Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Get HD picture quality and stream online content with this Sony Blu-ray player.
Average Customer Rating:
3.352 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation61%44 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
23
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Great for the price!

11/28/2011
By ,
Waukesha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far it's a good product the only thing that I dont like about this is that when we need to do a search (ie youtube) it's hard to punch in the letters on the remote control, it's like the older older mobile phones that didnt have the keyboard or touch screen and you had to use the number key pad to text, no t9 either so that's a pain. so far youtube is the only apps that we used besides playing dvds! I hope this helps! it really is a great product! oh and another thing is that it is not wireless so you do need an ethernet cord to connect to the router.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 2 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player
11/27/2011
By ,
Fenton, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the unit on black Friday. I was excited to get it home because I had never used Netflex before and was happy I found a unit that would serve as a streamer and blueray player. First off, it was easy to connect. The problem arose after I connected it to my internet service. Netflix and Hulu plus have to be registered with that service in order to use it. No problem right? Each time I tried to register it, the website displayed, "this service is unavailable in your country". This happened for over an hour. Finally my wife tried to contact tech support via web and was left in a chat box waiting for a tech that never responded. I am very very disappointed with Sony. I returned it the next day and purchased a Samsung for the same price. No problems after that. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+22points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
TN
Posted 01/04/2012
There was a documented issue with Sony Servers during this time. The unit itself works appropriately but there was some bad timing with everyone trying to get one of these during BF.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Greensburg, PA
Misguided review
Posted 12/01/2011
Hulu, netflix, all the other streaming providers require you to be in the USA to view the content they offer. Geo-location technology reporting your location as not in the US is not sony's fault. Its your internet service providers fault. Knee jerk reactions and posting misleading reviews on a product for problems that are not the products fault help no one.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

what a disappointment!

12/26/2011
By ,
Ardmore, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was our first blue-ray player that we purchased for our family for Christmas. We were very excited to set it up and watch a family movie tonight. What a disappointment it was. The screen flickers every couple of minutes. Every once in a while we would actually lose the picture all together and it would come back after a few seconds. We put in a different movie to make sure it wasn't a defect with the movie and got the same results. It is going back first thing in the morning. I am really surprised at the lack of quality with a brand like Sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player
12/02/2011
By ,
Queens, N.Y.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the blu-ray makes an annoying loud noise every time you load a movie! even when forwarding or rewinding a scene. this was my first blu-ray player, but i dont think they all do that. returning it after a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

It plays Blu-rays... User friendly? NO!

11/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not user friendly at all. I'm 23 and grew up with electronics, and I'm saying that. So if you want something easy to use, move along to another brand. The internet apps are useless (incredibly slow and hard to navigate). It is literally easier to connect my laptop to my TV and sound system and use it to access those apps on my TV. So if you buy this, buy it only for the fact that it plays blu-rays. Don't expect anything more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Review 6 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

DO NOT BUY

11/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FIRST off it is an easy set up but won't connect with Netflix and hulu as promised. I just received this in the mail today and I've spent two hours trying to set it up to her (already opened) Netflix account and hulu for my mom as an early Christmas gift ....I'm taking it back first thing tomorrow. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY on this!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
+17points
Review 7 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Garbage, you get what you pay for.

12/14/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Complete garbage. It plays BluRay discs fine but RARELY connects to the internet. I have a home gigabyte network and am very skilled at setup of manual network settings. This pile of trash wil only connect to the internet about 15% of time. Then it buffers and says "Network Error".
You HAVE to sign up for (free) Sony account to use any of the extras... maybe Sony has the traffic running through its own servers then to the target service ??? I can connect with laptop, droid, tablet, but not this piece of garbage.
Save your money the low price is not worth the frustration if you want to use any web services.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
14221
Posted 12/22/2011
Sorry to hear you had problems, maybe a bad unit. I just love mine it works very well on my basic cat 5 network with just simple Verizon DSL. Had the unit three weeks and not one failure or error message. Found it very simple to hook up and configure with no issues.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Excellent unit for streaming (wi-fi) movies!!

