Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.023 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(723 Reviews) 607
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation55%401 out of 723reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions | 876 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Buy the Warranty

10/20/2011
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the phone three weeks ago and at first I loved it. The coverage does work on Sprint, but it's not that bad. The phone is nice sized and does what I wanted it to. However, I am already on my second one. The first one I bought I had plugged in to my car charger and it got so hot it almost burned my hand when I went to use it. So far no problems with my second one. I recommend the phone, it could have just been a bad one. Either case for about 20 bucks I would recommend the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/06/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone works off of the Sprint network, so be warned! It is a great little phone, everything you need right in your hand, and no contract, what more could you ask for for $45 a month, unlimited texts, calls and web. I have had this phone just over a week, and I can't put it down, easy to use, easy to surf, easy to IM, access mail... you name it, it does it! like a smartphone should.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+672points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
pasadena tx
Do Not Buy!!!
Posted 04/22/2013
i just purchesed this phone about a week ago and today it just frozed !!! i never droped it it was no where near the watera nd besides all that i cant return it to my local walmart because i dont have a receipt or original packadging.. who would thought after a week this would happen?! very dissapointed
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbia, SC
Great Little Phone, (However...)
Posted 04/09/2013
One word says it all: "SPRINT"
If that' not sufficient, try 'dropped calls' -- 'Insufficient signal' -- "I can only hear about every every fourth word!" and so on, -- endlessly. If you use this phone for business, you'd better make doggone sure you have a consistent signal, or it may wind up costing you money. I wasn't aware that it was on Sprint's network until after I got it, otherwise I wouldn't have even considered it. The phone is nice, but I recommend your checking out your service area during the warranty period. I'm disappointed so far. Good Luck, whatever you decide!
+1point
Customer Avatar
billerica, ma
switched to the proclaim, it runs off verizon
Posted 10/14/2012
Had the precedent and husband had the proclaim. His phone got service just about everywhere while mine didn't. I ended up purchasing the proclaim, now I don't have to listen to that annoying no service sound anymore. Sprint is terrible in my area of mass and the white mountains where I travel a lot.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Anaheim, CA
SPRINT vs VERIZON
Posted 06/30/2012
I have been a Design Drafter for 20 years and I Spent most of My Career Designing Cellular Telephone Sites... from the Ground Up. When it came time to decide on a Service Provider, with ALL the Best Info at My Disposal, I Chose Sprint & have had them ever since 2001. I only went to Straight Talk after being Busted up in a Car Accident & Disabled... and Made Broke. SPRINT Has Equal Coverage to Verizon in Most of the U.S.A., especially here in SoCal. I Always Got Full Bars up in the Mountains when My Friends with Verizon or other Carriers got None. My DATA Speed with SPRINT is MUCH FASTER Than Verizon Can Provide as well. P.S.: Verizon's Unlimited Service Costs 2 & 1/2 times More than SPRINT'S does. STOP Believing the ADS and Trust a Professional. BTW: Salesmen Will Say Anything to Sell You Their Product. Caveat Emptor... (Let the Buyer Beware.) Samsung Also Makes the BEST Phones and Other Electronics in the World.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
which towers, Verizon or Sprint?
Posted 06/25/2012
I read one review that said this phone ran off of Verizon, another said Sprint...which one?? A friend purchased the $179 phone that says it will not work in our area, but hers works fine?? I'd rather have the Precedent if it runs off of Verizon towers
-4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, has its down sides

10/09/2011
By ,
Marion, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone overall is a great phone, and a cheap android for Straight Talk.. However the down side is that it dosent really compare to the latest and greatest of android phones, and will start to slow down, or get hot on trying to do "too Much". If your not a heavy smart phone user, and may occasionally want to check FaceBook or surf the web, this phone is for you.
Another huge downside, as the guy before me said: Sprints network.. Verizon's network is so much better, and this phone only works on Sprints Network..
So, To cap, if you have great sprint coverage, and are not a heavy smartphone user, this one is for you.
If you are coming from something like an iPhone (as i did) to it, and/or your area has VERY BAD Sprint coverage, dont get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing Droid Phone with All the Perks for $45!

