Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone has all the features you've come to expect from Android phones. Browse the Internet, instant message, record video, download apps and more, right from your Samsung Galaxy Smartphone. Take pictures with the 2 megapixel camera and send them to your friends or share them on the web. With this Samsung Straight Talk Smartphone, enjoy up to four hours of talk time with rechargeable li-ion battery. This phone will only work with the $45/30-Day Unlimited Service Plan. It will not work with $30 All You Need Plan. Get the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone and connect with friends and family right away.
Average Customer Rating:
3.025 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(722 Reviews) 606
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Recommendation56%401 out of 722reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
567 Questions | 873 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
67
1 star
229
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

No Adobe Flash Samsung Galaxy Precedent SCH-M828C

10/07/2011
By ,
Lugoff, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having had a Gmail account for a decade now, this is just another great usage for all the Google fans, sync your emails, float to wifi hotspots, use your own wireless, USB to your laptop or computer, 3G, works via app w/ my Sony Google TV ;) Apps to make your head spin and battery discard...grrr.. but fun. GPS, navigate, maps, locations. Almost endless possibility w/ caveat on Adobe Flash.
Pros:
All the stuff written on the box.
2 Gig SD in Box (just an appetizer)
Swype: create words by drawing through OSK (on screen keyboard)
Voice Dictation: Search/messaging/email; just say it and DICTATION is magically preformed for you. Huge plus if you have awkward thumbs or big fingers in general.
Big Cons:
You have to purchase the unlimited 45/30 refill, bummer since you can't stream from free Android compatible providers like Crackle.
For those wishing to make use of unlimited data from a Google Android app like "Crackle" or use "Google Earth", or use "QR Droid": you'll be stumped and hindered as the powers that be have limited the hardware/software, or by some contract have not made a Flash player installable. If your phone is USB'ed to your computer and you go to the Android Market Place, a compatibility warning like the one below for Adobe Flash 11, Google Earth, and QR Droid.
"This app is incompatible with your Mid-Tex Cellular Samsung SCH-M828C."
Be Smart and research your home address for nearby Cell towers!
Since this phone is a Sprint Network Phone, you can use the Antenna Search web page to locate the towers in your area. There exist also Cell Booster PCS/4G that can really pull a marginal signal and strengthen it. Google "Solid Signal" for a Cell Booster, and "Antenna Search" for a Map view of the towers/specs in a 4 mile radius of your entered address search. Excellent tools for a safe purchase of an excellent phone; no matter your choice. I've owned the phone 1 day, but purchased w/ confidence.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+365points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Dsm
Posted 03/20/2014
This little phone is just ok I am having trouble receiving calls when inside my office and home. I would not recommend it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Grove
area
Posted 01/02/2012
I'v had striaght talk for over a year now and service has been great but, Iwas wanting the new samsung galaxy.It says it will not work in my area, I read that someone had the same problem and drove somewhere to activate it. Will that work?
-1point
Customer Avatar
Pretty Good Phone!
Posted 11/30/2011
I bought this phone a few days ago and it works great! The only con would be that it's difficult to type unless you pay for the model with the qwerty keyboard and the camera is not very good but overall a pretty good phone. It has an easily accessed store to buy games, books, music etc...it comes with navigation software and a few other essentials. It works well and looks nice. I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't need a phone with a good camera. Having said that, the pics I've taken with this are ok and not terrible.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Lugoff, SC
Less than a Lincoln Car Charger found at Checkout
Posted 10/14/2011
found at Checkout
Vivitar universal usb car charger Micro and Mini for Android
http://www.walmart.com/ip/FAST-TRACK-UNIVERSAL-USB-CAR-CHARGER/14869368
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for celular use