12/05/2011
By ,
STL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went ahead and bought this to try for myself. The load time for internet movies (Netflix, Crackle, etc.) is quick compared to the RCA streaming which took approx 3-5 mins to load!
I did update the software and I highly recommend that you do. Sooo easy to do with very easy to understand on-screen instructions (a 3 year old can do this)!! My internet speed is 3 meg, quality output was very good using HDMI cable and thanks to the built in noise filter. The interface is good and easy to navigate.
I'm not going to review the BluRay part... well, because everyone knows that BluRay is the best HD right now. However I will comment that the disc loads quickly.
So... yeah go ahead and get this. I bought it on sale last week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Works, but not User-Friendly

03/05/2012
By ,
Fair Play, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off, this blu ray player has a lot of features and is pretty slick!! I like the "Netflix" button as that's the main reason we bought a Blu Ray player (aside from it being the future).
However, this model is NOT user-friendly. I could NOT get it to load up Netflix for about a day. Did some research and found help via the Sony site. You can set the "Internet Settings" manually if you're not afraid to do so and if you want to take the time. It won't work otherwise (at least it didn't for me).
I let the Blu Ray player set things automatically first (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>Wired Setup>Auto). I took a picture of the screen with my phone (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>View Network Status) and then entered the settings manually (Setup>Network Settings>Internet Settings>Wired Setup>Custom>Specify IP Address) exactly as the photo showed, but then used the DNS settings that the link suggests (4.2.2.2) for the SECONDARY DNS setting. I didn't use a proxy server ("No"), selected "Save & Connect", hit the "Netflix" button, and viola!! It worked!!
I hope they allow all of this post so that others can use this product. If not, you'd better be tech savvy to get it working. This is NOT a plug-n-play component... :-/
Link to Sony Support: http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&externalId=C1017642&fes=true&mdl=BDPS185
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fair Play, MO
UPDATE: 04/10/2012
Posted 04/10/2012
I'm very disappointed in this product. Since my original post, I've had nothing but problems. It will NEVER connect to Netflix the first time; usually taking multiple attempts.
Tried researching Netflix and Sony site to no avail. I would simply move on and not buy this product. We've had it for about a month and am thinking about returning it.
The Netflix interface is extremely sluggish; taking several seconds to simply "fill in" the movie title thumbnails (or episode numbers). Takes about 30 seconds to a minute to actually start the movie title (after it goes through it's "checking" mode). We have up to 12MB/s internet speed so it isn't on our end.
Sorely disappointed. Will probably try to return it for another brand.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

GREAT BUY!!!

01/09/2012
By ,
Enid, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read lots of reviews on lots of players before I purchased my first blu-ray player. The reasons I chose this unit are: 1) Price, 2) Brand, and 3) Options. The reviews I read were either at one end of the scale or the other. I am very please with the unit I purchased. I have not streamed any content on it at this point because we have Netflix on our Wii. The menu can take some getting used to if you haven't used other Sony products, but it is relatively easy to learn. Setup was easy too. I had my player up and running in only about 10 minutes if not less. People have complained that it is not wireless, not an issue for me, my router is in the same cabinet. If you NEED wireless I would not recommend this unit, if you can do without the wireless BUY IT NOW!!! I have not had any issues playing any movies on my unit, load times are fast no more than 10-20 seconds if I had to guess (not enough time to bother getting off the couch#.
PROS: Affordable, Compact, Easy Setup #Plug and Play, easy as that#, Multiple Outputs #I have an older surround sound receiver so having the Red/White/Yellow RCA outputs was nice, although I only used the RED & WHITE for sound output and the HDMI for video out, and sound to the TV when surround is not needed#.
CONS: Not Wireless #Like I said, not a big deal to me#,You MUST Register with the Sony website BEFORE the option to stream content becomes available #Sony website was SLOW!!!! My computer timed out 4-5 time atleast before I was able to get on that site, but all other webpages loaded fast on my computer.)
ALL-IN-ALL A GREAT PURCHASE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 11 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Does Not Read ANY Disks

12/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for Christmas. Non-functional out of the box. Would not read any disks of any type, or any vintage (Blu-ray, DVD, CD). Tried Sony website. Of no help . Worked with Sony support personnel, who wanted to try a system firmware update. Needed network connection to the player (which I do not have), or wanted me to burn a CD. To much to ask. Needs to work out of the box. Can't expect the average buyer to spend hours trying to get it to work. In the end, does not work. Sony had no idea why.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 12 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

It stinks!