10/08/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a loyal and longtime customer of ST. I pre-ordered this phone when it was offered to existing customers during a pre-launch sale. I experienced a minor problem with porting my number from my existing ST (Verizon) phone but ST CS was diligent and worked to correct the problem. I strongly recommend using the the CS (submit a ticket) option on the ST Facebook page. They are very efficient and always respond quickly. The ST 800 CS is often a little dicey due to language barriers.
While I agree that Sprint is not as great as Verizon, I am willing to deal with that inconvenience in order to have a true Droid phone with all the perks -- unlimited access to my corporate email, the Internet, and countless useful apps -- all for $45 a month!
As far as the issue with the battery, I think that sounds like a manufacturing defect and has nothing to do with ST. Additionally, the problem with "freezing up" occurs periodically on all Droid phones -- it has nothing to do with the carrier. Invest in a 16G or 32G memory card and move all of your apps that can be moved to the memory card, which will free up memory space on the phone itself. Remember, Droids are basically mini computers so if the memory is full, you will experience stability issues.
All I know is that I refuse to ever pay an outrageous amount for a data package, and I also refuse to pay an outrageous amount for unlimited calling. ST has revolutionized cellular service for so many consumers. I am thrilled that they have now stepped it up yet another notch to add a true Droid to their product offerings!
By the way -- heads up, ST is also about to release its second Droid -- it's an LG and has a slider keyboard as well -- it's $30 more than this phone and runs on Gingerbread rather than Froyo -- however, that doesn't necessarily mean that it's superior to this Samsung -- some Droid developers actually prefer Froyo -- kind of like the whole Vista issue -- lots of folks stuck with XP until Windows 7 debuted. (The LG will also operate on the Sprint network.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+923points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
THIS IS THE TICKET!!!!
Posted 07/15/2013
My husband and son bought this for Mother's Day in 2012 and I've always loved it! I use it a lot with Facebook and it's so easy to fill your contacts from an existing gmail acct. The only down sides are the lack of Sprint coverage when I visit my parents in the country and the minimal storage, but that can be resolved with a larger storage card. For the things I use it for it is wonderful and a great deal!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chadbourn, North Carolina
Just wondering?
Posted 02/14/2012
Does this phone have a full keypad or is it straight touch screen?
-2points
Customer Avatar
CA
straight talk
Posted 12/18/2011
it wont work in my area since we dont have sprint towers.how do i make it work if i end up buying it?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
I am not an affiliate...
Posted 11/24/2011
It's been a while since I logged back onto this site and I am saddened to see that someone thinks that I am a rep of Wal-Mart or StraightTalk. I am neither! I am simply someone who refuses to pay outrageous prices for a service that can be enjoyed much cheaper. I am sorry to report that my first ST Droid phone died after less than a month of use, but ST promptly replaced it, no questions asked. I am now experiencing problems with the replacement phone and I am considering switching to the other Droid offering, which is a LG model. Bottom line, it's not the best Droid out there but at the end of the day, I am paying less than half than my friends and co-workers....For me, it is all about how much I am willing to spend!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 10/27/2011
Sorry, this sounds suspiciously like a company rep. Would not use this in deciding about phone.
-6points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Ok phone as long as you don't use a lot of apps

06/26/2013
By ,
Paducah, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the most part, I really like this phone. I have found that it is rather slow and freezes up a lot. There isn't near enough internal memory and some of the apps do not have the option to move to the SD card. If you have large fingers you will more than likely have trouble hitting the correct keys. I have found that my phone processes faster if I go into Applications and uninstall all of the updates for apps I don't use regularly. I also wish this phone got better reception. I live in an older home and sometimes I can't get a signal inside. At times it jumps to the wrong time zone too. I also do not like the order the text msgs are in...I wanted a chronological order...instead I have to scroll all the way up to read what I have sent. As soon as I can afford to I will be getting a newer Android phone. I do prefer the Android platform over Apple though. I used to have an iPhone. I really miss how fast it was but I have access to a lot more apps with Android. I really wish the camera had a flash and took better pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Satisfied until...

