Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

North States North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Average Customer Rating:
4.107 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
20
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation87%72 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
20
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great Safety Gates

12/09/2012
By ,
Southern Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked far and wide for the Best Quality and Value out there. I did find these in white at another site but was $20.00 more. I then discovered these and am VERY happy. Installation is very easy and they even give you a template so you dont have to measure the wall. So Easy! Love the safety feature that I use over the stairs. Another perk is this gate doesnt have that bar you have to step over, that you find in others. It isnt white but looks almost black not a rust color. Very classy. Im one happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Be Careful of your width needed

06/24/2012
By ,
Longmont
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Sturdy, easy, good-looking

06/17/2014
By ,
South Central PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate! Really attractive, easy to install (would recommend a 2nd person but not necessary). I got it to keep my 2 dogs out of the bedroom hallway, but since I am having hip surgery, I needed something to fit my walker through. This fits the bill because the gate is the entire width of the doorway, swings all the way open, and doesn't have a bottom bar to trip over. The bronzed finish looks great. Latch is easy to use with one hand. I did not install the little plastic guard that keeps it from opening.both.ways because stairs were not an issue. I have 2 small dogs, and the openings between bars are narrow enough that the little knuckleheads won't get their heads caught in them. Excellent purchase!!!! And as always, Walmart.com always delivers within a few days!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze
01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side.
Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great gate

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions are hard to read... but it's a great gate once you figure out how to put it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great for bottom of the stairs

10/15/2012
By ,
Baldwinsville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Excellent if installed properly

01/27/2014
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate works great to prevent our 10 month old from falling down the basement stairs. I love how it automatically latches when you swing it shut from either direction, it opens easily, and it looks kind of elegant.
We had bought another wooden gate from Walmart in-store, which we liked, but are using in another location. However, installation was much more difficult (2 hours) than this other gate (which took 5 minutes). Partially my fault for not being as careful as I could have been, but my main problem was that the paper template was much too wide (maybe 4") and it covered up the door frame, so I had to guess on lining it up. The wooden gate had a 1" wide installation template, and was very easy to install. I would recommend that you cut or fold the template to make it a size more manageable. Tolerances on this gate are very tight. I finally re-drilled several holes and got it to work perfectly each time it's opened or closed. Now it works great!
Other gripe is that it doesn't swing 90 degrees, because the way the bracket has curved ridges. I shaved these down with a box cutter (it's soft plastic and cut easily).
Overall, if you carefully follow the installation directions, this is really an excellent gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Excellent for the price!

09/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze
05/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like that it is wider that most gates and it doesn't have a bar across the bottom to trip over.
Installation is fairly simple it it can be removed temporarily without taking the hinges off.
My only issue was the distance between the hinges didn't match the banister I put it on (too much gap at the bottom) not the products fault though, and I was able to make it work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Nice Gate!

09/04/2014
By ,
Quincy, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband installed this gate at the top of open stairs leading to the basement. It was easy for him to install and it looks very nice. It keeps our 11 month granddaughter safe, yet our 4 year old grandson can open and close the gate himself. We really liked the fact that there is no threshold to step over.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Well-designed, effective and good-looking product.

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
North States Easy Swing and Lock Baby Gate is a well designed and well made product. It also looks very good in a home setting, unlike many other baby gates on the market, which look more like gates for babies than home furnishing. Installation was straightforward, but does require some knowledge of how walls are constructed and proper use of some basic tools. The installation design allows for uneven walls on both sides of the gate and works very well. The gate is also easy to remove temporarily if desired.
The only negative I have about the product is that the screws provided are not quite long enough to fasten securely to wood wall structure beneath the drywall in all situations. Two inch #8 flathead Phillips screws would be better than the 1 1/2 inch screws supplied. I sent a note to the manufacturer requesting that change.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Poorly Made

08/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Directions/template were wrong. Flimsy. My 9 month old could wiggle it free with no problem.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

ok for the price

05/12/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bronze color and style look very nice. No bar at the bottom to step over, that's important. The lock lever is ok, not the smoothest action but for $42 it's an inexpensive gate. Be aware that if installing into drywall don't even try the screws that come with it. Get self-drilling drywall anchors, #8 x 1.5". My only problem is that the screw that comes with the anchor has a round head so I can't slip the hinge housing over it so it will lift off the hinge. I'm sure I can fix this, but it's a problem that I didn't expect and don't need. I don't know if I'd buy this again. I might just spray paint another type of gate bronze so it matches my decor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Nice gate for price

08/13/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great look, love the latch mechanism. Only complaint is that the screws were not long enough on latch mechanism and needed to buy drywall anchors and longer screws to keep attached to the wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Attractive, convenient

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Attractive baby gate for top or bottom of stairs. Can be adjusted for a variety of needed widths using screws on the side that extend the gate enough so that the bars remain a uniform distance apart. Sturdy enough. Can be opened and closed with one hand, although sometimes I have to give the bottom edge of the gate a nudge with my foot to get it to close along with the top, but this isn't a major problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

awful

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend. Especially on drywall areas. It doesn't latch very well either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Nice gate for the money

10/17/2013
By ,
Atlanta GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is great! However, we purchased it because the description on the Wal-Mart site said it could be mounted on an angled wall. My husband had a hard time mounting it at a very slight angle due to the wall stud did not line up with the stairway post. It's a little tricky to close for us but we'll get used to it (and hopefully our very clever 18 month grandson won't be able to figure it out). Hubby called the manufacturer and they said the gate is not meant to be installed on an angle and that Wal-Mart' s description was incorrect. So bear this in mind. We are pleased with the design and color of the gate. Considering our slight angle issue it still was our best option. And the price is reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Happy with this gate!

08/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does its job!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great baby gate that looks like wrought iron

07/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baby gate that was easy to install. Matches my oil rubber bronze wrought iron spindles the best of any baby gate. Very easy to use for my older child (8 years old) and easy to use if you have long fingernails.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Better Than Expected

07/13/2014
By ,
Wake Forest, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate works perfectly on my deck. I purchased it because it was not wooden and it was a better price than what some of the others were. I was not expecting the quality that I received. It is a very good quality. It is super easy to install. We had ours up in no time. It serves it purpose well and looks tons better than the wooden tension gate I had up before. I would definitely purchase this item again. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next