Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

North States North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Average Customer Rating:
4.129 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation87%60 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great Safety Gates

12/09/2012
By ,
Southern Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked far and wide for the Best Quality and Value out there. I did find these in white at another site but was $20.00 more. I then discovered these and am VERY happy. Installation is very easy and they even give you a template so you dont have to measure the wall. So Easy! Love the safety feature that I use over the stairs. Another perk is this gate doesnt have that bar you have to step over, that you find in others. It isnt white but looks almost black not a rust color. Very classy. Im one happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Be Careful of your width needed

06/24/2012
By ,
Longmont
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have an opeing 42" wide that we wanted a gate to keep the new puppy off the carpet and keep kids away from puppies and didn't want the bar across the floor for kids to trip on. The gate is very attractive and works well. mounted easaly, worked well. But it only lasted a week. We stretched it to the max. The adjustments allow incraments only as wide as the vertical bars nothing in between. There is a bracket that fits between the bars to hold the gate in a certin leagth. If we adjusted it out to far it would not fit the area. If you adjusted it shorter you have to exted the screws in the mounting so far out that it causes it to be weak. The welding holding the bolt onto the gate were the ajustment screws turn in is a real cheep setup. We would have been fine if the entry was 40 inches wide. Would allowed for the ajustment screws to be more secure. But still think it would not take much, such as a child climing on it or a large dog jumping on it to weaken the weld.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Excellent if installed properly

01/27/2014
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate works great to prevent our 10 month old from falling down the basement stairs. I love how it automatically latches when you swing it shut from either direction, it opens easily, and it looks kind of elegant.
We had bought another wooden gate from Walmart in-store, which we liked, but are using in another location. However, installation was much more difficult (2 hours) than this other gate (which took 5 minutes). Partially my fault for not being as careful as I could have been, but my main problem was that the paper template was much too wide (maybe 4") and it covered up the door frame, so I had to guess on lining it up. The wooden gate had a 1" wide installation template, and was very easy to install. I would recommend that you cut or fold the template to make it a size more manageable. Tolerances on this gate are very tight. I finally re-drilled several holes and got it to work perfectly each time it's opened or closed. Now it works great!
Other gripe is that it doesn't swing 90 degrees, because the way the bracket has curved ridges. I shaved these down with a box cutter (it's soft plastic and cut easily).
Overall, if you carefully follow the installation directions, this is really an excellent gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze
01/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bougth this product for our 13 months baby, she is all over the place and with these gates we have a peace of mind that she will not go to the stairs or other parts of the house were we dont want her to go. We bought 4 of these gates and they are well worth the money spend 42.00 each. Yes, there are many more gates for less money but when it comes to the security of your little one you should spend the money to keep them safe, we looked at many other models but this one was the one we tought was the winner it has a good hight, it expands for wider areas, it is made of metal, it swings completly open eather way (it comes with an optional attachtment in case you want it to swing to one side) living your hallway wide open and with out the bottom metal part like others that you can trip with it this one does not have that metal on the bottom, We mounted 2 of them in the doorway on wood and the other 2 on drywall with DRYWALL HOOKS and they work just fine. The lock is on the top and it opens with one hand very easy for an adult with tumb presuer. and imposible for little ones to open, the lock clicks when it closes so you know it is locked. The installation was average not to hard, just have to measure the right lenght for the wall hooks on each side.
Overall yes I would recomend and buy this item as a gift for any one that has little ones in they homes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great for bottom of the stairs

10/15/2012
By ,
Baldwinsville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this gate to put at the bottom of our staircase to keep our 1 year old twins and 3 year old from trying to go up. I am very pleased with this product. Installation was pretty easy for me, and the gate looks nice in our foyer. My only complaint is that we installed the hinge sides on drywall and used drywall anchors, which did not work well the first time because our oldest son would shake and jiggle the whole gate and loosened the bottom hinge, causing it to come detached from the wall. This is no fault Of the product itself, just a very rough kid tormenting the gate, and we are attempting to figure out more creative ways to keep it attached. (We attached the latch sides to the wood banister on the stairs.) we will be purchasing a second gate for the top of the stairs as well, and I recommend this for people looking for a nice, relatively inexpensive gate to get the job done of keeping kids (or pets) safe and away from areas they shouldn't be in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Parts check

02/22/2014
By ,
Lewes, de
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When checking the parts on the assembly booklet I found 4 missing screws. I called the company up and explained the problem I found with the 4 missing screws. The person that took the call treated me like I did not know what I was talking about. She was no help so I went to a hardware store and got 3 screws which solved the problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

easy to install, easy to use

03/22/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this gate! The step by step directions and template for installation made it so easy to set up. It is the perfect gate for the top of our stairs. It is easy to open one-handed, and there is nothing to step over on your way through. It fits in our uneven opening (between a wall and a banister) with coving around the bottom. We like the looks of the gate so much we may leave it as a permanent fixture when our children are grown.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Excellent for the price!