12/07/2011
By ,
Greenville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always been satisfied with Straight Talk until I purchased this phone for my husband and myself. The second day my husband phone started freezing up and had to keep removing the battery to reset it. We took the phone back to Walmart and exchanged for another one but that one is still doing the same thing. On the third day my phone started doing the same thing with freezing up and taking out the battery. When it freezes up the phone gets really hot. Also I am unhappy that the Android phones are on Sprint and not Verizon because I never had a problem with a signal but now I do. Very unhappy right now!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Poor product with poor customer service

11/13/2013
By ,
sedan, ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk has poor equipment . Twice they have sold me a phone they said would work in my zip code and neither would pick up one bar. Their customer service ( what a misnomer) is next to non existent. They can't speak English well enough toi understand them and it appears they just read their scripts .I'll never buy another straight talk product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

don't get thisnphone

10/20/2011
By ,
Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ii don't recommend this phone at all. The reception is horrible, battery life is a joke. Even without making a single call, the phone needs to be charged twice in one day. It constantly freezes up. The only way to reset it is to take the battery out and reinstall. I've been with straight talk for over a year and had no problems but apparently they use different towers for the android phone so, this phone doesn't work in my area. Customer service is no help at all. Straight talk just lost another customer because of their poor excuse for an android phone and poor customer relations. Oh, by the way connection speed to the Internet is similar to that of using dial up....pretty sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the Money!

10/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a remarkable Android phone for a bargain price. Be sure Sprint is strong in your area before buying, though.
Touch screen works great with just slight touch. Many apps are available from the Android Market for free. All that I have tried work on this phone.
To properly and easily set up your contacts list with phone numbers, email addresses, etc. you will need to use a Gmail account and your contact information from the Gmail account. The phone allows you to synch with contacts and calendar from your Gmail account. Whatever you key into the Gmail account shows up like magic on the phone. After setting up Gmail and my Facebook accounts, photographs and information on my contacts shows up on the contacts list in the phone.
As with all touchscreen devices I have tried, keying in data (user id's, passwords, etc.) is very tedious. It is easy to hit the wrong character because of the small screen. It is highly recommended to use Gmail for your contact list so the data can be keyed into your home computer rather than on the phone.
The screen is apparently plastic, so care needs to be taken with it to prevent scratches.
Facebook works great with this phone.
In addition to the 3G data, this phone works on WiFi for more speed. When at home, I exclusively use WiFi for data and the Internet.
When in my house, I only have 1 or 2 bars but the phone works fine.
The phone has GPS for navigation, directions and to provide information to apps with the location of the phone.
Power: With 3G, WiFi, BlueTooth, GPS and Synching all turned on, the phone uses a lot of power from the battery. It is recommended that services be turned off when not being used to prevent battery discharge. All of the above services can be turned off off easily from one of the 5 pages you can set up EXCEPT for 3G, which must be turned off in SETUP. This is a pain.
Email: When you set up your Gmail account and go out with 3G turned on (away from your WiFi signal) the phone beeps when you get an email and you can read your emails. I am never out of touch now.
Music player: I have copied all my music to the MicroSD card (I am using a 16GB card. It comes with a 2GB card and up to 32GB can be used.) and find that the music player works fine. You can create a ringtone easily from any song on the card.
You can read books on this phone.
The camera is a 2 megapixel without auto-focusing. Because it doesn't have auto-focusing, I haven't been able to get a barcode scanner app to work. I haven't done much with video, yet.
Blutooth: I was able to pair the phone with my Plantronics headset easily and it seems to work fine.
The phone darkens and locks after non-use (the timeout can be adjusted) and you have to tap the top mounted off switch to get the screen illuminated. Then, you have to slide the green lock icon to the right to unlock the phone. Passwords can be set up to protect the data, but I haven't tried this yet.
A full manual can be downloaded (which I greatly recommend) from the Samsung site. Their model number for this phone is SCH-M828C. It is a good idea to read through this manual completely in order to get full use from the phone. It is about 150 pages. This phone has so many possible uses that there is a bit of a learning curve.
I have found a number of accessories available for this phone. I have ordered a silicone case from the Internet and a genuine Samsung car charger. I think it is a good idea to get a car charger since the phone uses so much power from the battery. The Samung site has the model numbers of the recommended car charger. The phone uses 700ma chargers.
Although this phone isn't perfect, I find it to be an exceptional value. I have really enjoyed mine. The one possible sticking point seems to be the spotty coverage of the Sprint network. I don't know why there are so many negative reviews on this phone. I think it is rather unfair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+661points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Northern New England
Great, At first...
Posted 01/24/2012
WAS a wonderful phone, it does anything i want and was easy to use or set up.
however, after the first two months or so it started siezing up all the time and now it takes FOREVER for the phone to log on to the internet or to start apps or ever get to the messaging screen. It will not let me store pictures on the sd card (that came with it) its ok when it works but for what i paid and what i got....NOT happy.
i will be buying the LG Optimus Q in a few weeks and offloading this thing a.s.a.p.
-1point
Customer Avatar
accessories
Posted 10/26/2011
where did you find accessories for this phone? and is there a USB cord for this phone? thxs
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