04/05/2012
By ,
Huntington beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am fully satisfied with this phone. I have no yearly contract, and have basically all the services that an iphone user has without the plans and excessive charges.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Refurbished Violet Purple 14.0" VAIO VPCEA46FM/V Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-380M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium
5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
HP Pavilion P7-1118 Desktop PC with 2nd Generation Intel Core i3-2120 Processor, 8GB Memory, 1.5TB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium (Monitor Not Included)
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Largo, Fl.
Posted 06/29/2014
Do you have a SAMsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid smartphone, for tracfone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
03/14/2013
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the Galaxy Precedent when Wal-Mart was selling them for $129.99 + tax. It was the highest end phone from Samsung that they had, and I was looking for an android phone to replace my 'dumb' phone.
This phone does indeed run on Sprint Network in my area. This was the dumbest, most ridiculous, insane thing I had ever done. Reception in my area is horrible. Most of the times I have 1-2 bars, and if I get a call while in the house, I have to go outside just to answer it because I usually have no signal (an X over the reception bars) at all or 0 bars in the house.
This also runs on Android 2.2.2, which it seems most developers are starting to require at least Android 2.3 for their apps these days.
I've been told that Wal-Mart is starting to discontinue this phone because of the horrible reception issues they have, and are getting these phones returned in droves. Straight Talk is a very buy at your own Risk kind of venture anyway, but at least Wal-Mart has a limited time return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Most frustrating Smart Phone you will ever own

02/13/2014
By ,
Warren County, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is not the phone to enter the 'SMARTPHONE' market for you. You will be frustrated and want to dismantle this phone after a week. The phone freezes and locks up frequently. You either press the on/off button for 10 minutes to reset or just rip out the back case and battery and put back together again. This phone has preloaded applications that cannot be removed. They hold on to most of the available memory in the phone and they cannot be moved to the SD card. If you get over 22 MB of available space you are lucky! Getting larger SD cards are useless. The usb/charger port is not working after about a year. I bought extra batteries and a separate charger and just swap out the batteries. Of couse that means taking up time to reset the phone to where I left off. For you techie types, getting apps like Busybox Free and Root Browser do not remove the preloaded apps. As for connectivity, this phone can't even find a wi-fi inches away from it until it feels like it! If you buy this phone after reading this review you were warned!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

only if you desperately need an android phone..

03/30/2012
By ,
Mobile, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone maybe a month ago. It looks really nice and at first the set up looks so great. And it was all $120 for an ANDROID phone, wow! But after getting used to this thing, you very quickly start to hate it. If you've ever had a super nice Android phone from HTC or Motorola, you're gonna hate your life if you downgrade to this thing. It lags very badly, sometimes taking up to 10 seconds to perform the command. I've never had a phone freeze up as much as this phone does. It just will not run half of the apps that I've used on other phones, for example, I have to use the old version of Facebook for it to even work properly, it won't even run the Capital One banking app without shutting down the operation. CURRENTLY my main problem is that the phone will not send text messages. It's getting network signal because it's downloading application updates, but just will not send text messages. I'm seriously about to purchase a new phone because this one is just so awful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/05/2013
I agree I've had this phone for less he two months and I HATE it. Its always freezing and takes forever to do anything. I don't know if its because it switched from android to google play or what but I've about had it. I'm seriously thinking about calling the company and telling them its worthless.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Phone is great. Sprint's coverage is bad..

10/12/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to agree with a few others here that the phone itself is great. And if it was with a different carrier, I would still have it. But Sprint's coverage in my area is the pits, so I had to take it back to Walmart. If you're looking for an entry level Android based phone, I would highly recommend this one. It was very easy for me to pick up and figure out. I fell in love with it in the short time I had it. So if the Sprint prepaid network works in your area, and you're looking for a great smartphone, look at this one for sure. Oh, and do your research on Sprint's coverage. The Straight Talk map is too small to see, and Sprint's coverage maps have quite a few inaccuracies. And one more thing, ask the local Walmart sales person if they activate many Sprint phones in their store. If they say no because of poor coverage, don't buy the phone. If it doesn't work there, chances are in won't work well in your area. Now if Straight Talk would just offer this phone on their Verizon system, I'd buy two tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+168points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tucson az
I am told you should
Posted 05/18/2014
I am told you should check the number and make sure it has a v in it for Verizon. A stands for att and s is sprint. Makes a huge difference. Maybe take it back and exchange for a verizon tower service. Same straight talk just phones are determined by their number. I wish they listed the numbers on the site.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Good phones--horrible service

