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these phones as Christmas gifts for my daughter and her husband, gave them to them a little early so they could begin enjoying them and they have. they both love their phone, so now I am thinking about ordering another one for my 15 year old neice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/18/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy w/ our phones. I was pleasantly surprised w/ the features. Alot of phone for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/20/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this phone for my 11 yr old granddaughter for christmas, so I really can't comment on the quality of the phone, since christmas isn't here yet. I think it will be a great camera for a first time cell phone user...I'm know my granddaughter is going LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/20/2012
By ,
kansas city ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice phone for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/23/2012
By ,
Kalamazoo, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have sent this phone back three (3) times. It freezes up....battery get real hot.. phone turn black. It is crazy. I wish I could get my money paid back ($84) I would get another one a step up from this one. The representives have been real helpful but I dont like talking on the phone for hours and over seas it sound like. I think I will go back to sprint phone. Poor choice in phone this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

did not work for my coverage area

12/26/2012
By ,
Garrison ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return it due to service coverage
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

1st ever smartphone!

12/30/2012
By ,
Newport, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, I read the reviews and watched some youtube videos before deciding on this phone. We have excellent Sprint coverage in my area, I also bought a 32 gb micro sd card through walmart. I went to Amazon for a cover and screen protector though because I could get two gel colored cases and a screen protector for less than 10 dollars including shipping. This phone is super easy to use, takes great pictures, holds a charge all day (unless surfing the net), and is a great buy all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/02/2013
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No signal despite being in a well covered area.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone. Great price.

01/07/2013
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom loves the phone. Cannot beat the price of this phone with all of it's features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
01/18/2013
By ,
Chas, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't have a chance to use the phone. Couldn't find a tower to support it. Wish I had known before i bought it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

works good

01/30/2013
By ,
Chico, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone works good. I've had it for 2 weeks and it has worked a little slow for me just once.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good smartphone for price!

01/31/2013
By ,
Harrisburg SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smartphone does everything my smartphone from a leading cell service did. It doesn't have very much storage tho, so I have to delete my messages daily so I have room for more. I had downloaded a couple of apps for games I like, but thought it might be taking up storage space so deleted them. But this phone is capable of downloading any app from the androd appstore! I like the touch screen feature compared to using actual keys.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

battery

01/31/2013
By ,
Brookfield
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After about 6 months the battery would not hold a charge for more than 4 hours. When i contacted Straight Talk they wanted to replace the phone, not just the battery. I would have to send in my phone and wait up to 14 days for a new phone to arrive. The hassle of having ti enter all of your saved settings and files are not worth it. When i bought this phone it cost $129 and now it is only $ 79. Why the price drop?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not The Greatest

02/15/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this phone for a little over a year now and it's okay for a touch screen but it works on Sprint towers so expect to have dropped calls. I have called straighttalk and they offered to replace my phone since it happens to be defective but they weren't willing to replace the minutes that I would lose. So if you want a touch screen get this one, but if your looking for a good camera phone shy away from it because the pictures I would say are a 2/5.
Overall experience with the phone I give it 3/5 or a 5/10
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Bad phone

02/26/2013
By ,
Lexington, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchase this phone for my son, the first night it freezed up. The second night it freezed up, I returned it the third night (it freezed up).
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
02/28/2013
By ,
hixson tn.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got my samsung galaxy precedent as a christmas gift if I move around in my house while talking on the phone it drops my calls now the battery wont charge its a waste money Im returning it to walmart have only had it for 2 months when I plug it in to charge it it says the battery is not compatable with the phone and its the battery that came with the phone it turns off and on by its self it freezes up and wont do anything
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
81-100 of 609 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  31 Next