VERY POOR coverage

10/27/2011
By ,
Columbia SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I called straight talk, they said this was on the cdma network. On their site, it says they partner with 2 gsm(att & tmobile) and 1 cdma, verizon. So I ordered it. I have had a straight talk phone for 2 years, its on verizon, works great. Now the droid arrives, charge and activate it. Boy am I glad I did not port my number over! I live in columbia sc, had no coverage except on the interstate. I don't live or work on the interstate. After 2 weeks looking for a signal, I gave up. Now they story gets bad. I call st to return the phone, they say I live in a area with coverage, so I cant return it. SO BUYER BEWARE, UNLESS YOU KNOW YOU HAVE SPRINT COVERAGE, AND AS YOU READ THESE REVIEWS, YOU SEE MOST PEOPLE DO NOT. I would not order from st, if your local walmart does not have it, then forget it. Feel lucky not having to deal with this poor coverage. By the way, I had no problem with the phone it self.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

This phone craves attention

10/10/2011
By ,
Nashville
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has constant dialog boxes that require you to read the screen. To operate the "Handsfree" dialing system it requires 3 touches to make the call and one to hang it up. It requires fewer hand motions to just find the contact and dial the number. When accepting an incoming call one has to look at the screen, find an icon and slide that icon to the right. This can be very tricky and quite dangerous if you are changing lanes at the time. It is the same to hang up.
The phone is ok for reading the news and checking email. I had a hard time fat fingering the qwerty touchscreen keyboard but I got used to it and almost enjoy typing on it..
I will be taking this back ASAP to trade for a phone that is actually good for calling people. Please do not use this phone on the road. It requires too much attention to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 10/18/2011
Why are you playing with your phone AND driving? Glad I don't live near Nashville, I would hate for your incompetence be the death of me and/or my family....
+7points
Customer Avatar
"on the road"
Posted 10/18/2011
No one should be using the phone anyways if they are driving. That is very unsafe!
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Ok for first 30 days...then downhill.

11/14/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been using this phone for almost 2 months.
The phone's 3G data service was pretty peppy for the first 30 days. The next 30 days, however, the data speed dropped to a crawl and has never improved. I used the speed test Android app to test the network speed on numerous days. Actual download speed test results were: 14Kbps, 21Kbps, 61Kbps, 67 Kbps. These speeds are definitely not 3G. Web surfing is slower than the days of modem dialup. Forget about viewing streaming media.
If you are getting this phone for the "Unlimited" 3G data access, beware. Though it may be unlimited, the speed is nowhere near 3G.
As far as phone features, the only big disappointment is that the camera does not allow you to focus. This makes using the barcode scanner apps almost impossible for line barcodes. Everything else works well for a phone of this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone, but Do Your Research!