04/02/2014
By ,
missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Samsung phones are OK however my experience with Straight Talk service has been horrible. They don't seem to have the ability to interface their payment system with their cell phone accounts. Buying minutes by credit card and putting them in Reserve results in Straight Talk immediately charging your card and then failing to put the purchased Reserve minutes into your account. This means that at the start of the next monthly cycle, you will have NO SERVICE. They do not let you know this so you find out the next time you attempt to make a call or receive one. When making a call, you get a message saying insufficient money in your account. Messages to a person calling you will tell them Verizon customer not available. I have spent hours with Straight Talk cust svc over the last two months getting them to manually update my account. They always act like this is routine standard operating procedure. DO NOT use Straight Talk if you ever need a phone in an emergency.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Not happy with this one.

12/24/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone for my girlfriend for Christmas. I gave it to her a little early because she needed the phone. The first day she had it, everything worked fine. Now we are on day 5 and this is whats wrong with it. The touch screen isn't very responsive. The phone is not receiving texts. I sent several to her and ended up calling her to ask if she got them. She had not. She received them all the next day while we were eating breakfast. It comes with a 2gb micro sd card. She filled that up with apps and what not right away. She has now filled up the phones memory with apps as well. So we put in an empty SD card. The phone will not allow her to transfer anything from the phones memory to this new SD card. We tried another SD the one from my phone so I know it works. Same result. The phone was at the right price and being Samsung Galaxy series I figured it was good buy. I wish I would have had the money to spend on a Galaxy S4.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Waste of time and money!

10/28/2012
By ,
sebring, fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worse phone have ever owned. My husband and I switched to straight talk to save some money. First thing I notice was that this phone freezes up ALOT, I was trying to set up my phone and kept having to pull the battery because that was the only to get pass it freezing. Another problem is the battery life has never lasted a full day. I go to work from 9 to 5 and when I have no phone calls or texts my phone almost dead my the time I leave. Also the memory is very low on this and it doesn't let me put any apps on my sd card to to save memory. I only have a Facebook app and Pandora and it wont allow me to add any more app because I don't enough memory space. Also I thought the one I had was defective but I exchanged the phone for the same kid of phone and I still had the same problems.
The only good thing I can say about this phone is that it is sturdy. I accidentally ran over it one day and the only problem it had was the camera never worked again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Boca Raton, Florida
Straight Talk Samsung Phone
Posted 02/25/2014
After reading all the comments, I am sure that I will never consider this phone. It sounds really terrible. I'm shopping for a new phone (must be very simple) for my husband, as I'm very happy with my own IPhone5. He's pretty computer illiterate, and all I need is a barrelfull of complaints from him. This phone is certainly not my choice.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/21/2011
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldnt decided to get this one or the other Samsung android phone because of the price difference, however if I didnt like it I did have up to 15 days to return it and get the other one, but I like this phone a lot. It works just like an regular android phone, its sleek, light, fits in the palm of your hand and it processes pretty fast.
The only thing that I dont like about it so far is the camera, I am not quite satisfied with it yet and there isnt a light with the camera, so quality isnt always good, but I can get some to turn out.
This is as said in another review ran through sprint not verizon, and I am originally from southwest wisconsin and I did say that it would work there, and I can get some spotty service, but otherwise now that I live in a big city and dont get back that way much, I can deal with it.
Overall, I think this is a great phone. It was pretty expensive at first because of the price of the phone, the $45 card, and then the 18 month insurance, but it is definitely worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

I went from Alltel HTC DESIRE to this JUNK!?!?

