Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.025 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(722 Reviews) 606
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation56%401 out of 722reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
567 Questions | 873 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

HORRIBLE SMART(DUMB)PHONE EVER!

06/29/2014
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have been with Tracfone for many years and my husband wanted to stay with tracfone and get a new smartphone. I order this Samsung tracfone from walmart.com. it shipped very fast and packaging was really good but that is where the nice stuff stops. the moment we activated this phone with tracfone the service has been horrible. we charged it up and he babies this phone yet it scan for a signal forever, it eats minutes like a starving animal and it hardly ever received his texts or gmail. taking pictures is nonexistant and the internet is a joke. pages either wont load or load really bad. i would run, not walk away from this phone. you are better off getting a REAL smartphone with an unlimited contract free service from virgin or cricket. tracfone, you really need to fix these issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

okay

07/26/2014
By ,
Bardstown, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You what you pay for. Some apps are too new and not compatible with device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Poor product with poor customer service

11/13/2013
By ,
sedan, ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk has poor equipment . Twice they have sold me a phone they said would work in my zip code and neither would pick up one bar. Their customer service ( what a misnomer) is next to non existent. They can't speak English well enough toi understand them and it appears they just read their scripts .I'll never buy another straight talk product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great sound.

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a little smaller than what expected but overall it is a great little phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buy the Warranty

10/20/2011
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the phone three weeks ago and at first I loved it. The coverage does work on Sprint, but it's not that bad. The phone is nice sized and does what I wanted it to. However, I am already on my second one. The first one I bought I had plugged in to my car charger and it got so hot it almost burned my hand when I went to use it. So far no problems with my second one. I recommend the phone, it could have just been a bad one. Either case for about 20 bucks I would recommend the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+672points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, has its down sides

10/09/2011
By ,
Marion, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone overall is a great phone, and a cheap android for Straight Talk.. However the down side is that it dosent really compare to the latest and greatest of android phones, and will start to slow down, or get hot on trying to do "too Much". If your not a heavy smart phone user, and may occasionally want to check FaceBook or surf the web, this phone is for you.
Another huge downside, as the guy before me said: Sprints network.. Verizon's network is so much better, and this phone only works on Sprints Network..
So, To cap, if you have great sprint coverage, and are not a heavy smartphone user, this one is for you.
If you are coming from something like an iPhone (as i did) to it, and/or your area has VERY BAD Sprint coverage, dont get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Ok phone as long as you don't use a lot of apps

06/26/2013
By ,
Paducah, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the most part, I really like this phone. I have found that it is rather slow and freezes up a lot. There isn't near enough internal memory and some of the apps do not have the option to move to the SD card. If you have large fingers you will more than likely have trouble hitting the correct keys. I have found that my phone processes faster if I go into Applications and uninstall all of the updates for apps I don't use regularly. I also wish this phone got better reception. I live in an older home and sometimes I can't get a signal inside. At times it jumps to the wrong time zone too. I also do not like the order the text msgs are in...I wanted a chronological order...instead I have to scroll all the way up to read what I have sent. As soon as I can afford to I will be getting a newer Android phone. I do prefer the Android platform over Apple though. I used to have an iPhone. I really miss how fast it was but I have access to a lot more apps with Android. I really wish the camera had a flash and took better pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

great buy

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The screen sticks occasionally. Great product fort the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+923points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Satisfied until...

12/07/2011
By ,
Greenville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always been satisfied with Straight Talk until I purchased this phone for my husband and myself. The second day my husband phone started freezing up and had to keep removing the battery to reset it. We took the phone back to Walmart and exchanged for another one but that one is still doing the same thing. On the third day my phone started doing the same thing with freezing up and taking out the battery. When it freezes up the phone gets really hot. Also I am unhappy that the Android phones are on Sprint and not Verizon because I never had a problem with a signal but now I do. Very unhappy right now!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

don't get thisnphone

10/20/2011
By ,
Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ii don't recommend this phone at all. The reception is horrible, battery life is a joke. Even without making a single call, the phone needs to be charged twice in one day. It constantly freezes up. The only way to reset it is to take the battery out and reinstall. I've been with straight talk for over a year and had no problems but apparently they use different towers for the android phone so, this phone doesn't work in my area. Customer service is no help at all. Straight talk just lost another customer because of their poor excuse for an android phone and poor customer relations. Oh, by the way connection speed to the Internet is similar to that of using dial up....pretty sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No service

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was never able to obtain service. Phone is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

OK for a starter phone

05/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THe phone is OK if all you want to do on it is text. I didnt have anything downloaded on the phone but tried to Download candy crush and there was not enough memory
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

VERY POOR coverage

10/27/2011
By ,
Columbia SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I called straight talk, they said this was on the cdma network. On their site, it says they partner with 2 gsm(att & tmobile) and 1 cdma, verizon. So I ordered it. I have had a straight talk phone for 2 years, its on verizon, works great. Now the droid arrives, charge and activate it. Boy am I glad I did not port my number over! I live in columbia sc, had no coverage except on the interstate. I don't live or work on the interstate. After 2 weeks looking for a signal, I gave up. Now they story gets bad. I call st to return the phone, they say I live in a area with coverage, so I cant return it. SO BUYER BEWARE, UNLESS YOU KNOW YOU HAVE SPRINT COVERAGE, AND AS YOU READ THESE REVIEWS, YOU SEE MOST PEOPLE DO NOT. I would not order from st, if your local walmart does not have it, then forget it. Feel lucky not having to deal with this poor coverage. By the way, I had no problem with the phone it self.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for the price!

04/07/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The precedent comes equipped with some really nice features and they are easier to use than my $100 phone. Like the talk to text, and even the text keypad layout. I especially liked the ringtones and notification sounds that were on this phone. The only downside is that the precedent has a 2.2 OS and so it responds more slowly than my old phone. I definitely would recommend this phone to anyone who doesn't care about playing fast-paced games on their phone. The precedent does everything else, and it does it well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This phone craves attention

10/10/2011
By ,
Nashville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has constant dialog boxes that require you to read the screen. To operate the "Handsfree" dialing system it requires 3 touches to make the call and one to hang it up. It requires fewer hand motions to just find the contact and dial the number. When accepting an incoming call one has to look at the screen, find an icon and slide that icon to the right. This can be very tricky and quite dangerous if you are changing lanes at the time. It is the same to hang up.
The phone is ok for reading the news and checking email. I had a hard time fat fingering the qwerty touchscreen keyboard but I got used to it and almost enjoy typing on it..
I will be taking this back ASAP to trade for a phone that is actually good for calling people. Please do not use this phone on the road. It requires too much attention to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 10/18/2011
Why are you playing with your phone AND driving? Glad I don't live near Nashville, I would hate for your incompetence be the death of me and/or my family....
+7points
Customer Avatar
"on the road"
Posted 10/18/2011
No one should be using the phone anyways if they are driving. That is very unsafe!
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
21-40 of 607 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next