09/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this gate at the top of the stairs from my deck down to the yard. It works great for keeping my puppy and any small children visiting contained on the deck. At first I didn't think it would stretch the full 48" with the recommended overlap but once the screws at the ends were adjusted it worked perfectly. My only wish is that the latch were a little more sturdy. It seems like after some use the gate may no longer hold if being pulled towards you, although it will continue to keep from being pushed out over the stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Would be great if the latch held

03/20/2014
By ,
Vermont
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted a gate to use to keep my dogs out of the living room when we aren't home. This is perfect for a doorway between kitchen and living room. It attaches to one side of the doorway and stays open easily. Unfortunately the latch doesn't hold well. My dogs get out of the kitchen easily, so we have resorted to tying the gate in place when we leave. It would have been great if it wasn't so easy to unlatch.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

OK

03/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's not very easy to open with one hand not really what I wanted in a gate, I wanted my 4yrold to be able to open it but she can't figure it out and it was harder then expected to put on the wall
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze
05/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like that it is wider that most gates and it doesn't have a bar across the bottom to trip over.
Installation is fairly simple it it can be removed temporarily without taking the hinges off.
My only issue was the distance between the hinges didn't match the banister I put it on (too much gap at the bottom) not the products fault though, and I was able to make it work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great Alternative for Pet Gate

02/20/2014
By ,
Mirmamar, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say I was completely surprised with the quality of this gate considering the price. The same gate or similar ones found online at other pet retailers where priced substantially higher which gave me the impression this gate may be a flop. The price and value and the quality of this gate is exceptional. Buy It! Its good looking in appearance and very sturdy like metal. I know some reviews stated it was a bit complicated to install & actually mount it evenly but I had no real problems. If you take your time and follow the step by step instructions and use the wall chart to mark your wall and simply screw or drill your holes, you may get it right the first time. This gate by the way can be mounted on a baseboard on the bottom and then on the wall on top, even though they are not in the same horizontal position. Its uneven but the end bolts are adjustable at the end of the poles to compensate for this. It took me about 1 hour but everything lined up perfectly and the gate swung into position and click, locked. Its easy to use, its a great pet gate for the top of your stairs and it swings open and remains open when not in use. I highly recommend this over the plastic version as that type of swinging plastic gate is trash, gets dirty and is difficult to line up simply because it comes bent and flimsy. Spend the extra $10 and you'll be happy you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

quality built, easy to install

03/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gate, good price, well worth every penny :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Very well built

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 for our stairs. They work great, very smooth. It was easy to install as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Love!

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this gate! I had a hard time finding a gate long enough,not too ugly cause it will be there for all to see, and a decent price. This was Fairly inexpensive and doesn't look cheap. It locks so my golden retriever puppy can't open it. We'll see if he can when he gets older
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Easy to install, and good for wide space.

03/07/2014
By ,
Winchester, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Required time to set up locations of 8 screws.
Light. However there are minor inconvenience such as:
1. Wide space. When open I place yellow book to support prevent loosing screws. I will install extra wheel.
2. It is tall for my small dog.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

excellent

03/03/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great gate, great price

02/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't beat the quality and functionality of this gate for the price anywhere. It looks great, and very easy to use. Works perfectly to keep our little ones from going up the stairs and was very easy to put up. We mounted it on the wall and to the banister at the bottom of the staircase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Nice gate for the money

10/17/2013
By ,
Atlanta GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is great! However, we purchased it because the description on the Wal-Mart site said it could be mounted on an angled wall. My husband had a hard time mounting it at a very slight angle due to the wall stud did not line up with the stairway post. It's a little tricky to close for us but we'll get used to it (and hopefully our very clever 18 month grandson won't be able to figure it out). Hubby called the manufacturer and they said the gate is not meant to be installed on an angle and that Wal-Mart' s description was incorrect. So bear this in mind. We are pleased with the design and color of the gate. Considering our slight angle issue it still was our best option. And the price is reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for North States - Easy Swing and Lock Gate, Matte Bronze

Great Gate

02/13/2014
By ,
Loveland, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gate has an option to swing open both ways or just one. easy to install and fitted my akward stair case opening
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next