12/04/2011
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay it works somewhat simular to my old HTC that I broke. I opened it and was like are you kidding me, it is like a toy, Plastc Screen, touch on the screen isnt what a real smartphone is like, definatly a downgrade, and I will be looking elsewhere. The camera ofcourse is junk and no flash? aren we in the year 2012 almost??? It has the market, but this phone dosent spell check, the screen is way to small, I find it really hard to type correctly. It dosent even have a real phone ringtone, it is like buying an old track phone when they first came out. I HATE IT! on another note, service is so so in my area, it likes to jump in and out of service in town, it should roam.! I could go on and on. I just can tell you if you want a real smart phone go to HTC, I assume the HTC is the same weather it is prepaid or not! This phone must be a joke b/c it is a bad excuse for a real phone. The sad part is my HTC from Alltel was free!!!Im going back to Alltel.. that is a done deal for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Mostly Good

02/26/2014
By ,
KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Android phone. In one touch I have got my email,camera, facebook ect. on the widgets. It is a good phone, but there are time when I don't have the internet: error message reads" no service". When this happens I take the battery out for 30 sec. and turn it on again. this usually works. Now i have wifi so that is not a problem. Make sure you plug it in at night because the battery will go dead or when you're on the internet for over an hour it seems to need alot of power. My friend has the Samsung Galaxy Precedent who put it in the washing mashine... needless to say it was soaking wet we took the back off,the battery out and wiped it dry with paper towels. We turned the oven on to 170 degrees to simulate a cell phone left in a hot car in the summer,then Wrapped the main part of the phone up in a full size towel and left it in there for 2-3 hrs. Its seems to work OK except for some strange quirks...
Overall mostly a good phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT LOOKING PHONE, HOWEVER SOME BAD NEWS...

