Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone -- Great plan !!

12/21/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an early Christmas present for my daughter. She loves it! I don't think I could have bought anything that she would have liked better. The straight-talk program is more than half the price of her previous cell phone plan, and the phone is great. Now she can get on Facebook anytime she wants. I would recommend this phone and plan to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buyer Beware

12/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After checking service on this phone use in my zip code, I ordered it only to find that there really is no service in my location. Tech support told me that the marketing people were responsible for posting this phone as having service in my area. Before you buy any android or smart phone call Straight Talk and ask for the android support department to verify through them that you will have service. Also, be aware that if you have to return your phone, you will not be reimbursed for the shipping charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/01/2012
By ,
oswego ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this phone just as good as my iphone.. i have no problems with a single..
i would buy another one if it did break...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight talk phone

03/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't buy this phone, you will waste hard earned money. I had to take this phone back 2 times for an exchange b4 i took it back for a refund. There are alot of negatives about this phone... 1.) the keyboard is too small to use 2.) Extreme freeze. I experienced major freezing with each exchanged phone 3.) Not enough battery life (even if your not using wifi, using low back light etc etc) 4.) Poor service everywhere regardless if you in a big city or not. 5.) Text messages came late (like a day later). 5.) Got to the point where i couldn't make any calls even when i had plenty of service and signals. 6.) The phone is small and the screen is not big enough. 7.) runs on sprint...
pros: speakers for the mp3 are loud and plenty of apps. please don't wast your money on this trash.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not the greatest..

01/24/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Whe i got this phone i loved it after a while i started to notice it would freeze when im on the phone, it will shut off if i place it on the table, it would take forever to turn on you would literally have to keep pushing the button till it went on,sometimes when i put my phone on the charger it would blink on and off, and sometimes it will lose service randomly,and last of of all the BATTERY DIES FAST.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Totally Poor Choice

04/28/2013
By ,
Burlington NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a gift for my wife for Valentines day. She has had a problem with it freezing up and having to take the battery out to re boot. The battery does not hold a charge. We purchased another battery and that still does not help. I contacted Straight Talk about it and their policy is "send us your phone and we will send you a new one" in the mean time she is without a phone. I have had Straight Talk for a couple of years and have an older flip phone. I have never had a problem but since that is their policy it now becomes a problem. I am contemplating switching carriers for both of our phones. I would not recommend this phone or Straight Talk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I cant receive any messages! CRAZY!

01/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor reception. drop calls all the time. freezes and turns off itself. delay in responding to touch. I cant receive messages. WHY????? bad decision..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
02/29/2012
By ,
Little Rock, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Decent phone but like all other straight talk phones, it comes with kinks. Good price for an Android, and great price for phone plan. Straight talk needs to start making their phones better. They need to make their phones as great as their price and phone plans.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
02/29/2012
By ,
Inverness FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I'm pleased with the Samsung G3 slider and have had no problems with pickup which was a concern,not being familiar with Sprint.This plan gives me the works unlimited with no contract and is cheaper than the limited plan I had with Verzion.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not a good phone

03/17/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the $45 dollar a month is a good deal, the phone is lacking in power. The phone overheats a little to easily for doing basic things, an example of which would be when using the GPS navigation. Having GPS is great, but if the phone shuts down do to overheating it really doesn't do you much good.
The memory is also lacking and you can only install a small number of apps. Granted there are apps out there that will allow you to move the app from the phone to the memory card, but a person should be able to install more than five apps before having to go that route.
While I haven't tried any of the other phones, if you're looking to purchase this one, don't.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good Android Phone For A Pre-Paid & Price

11/27/2011
By ,
Mobile, AL.- San Diego, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Phone is a basic Android phone gets the basics done for the android market but it has a slow processor that at times stalls but overall a great bang for the buck specially with out a Contract.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No signal

04/07/2012
By ,
Otisville, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return product, no signal, even thought Straight Talk said I should have a good signal at my homlocation.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst buy ever!!!!!!!