12/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I have a PS3 and this was a secondary Blu-ray player. I got it, and yes, the set up was easy. The first movie I played was Iron Man 2 so I can see how good this player is and I was way disappointed! This player adds bars all around the picture on top of the original bars that the movie comes with. I have a 60" TV and I lost about 12" of picture; 4 on top, 4 on bottom, and 2 on each side. I connected my PS3 just to make sure it wasn't my imagination and the PS3 just makes the movie lose 4"; 2 on top and 2 on bottom, there is no loss on the sides. Do not buy this! I am returning this player ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

poor netflix preformance

02/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont buy this if u want to stream netflix. sony has a problem streaming netflix.
otherwise it's nothing special......... you do indeed get what you pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

General review

03/13/2012
By ,
Chesapeake,Va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to view Netflix which did with minor issues. But first,the the question of WiFi ability-"Wi Fi ready" means you have to use an ethernet connection." WiFi built in" means ethernet cable is NOT required. Yes with Sony you have to have a Sony account but the DVD player will give comprehensive instruction on how to do this. And if you are still having problems you might need a more powerful router like Linksay 2500 and have you server juice up your modem for more MBPS. I now have up to 15 MBPS which is more than adequate.As additional info,I have two Sonys,one Samsung and a Vizio DVD player and prefer Sony first,Samsung second(not enough Apps) and Vizio third.The reason I did't give this player 5 stars is because it doesn't have a Component connection,only HDMI or composite(RCA ) connections only
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

No wifi!

01/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upon looking at the box I was looking forward to using this unit for watching my DVDs and stream netfilx however when I brought the player home I learn the Internet was only possable using an eathernet connection this was a huge disappointment. Other than this so far this has been a good player is very quite plays all my older scratch double sided disc. menu layout takes some time to adjust to the print is very small.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

My First Blu-ray Player

12/02/2011
By ,
Tolleson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Sony BDPS185 blu-ray player to only use it for blu-ray and dvd movies. The picture quality is outstanding, the sound is awsome and it was easy to connect. I'm going to buy another one for my upstairs living room. Thanks Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
TreQue 4 meter (13.12 feet) Element Series HDMI Cable
4.7 out of 5(53)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 17 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

ITS GREAT!

04/25/2012
By ,
Massillon, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, it may be the cheaper version, of the "Sony BDP-S580 3D Blu-ray Disc Player with Wi-Fi" if i could afford the step-up, which has the Wi-Fi, and the 3-D set-up, but, other then that, its all the same, and the controls, are very similar to the PS3 controls(the settings command, and etc), and I was very impressed with how quick it loaded the DVDs and the Blu-Ray discs, and how I could connect for free, yes I said FREE, to several of their connections, to watch free movies and shows in HD, other then that, it also read the scratched up DVD discs, that I have loaned out, and was returned scratched, obviously, but, it still read them!!!! The stats for your speed and etc, for your online stuff, it shows you, and lets you know, how fast your internet is, its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Excellent Value

03/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I see the 1 star ratings and I am shocked. For 78 bucks I purchased this unit mainly for HuluPlus and Pandora. My wife learned to use it within an hour. My 4 year old son also knows how to navigate this unit's menus. Setup is annoying, but just do it once and you're done. It took a couple of minutes to set up HuluPlus and Pandora. There are many other apps on the unit also. We are so happy with this DVD player and streaming player. I bought a second one 2 days after I purchased the first one.
The only con I have seen with this unit is the sound quality through the Pandora app. The audio quality appears slightly distorted to me as if the audio through Pandora is overamplified. Perhaps an update will attend to that matter.
Great Buy! Get 1 and try it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Awesome Item - Works Very Well - Excellent Value

12/22/2011
By ,
14221
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this player to be everything it claimed. Also found it very easy to install and configure. I was enjoying Netflix and Hulu 20 minutes after walking in the door with no problems. NOTE: You need to have accounts set up with Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, etc. in order for these to work on the player. If you don't have accounts set up do yourself a favor and sit down at your computer with a keyboard and set those up before you even take the player out of the box. I'm heading back to Walmart this evening to buy two additional units for Christmas Gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Player

Great Bluray/DVD player! Great Price as well!

01/31/2012
By ,
Stillwater, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this player a few days ago on a whim, I was walking through the movie section and saw it for only $78 I decided to buy it since most movies now are Bluray + DVD together I wanted to be able to use both discs I'm purchasing. I brought it home hooked it up via composite cable to an old style tv (the ones with the big rear ends) even connected it to my Surround sound and it works like a charm! internet connects easily streamed some videos from youtube. Haven't hooked it up to my netflix account yet but so far I sold! I love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next