10/05/2011
By ,
Tulare, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just recently purchased a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone. I love the way it feels and how it looks compared to other phones Straight Talk offers. There is not a lot of accessories for the Samsung Galaxy Precedent in stores, However, the Precedent is the same as the Samsung Galaxy Prevail from Boost so cases and screen covers will fit.
BAD NEWS!... Unlike my previous Straight Talk phone that uses the Verizon network, the Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone uses the Sprint network. For me, Verizon has a much better coverage in my area. Needless to same, I am very disappointed with Sprints wireless coverage.
NOW THE REALLY BAD NEWS!... After a few days, the phone overheats and the phone constantly freezes. To get the phone working again, I have to remove and reinstall the battery. I suspect the battery is the issue and called Straight Talk for support after my new phone heated up and froze five times in one day. They are sending a new battery to see if that will eliminate the issue. If this does not resolve the issue, I will be sending my phone back for a full refund. I suggest you research other reviews before purchasing this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1,628points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
Alachua, FL
Ditto!
Posted 07/05/2013
I could have written the review. They did not send a battery, they sent me another one. The new phone has been doing it also.
0points
Customer Avatar
Straight Talk phones off Verizon?
Posted 07/14/2012
Are there any Straight Talk phones that run off Verizon? Especially any Smart Phones?
+2points
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Ditto!
Posted 02/07/2012
I had the same problems with this phone! It CONSTANTLY froze, between 5-10 times each day. It had horrible reception, would not upload pictures to facebook, AND i had to FULLY CHARGE this phone TWICE day! I do not reccomend getting this phone, or an android thru straight talk! I have been a straight talk customer for 2 years, bought this phone to replace my other phone that had a problem with the speaker....sad to say, i'm returning this phone, and ordering my nokia 6790 from walmart.com!
+4points
Customer Avatar
Grand Forks,ND
THE NEW ANDROID PHONES ARE NOT FOR TRAVELING
Posted 01/11/2012
Let me say straight talk has had the best phones for the best money and have the
absolute best coverage/reception, Until they brought these androids in.....yes they are cool
phones an do everything from make cookies to ride a bike but once you leave the safe
haven of town they DO NOT WORK. There is no service so be forewarned, if you never
leave the comforts of your home town where it is registered, you will love these phones,
if you travel DO NOT BUY THESE AS THE PROVIDER IS SPRINT (not like all the other straight
talk phones that get signal from any tower) AND THEY WILL NOT WORK
+3points
Customer Avatar
NC
Sprint is a total deal breaker for me
Posted 10/17/2011
I like to think $45/mo/unlimited on a nice phone would be enough to try $print once more. I just was treated so badly for 8 years by $print non-Customer Service, in a area where I had no choice until Straight Talk came along. I'll have to wait until Straight Talk gets back in bed with Verizon for a sweet phone because $print is a deal breaker.
+6points
Customer Avatar
Tulare, CA
UPDATE: New battery did not help.
Posted 10/11/2011
Straight Talk sent me a new battery. I was very happy with respose time, however, the new battery id not resolve the issue. I am sending my phone back for a refund and returning to my old Straight Talk phone.
Side note: Another family member got the same Samsung Galaxy Precident phone around the same time I did. They have no problems with it.
+13points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/10/2011
Got the Cricket LG Optimus C over the weekend and wow am I impressed! The same great coverage we have come to expect from Cricket and the LG Optimus C has a much better battery life as compared with my Cricket Ascend (v1). The Optimus came with Adroid 2.2 and that is just fine. The LG skins are very cool and well organized. I may root and upgrade to CM7 later, but for now I don’t think that will be necessary.
0points
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/08/2011
I had a Blackberry with the Sprint network for several years and have had the same poor coverage experience. I changed over to an Android with Cricket about a year ago after being mocked by my wife and her good Cricket coverage when I had no coverage on my Sprint BB. I was interested in ST because I had heard it might be using the Verison/ATT network. I have been unable to determine what the coverage will be for the ST Android in my area, so I may be upgrading both of our phone's to the latest Cricket LG Optimus C this week. The LG has good reviews, and the Cricket coverage is more clearly shown. The coverage map on the ST site is too small to read; "coverage is approximate."
+3points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/11/2011
By ,
Winston Salem
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone seems like it would be great but the customer service from Straight Talk is as poor as they come. I had just purchased a $30 plan before buying the Android but because of problems with my old phone I was forced to make the purchase of a new one. I called Straight Talk to pay the difference and upgrade my service and they refused to help. I explained the issue and even explained that they were crazy for not attempting to help because I would be returning the phone and discontinuing my use of their service but they acted as though they are not in need of customers. From my experience in customer service you do everything possible to help out the customer. I was not asking for a handout because I wanted to pay the difference, even though $15 would not be a lot for them to eat to have a satisfied customer that would continue their years of service with them. Now they have lost 3 phones' services and I will be sure they are not affiliated with the company I replace them with.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
georgia
straight talk samsung galaxy precedent
Posted 12/24/2013
It started off working well, but the icon for the charger comes on and I don't even have it on the charger, at times I cant answer my phone ..keys get stuck...I had someone tell me I was not accepting incoming call and I don't have my phone set for that.I was gonna get the optimus just to keep my service but im seriously thinking of going to boost mobile. I don't know what smartphone actually works with no problem so im gonna do my research and check things out before I make that switch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Straight Talk phones run on all the major carriers towers. It all depends on the make and model of the phone. Do your home work and know what you are buying before you select your phone. The Galaxy Precedent is the first Android phone offered by Straight Talk and yes, it does run on the Sprint network. So beware, make sure you have good coverage through Sprint in your area. I bought one of these phones fpr my sister a few weeks ago and she loves it. She has had no problems at all with her phone other than learning how to use all the features. I have a Nokia E7 Straight Talk phone which runs on the AT&T 3G Network. Have had it for 8 months and am very happy with it. Straight Talk is the best cell phone deal around, but do your research so you select a phone that uses a carrier with good coverage in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone
10/20/2011
By ,
aberdeen, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very excited when I heard St finally was offering an Android phone and rushed to get it. I've had my phone for about a week now and am very pleased with it. I wish the instruction manual came more detailed with what all the icons mean and how to forward texts message but thru playing around with it and asking questions from others I've begun to figure it all out. My phone does freeze up occasionally when I'm at work, I just pop out the battery and reboot it that seems to get it back on track. the battery gets used up quicker than my previous St phone but I'm learning what to do to get around that too. I love all the apps and features of this phone. I couldn't find a case for this phone in the store but a friend recommended Amazon.com and they have a wide variety at very reasonable prices so that is going to be the next thing I do. Hoping I won't be dissappointed! never used the insurance for my previous St phone and it lasted me over two years but I am considering purchasing for this since its much more valuable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great for a first smart phone

