Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.029 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(689 Reviews) 573
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
217
Customer Recommendation56%383 out of 689reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
552 Questions | 844 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
217
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I can't believe how good this phone is!!!!

10/20/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking at the reviews of this phone, I was a little nervous to purchase it, but it was on sale for such a good price, I took the risk. This is my first smartphone, and I've now had it for a week, and somehow I can't imagine how I ever existed before having it? I don't know if I am lucky, or if everyone who has rated this phone is wrong, but knock on wood, I have not had one single problem with this phone, no overheating, no freezing, no nothing.. There are so many apps to pick from, and when your internal memory goes low, just transfer the apps to the 2GB sd card that comes with the phone, so easy. I love this little phone, and the fact that I got it for such a great price, makes me love it even more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Problems I've experienced with this phone

10/23/2012
By ,
Stafford, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ever since I purchased this phone, i've been having major problems with it and have also been thinking about returning it back to the store. Everyday this phone freezes on me, i can't hear my phone ringing when someone calls, my alarm doesn't work, and battery runs out very fast. But everything else I guess is okay..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/25/2012
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
phone is great battery life not so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Second one

10/26/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first one of these4 lasted two years. Which is very good since I drop things. I did put a gel case around it since we have a concrete slab. It is my home and cell phone. When my last one was acting funny I ordered one just like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Very nice phone - I love it

10/28/2012
By ,
Fredonia NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has nice functions and is easy to use and learn. Without a doubt it does everything that I expected it to do and more. This is a high quality phone and for the money I am thrilled with it.
The only issues I have is the short battery life and the small keyboard.
If you are one of those people who is on the phone either calling or texting many times an hour the short battery life might be an issue for you. I text and call a fair amount daily and must charge it every night. Its not really a problem I just found the short battery life to be odd.
The small keyboard is a problem. I even downloaded the big button keyboard and I still have trouble texting. The phone is just smaller than the Iphone which means smaller buttons. In fairness I am a guy with big fingers. This may not be a problem for you.
I would buy the phone again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

wouldnt work in my zip code

11/03/2012
By ,
clare mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
and it stated it would work in my code
slow
wouldnt buy again
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Never updated past android 2.2.2

11/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't use the newest apps for my bank with this phone because they haven't updated it in 2 years. Stuck with Android 2.2.2 and Samsung says they DO NOT intend to update it. Will NEVER BUY SAMSUNG PHONES AGAIN!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Cell Phone Value

11/09/2012
By ,
Hallsville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Precedent is a great smart phone for the price. With the Straight Talk plan, my monthly costs have been almost cut in half.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/11/2012
By ,
WEST frankfort IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this new Smart Phone, I learn something New about it and how to use it everyday!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Uses Sprints towers

11/13/2012
By ,
Newport News, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone for about a year now and it is very durable and has access to android play. I rooted mine to get better app access but the useability is overshadowed by the horrible reception and dropped calls. Newport News, Va is where I live and this phone drops calls constantly. I am going to switch to the galaxy proclaim because it is on the Verizon network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone,Bad service

11/15/2012
By ,
Southeast Texas, USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone is operating very well, however, the service has been a disapointment. We have used Verison in the past and had little or no connection issues. Under Straight Talk ( Sprint ) the connection seems to be hit or miss. If this is not corrected soon then I will be forced to find another service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

grandaughter loves this item

11/19/2012
By ,
springfield illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this phone for my grandaughter so i can only relate to you what she tells me which is that she is happy with the phone , to compare the value of this deal , i have a contract with A.T&T in which i have no text,no internet or long distance,and it usualy cost me 47.00 dollars a month,my grandaughter has unlimited every thing for a flat 45.00 dollars a month, as far as im concerned you cant beat this deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my 11 year old, we read some of the views before purchasing it. We were hoping that we would not have some of the problems that some of the others experience. Believe it or not as soon as we got the phone and started to make a contact list and OMG the phone freezed up. Also the the phone powered itself all the way off, as of today the phone will not come on. Now be mindful we didn't have the phone a full day. I don't know whether it's a manufacture issue but it's going back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not so great in the long run...

11/23/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone a lil over a year now. It worked and worked quite well when I first got it. However, that's about as good as it gets. Since then, and for months on top of months I have had numerous problems with this phone. This is my second straight talk phone and the first one I had worked great, no problems, great reception, but it wasn't an android phone so I decided to switch and this is what they had at the time. THE PROBLEMS: Always freezes and crashes, sometimes takes me a bunch of taps to the screen to unlock the phone because it freezes, It completely erased all my icons twice and I had to put all them back on the front pages, It sometimes turns off on its own, it's been dropping calls within the past month, it overheats a lot, the battery doesn't last very long if your an active user, says it's charging while it's not, and most recently and the reason i'm ditching this phone is because it won't charge. My mom has the exact same phone and I try both batteries and both phones, the batteries are fine but my phone will not charge. It goes off and on like it's charging and it used to still charge but now it will say it's charging while it's really not. I have to swype batteries with her phone in order to use it. It was good at first but has been a disaster since not too long after the beggining. I'm not really one to bash products but I feel I had this phone long enough and can give an honest review. I think I will be switching back to virgin mobile, same wack sprint service but in my area it's cool and way better phones and you have three plans to choose from that you can alternate month to month based on your finances. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this product but to each his own. If you don't wanna take my word or anybody elses for it then get one and try it and hopefully you have a completely different experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/24/2012
By ,
TALLAHASSEE,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is the worst phone i have ever owned.it freeze up after about three call,to get it work again you have to remove the battery.I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Bargain Phone

11/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone is a great bargain phone. All of the features work as advertised.
The battery life is shorter than I would like however a charger was included. The keyboard is small but useable and the touch screen is responsive with no noticeable problems. The camera even though a lower megapixel than most current models takes clear and crisp pictures.
The biggest complaint I have is that the coverage area I am in does not receive great reception which I feel should be disclosed on the site when purchasing phones.
After adding a case and screen protector the phone is very sturdy and reliable when I have reception. I have noticed no freezing or processor problems and all popular apps I have tried have worked without problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/24/2012
By ,
Washington PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely LOVE the phone, and the straight talk deal! It works as well as an expensive plan, but so much more affordable.
Only complaint I do have is that the battery runs down fast.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/27/2012
By ,
Portland maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this came just as fast as promised , great value WM is super at site to store !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
11/28/2012
By ,
Malvern,Ar
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great phone,(LOVE THE PHONE)but poor service,only can use in area of zip code. Need more Straight Talk wireless service for ANDROID. The map showes area's for service. Check before buying. Thirty miles away and NO SERVICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone but uses Sprint towers

11/28/2012
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone does everything I need it to do. I have constant immediate access to 2 email accounts, facebook, and other internet apps. I downloaded several apps that I moved to the sd card so the memory wouldn't be too full. The only complaints I have are that the battery dies really fast and the Sprint towers are worthless around my house. I can't make calls from home and have to text everyone. But it works great nce I get closer to the city areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 574 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  29 Next