10/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I upgraded my Nokia E71 on Straight Talk to the new Samsung Galaxy Precedent and I am so glad that I did. The phone is small and fits great with many iPhone accessories (such as the arm band, I would not try phone covers, ect). Transferring my number and plan from one phone to the other only took a few minutes, which is great. I quickly downloaded numerous useful apps for my business and my life, which is the reason I wanted the phone to begin with.
I've seen A LOT of complaints that the phone is on Sprint. This is not some big secret. When the phone was announced for pre-sale, Straight Talk also announced this. It is also no secret that other carriers such as AT&T and Verizon do not offer unlimited data usage. Even when you pay unlimited, your phone slows down if you use to much. Which is why this phone is on Sprint network, as is the newest Android phone coming out. Do your research before buying the phone.
The phone does have minimal internal storage. Not even 1 GB. It does however have a MicroSD slot which can handle up to a 32GB card. I got one and installed it in my phone. Changing apps from being stored on the phone to being stored on the card is super easy, literally there is an option to move them right on the app screen.
All in All, this phone is great. The available screen protectors at Walmart are not really made for this phone (even though they say they are). I cut the bottom of mine because the hole was not in the right place and it was agitating. As long as you have Sprint in your area and upgrade the SD card, this can be an outstanding phone for minimal money and a very low monthly plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
12/26/2011
By ,
va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought the smasung galaxy and the lg optimus q..they are the easiest phones i ever activated i called straight tlak and only had to give the activation # and the pin # for the minute card.and the phones did the rest.activated both with 20 minutes.both phones are great the galaxy is very touchy but when you put ur screen saver on it is about rite.and the optimus q man what a phone both are great but the optimus is just a bit bit better..lol.. has for features .like speek to text.are just one..thanks straight tlk and walmart...:)))).oh alot of people have troible activating the phones ,but they are trying to do it by useing the phones ..save ur selves alot of time and hair pulling and just call straight talk,i know this because i was at walmart and 3 ppl were bringing them back and i pulled my 2 out and used my phone to call striaght talk for them and in 10 minutes the phones were working .but i got a big hug :))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Awesome android for such a cheap price!

11/10/2011
By ,
Prescott, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS PHONE! I researched the phone and everything before I bought it. Many of the comments said that Sprint service is finicky and so I looked up their map on their site. I decided that it was worth the risk of bad spots and bought the phone. I don't get the greatest service at my house, but I live in the boonies and knew that I probably wouldn't get service there anyways. If I am in any town or even on top of a mountain, I get service. Its fine. The phone has all the features of any android. I recommend getting a larger micro SD card if you have a lot of contacts and music you wish to have on your phone. I took the advice of another reviewer and put everything on the card and I haven't had any problems with the phone freezing up or anything. The screen is very large and the speaker is well-made. Its very loud and also quite clear. Some smartphones have a problem with volume or clarity, however, this one does not. It has access to any kind of app. Its camera doesn't really zoom in much, but its on a phone; you can't expect too much out of it. It does take sharp pictures, though, if you do have enough light on your subject. Its swype technology is very good. I've heard some people with other phones say they have to correct the swype all the time but I haven't had that problem. It is very accurate. The keyboard is very sensitive which I like, so you don't have to struggle to make your phone recognize what you are trying to do. The only thing is that it is easy to accidentally switch to Spanish. The first time it happened to me, I was in a hurry and trying to give vital information, but it wasn't recognizing what words I was trying to use. I became exponentially more frustrated until I finally noticed that it wasn't on English. when I got the phone I spent the whole day having fun learning how to use it. The book may seem trivial, but it does have a lot of good information in it. I still flip through it from time to time and I have had the phone for weeks. Of all the phones I have ever used, including my friends and family, this phone is my favorite because of its quality, durability, and affordability. Definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Prescott, AZ
LakotaSkyye:
Posted 12/06/2011
I live in Prescott, az too. I just wanted to know how the service was in prescott. I dont live in the boonies, but other than that does it work okay?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Price, great features