09/21/2013
By ,
portland oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first thing I should tell you,I am an older person and not smart phone literate..this is my first smart phone. I LIKE IT. It was difficult to understand at first but the answers to all my questions are there..just have to find them. I paid $50.00 for the phone and can't see why I would need anything more advanced. I got $45.00 a month Straight Talk, which is unlimited which gives me access to basically anything I want. Great phone and great plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Want to buy one
Posted 01/21/2014
Does this phone use a sim card yes or no please respond
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/18/2014
IS THIS SUPPOSE TO BE A TRAC PHONE? I PURCHASED THIS PHONE PLUS THE COMPATIBLE SIM CARD, BUT CAN NOT USE SIM CARD WITH THIS PHONE. I WAS NOT LOOKING FOR A TRAC PHONE.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent Phone for the Price!

12/06/2011
By ,
Battle Creek, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent is my very first smartphone, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it ever since I bought it two months ago. I was looking for an Android phone that was affordable and didn't want to be locked into a contract. Thanks to Straight Talk, I was able to find exactly what I was looking for.
Other than some occasional freezing up, adjusting to the tiny the keys on the touch-screen keyboard, and the "locking" feature that pops up during calls, I have no real complaints with the phone, but can you really, when it's only costing you $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and web? Not a bad deal for someone like myself, who only works part-time while going to school and is on a limited budget. I've been able to do pretty much everything on this phone-send e-mails, go on Facebook, check the news/weather, even read a book on it that I purchased from the Google e-bookstore!
So if you're looking for an entry-level smartphone that's affordable and don't want the hassle of a contract, you should definitely check this phone out-you may be pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Forget the iPhone, this beats it hands down !

11/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It blows the iPhone away since it has a beautiful screen, easy to use interface and fast network transfers.
The lack of a keyboard made me reluctant at first until I used the voice recognition feature to dictate SMS text messages, address book entries or just directions to closet restaraunt.
Example: I can activate voice search and speak "directions to nearest WalMart" and the phone automatically uses the GPS and superimposes my location onto a real time Google Map and then shows me the route to the nearest WalMart or allows me to choose other WalMarts.
I can dictate SMS messages faster than I could even type them on a laptop or a thumboard or just dictate into a chat window or Facebook and my Tweets.
The onscreen keyboard is OK but prone to fat fingering the wrong keys but the voice recognition makes up for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone, Minimal Instructions

06/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am coming from an iPhone as a user of that platform for over 9 years. The android market is great, however, the instructions to the phone really doesn't do justice for people just starting to learn the Android Market's offerings.
I have tried to research some of the features available online, however, get little about this phone in particular. With the iPhone, there are apps that teach, books, magazines, etc... Asking around, I have had a few friends show me a few things, but again, the phone is limited into what it can do.
An example of a trouble a ran into: 1) I was downloading a few apps to build up the day to day needs (Gmail, banks, etc.) and noticed after downloading approximately 4 apps the phone memory was full. After a day or two, I notice that the memory being used wasn't the card but the phone. Be mindful of this as you'll run out of memory quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 607 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next