02/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my phone online and had it shipped site to store. Walmart's end of everything was handled very professionally! Straight talk however... not so much! I have literally been on and off the phone with the company for over 24 hrs now just trying to activate this piece of junk. We finally got it activated and now it doesn't want to work, can't make calls, can't send text, can't browse the web... NOTHING! I have been asked to "Update" the Profile 12 times now. I have updated the profile inside the house, outside the house, in different rooms. The phone its self is refusing to update! I am having to use the phone on my computer through my gmail account just to call the company because this was my only phone. Guess thats what I get for dong away with my house phone three years ago and trying to go cheap. Single moms seem to get the raw end of the deal sometimes. Dont waist your time and money with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This is a great smart phone but....

02/29/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is everything I expected. This is my first smart phone. It is through the sprint network so as expected the service could be better. Over-all it is everything I wanted. I have had the phone almost 3 months. The battery life is short but that is also expected with a smart phone. The charger that came with it broke after maybe a week of using it. The phone has limited phone storage space but all you have to do is buy a 8g-16g memory card off Amazon for as little as 8 dollars. (I did buy my 16g sd memory card off of Amazon for $8 plus $3 shipping and I am pleased with it) It downloads a lot of apps and it works like a smart phone should. The only problem I have with it is that here lately it has been over-heating and freezing a lot. (That might be because I dropped it I am not sure). The keyboard freezes while I am trying to type. Only dilemma, and it is rather slow loading(unless you have WiFi).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/01/2012
By ,
Maple Hts, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this phone was not good from when i first turned it on and it kept freezing ended up getting the LG Optimus Q for $50.00 more bucks
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
3.5 out of 5(429)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

the phone is awesome

06/13/2012
By ,
128 lyndhurst dr.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i think this phone is sooo my type i cant wait to come get it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Don't Waste Your Money

08/26/2013
By ,
Lebanon, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my first smartphone so at first I was green to what I would want and/or use, and being on a fixed income I was trying to save money. The first 6 months it was great, clear voice talk and the the apps I use most frequently can be placed on my microSD card. About a month ago it started to drop and break up calls and freeze up. I had to take the battery out to defrost it, I couldn't even turn it off. That worked for awhile until the past week, now the calls are choppy and are dropped all the time. The 3G mobile stopped working. The 3G stops and disappears whenever I dial a number and reappears when I hang up. This is my only phone and I have to have it at all times. The warranty is useless. I was told I would have to mail in my phone to receive a repair or a replacement. It hasn't been a year and it's already stopped working properly, why would I want another one just like it!?
Also, you can't use the camera for scanning barcodes and QR codes the pictures are too fuzzy and it doesn't have flash and zoom. The music player is great, that does work well. With Android 2.2 isn't compatible with certain apps like Channel 9 News Cincinnati Storm Watch, Woman's Day, Good Housekeeping and others because they require Android 2.3 and up. So if you are in the market for certain features and apps, I give you free advice. Look up what version of Android is required, if it says Android 2 and up, don't believe it not with this phone. You cannot do enough research before buying your first smartphone. You will save a lot of money and avoid headaches and hassles. The battery no longer keeps a charge like it did before. Good luck!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Ughhh

08/31/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone was great when I got it but after a few weeks it started to lag and a bunch of other stuff. Next week I'm getting a new phone because the battery does not hold anymore and I have to turn it of and back on a million times, it doesn't hang up, and it's very slow and glitch. My first smartphone and it was the absolute worst. I can only use it a few times at least one day because of the battery. (charger is broke)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great cellphone

09/16/2013
By ,
Dothan, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good Android Phone for the Money

06/30/2012
By ,
Quad Cities, Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a Samsung and I researched & comparison shopped for a Android phone on the Straight Talk service for several weeks before this purchase. It works best on the Sprint Network, so check to see how well your coverage is in your area before purchase.
Have to say the one draw back of this phone is the virtual keyboard. But then again, it is the drawback of most of the smartphone/android phones out there on the market. I would recommend a stylus that has a rubberized tip, especially if you have chubby fingers like mine :) HINT TO STRAIGHT TALK: get some smartphone/android phones with physical QWERTY KEYBOARDS! Aside from that, this phone has a lot to offer. Mine worked well straight out of the box. Easy to set up with a non-ported number, it was ready in minutes. MANY, MANY, useful apps available for it. Including Netflix, organizers, and optimizers. You really can not beat this phone for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
81-100 of 608 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  31 Next