10/19/2011
By ,
Nixa, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all this phone works off of the Sprint network. If your area is not supported by Sprint, don't waste your time or energies trying to use this phone. However, if your phone is to be used in a Sprint service area, look no further. This phone is superior to any phone that is currently be offered by the people at Straight Talk.
This phone uses an older version of Google Android, but still functions very well. I like the idea that full HTML is supported when browsing and not just plain vanilla text, like some phones offer. The phone offers both 3G and W-Fi connections, both of which make surfing a breeze. In addition standard texting is supported as well as emailing.
This is a true Touchpad screen with zoom in and out features, built-in camera and support for up to 32GB media card. The phone is simple to use and I have used Netflix to video stream movies without a problem. The Android store has over 250,000 applications to choose from. FWIW not all apps will work on this phone.
My only con: Battery life when surfing is limited to about 4 hours or less. I find that I have to recharge the phone more often than my older talk only phone. However, Samsung provides a combo charging card for both electrical and USB charging of the device. Nice touch Samsung.
This is a great phone for a smartphone newbie such as myself and I am loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mass
Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android
Posted 05/11/2013
Can this phone be used wifi without signing up for service?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Worst buy ever!!!!!!!

02/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my phone online and had it shipped site to store. Walmart's end of everything was handled very professionally! Straight talk however... not so much! I have literally been on and off the phone with the company for over 24 hrs now just trying to activate this piece of junk. We finally got it activated and now it doesn't want to work, can't make calls, can't send text, can't browse the web... NOTHING! I have been asked to "Update" the Profile 12 times now. I have updated the profile inside the house, outside the house, in different rooms. The phone its self is refusing to update! I am having to use the phone on my computer through my gmail account just to call the company because this was my only phone. Guess thats what I get for dong away with my house phone three years ago and trying to go cheap. Single moms seem to get the raw end of the deal sometimes. Dont waist your time and money with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

not for me

10/09/2011
By ,
Atl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
it uses a sprint connection and that worked fine, but it has a automated lock feature.-couldn't get rid of it. to unlock phone you are supposed to press the power button. it is a terrible design!!! there were times that phone turned off (power button) instead of unlocking. and it locks within like 3 seconds of calling some one - so it was too much of an annoyance with me and a problem- if the lock button was alone I might not have sent it back. sometimes I would have to touch something a few times for the command to work. camera good. this phone is just not for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Memphis, TN
Posted 01/16/2012
There are app in the Android market to prevent the phone from locking, or to unlock it automatically when you hit the button to wake the phone (ALL smartphones sleep like this because your battery would be dead even faster than they die now.).
To make typing faster, I would suggest an app such as Swype or I9 Text, which allow you to spell the words without lift your finger from the phone. I've used Swype for years and would rather have it than a physical keyboard on the phone. Swype isn't available on the Android Market, but a simple web search should bring up the site.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atl
update
Posted 10/14/2011
update- forgot to mention that keypad is small. took forever to type text and my fingers are not big. the automatic lock feature made it nearly impossible to call a business customer service that had you pressing numbers during call (Ex: 1 for english, 2 spanish, etc.) cuz' while locked, cannot pull up key pad. if try to unlock by pressing power button it always hung up my call. my husband had same problem. you have to be way to concerned about phone locking during call- hate this phone. did send back. got LG qwery key pad- works great!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

unexpected disappointment

08/15/2012
By ,
Aiken, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was happy and excited about getting this phone, but after having it for a couple of months now I am not happy with it at all. It is constantly freezing up, cutting itself off, and telling me the storae capacity is low when I dont have anything on the phone. Highly disappointed in this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone however...

12/22/2011
By ,
Galion, Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was a longtime Verizon customer before switching to Straight Talk because let's face it... Verizon is horrible! I researched this phone for awhile before I bought it. I like this phone but it will just shut off only after a few hours and then when I try to charge it again it won't work. I take out the battery, put it back in, unplug the charger, plug it back in, repeat, repeat, repeat. It took me about 3 hours tonight for it to actually start charging again. It's like it's completely dead and not even responding to the charger. I don't understand that part of this phone. I've been contemplating taking it back to Walmart and exchanging for another one and hopefully I won't have the same issue. I don't know. That's the only gripe I have about this phone though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 608 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next