Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.038 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(686 Reviews) 570
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
214
Customer Recommendation56%383 out of 686reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
551 Questions | 839 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
156
3 stars
68
2 stars
66
1 star
214
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent Phone for the Price!

12/06/2011
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent is my very first smartphone, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it ever since I bought it two months ago. I was looking for an Android phone that was affordable and didn't want to be locked into a contract. Thanks to Straight Talk, I was able to find exactly what I was looking for.
Other than some occasional freezing up, adjusting to the tiny the keys on the touch-screen keyboard, and the "locking" feature that pops up during calls, I have no real complaints with the phone, but can you really, when it's only costing you $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and web? Not a bad deal for someone like myself, who only works part-time while going to school and is on a limited budget. I've been able to do pretty much everything on this phone-send e-mails, go on Facebook, check the news/weather, even read a book on it that I purchased from the Google e-bookstore!
So if you're looking for an entry-level smartphone that's affordable and don't want the hassle of a contract, you should definitely check this phone out-you may be pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Forget the iPhone, this beats it hands down !

11/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It blows the iPhone away since it has a beautiful screen, easy to use interface and fast network transfers.
The lack of a keyboard made me reluctant at first until I used the voice recognition feature to dictate SMS text messages, address book entries or just directions to closet restaraunt.
Example: I can activate voice search and speak "directions to nearest WalMart" and the phone automatically uses the GPS and superimposes my location onto a real time Google Map and then shows me the route to the nearest WalMart or allows me to choose other WalMarts.
I can dictate SMS messages faster than I could even type them on a laptop or a thumboard or just dictate into a chat window or Facebook and my Tweets.
The onscreen keyboard is OK but prone to fat fingering the wrong keys but the voice recognition makes up for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for price

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an upgraded newer version of one of the same phones I bought from Straighttalk a year ago that cost me nearly $100. My daughter lost her phone and I saw this one and thought I would get this since you just couldn't beat the price. I was astonished when I first saw it. I think I will replace mine with this one too. Works great for all we are wanting to use it for. Awesome deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!

01/13/2014
By ,
Atlanta, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the WORST PHONE I have ever had! The touchscreen barely works. The phone mutes its self. The internet is literally like dialup. MOst of the time Im unable to send or receive text. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES. YOU WILL BE HIGHLY UPSET LIKE MYSELF!!!!Everything that you can think of that's bad for a phone, then this is it......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not what I was hoping for ....

04/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not get this as a phone but to access the web and listen to Pandora at work. Turns out Pandora has issues with this phone. So, I tried to go with "I heart radio" but it is not compatible with this phone ...... big bummer ....... guess I will stick with my mp3 player for now
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Sold in this area. Wouldnt work in this area.

01/17/2014
By ,
Eldorado, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter online only to find out it couldn't be activated in this area. Waste of money. Had to return it to Walmart locally and buy her a more expensive one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio Texas
Posted 01/21/2014
After reading these post, I think I'll pass on Straight Talk. What got my attention right off the bat was having to enter my zip code to see if it will work where I live. No thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

sorry

02/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had to get a replacement on one and looking to get it on the other one also. Bought two of them at same time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Nice little phone

04/14/2014
By ,
De Soto, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the phone and all of it's features; but, it is missing one feature I really need and that is a timer for the camera so I can take full-length pictures of myself by myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

cell phone

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good one
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

nice phone

04/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

the features are more than I can ask for.

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy , cell phone internet speed about 1 mB

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone says can't charge the battery that came with it
Do not buy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Love the phone easy to use.

12/11/2013
By ,
Bloomington, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Still learning how to use all of the great things about this phone. But I like the phone very easy to use. The only thing some of the instructions in the booklet could go into a little more detail for more clarity.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

brand new

04/12/2014
By ,
KELSO,WA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone won't charge
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Ok phone as long as you don't use a lot of apps

06/26/2013
By ,
Paducah, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the most part, I really like this phone. I have found that it is rather slow and freezes up a lot. There isn't near enough internal memory and some of the apps do not have the option to move to the SD card. If you have large fingers you will more than likely have trouble hitting the correct keys. I have found that my phone processes faster if I go into Applications and uninstall all of the updates for apps I don't use regularly. I also wish this phone got better reception. I live in an older home and sometimes I can't get a signal inside. At times it jumps to the wrong time zone too. I also do not like the order the text msgs are in...I wanted a chronological order...instead I have to scroll all the way up to read what I have sent. As soon as I can afford to I will be getting a newer Android phone. I do prefer the Android platform over Apple though. I used to have an iPhone. I really miss how fast it was but I have access to a lot more apps with Android. I really wish the camera had a flash and took better pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible phone

01/12/2014
By ,
Ventura, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for over a year now and it disappoints me. When my mom bought it, it was $120. I of course was happy but after a few months I started to forget about it. The charging port broke and it's very very slow. If you want to get your child a smartphone I wouldn't choose this one unless you want to have endless problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Buy

10/10/2011
By ,
Conroe, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard.
My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast...
I am very satisfied with my purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north canton
Posted 10/18/2011
they are coming out with the keyboard thats why i am waiting for it
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I like this phone

12/06/2013
By ,
Lakewood Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked this phone until now. I have had this phone less than a year and now the internal charger will not connect to my external charger. I am meaning when I plug it in the icon shows it is charging and it is not. The little sound that the phone makes when I plug in the charger will go off for a minute or so even when the phone is not plugged it. It will vibrate and buzz for no reason, even if it is not being touched. I know I can't expect a perfect phone that is refurbished but I expect it to last longer than a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Perfect keep in touch phone.

04/05/2014
By ,
BJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has all the features that allow you to keep in touch with loved ones. Bought for my grandson who is 16. The affordability of texting and browser capability is second to none. I now hear from family at least once a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buy the Warranty

10/20/2011
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the phone three weeks ago and at first I loved it. The coverage does work on Sprint, but it's not that bad. The phone is nice sized and does what I wanted it to. However, I am already on my second one. The first one I bought I had plugged in to my car charger and it got so hot it almost burned my hand when I went to use it. So far no problems with my second one. I recommend the phone, it could have just been a bad one. Either case for about 20 bucks I would recommend the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 571 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next